Training Pre-season 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter prodigy

Balta with the death stare….

terminator smile GIF by ADWEEK

I don’t know if Sonsie will make it but he hasn’t put a foot wrong all pre season. He is a lock for round one. Grilj, Cumming and Retsckho will all play games early on as well
His 1st and last game this year will be in the VFL. Bookmark it

Says the bloke joking about hitting on children...
Proven correct on wokeness unlike like you jokes are better than reality aren't they mr.

sonsie too
McCauliffe had 9 games in his debut year of 2024. 3 he was activated sub. He had some injury issues.

Then he had some early injuries during pre-season 2025, then after dominating VFL got his opportunity and played 5 games in a row. He averaged 18 disposals, 5 tackles and 2 clearances.

Of 84 x 19-20yo to play 3+ games in 2025, he had the 18th highest rating.

He’s had 2 injury interrupted years and played just 14 games. Games 10 to 14 in a bottom team in 2025 were really promising.

What were people expecting from a 10-gamer? 25 touches and 5 clearances?

He’s tracking beautifully.

How can the club keep getting it so wrong with this kid?

The repeated mismanagement of his injuries is beyond a question. How can you wait over 3 months to make a decision to look at surgery only a matter of days before pre season training begins.

We’re talking about an over 12 month hamstring/quad injury!

Poor Juddy Clarke will have recovered from two ACL’s during the time it’s taken Smillie to get back from a quad
There were very good reasons why the club would have chosen surgery on his quad as the very last resort: He’s a 19yo kid and you want them to jump in and slice him open before trying every other avenue first? Surgery has its own long term risks and potential side effects.

As for his fitness …I think we can all read between the lines in relation to some of the issues (professionalism), and for obvious reasons the club didn’t throw him under the bus.

And it only took a basic Google search relating to ‘quad surgery’ to realise Smillie was never ever getting into any serious training in January. The club should’ve perhaps been more realistic, but wanted to paint an optimistic timeline …. it was probably best case if everything went perfectly … which it never does.

I have been frustrated with our seemingly poor injury management in the last coupe of years as well, but to think our club has no idea what they’re doing and doesn’t do what’s in the best interests of the players is of course ridiculous.

Fans aren’t entitled to anything.

I'm entitled to be entitled. Smilz not playing at AFL level ~ not great. In the meantime 14 kids from last 2 drafts looking good in February.

Class of 21. Clarke, Sonsie, Gibcus, Banks, Brown.

Banks been good. Brown not bad. Sonsie needs a good season.
Smilies a unicorn ~ still growing.

Serpell doing a better job than Meehan.

EFC's just hired Meehan for the chicas. AFLW team

In the backline there wasn’t a lot of rushed kicks, the aim was to control the footy, move it laterally or look for Jayden as the short option where he would find space and move forward towards the kicker.

Sarcastic Season 9 GIF by The Office

Or the downplaying of a players talents! Taranto has a glaze?? Mate, he’s been bloody awesome for us since he arrived at the club and his voting in last years Brownlow says a lot. Taranto is a very very good player who needs no “glaze” to define his talents.
I like Taranto and think he would be a star in a team like Hawthorn. As our kids develop he could be the same for us. The trick is to develop our kids with both Taranto and Hopper in the side. As for Brownlow votes, that is the definition of glazing it’s become a kick chasers medal that proves nothing

Or the downplaying of a players talents! Taranto has a glaze?? Mate, he’s been bloody awesome for us since he arrived at the club and his voting in last years Brownlow says a lot. Taranto is a very very good player who needs no “glaze” to define his talents.
What player on our list do you not rate lol

There’s a number of them but I’m not classless enough to sh!t on them on an Internet forum.
Trust me, I get plenty fired up at some of players when at the games live. A few that need replacing but I’ll defend players that don’t deserve some of the cr@p being directed at them on this forum if I think it’s unwarranted. Taranto has been very good for us, or do you disagree?

There were very good reasons why the club would have chosen surgery on his quad as the very last resort: He’s a 19yo kid and you want them to jump in and slice him open before trying every other avenue first? Surgery has its own long term risks and potential side effects.

As for his fitness …I think we can all read between the lines in relation to some of the issues (professionalism), and for obvious reasons the club didn’t throw him under the bus.

And it only took a basic Google search relating to ‘quad surgery’ to realise Smillie was never ever getting into any serious training in January. The club should’ve perhaps been more realistic, but wanted to paint an optimistic timeline …. it was probably best case if everything went perfectly … which it never does.

I have been frustrated with our seemingly poor injury management in the last coupe of years as well, but to think our club has no idea what they’re doing and doesn’t do what’s in the best interests of the players is of course ridiculous.
We had very few injuries to senior players last year, so something went right.

We had a lot of injuries to young players and players on the periphery, many of whom came in underdone due to existing injuries or bodies not ready for AFL.

Those bodies now, besides Smillie and Sims, see a lot more battle ready after a full preseason. The players drafted this year all came in strong and fit, with good running power seemingly a requirement. We are 'head and shoulders' above where we were last year, so it looks as it Serpell is doing well so far.

When you get a spare 10 minutes...:D Good overview from the HS...

RICHMOND

HEADLINE MAKER

After hamstring injuries ended his debut season early, the next Dustin Martin is ready to rise. The No.1 draft pick from 2024, Sam Lalor has some excellent outings playing mostly as a forward last year. An explosive and powerful player with creative abilities, he has spent more time training in the midfield this pre-season, with a Martin-like role likely in the No.4 jumper this year. There will also be plenty of eyes on key defender Josh Gibcus, a top-10 draft pick from 2021 who has played only three senior games in three years due to a horror injury run. Gibcus returned to AFL level for the final game of last season and has been moving well after enjoying an uninterrupted pre-season. A strong player one-on-one, the athletic Gibcus is also capable of taking an intercept mark and providing some rebound when he does win it back.

X-FACTOR​

An unexpected winner of Richmond’s leading goalkicker award last season, Seth Campbell booted 38 majors from 22 games in an impressive campaign. He also finished equal-fifth in the best-and-fairest count, as a player who presents well, has elite agility, wins the ball at ground level and applies great pressure. Campbell is determined to improve further in 2026 and has shown growth with his leadership traits over summer. After returning from an ACL injury to play the final seven games of last season, midfielder-forward Taj Hotton excited with his immense talent and has shown further signs of development over the pre-season. Hotton’s speed, agility and ball use are major assets for the Tigers in the front half. Small forwards Steely Green and Jasper Alger have looked dangerous inside 50 and have been kicking goals during match simulation sessions as they push for more senior opportunities this year.

QUESTION MARK

The main question mark hanging over Josh Smillie is whether he can get his body right. Tigers fans have been eager to see the No.7 draft pick from 2024 in action, but he was the only one of eight players from his draft year not to make an AFL debut for Richmond last year. Hamstring and quad issues restricted Smillie to only five VFL games last year. The big-bodied midfielder was working hard and tracking well early in the off-season, before another issue arose in November which saw him have surgery on his quad. The Tigers now think they have found the ‘remedy’ for Smillie, though, and hope he can get himself fit and make a debut in the not-too-distant future.

KEEP IT UP

Sam Banks finished seventh in Richmond’s best-and-fairest count last year after a breakout campaign. The rebounding defender missed only one game, providing some slick rebound from halfback getting better with the longer the campaign progressed. Fellow halfback Tom Brown played every game and also provided some good drive and ball-use from his booming right foot, while Luke Trainor was important in a wing role in his debut season but looks likely to settle back in defence. Midfielder Kane McAuliffe played five senior games in the middle of last season before being sidelined for the last 10 weeks with a quad injury. Entering his third year, McAuliffe is fit again and is a player to watch, with his stoppage work and clean hands standing out in the thick of the action at training. Key forwards Jonty Faull (16 games), Tom Sims (11 games) and Harry Armstrong (eight games) all had a good taste of senior footy on debut last year and will be looking to rise again.

Sam Banks finished in the seventh in the best and fairest. Picture: Steve Bell/Getty Images

WATCH THIS SPACE

Traded from Geelong in exchange for pick 99, Patrick Retschko could prove a steal. He has dominated running drills over summer and is eyeing a wing role on the back of Kamdyn McIntosh’s departure and Hugo Ralphsmith’s injury issues. Key-forward-turned-defender Campbell Gray has also enjoyed a strong pre-season, after playing three senior games last year before a knee injury sidelined him for nine weeks. Gray competes well in the air and wins intercept marks, so will be pushing for more senior opportunities this year.

SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT

Top 2025 draft picks Sam Grlj and Sam Cumming have settled in beautifully at Punt Rd, with both pressing for early AFL debuts. Grlj has been used as a halfback rebounder as well as spending time through the midfield during match simulation and has impressed teammates and coaches with his speed, pressure and willingness to take the game on. Cumming has found plenty of the footy as an in-and-under midfielder who also has class on the outside and has been working well in tandem with Jacob Hopper. Exciting forward Zane Peucker has proven a surprise packet, competing well on the track. However, he has plenty of competition for a senior spot.

The leadership group will be interesting.
From the photo it looks like its Nank as captain, Taranto and Lynch as VC's again
I would think next year there will definitely be a change.
Banks, Brown and Ross would be considered IMO. If Banks can improve again this year I think he is a smokey to be the next captain.

The leadership group will be interesting.
From the photo it looks like its Nank as captain, Taranto and Lynch as VC's again
I would think next year there will definitely be a change.
Banks, Brown and Ross would be considered IMO. If Banks can improve again this year I think he is a smokey to be the next captain.
I like your thinking, and it would be a good way of keeping him from Tassie...! But I have a feeling TT will take over from Nank for a couple of years first...Then the next one from that leadership group with him (maybe Lalor)...

McCauliffe had 9 games in his debut year of 2024. 3 he was activated sub. He had some injury issues.

Then he had some early injuries during pre-season 2025, then after dominating VFL got his opportunity and played 5 games in a row. He averaged 18 disposals, 5 tackles and 2 clearances.

Of 84 x 19-20yo to play 3+ games in 2025, he had the 18th highest rating.

He’s had 2 injury interrupted years and played just 14 games. Games 10 to 14 in a bottom team in 2025 were really promising.

What were people expecting from a 10-gamer? 25 touches and 5 clearances and 6 goals

He’s tracking beautifully.
Efa

We had very few injuries to senior players last year, so something went right.

Players now 24 or older and the games they missed for us last year:

1 Broad, Vlastuin, Taranto, Nankervis
3 Mansell
7 Lynch, Short
10 Balta
11 Ralphsmith, Prestia
12 Dow
16 Young
22 Lefau

Ryan also missed about half the season.

Now ok, not all these guys were best 23. But if they were all available every game, they'd have probably played about an extra 70-75 AFL games between them. That is roughly the amount of matches an AFL team loses from it whole best 23 due to injury each season.

It is simply untrue to say or infer we didn't suffer from absences to mature players in 2025. We did, and to a greater extent than an AFL club would normally suffer.