Training 2026 Training Reports

Haven't seen this mentioned yet, but got word that Zac Becker from Sturt (SANFL) training with us looking for a SSP spot.

Asked about him and heard that he is mates with Powell. Was 2nd in Sturts BnF last year when they won the flag. 190cm medium/tall defender type. His old man was a baseballer who made it into the Yankees system in the minors!
Reckon the other bloke training looks what we need. HBF with skill or mid. Forgot his name ha. Won the VFL medal.

Although this guy could kick out McDonald.

Haven't seen this mentioned yet, but got word that Zac Becker from Sturt (SANFL) training with us looking for a SSP spot.

Asked about him and heard that he is mates with Powell. Was 2nd in Sturts BnF last year when they won the flag. 190cm medium/tall defender type. His old man was a baseballer who made it into the Yankees system in the minors!
It was mentioned, but buried among a lot of other reporting. Same with Blamries.

Maybe already posted, so apologies in advance if so.

Great to see PC tackling anything that moves. He must have worked so hard to get his strength and fitness back. Sheezel looks fantastic. LDU’s a beast. Very excited to see what Colby can produce this year.

Please don’t let this optimistic bubble burst!

Was going to say the same thing. If you can’t follow instructions at training that often translates to game day
There's a enormous difference between not following an instruction to hold your structure or to move the footy a certain way vs dropping the ball that comes directly to you from a ruck contest...

Coaches votes wise, it’s pretty close to the mark.

21/22/23 all 90+.

No other year above 80.
There's also a bit of a correlation between where Melbourne finished on the ladder and his coaches votes.

Fast ball movement is positive.

AFL is changing rules to encourage it. Hopefully our decision to move quickly is based on a plan to exploit the new rules.

From track watchers who have been down at match simulation with official umpires…is there any noticable difference in the way that the stand rule is being applied?

I went down to watch the first half yesterday.
The main takeaway I got, apart from the individual performances of LDU, Sheezel, Larkey, etc. was the speed at which we were looking to move the ball.
It has been mentioned in here by others already, but it was very evident right from the start. Not sure if they maintained this in the second half when the boys would obviously be tiring.
No side ways kicks or marking & taking time to look for an option. Also no bombing the ball down the line crap!
It was get the ball & go, moving the ball forward with run & carry & hitting up a targets by foot. A lot less handball chains.
Also the man on man defence was a noticeable change. No zoning off our opponents to mark space.
How this will work out, I’m not sure, but it was an obvious shift to previous seasons.

NorthBall 2.0 !? 😂

Petracca was a fat, lazy bludger till 20/21 (esp 21,) when he finally pulled his finger out. Always had the talent but didn't appear to have the work ethic or desire until then.

LDU is a bit below right now but could take that next step in a stronger team.
As a mid LDU could yet match him but I don't think he'll reach the same ceiling as a forward.

at least i was excited when we were playing northball

bring it back i say
Northball only really worked when we were playing praccy matches.

Don't need to hear it about the Freo game because we lost that one comprehensively in the end, thanks to a combination of Luke Jackson and our own shit goalkicking

at least i was excited when we were playing northball

bring it back i say
those Collingwood and Freo losses still haunt.
The problem is that we could only sustain it for a half, the oppo then put the clamps on, we couldn't react (our defensive game not up to it), and got steamrolled