Recruiting 2026 Midseason Draft

Nguyen can’t play mate.
Honestly if he was not nga he would not be on the list.
I love that he has played afl footy but he is a good vfl player at best.
El achtar is so far away from afl fitness.
I don’t think he can bridge the gap.
Sad el hawli is 25. So what?
He is in our best 25 players I reckon.
Nguyen can have a role, what that is needs to be identified and solidified. He can play.

El~Achkar might be far away from fitness but he can play football well. We haven't had someone like that on the list for an eternity.

El~Hawli is 25, we should know what we have with him, not still guessing and summarising his position. You dont carry players that long in hope. Although, at Essendon we do.

Nguyen can have a role, what that is needs to be identified and solidified. He can play.
Dunno man, if he's one of the last picked and lacks a clear position or role then he's probably not going to be around for long unless something changes drastically.

El~Achkar might be far away from fitness but he can play football well. We haven't had someone like that on the list for an eternity.

El~Hawli is 25, we should know what we have with him, not still guessing and summarising his position. You dont carry players that long in hope. Although, at Essendon we do.
I love your enthusiasm but your Calder bias is way too strong.
Jayden is a goer but lacks talent.
Decision making is slow and you can’t teach dumb.

El Achtar is football fat.
He is miles off. You would only keep him

El Hawli has so much more talent than both these blokes.

I am sorry to be blunt and I really admire your passion and loyalty but neither bloke can play.
Justice and Then darwish have more hope than these two blokes and I am far from convinced about either.

I love your enthusiasm but your Calder bias is way too strong.
Jayden is a goer but lacks talent.
Decision making is slow and you can’t teach dumb.

El Achtar is football fat.
He is miles off. You would only keep him

El Hawli has so much more talent than both these blokes.

I am sorry to be blunt and I really admire your passion and loyalty but neither bloke can play.
Justice and Then darwish have more hope than these two blokes and I am far from convinced about either.
Maybe, effort trumps traits right now and that is what both of these kids offer.

Seen Nguyen go and win plenty of his own ball and then been pleasantly surprised to see him be tight as a lock down defender.

Maybe Im biased with Huss, something we haven't had since Walla, thats probably where the obsession comes from with him

El~Hawli just cant seem to stay on the park, when he does, its never anything special bar moments. At 25, it is here and now, not what ifs.

Justice ive always maintained was a 30 - 50 pick, the talk from people like Scooter are biased and talk him up as a 1st round prospect. I dont think so. Potentially a re draft in 5 years but not on current output.

Darwish similar to Blake imho.

What's this Artemis kid like? I saw he was a taswegian so maybe there's an opportunity to trade him back to the maps for a first round pick
He is playing with Tassie but he is from WA. Running half back/wing

Maybe, effort trumps traits right now and that is what both of these kids offer.

Seen Nguyen go and win plenty of his own ball and then been pleasantly surprised to see him be tight as a lock down defender.

Maybe Im biased with Huss, something we haven't had since Walla, thats probably where the obsession comes from with him

El~Hawli just cant seem to stay on the park, when he does, its never anything special bar moments. At 25, it is here and now, not what ifs.

Justice ive always maintained was a 30 - 50 pick, the talk from people like Scooter are biased and talk him up as a 1st round prospect. I dont think so. Potentially a re draft in 5 years but not on current output.

Darwish similar to Blake imho.
You can’t do much about a broken collarbone. He has been in our best players twice this year. 25 years and football fresh. Shaun mannagh similar age. 100 game player.

Nguyen can’t play mate.
Honestly if he was not nga he would not be on the list.
I love that he has played afl footy but he is a good vfl player at best.
El achtar is so far away from afl fitness.
I don’t think he can bridge the gap.
Sad el hawli is 25. So what?
He is in our best 25 players I reckon.
Pretty harsh on huss considering how dudley has improved his fitness over 1 preseason. I don’t think they’re that much different as players.

Dudley’s finishing skills I reckon way better.
But that is a fair comparison.

Highest upside player, irrespective of position.

Could be Tovey if we think he can lean off the puppy fat like Newcombe did, could be Herbert but I will be the first to admit I haven’t seen a massive amount. Has NHH done enough to dispel the concerns about him from last year in the space of 6 games?

If we are doing some targeted attribute based recruiting, whoever is the best kick to advantage is quite clearly the thing

Ideally with a high MSD pick your pick a 19 year old you expect to go top 20ish if they where in the open pool end of year or a player you expect to come into your AFL side straight away and be expected to stay there for a long time.

In terms of 19 year olds I think Artemis/Griffin/McMenamin fit that bill and for mature players I think Herbert and potentially Hall-Kahan or Kye Annand.

If we had two picks I would take a chance on a Wes Walley or Jake Soutar who both impressed me for WA U20 against the WA 18s side.

Ideally with a high MSD pick your pick a 19 year old you expect to go top 20ish if they where in the open pool end of year or a player you expect to come into your AFL side straight away and be expected to stay there for a long time.

In terms of 19 year olds I think Artemis/Griffin/McMenamin fit that bill and for mature players I think Herbert and potentially Hall-Kahan or Kye Annand.

If we had two picks I would take a chance on a Wes Walley or Jake Soutar who both impressed me for WA U20 against the WA 18s side.
Xavier Bamert comes into calculations, playing a new role and doing well, he surely enters discussions for us in a position of need.

Highest upside player, irrespective of position.

Could be Tovey if we think he can lean off the puppy fat like Newcombe did, could be Herbert but I will be the first to admit I haven’t seen a massive amount. Has NHH done enough to dispel the concerns about him from last year in the space of 6 games?
Ive got Tovey leading the Fothergil-Round medal, his upside is enormous. The ability he has shown to influence games either forward or through the midfield is immense.

If we are doing some targeted attribute based recruiting, whoever is the best kick to advantage is quite clearly the thing

Im not saying its history repeating itself but we do have solid experience with left footed intercepting, rebounding left footers from Frankston.

Ive got Tovey leading the Fothergil-Round medal, his upside is enormous. The ability he has shown to influence games either forward or through the midfield is immense.

Im not saying its history repeating itself but we do have solid experience with left footed intercepting, rebounding left footers from Frankston.

Tovey as a shot at the stumps seems to be a high risk, high reward option.

Floor is probably something like Billy Gowers or Josh Begley, thick, rumpy medium forward.

Ceiling if he wants to do the work, gets lean and more mobile but retains the attack on the footy and size is maybe a Temu Clayton Oliver that comes from the clouds and goes from drab to fab. He has something like a Robey or Sharp stype frame but the key will be whether we think he can run.

Another one I will chuck in is Stefanakis from Sandy, fight in the dog, not dog in the fight etc.

Tovey as a shot at the stumps seems to be a high risk, high reward option.

Floor is probably something like Billy Gowers or Josh Begley, thick, rumpy medium forward.

Ceiling if he wants to do the work, gets lean and more mobile but retains the attack on the footy and size is maybe a Temu Clayton Oliver that comes from the clouds and goes from drab to fab. He has something like a Robey or Sharp stype frame but the key will be whether we think he can run.

Another one I will chuck in is Stefanakis from Sandy, fight in the dog, not dog in the fight etc.
He actually looks the type that can trim up while still retaining his size. Sharp seems a good comparison. Nothing wrong with having a couple of those types in the side. At least you know they'll compete

Code Sports Top 34 MSD Prospects (in no particular order)

Jackson Voss
CLUB: Frankston

At 25, and after a few high-standard seasons for the Dolphins, Voss may finally get his chance to follow his father, Brett, into AFL ranks. Third in Frankston’s 2025 best and fairest, he’s been among its leading players this year, averaging 25.3 disposals. Voss gives the ball a great hoof from halfback and is as strong as a seawall. Will West Coast Eagles reunite the left-footer with his great mate Tom McCarthy?

Louis Pinnuck
CLUB: Werribee

Pinnuck, 27, made a slow start to the season, no doubt feeling the sting of being invited to train with North Melbourne as an SSP prospect only to learn he was ineligible because he did not nominate for last year’s draft. But the right-footer has got going since captaining the VFL to victory over the SANFL. His long and accurate kicking off half-back and the wing is the obvious strength of his well-rounded game.

Tom Barnett
CLUB: Coburg

Barnett, 20, has thrived at the Burgers since joining them halfway through last season, pushed to the VFL by his local coach, former AFL Docker and Magpie Brodie Holland. At 196cm, he can stand players of varying heights and weights, quelling opponents while also getting involved in moving the ball out of defence. He had 28 disposals and eight marks in Round 6 against Brisbane, showing dash to go with his defensive skills.

Mitch Podhajski
CLUB: Coburg

Is there a club looking for a short-term boost to its scoring powers? At 27, the 192cm Podhajski could be a good fit for a forward line. He’s turned into a reliable goalkicker for the Lions, booting 54 last year and already putting up 26 this season, including a bag of six in a losing cause against St Kilda. Podhajski also kicked four in the state game against the SANFL, one of them with a toe-poke that Maradona wouldn’t have sniffed at.

James Tarrant
CLUB: North Melbourne VFL

A 26-year-old forward who can take a turn in the ruck, Tarrant won a few fans with his performance in the state game against the SANFL in April. A late call-up to the team, he helped turn the match the Vics’ way when he gave big Brayden Crossley a breather. The 196cm Tarrant also kicked two goals. A premiership player with VAFA club Old Scotch in 2024, he joined the VFL Roos last year.

Sam Toner
CLUB: Richmond VFL

Toner, 20, is a clever and classy 185cm forward who conjures ways to get shots at goal. He had kicked 13.12 after six matches this season, including six against St Kilda in Round 3. Five of them came in a match winning burst in the third quarter. Toner was touted as one of the bolters of the 2024 national draft after popping up late in the season at the Dandenong Stingrays. Overlooked, he set out for Punt Rd, where he’s produced enough flashes of brilliance to keep recruiters interested.

Mutaz El Nour
CLUB: Richmond VFL

The 192cm defender has been a staple of VFL-draft-hopefuls lists since emerging at Preston in 2022. Last year, his third at Punt Rd, he found another level, winning Richmond VFL’s best and fairest and gaining team-of-the-year honours after averaging 17 disposals, five marks and three tackles. Along the way he showed his ability to lock down on his opponent, intercept and use the ball neatly.

Josh Tovey
CLUB: Port Melbourne

Tovey played as a tall defender for Eastern Ranges in 2023. But it’s as a tough midfielder that he’s making his name, firstly in the Eastern league when he won the league medal with East Ringwood and now with the Borough, where he’s averaged 21 disposals and booted 12 goals, including five against Brisbane in Round 5. There’s a bit of the old-fashioned footballer about 20-year-old Tovey: he can win the ball and, without any flash or fanfare, put it to good use.

Harrison Coe
CLUB: Frankston

Go back seven years and Coe was a century goal kicker in Division 4 of the amateurs with a club known as the X Men, St Francis Xavier Old Collegians. He was 19 and as raw as something you’d find at a fish market. Now at age 26, he’s a leading VFL ruckman who takes an average of four contested marks per game. In Frankston’s Round 6 match against Richmond he had 22 disposals, 30 hit-outs and six clearances, an influential performance that helped turn the match the way of the Dolphins.

Brodie McLaughlin
CLUB: Box Hill Hawks

After winning last year’s Jim “Frosty’’ Miller Medal with 71 goals, former Gold Coast Sun McLaughlin decided to leave Williamstown and the VFL and play local football with Montrose. Hawthorn intervened, asking him to trial for an SSP listing. He was impressing until suffering a leg injury. The Hawks convinced McLaughlin, 28, to push on in the VFL and he’s kicked 18 goals from five games. He’s done as he was asked: he has kept presenting.

Xavier Bamert
CLUB: North Melbourne VFL

Bamert – captain of the Sandringham Dragons last year – was going well for the Roos, kicking eight goals from four games, until suffering a finger injury. His absence led to talk that a club was trying to tuck him away before the draft. North coach Adam Marcon notes the powerful left-footer can play on the ball, at half forward and on the wing.

Jaxon Artemis
CLUB: Tasmania

There’s a good chance the Tassie Devil will be the first name called in the draft. Artemis was WA’s MVP at the 2024 Under 18 national championships and played in a premiership with South Fremantle last year. A recruiting priority for the Devils, he’s given them some snazzy service with his speed and skills off half back. His best performance came against Werribee in Round 7, when he had 27 disposals and kicked a goal.

Jed Hagan

Hagan was an All Australian Under 18 selection in 2022 and has since played in the WAFL, the SANFL and now the VFL after the Devils secured him. For a little fellow – 174cm – he has a big impact on matches with his sharp skills, spirit, smarts and goalkicking. He booted four in Round 1 against Coburg and another four in Round 6 against Sandringham. Perhaps there’s a club that thinks it can unlock a little more of Hagan’s talent and allow him to cross the bridge from star state leaguer to AFL player.

Marcus Herbert
CLUB: Geelong VFL

Anyone who saw Herbert’s performance against Werribee in Round 3 will understand why he has been mentioned as an MSD candidate. He sliced the Bees open with incisive runs and spearing kicks, having 34 disposals and kicking two goals. His season average is 26.7 touches and five tackles. Herbert, 23, won the Cats’ best and fairest last year. Next week he may win a place on an AFL list.

Flynn Riley
CLUB: Carlton VFL

Melbourne is believed to be one of the clubs weighing up the 206cm Riley, who has been on the Blues’ books since coming out of the Northern Knights at the end of 2023. He’s played 10 VFL games and taken the eye with his work in the air and on the ground. When he’s not selected in the VFL, Riley plays at Aberfeldie, whose coach, former AFL player Leigh Tudor, is adamant the 22-year-old has the attributes to play at the next level.

Max Mapley

Football had VFL and VFA champion Max Papley. Now it has 200cm ruckman Max Mapley, who, with Cameron Owen out injured, has carried the Devils’ ruck division in the first third of the season. Some taller and stronger opponents have got the better of him in the middle, but he’s been of some value around the ground. With Owen returning, the Devils will look to use 20-year-old Mapley in key positions.

Joel Fitzgerald
CLUB: Williamstown

An intercepting half back in his four previous seasons in the VFL, Fitzgerald has made a spectacular transition to the midfield this year, stacking up big numbers. He had 40 touches against his former club, Essendon, in Round 6, and 37 a week later against Richmond, as well as 11 clearances. “He’s durable, he can run, he finds the footy,’’ Willy assistant Danny Ryan said of Fitzgerald.

Jasper Peace
CLUB: Claremont

A 192cm key defender, Peace has put together a strong past two years in the WAFL. He regularly shuts down dangerous opposition forwards, possessing a nice leap, strong hands overhead and good closing speed to get in a late spoil. Peace also reads the play well to intercept the footy and has grown in confidence over recent times. The 20-year-old came through the WAFL Colts before making his league debut in 2024.

Kane Bevan
CLUB: West Perth

A 192cm big-bodied midfielder, Bevan featured for Western Australia at the under-18 national championships in his draft year in 2022 and won the WAFL Colts’ league best and fairest award that season. He has spent the past four years since then playing senior football, proving a consistent ball-winner. Bevan finds plenty of his own ball around the contest, is strong at ground level and overhead and has hit the scoreboard pushing forward this year. He has worked on his running capacity this year.

Zac Mainwaring
CLUB: Claremont

A long-time small forward, the 178cm Mainwaring has moved into the midfield over the past 12 months to good effect. He’s improved his contest work, while still offering good speed, pressure, skills and scoreboard impact in the WAFL. The 24-year-old is the best mate of Milan Murdock, who was an SSP signing for West Coast earlier this year. His father, Chris, was a two-time premiership player for the Eagles.

Tom McGuane
CLUB: Footscray

A ball-winning midfielder with high footy IQ, the 178cm McGuane has shown an ability to play on a wing, across half-forward or onball. He is an elite endurance runner, has clean hands in the contest and is generally a neat left-foot kick when in space. McGuane was overlooked as a father-son prospect by Collingwood last year, where his father Mick was a 1990 premiership player. He trained with Adelaide over pre-season in search of an SSP spot but was impacted by an untimely ankle injury. McGuane has starred playing local footy under his dad’s coaching at Keilor this year, while he also averaged 37 disposals across two Young Guns matches in April and debuted for Footscray with 20 disposals in round 8.

Oliver Griffin
CLUB: Sandringham Dragons

A powerful medium forward who measures 186cm, Griffin is a strong mark, a booming kick and provides red-hot forward half pressure. He joined the Dragons for the first time as an 18-year-old last year, but has taken significant strides forward as a returning 19-year-old after a second pre-season. Griffin particularly excited with a 17-disposal and four-goal game against Oakleigh in round two, before showing his improved defensive traits with a 10-tackle game against Dandenong in round 3. The 18-year-old also made a VFL debut for Sandringham earlier this month.

Nicholas Staropli
CLUB: Calder Cannons

An athletic 190cm rebounding defender or wingman, Staropoli is a largely untapped talent. He joined the Cannons’ program in the second half of last season after playing some good school football for St Bernard’s and returned to the Talent League as a 19-year-old this year. Staropoli is a strong interceptor, has genuine speed and takes the game on when he wins the ball back. He featured in two Young Guns games in April and logged seven disposals from limited game time in a VFL debut for Essendon earlier this month.

Noah Mcmenamin
CLUB: Western Jets

Played as a key forward in his top-age campaign last season, the 192cm McMenamin has caught the eye after switching ends to become a key defender for the Jets as a 19-year-old this season. He has proven hard to beat one-on-one, has a good natural leap and reads the play well to drop off his opponents and take intercept marks in the air. In one round 2 match against Tasmania in the Talent League, McMenamin gathered 19 disposals and 10 marks (eight intercept marks). His intercept abilities were again on display during two Young Guns matches in April, while McMenamin also made a recent VFL debut for Collingwood.

Jett Elek
CLUB: Geelong Falcons

A 201cm ruck-forward who turned 19 last month, Elek is highly athletic with his strong running capacity and natural leap. The 2025 season was his first with the Falcons in the Talent League and he has developed further this year on the back of a pre-season with VFL club Werribee. Elek’s aerial work has been a highlight this season and he has shown his abilities in both ruck and forward roles. He kicked four goals in a round 2 match for the Falcons, while he also hit the scoreboard in a Vic Country trial and a Young Guns match in April.

Ted Clohesy
CLUB: Woodville West-Torrens

Delisted by Geelong after playing 12 AFL games over three years – including nine in 2025 – Clohesy was overlooked by Port Adelaide after training with the Power during pre-season in search of an SSP spot. The 21-year-old, who has a hot competitive streak, has gone on to be a consistent performer in the SANFL this season and racked up 37 disposals and nine clearances in a round 6 loss to Glenelg.

Ethan Grace

A 181cm rebounding defender who provides run from the back half and uses the ball well on his left foot, Grace averaged 25.3 disposals and 5.7 rebound 50s across the first six rounds in the SANFL this season. The 22-year-old moved to Adelaide last year after growing up in Sydney. He is a former GWS Giants Academy member who also played VFL for Sydney.

Tom Scully
CLUB: West Adelaide

A 203cm forward-ruck who was originally drafted to Port Adelaide at the end of 2022, Scully was delisted two years later and has spent the two seasons since with the Bloods. He kicked 10 goals across the first four weeks of this season in the SANFL, showing his strong overhead marking abilities. Scully has worked on becoming stronger and more competitive since his time in the AFL. He kicked three goals in the SANFL v VFL state game in April, but missed the SANFL v WAFL state game last weekend with a minor knee injury.

Kade Herbert

A South Australian representative at under-18 level in his draft year in 2024, Herbert was considered by some to be unlucky not be selected. The 186cm midfielder performed well at senior level last year before being injured after he was crunched in a dangerous tackle mid-season. However, Herbert is fully fit again this year and has discovered some career-best form. That has included best-on-ground performance against Adelaide in round 2, where Herbert gathered 25 disposals and kicked three goals.

Caleb May
CLUB: West Adelaide

A towering 208cm ruckman who came through the Sydney Swans Academy as a junior, May has been one of the leading big men in the SANFL this year. A strongly-built player who turned 21 earlier this month, May’s tap work in the ruck has been impressive this year as he has regularly provided his midfielders with first use of the footy. He averaged 12.2 disposals, 37 hitouts (11.7 to advantage) and four clearances across his first six games for the Bloods this year.

Alex Van Wyk
CLUB: North Adelaide

A 203cm ruckman, Van Wyk has developed into North Adelaide’s No.1 ruckman since joining the club from Norwood at the end of 2024. A South Australian representative at under-18 level in 2023, Van Wyk has gone on to pull on state jumpers at under-20 and senior levels. The 21-year-old averaged 9.2 disposals and 20.8 hitouts across his first six games this season, while he also looked dangerous when he was pushed forward and took some strong marks to kick three goals in a round 6 win over South Adelaide.

Max Beattie

A 174cm half forward or midfielder, Beattie started this season with a bang in the SANFL. The 22-year-old logged 30 disposals and kicked five goals in a round 1 win over South Adelaide and has posted some more big games since. Beattie, who has speed to burn, had trialled with Fremantle in search of an SSP spot leading into 2024, but the Dockers picked Patrick Voss instead.

Campbell Lake
CLUB: Southport

Quick and aggressive, the 175cm Lake has been in terrific form for the Sharks, bringing great forward-pressure and kicking handy goals. He booted two and had 22 possessions in Southport’s rout of Tassie last Saturday. A VFL premiership player with Gold Coast Suns in 2023, Lake, 21, is averaging 18.1 disposals and 5.9 tackles this season.

Kyle Annand
CLUB: Geelong VFL

The 200cm Annand is versatile enough to play in the ruck and at both ends of the ground, and has done so for the VFL Cats. The 22-year-old was used as a key defender for the VFL Young Guns team last month and his performance got him some lift-off from coach Jesse Cucinotta. The athletic Annand – who came out of Ocean Grove and is now attached to South Barwon in the Geelong league – joined Geelong in 2023 and has steadily grown in size and stature

If the rumours are true it looks likely the Bombers may well draft a local lad in the upcoming MSD. Nicholas Staropoli had a real odyssey in this one, playing brief stints on the wing, forward line and through the midfield, but it was as a defender that he shone and that seems likely to be his home at the next level. 7 of his 8 marks were direct intercepts from opposition kicks, and he showed a really nice turn of pace on occasion to burn off his opponent exiting defence.

Can see why we are interested he looks to be a bit bigger then his listed height of 190cms but they could well be due to his wingspan

What are your thoughts on his kicking?