Player Watch #20: Nick 'Souva' Larkey - '23 AA & '24 NM VC - plays game 100 v Hawthorn

Wasting his and everyone’s time playing him as a one out specialist tall forward against a defence with guys like Moore and Maynard.

The sooner a proper 2nd tall option is solved the better.

Has unfortunately become a bit selfish, probably through being two outed all the time, but he ran both his direct opponent and the interceptor to the hotspot too many times today. The one time he did get separation on the lead he and Charlie were in the same lane and nearly killed each other.

He should have called the lizzard in there. Footy 101 your are your team mates eyes and ears when they are pushing back. Just a little lack of awareness there.
Horse and Carey had that facet sorted.

He should have called the lizzard in there. Footy 101 your are your team mates eyes and ears when they are pushing back. Just a little lack of awareness there.
Horse and Carey had that facet sorted.
Unfortunately Larkey has more issues than lack of awareness. Really concerned about his output ATM.

Dunno if it’s possible at his age, but you’d like him to work on his set shot routine.

Minimal follow through, unable to launch off his standing leg.

Anything beyond 35 metres is dicey. Not good enough for the player he should want to become.

Dunno if it’s possible at his age, but you’d like him to work on his set shot routine.

Anything beyond 35 metres is dicey. Not good enough for the player he should want to become.

Yeah he doesn’t kick through it hey? It’s like he has to kick it flat for accuracy but way too many shots of his get touched. Him and Zuraharr seem to have a sort of anti-chemistry atm. Desperately need another KPF. The way we were bombing it in in the last surely Campbell should have been down there...

Attention Nick:

You ALWAYS call on the bloke coming at you with the flight of the ball & heading towards goals! ALWAYS!

YOU'RE CLEAR CHARLIE, IT'S YOURS!!!

1620513035092.png

Looked good for a little bit a few weeks ago, now looks crap again. Get him some support in the forward line FFS.

He doesn't need to work on his set shot route at all, what a crazy observation. His technique is practically perfect, what he lacks is penetration. Needs to get stronger in the legs.

For a guy with a lot to work on he needs to stfu and stop whinging to the umpires. Horrible optics from a guy who loses many more contests than he wins.

Still has a long future ahead of him but he needs to work harder and he isn't / never will be the main KPF. Longer term he needs 1 or 2 partner KPFs who can relegate him back to being 2nd / 3rd banana.

For a guy with a lot to work on he needs to stfu and stop whinging to the umpires. Horrible optics from a guy who loses many more contests than he wins.

Still has a long future ahead of him but he needs to work harder and he isn't / never will be the main KPF. Longer term he needs 1 or 2 partner KPFs who can relegate him back to being 2nd / 3rd banana.

They’re bloody hard to get. Need another one if we’re going anywhere though. Where are we going to pluck a tall forward from? What’s GC Kings contract status?

Our foot skills are still letting us down. Larkey gets into space and we can’t kick it to him. The Simpkin example in the last quarter yesterday was a stark example - a Ned Stark example.

He doesn't need to work on his set shot route at all, what a crazy observation. His technique is practically perfect, what he lacks is penetration. Needs to get stronger in the legs.

Which would form part of his set shot routine.

He’s not making the distance from 40 metres. Penetration is technique. Technique is routine.

I would actually question that mate. I reckon there's a correlation with improved endurance and loss of leg power.

I have no solid data to support it, but it makes sense considering one factor (speed & endurance) has gone up considerably, whilst the other (goal kicking length & accuracy) has gone down at pretty much the same time.

Yep, it's all technique and routine. If strong legs were all you needed to roost one I'd be dobbing them from 65.

Do you have any thoughts about my view?

I would actually question that mate. I reckon there's a correlation with improved endurance and loss of leg power.

I have no solid data to support it, but it makes sense considering one factor (speed & endurance) has gone up considerably, whilst the other (goal kicking length & accuracy) has gone down at pretty much the same time.

Do you have any thoughts about my view?

My understanding is that the speed of the foot at contact and the angle of contact are the key factors for generating kicking distance.

Speed of the foot would rely mostly upon backswing, internal hip rotation speed, and I believe for kicking in particular the stride length of the planting foot and clawback of the planting foot. Length of levers as well would contribute I think. This would also have a fair bit to do with the correct sequencing to get these factors right.

Then there's a bit to consider in terms of hip dominant or knee dominant athletes, and that most of the power probably comes from fascia rather than muscles themselves for hip dominant athletes (usually skinny blokes). Think Dustin Fletcher as the classical hip dominant player vs Sav Rocca for the knee dominant athlete.

As for the idea that endurance isn't great for long kicking, I think it has merit at face value. A lot of the literature I've read focuses upon transfer of energy for throwing and bowling so take this with a grain of salt when correlating it to kicking, but my understanding is that the central nervous system, vestibular system play pretty big parts in max anything. You're generally better off getting blokes going flat out for a very short period of time with full recovery rather than getting them used to operating at 80% for long periods of time. That would apply for both training and in games. It's probably why blokes playing out of the square could generally roost them pretty damn far in days gone by.