Player Watch #11 Luke Trainor

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Did We Get The Pick Right?

Thumb was effecting him massively.

Also Faull got a player rating of 1.3, ranking better than only Trainor and Henry. So I take those numbers with a grain of salt.

Faull rated above 22 players for ball winning, which is what everyone noticed, the way he won the ball, often in crowded situations. His low player rating derived from his ball use. He will be able to improve that over time, he has the tools.

It should be noted he was robbed of a free kick and near certain goal by a shocking umpiring error. That would have boosted his rating substantially.

Also, a lot of the time he is trying to move the ball either with a lot of traffic around him or into an outnumbered forward line. So he is playing against a stacked deck there. Faull had the key thing right on point, the winning of the ball.

Would rather Trainor get a poor rating game looking to take the game on than getting a high ranking game playing it safe like some of his teammates do. Some of his errors yesterday were him taking on the sort of kick that more experienced teammates opt to bypass or came from him fumbling while looking to create an option for a counter attack. Again something that some teammates don't look to do. You only have to look at his game last week to see how well it can work when it pays off. As mentioned he'll learn from yesterday and will be better for it.

Thumb was clearly ****ed, when he won that free kick and someone threw ball back to him he couldn't catch it.

Probably get forced to play under duress again this week because who else can we put in? Lol

What do you want us to say? "Good effort"?

It was a really dirty day. The club, us & himself will gain nothing through burying our heads in the sand. He is 1 week away from celebrated, its up to him
Ideally if we had the cattle you could make a strong argument to give him a month or so in the VFL just to find some form and confidence

Obviously we don’t really have that luxury right now so it will be interesting how he responds

Jason Castagna must be spewing in his coco pops at post like this. Guy won 3 flags & was ridiculed by supporters here over his last 2 seasons.

Now the bar is so low a guy with 12 touches, all uncontested with 50%DE , is getting pats on the back.
Get serious softcocks
The same bloke that dislocated, maybe broke his thumb in the first few minutes? That guy?

Would rather Trainor get a poor rating game looking to take the game on than getting a high ranking game playing it safe like some of his teammates do. Some of his errors yesterday were him taking on the sort of kick that more experienced teammates opt to bypass or came from him fumbling while looking to create an option for a counter attack. Again something that some teammates don't look to do. You only have to look at his game last week to see how well it can work when it pays off. As mentioned he'll learn from yesterday and will be better for it.

You can't get a high rating game by playing it safe with your ball use. You don't get ball use points unless your ball use actually puts your team into a better position.

You can perhaps avoid going into a big deficit Trainor style by not bighting off more than you can chew.

wtf is this kid getting bagged? Had a very good season for a year 2 tall
He’s turning it over a bit by foot, often tries to hit high risk targets in the corridor.
I don’t mind it, he has an attacking mindset, he’ll be the one pulling off those kicks and setting up play through the corridor, 50 games in.

He’s turning it over a bit by foot, often tries to hit high risk targets in the corridor.
I don’t mind it, he has an attacking mindset, he’ll be the one pulling off those kicks and setting up play through the corridor, 50 games in.
We need players that are willing to take risks, also when our team becomes better & stronger Luke will also look better. Its hard for any player to stand out at the moment with the way we are currently playing with what players that are available.

The same bloke that dislocated, maybe broke his thumb in the first few minutes? That guy?

Yeah the guy who had 10 kicks with his foot & missed the target 7 times. Cant blame a dislocated thumb for that.

Jack Graham played on with a dislocated shoulder & helped get us into a GF. Now we are cuddling shithouse performances over a dislocated thumb.

He is a young player & shit games are part of it - but lying to ourselves that he did well is achieving what exactly?

Yeah the guy who had 10 kicks with his foot & missed the target 7 times. Cant blame a dislocated thumb for that.

Jack Graham played on with a dislocated shoulder & helped get us into a GF. Now we are cuddling shithouse performances over a dislocated thumb.

He is a young player & shit games are part of it - but lying to ourselves that he did well is achieving what exactly?
Oh yeah good call actually. That bloke who had 7 touches at 53%. Mate you’re an absolute clown, how about get a bloody clue before spouting nonsense

**** off clown. what Jack Graham did in that 2019 prelim was far more impressive than any of the shit crap i saw yesterday.

You lot are insufferable. You will shit on heroes to defend mediocity.

We need players that are willing to take risks, also when our team becomes better & stronger Luke will also look better. It’s hard for any player to stand out at the moment with the way we are currently playing with what players that are available.
Exactly.
The other thing is that his decision making will improve with experience. All the good teams have a couple of players in the back half that pull the trigger and set up attacking play.
What’s the old saying - attack is the best of defence.

**** off clown. what Jack Graham did in that 2019 prelim was far more impressive than any of the shit crap i saw yesterday.

You lot are insufferable. You will shit on heroes to defend mediocity.
You’re an idiot, now we’re talking heroics. First it’s kicking efficiency, now it’s some intangible “heroics”. The “heroics” were due to him sacrificing his body and potential gf appearance for the team, simply to fill the rotations so the likes of dusty, Cotch, Edward’s, Prestia could do there thing.
But because we lost, what trainer did wasn’t “heroic” it’s was trash, because he actually had to man someone up and couldn’t rely on the best players in the ****ing game to do the work. Piss off, idiot

Anybody who has played footy at even a half-decent level knows that you absolutely do require a non-dislocated thumb to kick a footy.

Ball drop is critical in kicking a footy, and a fully-functioning opposable thumb plays the key role in that process.

Anybody who has played footy at even a half-decent level knows that you absolutely do require a non-dislocated thumb to kick a footy.

Ball drop is critical in kicking a footy, and a fully-functioning opposable thumb plays the key role in that process.

totally agree, your right hand plays the key role in the ball drop and your kicking efficiency. the commentators even said that a dislocated thumb is the most painful of dislocations. great effort to stay out there and compete. shows the character of a young player

I've never done a thumb, but finger dislocations on the ball drop hand absolutely suck. I did my ring and middle finger earlier this season, so I can't effectively tape them or grip the footy. My kicking has consequently gone from bad to attrocious.

It's not a quick injury to heal either, and every time they handle the footy (or spoil the ball) there is re-injury risk.

I was being serious.Trainor did have an extraordinarily good game....for someone who had a broken thumb which was probably extremely painful and partially numbed.
This affects every element of his game -
- Marking, where he can't grasp the ball with confidence.
- Handballing, he couldn't pass the ball without pain or any level of skill
- Kicking, because his ball drop would have been affected, placing the ball onto his foot to pinpoint players in traffic.
- Spoiling, where he would find it painful to punch, wrestle and tackle
- Confidence - he would have known that he was under-performing because every disposal was compromised, and every contests agony.

Trainor is a second year player, who's only returned recently back to the team. In any other circumstance, he would have been rested on the bench. Instead, he showed AMAZING fortitude and teammanship, to play out the game when we couldn't replace another tall defender. That speaks volumes of the man he is and who he will become.

So, instead of putting the boots in, when his normal output was clearly affected by his injury (see last week if you want to see his normal standard of play), we should be applauding the kid for his character.

Seriously, every week its just another excuse to why a player, the team - or Yze did not hit the standards we should be expecting. And you reckon i'm repetitive.

I have lost count of the amount of players i've seen dislocated a finger or thumb, get it popped back in then play on and perform. He ended up playing 80%TOG which was about the same as 90% of the players. We can't be making excuses non stop for 3 ****ing years. If his finger was causing him that much issue then they shouldn't have kept playing him. Surely by now we know not to risk a young player with an injury

How many times do you need Bojangles17 to tell you "The Standards we walk past, are the ones we accept"?

its getting mental here. We can't even say a player who got -9 rating on a game played shit anymore incase we hurt their feelings or some shit. Didn't say he was a shit player or a bust - only that his "-9" game was crap, which it was.

I think some of you should go back and watch the 2019 Prelim and remind yourself was AFL footballers look like. Graham getting openly shat on when referencing that performance is wild. There were so many other posters say he was shithouse on the weekend, yet you are all targeting me.

If you don't want the forum to just be flooded with arguments with me, then just stop replying to my opinions. im not the only one here saying he sucked

Seriously, every week its just another excuse to why a player, the team - or Yze did not hit the standards we should be expecting. And you reckon i'm repetitive.

I have lost count of the amount of players i've seen dislocated a finger or thumb, get it popped back in then play on and perform. He ended up playing 80%TOG which was about the same as 90% of the players. We can't be making excuses non stop for 3 ****ing years. If his finger was causing him that much issue then they shouldn't have kept playing him. Surely by now we know not to risk a young player with an injury

How many times do you need Bojangles17 to tell you "The Standards we walk past, are the ones we accept"?

its getting mental here. We can't even say a player who got -9 rating on a game played shit anymore incase we hurt their feelings or some shit. Didn't say he was a shit player or a bust - only that his "-9" game was crap, which it was.

I think some of you should go back and watch the 2019 Prelim and remind yourself was AFL footballers look like. Graham getting openly shat on when referencing that performance is wild. There were so many other posters say he was shithouse on the weekend, yet you are all targeting me.

If you don't want the forum to just be flooded with arguments with me, then just stop replying to my opinions. im not the only one here saying he sucked
I thought his game was ordinary/bad also, but your rants are just ridiculous. We have no replacements on the list and we also need to get games into Trainor. I have confidence in this kid and believe he’ll be a gun. What do you want. Bring back Ralphsmith? Wake up you clown.

ok so we agree, he was shit on sunday.

Glad we got there in the end😂