100 Year Limp Celebrations

The good -the actual ceremony itself wasnt too bad, felt a touched rushed maybe, could have been more all encompassing, but clearly the aim was to do everything on the broadcast in a fixed amount of time, even with that in mind I thought it was but was probably on par with the Hawks & Dogs ceremonies. I thought it being not too self aggrandizing was fitting for the spirit of the club, nice use of dimming the lights/using the scoreboard e.t.c

The bad -literally everything else. Getting our mob to get off their arses and attend games is like herding cats, but thats exactly why all things have to be carefully lined up. Someone who was deliberately and consciously trying to sabotage the club couldn't have done a better job ensuring the whole thing would be embarrassing on a national stage and just open us up to get slammed. If you want any further proof that Son is a glorified coterie group chairwoman completely out of her depth being president of a football club, then the way this fixture was set up is exhibit A, B and C. The most annoying thing is the excuse that will be used for Thursday will be its so all our fans can watch on tv, but its obviously caving in to sponsors wanting it to be prime time on free to air, and that she doesnt have the killer instinct to fight the AFL, or the ability to know when we have to compromise the way we've always had to. And besides all that, there seems to be a genuine obliviousness to how f*cked off and disenfranchised so many supporters are with the club and her presidency. If our management genuinely expected the crowd to be decent, which it seems is the case, the disconnect is frightening.

In a final bit of classic North irony, in spite of the dozens of ill conceived road blocks, and failure to address angst in the supporter base, the North side of the crowd actually wasnt THAT bad. The Dogs turnout was probably the worst oppo supporter turnout I've ever seen from a Victorian club in my 34 years of following footy. But stings even more to know if it was organised properly, could have gotten 50k.

Either way, it's done now.

We haven't had a home game in Melbourne against a big club this year other than Collingwood. That was the only other window where this could have been done

Could have pushed for a Sunday game like the Hawks centenary game, or as we obviously werent going to get another Friday nighter, should have dropped the good Friday game for one year (thats the kind of sh* we have to do to get anything done. Cos f*ck raising money for sick kids, Carlton need their end of year dead rubber Friday night games dammit.)

Thursday night footy is for is the tip.

It's a TV fixture. It wouldnt be so bad if it wasnt for the dog snot brained, marginally ******ed, dentally challenged gaggle of big 4 supporters who flood social media with predictably demented, primary school level spelling mistake ridden, moronic rants about "whatta farking sh*t crowd tonite!!!!! time to get farkin rid of norf and da farkin saint kilders!!!! every single GODAMN time a smaller Vic club features on a Thursday game and gets the crowd logic suggests they will get.

Not about the crowd, about TV content, the yanks understand that with Monday night football. Are we as a country happy to be dumber than those donut scoffers? yes apparently we are.

You only get one chance to celebrate 100 years. Until the next 100.

This was handled ****ing badly considering the weight of that centenary celebrations, past players, where the club is at and wants to go. If it wasn't for Pagan's speech honestly you'd remember nothing from this.

If this was handled properly it would've injected life into the club that for once doesn't rely on our on-field performances.
My point exactly! Wasted opportunity by a Leadership Team that understands little, in my opinion, about what makes culture and success in the AFL Men’s landscape.

Thursday night footy is for TV.

Its just horrible to get to working till 5 and then a day out of school holidays and end of financial year, etc

Club really hits home the own goals when it wants to

Something I noticed last night that I thought demonstrated the generally poor approach and poor attention to detail that we've put into this centenary year;

On the Marvel Stadium scoreboards, the BULLDOGS club logo was a special 100 year centenary logo.

Ours wasnt.

They had this (below) and ours was just our normal one.

View attachment 2358790
I've mentioned before what I see as a total lack of branding this year. The centenary logo should have been everywhere. For example it still is not on the header on our web site landing page.

I thought the on field celebrations were very enjoyable with the Pagan speech the highlight.

Just great to see that legends from the 70's and 90's together in the goal square - Carey and Blight talking to each other, Schimma and Simmo, Roscoe and Corey.

But I do wonder why there hasn't been a formal dinner function for supporters to attend so we could enjoy the 100 years over a full night.

Anyway it was short and sweet and glad I was there to see it.

congrats on your 100 years

gotta say though i got a double whammy out of it

i saw the pics on fb and pagan schimma greig glendenning krakouers dench made me think,geez they look old,i grew up with those guys,first game of vfl/afl i ever attended was the 1979 qualifying final and i certainly barracked for you guys that day,first vision i ever had of a vfl/afl game was the two number 36's kink and icke standing each other on the mcg & just as happy looking at the scoreboard and seeing essendon getting belted by fitzroy in the elimination final,then thinking geez i must be old to

then i went down to beach road pattaya for my 4am walk & came up on 3 girls,first one smiled,2nd one said hello sexy man & as i passed the 3rd one said not sexy man,old man

confirmed

Yeah I can't recall being part of such a large (relatively) pro-North crowd. Missed the women's Grand Finals.
20k us, 5k them. Pagan's rev-up was a ripper. At the ground it felt great. It's ultimately about footy yeah?
We showed plenty.
We have 55k members
The good -the actual ceremony itself wasnt too bad, felt a touched rushed maybe, could have been more all encompassing, but clearly the aim was to do everything on the broadcast in a fixed amount of time, even with that in mind I thought it was but was probably on par with the Hawks & Dogs ceremonies. I thought it being not too self aggrandizing was fitting for the spirit of the club, nice use of dimming the lights/using the scoreboard e.t.c

The bad -literally everything else. Getting our mob to get off their arses and attend games is like herding cats, but thats exactly why all things have to be carefully lined up. Someone who was deliberately and consciously trying to sabotage the club couldn't have done a better job ensuring the whole thing would be embarrassing on a national stage and just open us up to get slammed. If you want any further proof that Son is a glorified coterie group chairwoman completely out of her depth being president of a football club, then the way this fixture was set up is exhibit A, B and C. The most annoying thing is the excuse that will be used for Thursday will be its so all our fans can watch on tv, but its obviously caving in to sponsors wanting it to be prime time on free to air, and that she doesnt have the killer instinct to fight the AFL, or the ability to know when we have to compromise the way we've always had to. And besides all that, there seems to be a genuine obliviousness to how f*cked off and disenfranchised so many supporters are with the club and her presidency. If our management genuinely expected the crowd to be decent, which it seems is the case, the disconnect is frightening.

In a final bit of classic North irony, in spite of the dozens of ill conceived road blocks, and failure to address angst in the supporter base, the North side of the crowd actually wasnt THAT bad. The Dogs turnout was probably the worst oppo supporter turnout I've ever seen from a Victorian club in my 34 years of following footy. But stings even more to know if it was organised properly, could have gotten 50k.

Either way, it's done now.
Would have love to have seen Noel Teasdale,Ross Glendinning,Keith Greig giving a motorcade around the Ground as a acknowledgement of being Brownlow winners and with a walk around the ground of past administration members like the Cheatleys ,Joesph’s,Millers,Dawson and Walsh that are still with us .
Then have the past players and current players from the AFL 1975,77,96 ,99 and 2025 AWFL premiership teams walk around the ground before the game carrying the premiership flags around the ground with the premiership cups .
That would be nice to have seen that.

Not being a smart arse or looking for an argument but she was the president for one of the five cups that was celebrated last night.

I have more issues with Shannon Grant being chosen when we had so many great people from that flag team available and present. We can’t not have Carey there and it meant a lot to supporters, but the Grant choice was a bit off for me.

At first was a little surprised to see him there tbh. Adored him as a player but re-reading some of the things he did to his partner almost makes Tarryn Thomas and Carey look like saints by comparison. But then I remember he'd been back taking photos at the club in 2021 - just 2 years after the convictions. I guess the club feels enough time has passed to determine that he has changed so it won't bring any media heat.

We have 55k members

Would have love to have seen Noel Teasdale,Ross Glendinning,Keith Greig giving a motorcade around the Ground as a acknowledgement of being Brownlow winners and with a walk around the ground of past administration members like the Cheatleys ,Joesph’s,Millers,Dawson and Walsh that are still with us .
Then have the past players and current players from the AFL 1975,77,96 ,99 and 2025 AWFL premiership teams walk around the ground before the game carrying the premiership flags around the ground with the premiership cups .
That would be nice to have seen that.
Yep, I can sort of live with great players of the early 20th century who were non premiership players/Brownlow medalists getting a look in, (if North nuffs like us organised it the ceremony be about 4 hours long) but even the legends we had seemed to get a quick showing. Seems once we committed to the idea it had to be squeezed into the live broadcast that's about as good as it could be.

One last thing, how f*cking good is the piece of quintessentially North luck- the year they yank Saturdays off free to air, it's the year of our centenary, so we are even forced into this position in the first place.

I'm legit convinced the Duck cat called and made obscene gestures from a passing car to some gypsy woman in the street after a drunken night out sometime around 2001, and the joint has been cursed ever since.

One last thing, how f*cking good is the piece of quintessentially North luck- the year they yank Saturdays off free to air, it's the year of our centenary, so we are even forced into this position in the first place.

I'm legit convinced the Duck cat called and made obscene gestures from a passing car to some gypsy woman in the street after a drunken night out sometime around 2001, and the joint has been cursed ever since.

Ahhh nar he did worse

Cheer squad was surprisingly the least populated, with all the wings full. Not a great look.
When my wife's family dropped around today, the empty cheer squad was the first thing her father mentioned. Was there some reference on TV?

I don't know where that story came from because the designated cheer squad bay was chockers. Hardly any empty seats. Th social club bay to the immediate left was only about 20% occupied.

100 Year Limp Celebrations