Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

Really hoping Mini's game plan comes to fruition this season and we can get 5-7 wins.

Need to have an attractive brand of footy and a young up and coming list then trade in seasoned stars like Warner and Pickett to fill any gaps and we can trade away picks in the compromised Tassie drafts
I think we can rule out Pickett but I get your point. Here he is presenting the club jumper to his cousin at the draft. Smart move by Melbourne.

1765683740700.png
Kysiah Pickett presents Latrelle Pickett with his Melbourne jumper. 2025 AFL draft.

Gotta love the optimism.
Pre-season is just about the only time we've had for optimism in the last 4 years. If you can't find it deep down within yourself to be positive before we've even hit 2026 or had our first loss, what exactly do you even get out of following a footy team?

If you love being perpetually angry, upset and defeatist then follow politics. (Not referring to you btw).

****, even Goroyals22 is feeling optimistic this year!

Pre-season is just about the only time we've had for optimism in the last 4 years. If you can't find it deep down within yourself to be positive before we've even hit 2026 or had our first loss, what exactly do you even get out of following a footy team?

If you love being perpetually angry, upset and defeatist then follow politics. (Not referring to you btw).

****, even Goroyals22 is feeling optimistic this year!
Ease up hombre, i feel the optimism too.

To say this morning's session was a long and gruelling one would be an understatement. It was probably the longest one I've ever been there to watch, lasting well over 3 hours and involving significant amounts of running, even in the heat.

Today's training was effectively split into two sessions - one football-oriented session with with match sim work and ball movement drills, and another which focused on running. There was a 15 minute pause between these separate sessions when the players went into the sheds for a bit.

When I arrived at 9am the players were out there and had already gone through all of their warm ups and had moved onto ball movement drills - at a guess that probably means they started closer to 8:30am. After I arrived they moved onto a half-ground ball movement drill and then split into two groups, with one practising hitting short kicks inside 50 under opposition pressure, and the other involving using the width of the ground for a mini version of match sim.

They rotated through those drills for a bit, before splitting into two groups again - this time each group practised chipping the ball around in the backline on either side of the field, until a whistle would blow and they'd change gears, moving the ball all the way up the field with pace.

After this they moved on to about 20 minutes of match sim and the whole group headed inside just after 10:20. Given they'd started earlier I thought this might have been the end of the session, but after 15 minutes they came back out.

Over the next 90 minutes they'd be put through a gruelling period of running - often in groups, along the boundary or the length of the field. The groups would have some breaks between running, but they'd spend them on the exercise bike, rowing or ski erg machines or throwing medicine balls to start with. As the session wore on the breaks became less demanding, consisting of handballing in groups and then catching a tennis ball hit high into the air with one hand - but the running continued right until the end, with the last group finishing up just after 12.

The pace of the running naturally slowed towards the end, with even guys like Ginbey and Graham being pushed to their limit. It's the first time I can ever recall seeing them put through so much running, especially at the end of the session when they'd already been out there for 3 hours in the 30+ degree heat. To the players' credit though, the energy and enthusiasm remained high throughout, with the boys shouting words of encouragement to each other as they went.

Details on who did/didn't train (bearing in mind I did get there until some time after they started):
  • No sign of Yeo, Cole, Bailey Williams or Hutchinson
  • Gross was doing medium pace run throughs with the rehab group when I arrived, which is the first time I've seen him running in about 3 weeks. He did a bit of kicking after that but had wrapped up by 9:30.
  • Baker and Robertson stayed with the rehab group the whole time, doing run throughs, skill work and running laps for over an hour. Joined in with some of the running and bike/row/ski machine work in the second part of the session.
  • Allen did a similar load to Baker and Robertson minus the laps, and also did some light agility work. Also joined in with some of the second part of the session
  • Barnett completed run throughs, laps and some higher-intensity change of direction work away from the main group. Joined in with the main group's drill involving short kicks inside 50. Also did some of the work in the second half of the session
  • Newton and Allan were again on a separate program, doing stop/start run throughs, running laps and doing skill work away from the main group together. Newton joined in with the short kicking inside 50 drill, while Allan stayed away from the main group and did time on the exercise bike instead. Both joined in for parts of the second session. Newton had his left shoulder strapped which may explain why he's being managed at the moment, while Allan again sported a cast on his left wrist.
  • Young wore a green cap in the match sim work to indicate non-contact and split off at one stage to do some work on the tackling bag. Otherwise trained fully
  • Owies, Dewar and Brockman did most of the session, sitting out parts of the match sim work to do run throughs or work on the exercise bike instead. They joined in for parts of the second half of the session.
  • Jack Williams, Harley Reid and the draftees (minus Allen) were also managed through certain drills but did most of the session.
  • Champion trained fully from what I saw, despite the club stating he's suffered a low-grade MCL injury

Some general notes:
  • Hewett was pretty active in the match sim work and provided a bit of run and carry at stages
  • Duff-Tytler was involved in a nice play during match sim where he won the tap against Flynn at a stoppage up the ground, ran forward, received the ball again running towards the 50 and hit a forward with a clean kick on the run. I've said it before but his skills are seriously impressive for a man of his size
  • The trend of the the players being made to sprint off the ground after drills for a drink break continued today
  • McQualter was particularly vocal today, constantly providing feedback and encouragement to the players
  • Tylah Williams kicked a nice goal during match sim where he kicked the ball out of mid air from the goal square
  • Lindsay, Duff-Tytler, Rodriguez and Duursma were at the front of some of the earlier running drills in the second session - they're clearly very aerobically fit, especially at their age. Hall, McCarthy and Duggan also looked strong during the running.
  • Said it earlier but the energy and enthusiasm of the group never waned today, even as the session stretched over three hours

The players' Christmas break begins on Thursday December 18 (as per the CBA), so I'd been assuming that this Wednesday would be the final session of the year. However given how intense today was I'd be surprised if they're doing much more than skill work, if anything, on Wednesday. I'll pop down to have a look but they may well have planned for today to be the final session.

Today’s session could best be described as brutal in what felt like a final session before they go on the 3 week Christmas break

They were well into the session by the time I arrived at 9.40 with one group doing a kicking drill inside the 50m arc and two other groups doing a reduced area match play with temporary goal posts set up either side of the centre square like an half time Auskick match. Played at a considerably higher intensity though

Each group rotated through so that the competitive work retained its intensity whilst the third group rested up doing the more skilled, but uncontested, work

After that the switched to ball movement work from D50 to F50 with two separate groups working on either side of the ground. Players within each group would take turns from being the attacking side with the ball and defending the movement

Then returned for a 15 minute stretch of full ground matchsim with the ball starting at various points - boundary throw in, ball up on a wing, free kick out of defence etc.

That finished about 10.30 and the entire playing group, coaches and support staff disappeared into the undercover shed. No stragglers hanging around to do any last minute work this time and it looked like a case of early start/early finish

So you might be wondering what was so brutal about that

Well, somewhat ominously, there were still a few odd training cones out there and a lone trainer positioning a few more in a line about 25m from the centre square suggesting more was to come

And more turned out to be an understatement.

The playing group came back out around 10.45 and in various sized groups proceeded to do 100m shuttle runs - virtually every player was involved. Even Sam Allen was part of one group despite being in rehab for his knee

After 20 minutes thereabouts, shuttle runs were replaced by running around the boundary in small groups on one side and more individually on the other side. Not all the players did this as there was a group on exercise bikes or picking up and throwing a medicine ball

That continued for another 15+ minutes before the group were “given some respite” and did a handball exercise in groups to gather their breath

Eventually they split into a number of smaller groups doing a variety of different work that mostly involved running. This continued well beyond 12.00 to about 12.15 meaning they’d done near enough to a 90 minute session after they came back out

When even Rueben Ginbey is starting to look a bit ragged as he jogged around the boundary, you know it’s been a taxing session. The players were well and truly spent and justifiably so - it was 32/33 degrees in full sun and almost perpetual motion

One of the toughest sessions I’ve ever witnessed and I missed something like 45-60 minutes of it

I will say, all through spirits were high and there was plenty of encouragement across the playing group for each other

Since I missed a lot of the footballing part of the session I don’t have much to add on that part but some small notes:

• CDT continues to impress. At one point he contested a boundary throw in versus Flynn, won the tap so his mids could clear the contest by hand only to get himself in a position to be the last receiver and kick the ball long to the top of the goal square. Won’t surprise me in the least if he plays R1 as a third tall in support to Waterman and Shanahan- he has the mobility to do so and be a difficult matchup
• Long is quietly putting together a solid preseason. Had some really nice passages today
• Champion played in the match sim and earned some praise from Brennan for one particularly good bit of defensive pressure
• There was an exercise they did late - catching (one handed) a tennis ball hit high into the air. Each player in their groups had to successfully catch the ball 2 or 3 times before they could finish as a group. Hall can’t catch for shit and needed several attempts before finishing - once he did, Duggan who was in the same group ran over to high five him/pat him on the back as you’d expect. Duggan then jogged past Hall to collect a couple of the stray tennis balls that had eluded Hall and return them to the trainer. He could have easily left them where they were for someone else to get or told Hall to go get them. But he did it. Didn’t need to, but did anyway. When people say why is he voted captain, it’s probably because of things like this. Doubt there’s 5 people on the planet who saw him do it, so it wasn’t for show but it was something that needed doing and he just did it. How many other times over the course of a preseason do you think he does something similar- everything you hear is how well he’s connected to the playing group and staff. Sometimes it’s not about being the best player but being the best leader

Given this was likely the last session for the year, I’ll try to put together a summary of each players preseason so far a bit later on

In the meantime, I’m going to have a little lie down because watching them today wore me out

To say this morning's session was a long and gruelling one would be an understatement. It was probably the longest one I've ever been there to watch, lasting well over 3 hours and involving significant amounts of running, even in the heat.

Today's training was effectively split into two sessions - one football-oriented session with with match sim work and ball movement drills, and another which focused on running. There was a 15 minute pause between these separate sessions when the players went into the sheds for a bit.

When I arrived at 9am the players were out there and had already gone through all of their warm ups and had moved onto ball movement drills - at a guess that probably means they started closer to 8:30am. After I arrived they moved onto a half-ground ball movement drill and then split into two groups, with one practising hitting short kicks inside 50 under opposition pressure, and the other involving using the width of the ground for a mini version of match sim.

They rotated through those drills for a bit, before splitting into two groups again - this time each group practised chipping the ball around in the backline on either side of the field, until a whistle would blow and they'd change gears, moving the ball all the way up the field with pace.

After this they moved on to about 20 minutes of match sim and the whole group headed inside just after 10:20. Given they'd started earlier I thought this might have been the end of the session, but after 15 minutes they came back out.

Over the next 90 minutes they'd be put through a gruelling period of running - often in groups, along the boundary or the length of the field. The groups would have some breaks between running, but they'd spend them on the exercise bike, rowing or ski erg machines or throwing medicine balls to start with. As the session wore on the breaks became less demanding, consisting of handballing in groups and then catching a tennis ball hit high into the air with one hand - but the running continued right until the end, with the last group finishing up just after 12.

The pace of the running naturally slowed towards the end, with even guys like Ginbey and Graham being pushed to their limit. It's the first time I can ever recall seeing them put through so much running, especially at the end of the session when they'd already been out there for 3 hours in the 30+ degree heat. To the players' credit though, the energy and enthusiasm remained high throughout, with the boys shouting words of encouragement to each other as they went.

Details on who did/didn't train (bearing in mind I did get there until some time after they started):
  • No sign of Yeo, Cole, Bailey Williams or Hutchinson
  • Gross was doing medium pace run throughs with the rehab group when I arrived, which is the first time I've seen him running in about 3 weeks. He did a bit of kicking after that but had wrapped up by 9:30.
  • Baker and Robertson stayed with the rehab group the whole time, doing run throughs, skill work and running laps for over an hour. Joined in with some of the running and bike/row/ski machine work in the second part of the session.
  • Allen did a similar load to Baker and Robertson minus the laps, and also did some light agility work. Also joined in with some of the second part of the session
  • Barnett completed run throughs, laps and some higher-intensity change of direction work away from the main group. Joined in with the main group's drill involving short kicks inside 50. Also did some of the work in the second half of the session
  • Newton and Allan were again on a separate program, doing stop/start run throughs, running laps and doing skill work away from the main group together. Newton joined in with the short kicking inside 50 drill, while Allan stayed away from the main group and did time on the exercise bike instead. Both joined in for parts of the second session. Newton had his left shoulder strapped which may explain why he's being managed at the moment, while Allan again sported a cast on his left wrist.
  • Young wore a green cap in the match sim work to indicate non-contact and split off at one stage to do some work on the tackling bag. Otherwise trained fully
  • Owies, Dewar and Brockman did most of the session, sitting out parts of the match sim work to do run throughs or work on the exercise bike instead. They joined in for parts of the second half of the session.
  • Jack Williams, Harley Reid and the draftees (minus Allen) were also managed through certain drills but did most of the session.
  • Champion trained fully from what I saw, despite the club stating he's suffered a low-grade MCL injury

Some general notes:
  • Hewett was pretty active in the match sim work and provided a bit of run and carry at stages
  • Duff-Tytler was involved in a nice play during match sim where he won the tap against Flynn at a stoppage up the ground, ran forward, received the ball again running towards the 50 and hit a forward with a clean kick on the run. I've said it before but his skills are seriously impressive for a man of his size
  • The trend of the the players being made to sprint off the ground after drills for a drink break continued today
  • McQualter was particularly vocal today, constantly providing feedback and encouragement to the players
  • Tylah Williams kicked a nice goal during match sim where he kicked the ball out of mid air from the goal square
  • Lindsay, Duff-Tytler, Rodriguez and Duursma were at the front of some of the earlier running drills in the second session - they're clearly very aerobically fit, especially at their age. Hall, McCarthy and Duggan also looked strong during the running.
  • Said it earlier but the energy and enthusiasm of the group never waned today, even as the session stretched over three hours

The players' Christmas break begins on Thursday December 18 (as per the CBA), so I'd been assuming that this Wednesday would be the final session of the year. However given how intense today was I'd be surprised if they're doing much more than skill work, if anything, on Wednesday. I'll pop down to have a look but they may well have planned for today to be the final session.
Thanks mate. Much appreciated. :)

Today’s session could best be described as brutal in what felt like a final session before they go on the 3 week Christmas break

They were well into the session by the time I arrived at 9.40 with one group doing a kicking drill inside the 50m arc and two other groups doing a reduced area match play with temporary goal posts set up either side of the centre square like an half time Auskick match. Played at a considerably higher intensity though

Each group rotated through so that the competitive work retained its intensity whilst the third group rested up doing the more skilled, but uncontested, work

After that the switched to ball movement work from D50 to F50 with two separate groups working on either side of the ground. Players within each group would take turns from being the attacking side with the ball and defending the movement

Then returned for a 15 minute stretch of full ground matchsim with the ball starting at various points - boundary throw in, ball up on a wing, free kick out of defence etc.

That finished about 10.30 and the entire playing group, coaches and support staff disappeared into the undercover shed. No stragglers hanging around to do any last minute work this time and it looked like a case of early start/early finish

So you might be wondering what was so brutal about that

Well, somewhat ominously, there were still a few odd training cones out there and a lone trainer positioning a few more in a line about 25m from the centre square suggesting more was to come

And more turned out to be an understatement.

The playing group came back out around 10.45 and in various sized groups proceeded to do 100m shuttle runs - virtually every player was involved. Even Sam Allen was part of one group despite being in rehab for his knee

After 20 minutes thereabouts, shuttle runs were replaced by running around the boundary in small groups on one side and more individually on the other side. Not all the players did this as there was a group on exercise bikes or picking up and throwing a medicine ball

That continued for another 15+ minutes before the group were “given some respite” and did a handball exercise in groups to gather their breath

Eventually they split into a number of smaller groups doing a variety of different work that mostly involved running. This continued well beyond 12.00 to about 12.15 meaning they’d done near enough to a 90 minute session after they came back out

When even Rueben Ginbey is starting to look a bit ragged as he jogged around the boundary, you know it’s been a taxing session. The players were well and truly spent and justifiably so - it was 32/33 degrees in full sun and almost perpetual motion

One of the toughest sessions I’ve ever witnessed and I missed something like 45-60 minutes of it

I will say, all through spirits were high and there was plenty of encouragement across the playing group for each other

Since I missed a lot of the footballing part of the session I don’t have much to add on that part but some small notes:

• CDT continues to impress. At one point he contested a boundary throw in versus Flynn, won the tap so his mids could clear the contest by hand only to get himself in a position to be the last receiver and kick the ball long to the top of the goal square. Won’t surprise me in the least if he plays R1 as a third tall in support to Waterman and Shanahan- he has the mobility to do so and be a difficult matchup
• Long is quietly putting together a solid preseason. Had some really nice passages today
• Champion played in the match sim and earned some praise from Brennan for one particularly good bit of defensive pressure
• There was an exercise they did late - catching (one handed) a tennis ball hit high into the air. Each player in their groups had to successfully catch the ball 2 or 3 times before they could finish as a group. Hall can’t catch for shit and needed several attempts before finishing - once he did, Duggan who was in the same group ran over to high five him/pat him on the back as you’d expect. Duggan then jogged past Hall to collect a couple of the stray tennis balls that had eluded Hall and return them to the trainer. He could have easily left them where they were for someone else to get or told Hall to go get them. But he did it. Didn’t need to, but did anyway. When people say why is he voted captain, it’s probably because of things like this. Doubt there’s 5 people on the planet who saw him do it, so it wasn’t for show but it was something that needed doing and he just did it. How many other times over the course of a preseason do you think he does something similar- everything you hear is how well he’s connected to the playing group and staff. Sometimes it’s not about being the best player but being the best leader

Given this was likely the last session for the year, I’ll try to put together a summary of each players preseason so far a bit later on

In the meantime, I’m going to have a little lie down because watching them today wore me out
Perfect content to read while I eat lunch. Thanks as always Keyser and LittleFires

Notice he’s always coming in from the side and intercepting in those clips?

When he engaged Waterman in a 1v1 in the 4th clip he lost (convincingly) and Archer took the mark without a Harry being able to impact the contest at all.

Kinda backs up what I said.

The clip showing two defenders out number a forward?

Where one engages the forward to block and allow the intercept defender to....well.......intercept.

That was the point of the drill wasn't it?

One chap engages the forward, the other defender marks unopposed.

Someone can work their magic.

Highlights
Ginbey is huge and him and the new big boy Whooper had a big collision while both had eyes on the ball.

Freddy got a nice mention similar to our two track watches on this page LF and Keys, he has a nice frame on him already.

CDT hype train still continues

COOPER FULL STRENGTH​

Early draft selection Cooper Duff-Tytler maintained a strong presence on Monday, which was the Eagles’ final tune-up of the year before they take a Christmas break.

He spent time as a key forward and in the ruck in match simulation, holding his own at stoppages against Matt Flynn, charging off one tap out to receive the ball on the run.

Willem Duursma was another shining light, impressive with his on-field positioning and delivering one impressive lace out pass to Jake Waterman. Get used to that sentence.

tennis ball
tennis ball
tennis balls

Scared Classic Film GIF by Shudder

Highlights
Ginbey is huge and him and the new big boy Whooper had a big collision while both had eyes on the ball.

Freddy got a nice mention similar to our two track watches on this page LF and Keys, he has a nice frame on him already.

CDT hype train still continues

COOPER FULL STRENGTH​

Early draft selection Cooper Duff-Tytler maintained a strong presence on Monday, which was the Eagles’ final tune-up of the year before they take a Christmas break.

He spent time as a key forward and in the ruck in match simulation, holding his own at stoppages against Matt Flynn, charging off one tap out to receive the ball on the run.

Willem Duursma was another shining light, impressive with his on-field positioning and delivering one impressive lace out pass to Jake Waterman. Get used to that sentence.

Highlights

CDT hype train still continues and mentions the play previously mentioned. Duursma also on how he just finds space and get use to Duursma lacing out to Waterman

The bit about Rodriguez being a Freo supporter reminded me of an interaction with a random Freo supporter today whilst watching training

Towards the end of the session a bloke in his late 40’s asked where the team store was. Simple question so I pointed him in the direction he needed to go

Said he was going to buy his nephew a Christmas present then stated he was a Freo supporter and it made him want to puke that he was here and had to go buy his nephew something. Then proceeded in a rant about how he was a nurse and the players should all be wearing hats to prevent sunstroke because it was so hot and they need to stay hydrated

Because the small army of trainers there all with water bottles monitoring their condition constantly, plus a drinks station to ensure they stayed well hydrated was somehow not enough

No one forced you to be there dickhead.

Saw him later walking away empty handed so I guess his nephew ain’t getting any eagles merch for Christmas. Hopefully he gives his uncle a swift kick to the balls as a thank you

* That said I was fearful our resident pale as buggery ginger from Victoria might spontaneously combust in the sun at one point - was definitely struggling with the extend running late in the session. Not surprised though, he’s only a 19 year old not used to an AFL preseason or a WA summer and is likely getting paid peanuts to be there since he’s not an AFL listed player.

Anyway, random Freo supporting dickhead rustled my jimmies and had me wishing I’d pointed him to the HJs stand instead

The trend of the the players being made to sprint off the ground after drills for a drink break continued today
Its a thing i had the boys do too, the thoughts behind it are after the drill you should be lacking energy but one last high effort sprint in 3rd 4th 5th efforts in game

Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026