Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 6

• Thread starter Thread starter Gralin

I thought his name was Matt Caravan and thought how appropriate with the housing crisis
Ironically, he hates drag

The main problem with EVs in WA is that outside Perth and the SW they are pretty useless.

Run out of petrol/diesel and some kind sandgroper (no Wolf Creek) can help you out. Run out of electrons and you basically need to be towed to the nearest town/roadhouse.

Even in Perth there aren't that many charging stations for EVs, there are only a couple I know of in my area but heaps of servos.

One annoying thing with ev’s is most don’t have a spare tyre. As a regional road user I like my cars to have a spare.

My wifes next car will more than likely be an EV. They're a long way off being able to replace the BT50 though. However, I plan to drive this thing until it dies anyway so by that time maybe EV's will be better for towing and 4WDing.

I’ll admit I’m feeling a teeeeny bit smug to all those people who told me charging would be a pain in the ass and petrol is easier hehe

Petrol prices near me have jumped about 50c a litre but there are no queues at the servos.

For the average driver doing 12k km/year that's about $10 extra per week. It might have more impact on businesses such trucking, farming, airlines with their costs passed on to consumers.

Since 90% of Australia's population live and travel in cities, EVs will do just fine.

For those 90%, yes.

Not sure what that has to do with my post about WA - where 90% of the population don't live.

Cars aren't a metro network. If all you do is drive in the city then a small EV will do fine. But a lot of people don't just do that.

The cities wouldn't last a day without rural and regional Australia anyway. Bread and milk and apples don't come from Coles and Woolies.

Petrol prices near me have jumped about 50c a litre but there are no queues at the servos.

For the average driver doing 12k km/year that's about $10 extra per week. It might have more impact on businesses such trucking, farming, airlines with their costs passed on to consumers.

There's a good scene in Landman about the oil price sitting in a sweet spot where producers make money, explorers still look for new deposits and the economy functions.

Petrol (specifically diesel) prices being $2, $2.20, $2.50... a litre ripples through the entire economy. Road trains use around 50-80 litres per 100km and they are running around the clock all over the country. The dairy farmer cops the increase in fuel costs on the farm, then the processor cops the increase in fuel costs for logistics (potentially processing also if there is an impact on price of electricity), then retailer passes on the costs and all of a sudden the cafe that was buying milk for $2/L is paying $2.50 an A Current Affair are running outrage stories of why a coffee is $7.

For those 90%, yes.

Not sure what that has to do with my post about WA - where 90% of the population don't live.

Cars aren't a metro network. If all you do is drive in the city then a small EV will do fine. But a lot of people don't just do that.

The cities wouldn't last a day without rural and regional Australia anyway. Bread and milk and apples don't come from Coles and Woolies.
WA is still part of Australia last time I looked. The 90% applies across the country.

The vast majority of car trips are less than 10 kilometres.

It's the same lazy argument ScoMo trotted out about the weekend. Australians have this idea that they spend all their time driving hundreds of kilometres when that's just not true.

WA is still part of Australia last time I looked. The 90% applies across the country.

Yes, and ~80% of the population of WA live in Perth. Are we just going to pretend the other 20% don't exist?

The vast majority of car trips are less than 10 kilometres.

How many have just one or two people in a 4-5 seater car?
How many are made by 4WDs, utes, SUVs and vans that could be made with a small hatchback?

It's the same lazy argument ScoMo trotted out about the weekend. Australians have this idea that they spend all their time driving hundreds of kilometres when that's just not true.

They do, which is why school drop off zones look Prado dealerships. I've long been a believer in punishing unnecessary city vehicle use. But if everyone who doesn't need a Prado or a Ford Ranger doesn't get them, the need for those that do and those that leave the city won't go away.

I don't understand why my washing machine tells me the load will take an hour and 15 minutes, but when I walk past it 10 minutes later, it's an hour and 25. Bro, if you needed more time, you just needed to ask.
This is very frustrating. Mine will say 3 minutes remaining for about 7 minutes at times.

Why car dealerships close 1pm on a Saturday, which would surely be their busiest day otherwise.

Isn’t this the same for stand alone butchers in WA

It’s bizarre

Everyone grieves differently but this seems weird to me. Life is finite, when it's gone it's gone.

I don't understand why my washing machine tells me the load will take an hour and 15 minutes, but when I walk past it 10 minutes later, it's an hour and 25. Bro, if you needed more time, you just needed to ask.

I've noticed that the time can go out of whack if you don't load it properly (I know how cna you not load a washnig machine correctly ? just chuck it in! :P). I mean there's a sweet spot, put too much or too little in (regardless of how much it can really hold) and the timing can go out of whack. Like when the time on the dial counts back slower than real world time.