Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

I see Oscar is already struggling at brissi training, just shows you the training standards of the top side to the bottom side.

Brisbane's other high-profile recruit, former West Coast skipper Oscar Allen, also got through the long session on his way back from knee surgery.

McCluggage said the pair had fitted in quickly at the Lions.

"We love that. We've built our culture around that connection with each other. If you walked into our club, you'd think Oscar and Drapes had been here for a year or two.

"They've really put themselves out there and thrown themselves into training and are doing really well."

Doesn’t really sound like he’s struggling

Reads like he's doing well at his new club and looked like he's enjoying his time going by the cricket coverage.
Good on him and hope he stays injury free.
Essentially traded 26yo Oscar for 18yo CDT and about $800k a year for the next 5 years. Great result for us.

Being hyped about preseason and anticipating good times to come is what it's all about FFS, get on the positive train kents!
Talk the players up, get amped, love it 👍👍
Must admit I haven’t looked forward as much to a season in many a year.

Hopefully round 1 we put up a competitive performance at worst against the suns and can then roll into the season..

I’m sure we will still have a couple of deflating loses during the year but have confidence we can pinch a win or two when not expected.

It’s at least going to be fun watching a whole team almost of new players playing for us. Now injury gods stay away

I genuinely haven’t felt this level of anticipation about where the West Coast Eagles are headed in a long, long time. Looking ahead to 2026, it finally feels like the foundations have been laid properly and with real intent.

The list turnover has been significant, and for once it feels deliberate rather than reactive. We are assembling a group that is dynamic, powerful and fast. There is genuine pace and power through the midfield and on the outside, players willing to take the game on, and from reports, a hunger that has been missing for too long.

Add in an elite batch of tall forwards who can mark, compete and kick goals and are super agile, the forward half looks like a genuine strength and something that will be very hard for other teams to match up on. Behind them is a backline that feels balanced and composed, with experience and some skillful users who can defend first and then punish teams on the rebound.

When you start talking about ceiling, that is where the excitement really builds. Harley Reid, Willem Duursma, CDT and even T Mac all have enormous upside. All potential game changers who can tilt matches and shape the identity of the side. If a few of them reach their potential together, the core of the next successful West Coast team is right there.

Then there is Yeo. Having Elliot Yeo back fit and firing adds far more than just talent. He brings leadership, hard edge and standards. His presence lifts the midfield and sets the tone for the entire group. Let's hope he can stay fit.

For the first time in years, there is a clear direction and a genuine sense of momentum. The rebuild finally feels like it has purpose, and the pain feels like it is leading somewhere meaningful.

It is genuinely hard not to be excited about what this group could become.
Strong user name to post correlation!

We're back baby 🦅

Thanks again to Keys & LittleFires

I think I speak for most of us obsessed weirdos when I say these training reports are the highlight of my working week and I probably need to get out more or get a second hobby.
Yeah, I concur.
My misso said, I need a new hobby.
Reckon I need a new misso :tearsofjoy:

Really hoping Mini's game plan comes to fruition this season and we can get 5-7 wins.

Need to have an attractive brand of footy and a young up and coming list then trade in seasoned stars like Warner and Pickett to fill any gaps and we can trade away picks in the compromised Tassie drafts

I've had a bit of my plate of late and haven't made it down, but the other half's uncle visiting from Sydney did.

Feeback: Loves the look of CDT and Dev Rob. Reid of the Harley variety looking tip-top. Duursma very spider like in terms of long limbs but skinny, will probably fade in and out but looks classy.
Thinks Bo Allen looks sluggish.

If Bo has been sick it must have been minor because whilst he has trained separately to the main group this week, he’s still been at training. Don’t recall him missing a session so far and he was running just fine today for someone who was sick
If he was sick it makes sense,

Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026