Do Collingwood need to enter a rebuild phase?

• Thread starter Thread starter LeBronco

why trade for early picks?
Some clubs rarely do.

When is the last time Collingwood, Geelong or Sydney traded for early picks?

And they just happened to be the teams who have most regularly been in premiership contention this century.

Probably just coincidence...

Sinclair
Marshall
Wilkie
Sharman

Rookies everyone has them.
Wonderful, you do know your Saints.

We only have 3, but iirc 3 ssps and 3 msds as well. Some decent academy picks too.

So with the age thing, youd be betting your Saints finish higher than the Pies?

Some clubs rarely do.

When is the last time Collingwood, Geelong or Sydney traded for early picks?

And they just happened to be the teams who have most regularly been in premiership contention this century.

Probably just coincidence...

Yep and all three have been the beneficiaries of various access to top end talent.

Probably just coincidence

Collingwood traded out a future first as they knew they had Daicos for stuff all.

Wonderful, you do know your Saints.

We only have 3, but iirc 3 ssps and 3 msds as well. Some decent academy picks too.

So with the age thing, youd be betting your Saints finish higher than the Pies?

Not the topic. The topic is do Collingwood need to rebuild.

Also anyone play or involved in the MPFNL need some info on a couple of players cheers.

Well the topic includes what is Collingwood doing right, doing wrong, doing the same, doing different.

After all its a contested sport, so the competition matters. Its helpful to have specific details from fans of rivals. The Saints have pulled the trigger on a surge in 2026, so to avoid the cliff, or justify the top up policy vs the putative rebuild, we have to beat your mob.

Thanks for the input.

Not the topic? But you don't post anywhere else Adam. So its only natural that we'd try and gain your expert knowledge of your beloved Saints whilst you're here....constantly trolling Collingwood people behind a fake Essendon profile. :rolleyes:

Make a thread on either team needing a rebuild I might post.

Not many clubs go from building on their squad every year to taking as much new talent as possible for a reset/rebuild.
Adelaide, Hawthorn, North and now Richmond and West Coast are the most recent.
It doesn’t happen as often as people go on about maybe Melbourne are inline for a push in that direction.
I think it’s more likely the premiership cup stays north of the McIntyre river again and likely Collingwood will get to play a final but I do wonder if De Goey has another year of less than 25 goals how that’d go.
Tassie isn’t a long flight, he might be alright with that for a handful of traveller’s cheques I’d reckon.

Good ol Tiger cherry picking.

88, 89, 90, 92, 94 made finals including a flag
02, 03, 06, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13 made finals including a flag

But yes, the late 90s was the worst period in clubs history, the only time the Pies spent more than 5 consecutive seasons outside of finals.

Pies were actually smart and took advantage of the priority pick in 2005 once injuries hit and Rocca, Buckley, J.Fraser and Didak, B.Johnson went down.

No real surprise they jumped back up to 14 wins in 2006. The core from 02-03 was still there Buckley, Rocca, Burns, Clement, J.Fraser, Didak, B.Johnson, Licca, Presti etc.

And we had added T.Cloke, Maxwell, HarryO, Swan and H.Shaw to the old brigade in 06-07

It wasn't just the veterans retiring, that saw us drop to 11th or 12th with 10-11 wins - it was the established senior players in Beams, H.Shaw, D.Thomas, HarryO, Wellingham, Dawes etc. moving on in addition to the veterans retiring that meant we went backwards.

You need to keep a decent group of 25-30 yr olds, when they leave it hurts.

We used our pick 8 to get Moore in 2014.

Daicos was taken with our own late 50s pick in 2016 after a bid came for the more highly rated junior Callum Brown, no clubs rated Josh.

Neither were freebies, we paid fair value based on junior rankings.

Pies PF team of 2007 still had the Buckley, Burns, Rocca, Clement, O.Bree, Didak, Wakelin etc who were core of 02-03.

The 06 Pies won 14 H&A games
The 07 Pies won 13 H&A games
The 08 Pies won 12 H&A games

There was no magic new core created in 2007 like you are pretending, it was still very much the continuation of 02-03 group who drove strong seasons in 06-07.

The ordinary period was the late 90s, post flag and then pants passing the club went backwards.

But once Eddie got Mick over for 2000, we have been strong.

It is a mix of star picks (Didak, Pendles and Naicos) late 50s pick coming good (B.Johnson, Swan and Jaicos) but usually a heap of trades working for us (Clement, Wakelin, Freeborn, Ball, Jolly, L.Brown, Medhurst, Adams, Treloar, D.Cameron, Hill etc.) and then heaps of rookie/mid season or international type picks that weren't meant to be good coming good.

The veterans help set the standards for the new kids,.which helps with development (also our off field investment in development helps) and we turn-over our core without the massive rebuild that primarily Tiger fans are advocating for.
That’s a long winded summary. From 1991 to 2006 you won finals in 2 x seasons. Essendon have made finals a few times since 2004 or whatever it is without winning one … nobody cares.

Pies have gotten a heap of father-sons for way unders … good luck to you. Also got a nice priority pick before they changed the rules. Without it you don’t get Pendlebury, as you obviously had Daisy rated higher.

It’s not a criticism. They were the rules of the day and you cashed in. As Geelong did with Hawkins, Gablett and Scarlett. As Lions have done with Ashcroft x 2 and Fletcher. As Tigers did with Deledio. As Hawks did with Roughy. As Sydney did with Heeney, Mills, Blakey and Gulden.

But those loopholes have largely been closed from 2026 onwards, making it harder for regularly contending teams to get elite talent without pointy end picks.

The side that won 0 of 8 finals quarters at home, making them the worst performing finals team this century? Congrats!

Daicos waved the white flag in the 2nd half and barely touched it in the last - all while Brisbane midfielders rampaged with goal after goal from stoppage. That didn't look like much resistance to me.
He didn’t get a kick in the last qtr with season on the line. Not … a … single … kick. 7’x finals. Never in best 2 on ground. Finals are where reputations are made … everyone knows this. Naicos needs to seriously lift in September if he wants to shake his H&A specialist tag.

'Struggled to outscore the opposition', though won 4 of the 5 finals games...

Frigging LOLOLOLOL.
You scored under 80 in 4 of those finals. Your inability to put scoreboard pressure on ultimately resulted in you going from warm flag favourites when flying high during 2025 to badly beaten PF losers, beaten by a team that hits the scoreboard with ease. So you can laugh, but your inability to score is why you only beat one decent team in your last 9 games of the 2025.

It really is amazing how many Collingwood threads turn into a critical analysis of the game's best player.

So much is known about Daicos' finals performances in his first 4 seasons.

I can't remember anything about the finals performances of the likes of Martin in his first 4 seasons. All I know is that he wasn't good enough to consistently carry his team into finals, let alone win any....

You scored under 80 in 4 of those finals. Your inability to put scoreboard pressure on ultimately resulted in you going from warm flag favourites when flying high during 2025 to badly beaten PF losers, beaten by a team that hits the scoreboard with ease. So you can laugh, but your inability to score is why you only beat one decent team in your last 9 games of the 2025.
Yeah, maybe the Collingwood game plan focusses on defence at the expense of scoring?

Which is why we were able to win 4 of those finals despite 'scoring under 80' (whatever that threshold is) in 80% of them.

Should we be more like the Bulldogs, who apparently have no problem 'scoring at will', they just struggle to win enough games to qualify for finals?

He didn’t get a kick in the last qtr with season on the line. Not … a … single … kick. 7’x finals. Never in best 2 on ground. Finals are where reputations are made … everyone knows this. Naicos needs to seriously lift in September if he wants to shake his H&A specialist tag.

Just did a little quick research on our "non finals player" Nick....seems he matches up fairly well against quite a few "Champions" (particularly when you look at the age comparisons). Reputations are made in finals you say? Well hopefully you'll keep track of his progress as I shall.

Attachments

• IMG_1350.jpeg
    IMG_1350.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 10
I can't remember anything about the finals performances of the likes of Martin in his first 4 seasons. All I know is that he wasn't good enough to consistently carry his team into finals, let alone win any....
They were all shit compared to Daics, probably Judd the only decent comparison this century