Player Watch #13 Hugo Ralphsmith

The player that Hugo needs to model his game on is Cam Guthrie for the future

He has the size height and similar athletic attributes to become that player
I can see the similarities. HRS would be slightly more attack minded then Guthrie but both definitely have leg speed and love to burn off the tackler with speed rather then brute strength.

I would say Hugo will be more of a meters gained fwd pinch hit mid type of player then Guthrie who is more your accumulator mid type. Guthrie only managing 11 goals in the last two season from 43 games, I would be inclined to say Hugo will hit the scoreboard a lot more frequently.

Great comparison and if we can get Hugo to become a BnF in a grand final year + all Australian like Guthrie then it would be huge for this club going forward.

Hugo reminds me a bit of Melbourne's Hunt and Langdon, great run and carry players who have taken a while to find their feet. Looks a great athlete and a very good runner but like Hunt and Langdon maybe not great natural instinctive footballers. Once he gets the required games under their belt he might be very dangerous with his run and carry. He looks pretty strong overhead so that is a plus. Will probably play some decent footy, but not really find his niche just yet.

Think he showed some good signs in the Crows game.

I agree Jak, Dow has something that says to me he will make it. Disposal my main concern with him, although he’s hardly had a chance to fully show his wares the last 2 years
Has the Scott Pendalburys about him(Half as good would be a winner).

I see it with Hugo, but not Dow or Martyn.
I like Dow and Hugo.
Could see Hugo as a good utility either half forward, wing and half back, and Dow I think can be a reasonable 4th-5th mid, not one of the prime movers but a very good rotation as you need more than just your starting centre square to win games.

Martyn, nothing I have seen so far suggests he will overachieve his draft pick 44. Realistically I can see him hanging around for another year maybe, but don't expect much.

I like Dow and Hugo.
Could see Hugo as a good utility either half forward, wing and half back, and Dow I think can be a reasonable 4th-5th mid, not one of the prime movers but a very good rotation as you need more than just your starting centre square to win games.

Martyn, nothing I have seen so far suggests he will overachieve his draft pick 44. Realistically I can see him hanging around for another year maybe, but don't expect much.
Martyn with hi lack of pace appears to be destined for VFL stardom but not quite up to AFL sadly.

That whole draft is looking like a bit of a bust really. Need Dow to hopefully come on this year with a bit more continuity to save it. Hopefully with a bit more game time he will adapt to the speed of AFL level and improve his composure + find more of the ball.

Cumberland, Martyn and Ralphsmith all seem to have flaws that make them unlikely to make it imo. Right now Cumberland's disposal isn't good enough, Martyn is too slow and Ralphsmith is too outside - all issues that aren't easily fixed.

That whole draft is looking like a bit of a bust really. Need Dow to hopefully come on this year with a bit more continuity to save it. Hopefully with a bit more game time he will adapt to the speed of AFL level and improve his composure + find more of the ball.

Cumberland, Martyn and Ralphsmith all seem to have flaws that make them unlikely to make it imo. Right now Cumberland's disposal isn't good enough, Martyn is too slow and Ralphsmith is too outside - all issues that aren't easily fixed.
Hopefully all benefit from a full season, its so hard to know now :(

I can see the similarities. HRS would be slightly more attack minded then Guthrie but both definitely have leg speed and love to burn off the tackler with speed rather then brute strength.

I would say Hugo will be more of a meters gained fwd pinch hit mid type of player then Guthrie who is more your accumulator mid type. Guthrie only managing 11 goals in the last two season from 43 games, I would be inclined to say Hugo will hit the scoreboard a lot more frequently.

Great comparison and if we can get Hugo to become a BnF in a grand final year + all Australian like Guthrie then it would be huge for this club going forward.
He certainly has a head start on the hair

Dow as a slight inside outside player was always going to take time. Cumberland has missed a few kicks at training evidently. Ralphsmith is outside, so are a lot of good players, from our own Houli and Shorty went/go okay for outside footballers. Hunt, Langdon and Salem for Melb. did okay on GF day. Martyn may be on the slower side, but he was top 10 in the draft over 2km from memory and finds the ball. Sam Mitchell was much slower, Joel Selwood no speed machine.

They may not be there yet, but a tad premature based on preseason training form.

Dow as a slight inside outside player was always going to take time. Cumberland has missed a few kicks at training evidently. Ralphsmith is outside, so are a lot of good players, from our own Houli and Shorty went/go okay for outside footballers. Hunt, Langdon and Salem for Melb. did okay on GF day. Martyn may be on the slower side, but he was top 10 in the draft over 2km from memory and finds the ball. Sam Mitchell was much slower, Joel Selwood no speed machine.

They may not be there yet, but a tad premature based on preseason training form.
Out of Hugo, Martyn, Cumberland and Dow....reckon Dow will be the only one to make it...

I really dont see why everybody is so negative on Hugo , I thought the kid played extremely well in his 6 games for a kid with no VFL games and little exposure. Only just turned 21

you guys are way too harsh on the kids with what little exposed form in 2 years

Agreed.

Over 1/3rd of the 17 possessions he had in the Norf game late last year were contested, hardly screams 'too outside to make it' at this stage of his career.

Out of Hugo, Martyn, Cumberland and Dow....reckon Dow will be the only one to make it...
Cumberland is a young Caddy.May have the very same positional issues as Caddy.
Liked Hugo's game against the crows.
Really be like Dow.
Martyn I think will struggle after glandular fever.

Cumberland is a young Caddy.May have the very same positional issues as Caddy.
Liked Hugo's game against the crows.
Really be like Dow.
Martyn I think will struggle after glandular fever.
Cumberland has great pace, a great sides step and looks very aggressive at the ball and the man. Caddy whilst playing a similar position and has real class and is an all-round good player, but is slow. That is a killer in AFL these days. Cumberland could play George's role, certainly Aarts and has evidently been training like Stack through the midfield as well. So much more versatile. Very early into his career, 4 or 5 VFL games in total, but in that little time last year he was knocking on the door of a debut, albeit in a injury riddles side.

Not sure if he played in the Norf game ??

Yeah mate, rd.21.

FWIW, he had more contested possessions than Graham, Shedda, Vlas, Lambo and Grimes.

One of the most pleasing things out of that win was that the younger brigade really led the day in CP's. Dow, Baker, Bolton, Stack, Ralph all recorded impressive numbers with Dow leading the way on 10.

Player Watch #13 Hugo Ralphsmith