Bigman’s Training Reports (Update: 21st Jan)

• Thread starter Thread starter bigman

Agree.
Errors are errors, would like to see less of them. But we still need players willing to take risks coming out of the backline.
I’d rather see the odd turnover goal from an attacking move than endless bombing up the line.
I wonder if we have players who have been granted a "risk" licence and some who have been told to take a safer option.
Hinge turns it over too much. Murray too. As both these guys are long kicks, maybe I'd accept a 60m clearance to a contest from them compared to a Mark Keane 45 degree pass to CHB.

I remember Steve Johnson having the "shoot from anywhere" licence but only if he didn't have better options. I think he might have been the best I50 kick I've seen.

I know but you mentioned him potentially replacing Cumming.
I read it as he replaces Curtin on the wing (Curtin to mid) and then he’s locked that side down with cumming under pressure to retain his spot in general with tha being the wing anyone else hunting a spot is coming for

Just wait till you see akmal, if he’s still going
Akmal is better than Helliar. But then so is an inanimate carbon rod…

Anthony Long is an NGA for us (Michael Long's nephew), Herbert is the one for us, outstanding athletic ruck with excellent skills.

If we get a freebee out of it yay but in what world does a nephew of the great Michael Long need to be in an academy that's purpose is to give kids a pathway into footy that otherwise would have struggled with access and opportunity ?

Same rubbish that got us Borlase too

If we get a freebee out of it yay but in what world does a nephew of the great Michael Long need to be in an academy that's purpose is to give kids a pathway into footy that otherwise would have struggled with access and opportunity ?

Same rubbish that got us Borlase too

I would expect Michael Long would likely have a lot of nephews and nieces that would struggle with access and opportunity. Just because he made it doesn’t mean the entire family came with him. There’d still be a lot of disadvantage in his family, Tiwi Islands are fairly remote. Note I know nothing of this kid, but in general, being a nephew of a great indigenous player doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve got a well mapped out path.

Akmal is better than Helliar. But then so is an inanimate carbon rod…
Hellier is a lame duck. Always be concerned about a 'comedian' who laughs at what he is saying (as he is saying it) before anyone else laughs.

I would expect Michael Long would likely have a lot of nephews and nieces that would struggle with access and opportunity. Just because he made it doesn’t mean the entire family came with him. There’d still be a lot of disadvantage in his family, Tiwi Islands are fairly remote. Note I know nothing of this kid, but in general, being a nephew of a great indigenous player doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve got a well mapped out path.
Long comes out of the PAC footy factory so has had every opportunity

He's also from the River Murray area (Meningie) and who's to say Michael Long has been a major factor in his football development or even a factor at all? Played all his junior footy in the River Murray Football League.

I thought the whole point of Ah Chee is to be a hard to handle small forward to release our other two (rankine and rachele) to the mid more?

Where did you get that idea from, I can’t recall seeing it mentioned anywhere. I expect Ah Chee to play a similar role for us as he did at Brisbane. Rankine is near enough full time mid anyway and I reckon Rachele increase in minutes will come from other mids rotating more, not Ah Chee being bolted inside the forward 50.

'Footy factory', give me a break.
Current lists
Kozzy Pickett
Zac Bailey
Tom Sparrow
Kade Chandler
Luke Pedlar
James Borlase
Matt LeRay
Kane McCauliffe
Harry Schoenberg
Sam Cumming

Previous
Jack Trengove
Bernie Vince
Craig Kelly
Rodney Maynard
David Pittman
Russell brothers
Lower brothers

who cares if someone puts footy factory? Just a turn of phrase - could have said “strong footy school” or maybe “renowned footy school”

You tell me mate - what would you prefer?

in that case, it’s absurd, but is the current rule. It can’t be that hard to genuinely provide extra opportunity to those with no access through traditional pathways. Once you’re in a metro school at a certain year, that’s it, no academy for you. Different if those unconscionable turds at PAC pulled out the chequebook and scholarshipped him for year 12 though.

Current lists
Kozzy Pickett
Zac Bailey
Tom Sparrow
Kade Chandler
Luke Pedlar
James Borlase
Matt LeRay
Kane McCauliffe
Harry Schoenberg
Sam Cumming

Previous
Jack Trengove
Bernie Vince
Craig Kelly
Rodney Maynard
David Pittman
Russell brothers
Lower brothers

who cares if someone puts footy factory? Just a turn of phrase - could have said “strong footy school” or maybe “renowned footy school”

You tell me mate - what would you prefer?

Don't get your blazer in a twist.

How many of those players were already very good and just went there for a footy scholarship? And could barely be considered an Adelaide local?
Mate I’m not here to debate the good v bad of private schools.

One bloke didn’t know Longs background. Next thing someone is offended because I happened to say footy factory

All I was doing was trying to help with sone background. But of course that’s not possible on here which is why I rarely get involved.

? Curtin obviously. My point was that Curtin didn’t slot into Sholl’s position. Cummins actually switched into that and vacated the left wing. And Nank never really get much of a run IMO.

Cumming. For goodness sake, get the names right, John.