Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain

Who is his manager? Must be an absolute drip.

Leak to the media that he is wants to explore his options when there are no willing suitors.

What a way to burn your current club and any trust he has with the playing group.
The way the NMFC has been run in the last decade Simpkin will stay and be Captain again as the players will be told to forgive him.
Now if this club has got any balls you take the captaincy off him give it to Sheezel or Xerri but if they play the Goodie Two Shoes card and keep him as Captain are club will be humiliated yet again in this sport.

The way the NMFC has been run in the last decade Simpkin will stay and be Captain again as the players will be told to forgive him.
Now if this club has got any balls you take the captaincy off him give it to Sheezel or Xerri but if they play the Goodie Two Shoes card and keep him as Captain are club will be humiliated yet again in this sport.
Personally I hope he never sets foot in Arden Street again but am equally concerned we'll just let it slide.

Hawthorn era Clarkson would've had him by the throat. We got the Brad Scott version of Clarkson.

Rawlings chose his words carefully. Jy hasn't officially made a trade request (which is correct) but didn't rule out exploring options part.

Honestly, the bloke should just accept that there's some work to be done at the footy club and play a role as required. Captain makes the sacrifice.
I reckon he will. He's got more North in him than a lot of our plonkers (that's not necessarily a compliment to him. More of an admonishment of some of the others).

Has absolutely pissed the captaincy up against the wall though. Coming across as a bit of a poisoned chalice, the skipper title. Spitta was our last captain's captain imo. Sooner Sheezel's ready, the better

I reckon he will. He's got more North in him than a lot of our plonkers (that's not necessarily a compliment to him. More of an admonishment of some of the others).

Has absolutely pissed the captaincy up against the wall though. Coming across as a bit of a poisoned chalice, the skipper title. Spitta was our last captain's captain imo. Sooner Sheezel's ready, the better
Sheezel can't become captain soon enough. Unfortunately, he's not ready.

Larkey? Xerri? Parker even? I don't know man why piss it away Jy?

Sheezel can't become captain soon enough. Unfortunately, he's not ready.

Larkey? Xerri? Parker even? I don't know man why piss it away Jy?
Every single candidate has glaring flaws. Larkey seems most suited to me but the risk is that he pulls out his whinging diva routine.

Easily fixable with an attitude shift, but what'll he be, 28 next year? You're supposed to be pretty established in your habits by then

Every single candidate has glaring flaws. Larkey seems most suited to me but the risk is that he pulls out his whinging diva routine.

Easily fixable with an attitude shift, but what'll he be, 28 next year? You're supposed to be pretty established in your habits by then
Larkey wants to win at least. Along with Xerri and Parker.

Need some campaigner in us anyway. Too soft.

A lot of drama here - stripped of the captaincy, punted from the club.

Let’s be clear, Simpkin would have been a member of any premiership team in the last 8 years and a significantly solid contributor in any one of them.

He has elite qualities in areas we lack - engine, two way running, and being an extrovert, and age and experience wise.

Like many humans who’ve been subjected to leading a club through such a tumultuous time, it will have been taxing.

He addressed a number of personal issues throughout the year, and no one knows the impact they had on him apart from him.

He may have made a significant error in judgement in how this was handled, however it’s hardly something he can never come back from.

Brady never said Jy would be captain, he said the process will be the same and he won’t be voted in after this.

To suggest he play VFL as punishment and to make a statement is ludicrous.

All you OTT he’s no good posters, the guy has a role to play and this can be a massive positive for him and us.

When he comes back he has no choice but to accept the role he’s offered and he could be awesome as a wingman - superior to the likes of Langdon, D’ambrisio, Acres, as he can kick goals as well - make no mistake he will be an asset out there.

The Leadership being moved on from him was a decision he made with his own actions so we get to move to a new era without a year of him sooking up if it was viewed to be taken from him.

There’s no takers externally because we would be insane to take a pick outside the top 10 for his contract to be off the books when he provides us with plenty we need still and his contract would likely be front ended - and he’s not worth that to sides with a top 10 pick.

And no one rates any of our players because we’ve been so shit for so long, hence bending us over in trades.

Jy has been a great servant of our club, made a shit decision and his career came to a fork in the road.

If he stays, we can all move on and hope we have an elite level footballer playing a role that suits him and us instead of fussing with Scott, Stephens, Tucker on one of our wings - he’s an upgrade significantly in any one of them.

Have at the bashing of the post, but it’s a refocus and somewhat of a reality check for him, leadership regeneration is the opportunity from his decision internally, and should we start winning he will be an elite wingman in the comp.

Pathetic post. Not the words, just the ethos of "don't fret, he's actually a good player" is quite sickening.

This turnip is the games most overpaid player. A genuine fraud. Slow, can't kick, sidesteps automatically at every contest when an effective disposal would suffice, not an intelligent man or leader of note, the vegan no meat listen to your girlfriend Schtick can FRO too. What an absolute coward, hardly a leader of hard-men looking to return us to a semblance of relevancy. And all this is acceptable and expected as he's an Essington Fan.

I think of alll the great North-people who are no longer with us, rolling in their graves - the thought of welcoming this **** back into our club. Can't be allowed.

Pathetic post. Not the words, just the ethos of "don't fret, he's actually a good player" is quite sickening.

This turnip is the games most overpaid player. A genuine fraud. Slow, can't kick, sidesteps automatically at every contest when an effective disposal would suffice, not an intelligent man or leader of note, the vegan no meat listen to your girlfriend Schtick can FRO too. What an absolute coward, hardly a leader of hard-men looking to return us to a semblance of relevancy. And all this is acceptable and expected as he's an Essington Fan.

I think of alll the great North-people who are no longer with us, rolling in grace Sat the thought of welcoming this **** back into our club. Can't he allowed.
Throw the toys out the cot.

Let’s be clear, Simpkin would have been a member of any premiership team in the last 8 years and a significantly solid contributor in any one of them.
I'm not buying that. Jy would've been a fringe player at most Top 4 teams over the last 8 years.

Simpkin would have been a member of any premiership team in the last 8 years
Nope
two way running
Cant tackle, rendered useless
personal issues throughout the year, and no one knows the impact they had on him apart from him
Not any more than joe blow from down the road.
superior to the likes of Langdon, D’ambrisio, Acres
Lol you’re kidding arent ya? The bloke turns the ball over more than anyone else in the comp.

He has elite qualities in areas we lack - engine, two way running, and being an extrovert, and age and experience wise.

Like many humans who’ve been subjected to leading a club through such a tumultuous time, it will have been taxing.

He addressed a number of personal issues throughout the year, and no one knows the impact they had on him apart from him.

He may have made a significant error in judgement in how this was handled, however it’s hardly something he can never come back from.

Brady never said Jy would be captain, he said the process will be the same and he won’t be voted in after this.

To suggest he play VFL as punishment and to make a statement is ludicrous.

All you OTT he’s no good posters, the guy has a role to play and this can be a massive positive for him and us.

When he comes back he has no choice but to accept the role he’s offered and he could be awesome as a wingman - superior to the likes of Langdon, D’ambrisio, Acres, as he can kick goals as well - make no mistake he will be an asset out there.

The Leadership being moved on from him was a decision he made with his own actions so we get to move to a new era without a year of him sooking up if it was viewed to be taken from him.

There’s no takers externally because we would be insane to take a pick outside the top 10 for his contract to be off the books when he provides us with plenty we need still and his contract would likely be front ended - and he’s not worth that to sides with a top 10 pick.

And no one rates any of our players because we’ve been so shit for so long, hence bending us over in trades.

Jy has been a great servant of our club, made a shit decision and his career came to a fork in the road.

If he stays, we can all move on and hope we have an elite level footballer playing a role that suits him and us instead of fussing with Scott, Stephens, Tucker on one of our wings - he’s an upgrade significantly in any one of them.

Have at the bashing of the post, but it’s a refocus and somewhat of a reality check for him, leadership regeneration is the opportunity from his decision internally, and should we start winning he will be an elite wingman in the comp.
This is really good.

You left out his work for Unicef in Dhaka and his efforts in the field to save the Mountain Pygmy Possum but nice effort.

Brady Rawlings you can pretty much mail that post out word for word to all opposition list managers. What a pitch.

Hopefully someone bites.

This is really good.

You left out his work for Unicef in Dhaka and his efforts in the field to save the Mountain Pygmy Possum but nice effort.

Brady Rawlings you can pretty much mail that post out word for word to all opposition list managers. What a pitch.

Hopefully someone bites.

No mention of the sharp jawline and luscious locks?

I hope he’s stripped of the captaincy
Won't happen. Club needs stability.
This is really good.

Hopefully someone bites.
Signor Rawlings knows the Trade dance. He's hot-doggin' it.

I won't mind as long as he does it impersonating Rafa.

Nope

Cant tackle, rendered useless

Not any more than joe blow from down the road.

Lol you’re kidding arent ya? The bloke turns the ball over more than anyone else in the comp.
This.

If he can find a way to stop swinging the arm and actually lay the tackle, even that would improve his overall output.

Cannot stand the swinging arm - either way it's a missed tackle or a free against.

The irony of so many posters here, bagging the s*** out of Jy, while they more or less simultaneously in other threads bag the s*** out of the NMFC. Oh well.
What else do you expect from the nuff nuff gallery.

Our supporters are putrid at times. (More often than not)

Want us to be perenially unsuccessful because the 'bag the sh*t card' is the only one they can play.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin [Part II] - staying at North in 2026 + won't feature in leadership group as Larkey set to be named captain