Review Dees v Eagles in Mothers' Day Blockbuster - the Good, Bad and Fugly

interesting to hear after the game that Petty trained with the forwards this week but stayed back once Turner came out.
Was his best game in a while i thought.

Pressure was decent early but once we got a lead up, we got lazy quickly.

Hard to find a positive other than giving King some ammo to shoot at non-performers while still getting 4 points.

Cross is crafty and has a knack for hitting the scoreboard.

JVR might get some confidence from his snags which is better than him being low on confidence I spose.
I think JVRs confidence should come from him taking some good marks or bringing the ball to ground. Felt he did that pretty well today. Was also pleased with Petty, he seemed much more confident today as well

Think Kozzy was pretty upset at himself for that early incident with Waterman, I think he'll be fine but he would have been very worried about suspension.
Probably, but a player of his calibre can't be going to water mentally like that over such an incident. Needed to get it together at quarter time play to his ability again.

I mean he kicked 3 goals and all but that selfish bit of play where he left Sharp absolutely HANGING front of goal takes the gloss of Cross' game for me, I'm still filthy about it.

Just to play "Demons" Advocate. Just this round I did not expect:-

• Lions to win by only 11 points against Carlton.
  • Swans on only win by 18 points against North.
  • GWS only to win by 14 against the Bombers.

So I can live with the 32 point win.

I can't put my finger on it but I feel they did some large experimentation in this game to see how players went with different roles perhaps.

Next week they might come out with some of the form we have been seeing, which they will need as it's Hawthorn.

aside from Essendon that was our worst performance, very Goodwinesque 22/23 game, result never in doubt but totally uninteresting performance.

Having said to that, Going into the year I thought if we could win as many games this year as we did last year that would be a pretty solid result and to be 6-3 already is pretty unbelievable.

Chandler is our next captain I reckon.

aside from Essendon that was our worst performance, very Goodwinesque 22/23 performance, result never in doubt but totally uninteresting performance.

Having said to that, Going into the year I thought if we could win as many games this year as we did last year that would be a pretty solid result and to be 6-3 already is pretty unbelievable.

Chandler is our next captain I reckon.

Yep, totally agree. I reckon we probably have to re-assess our preseason expectations a bit now (I had 7-8 wins as a pass mark, we're going to fly past that) but it is still pretty nuts that we are in this position.

Good:
  • Got the Win. The game was in the bag at half time. Are people forgetting we lost to Essendon by 50+? Take the win.
  • Paddy Cross: Silky smooth, great skills. Brave in the air. Agile and balanced. Love what I see.
  • Howes continuing to win important 1 v 1's.
  • Sparrow being Sparrow. One of the best players on the list on current form proving a lot of people drastically wrong. An extremely important signing.
  • Kade Chandler's goal: Love him. Love his energy and tackling. Super important that we keep him long term.
  • JVR kicking a bag: For JVR, any opportunity to kick goals is great for his confidence.
  • I thought Jiath played well. He's got some 'Frost-ball' in him but he didn't make errors today and offered plenty of rebound.

Bad:
  • Fans: where were they? Low turnout and fans were so quiet. Not great.
  • Latrelle with some soft efforts. Yep, I know he's slender but if bowey could do it in his 1st year then so can Latrelle. And his shots on goal recently have been sloppy.
  • It wouldn't be a Danster post without mentioning Langford, he's our next superstar is he?
  • Yep, time for Laurie to go. And no idea how Jefferson gets in the team before a competitor like Kentfield.

Ugly:
  • Sharp giving 2 sloppy high kick frees to Waterman. I thought he'd learn from the first.
  • Tholstrup's turnover goal just before half time.

First #ATG of the year - mirror most people’s comments.

Thought Bowey was excellent in his first game back.

the backline as a whole was actually very solid.

Mids did ok. Forwards ok.

Jefferson tho was pretty putrid. I can’t see his strengths - no aggression, no pace, not super-sticky hands, not super smart with positioning.

Latrelle also wasn’t great. Doesn’t seem to use his pace at all when defending, only attacking. But still, he shows glimpses and he’s worth persevering with imo.

Koz actually looked crook. Had no intensity and could barely run.

Latrelle does some really nice stuff every game, v. good at "cutting through traffic". Few obvious things to work on but holding his spot and happy for him to learn his craft in the seniors.

Plus he's not really holding anyone out of the side, Matthews may get a crack at some point but was quiet this week. Laurie to go before Latrelle. Big step up from SANFL reserves obviously but he's starting to look more comfortable & has some really promising moments despite having some pretty glaring deficiencies in his game to work on.

Gawn seemed a monty for a 9th AA a couple of weeks back, respect him sharing the load or whatever but he's pissing away a record I'd love to see.
Generous on his part I reckon. He’s prepared to sacrifice that legacy to develop another ruck for the team longer term.

Latrelle also wasn’t great. Doesn’t seem to use his pace at all when defending, only attacking.
Yep very noticeable, in fact id go as far as to say hes very lazy when it comes to the defensive side. Showed some promise a few weeks ago with some pressure but the amount of jogging and half hearted efforts he does in terms of putting his body on the line and tackling needs to be rectified immediately by the coaching staff.

I can forgive the body contact stuff to a degree because he’s so light. Hopefully that will develop.

But his speed and agility are massive strengths which should be applied defensively as well as going forward. Hope the coaches are onto him.

I wouldn't mind honestly giving him a spell in the magoos to find the ball and use his pace in a slower tier. But idk who comes in other than Mathews maybe??? It would also keep Laurie in the side probably

Fritsch zero goals total the last 2 games.

He had better get serious vs the Hawks.
Playing higher up the ground lately I reckon. Think they have Jefferson and Fritsch as similar roles when inside 50, so Jefferson being in the team has allowed Fritsch to play higher. Not sure how long they persist with that though.

Annoying thing about Heath is that I picked Gawn over Grundy in SC right before he came in, and also I can't bring myself to pick Heath as a cash cow even though he might score 70-80 every week bc don't know when this experiment will end.

Otherwise v happy with Heath's work, we'd miss Max's contested and intercept work + forward presence if he missed with injury but would be confident that Heath could hold his own in the ruck.

I'm not too fussed if Gawn gets a 9th AA, he's already tied for first place with GAJ, Buddy, Dangerfield, Ricciuto and Robert Harvey with Bont probably joining them this year. One ahead of Carey, Buckley, Roos and Craig Bradley. Pretty good company, I think it's fitting that none stand alone and even if Max gets 9 selections no one will remember him as being a better footballer than those guys, which is right. He's two ahead of the next ruck, that'll have to do.