james4954

Rookie
whats a likely Crows lineup, barring injury, for 2003?

here's what I'd pick:

F: Fitzgerald, Carey, Burton
HF: Bode, Stevens, Welsh
C: Edwards, Goodwin, Stenglein
HB: Torney, McGregor, John****
B: Hart, Bassett, Smart

R: Biglands, Riccuito, McLeod

I: Clarke, Ladhams, Bickley, Mattner.

apologies to Crowell, Massie, Doughty, Gallagher

I was more concerned with getting the right 22 rather than working out positions for each player, just went with the gut.

Interestingly enough, the interchange would beat a lot of midfield combinations going around!

Forward line looks pretty ominous, just need to get em all fit.
Don't know what we'd do if we lost a ruckman or tall defender to injury though. If we can get this side on the park consistently we'd be hard for any side to toss I reckon.

HB: Bickley, McGregor, Edwards
C: Ladhams, Goodwin, Stenglein
HF: John****, Stevens, Bode
F: Welsh, Carey, Burton
R: Biglands, Ricciuto, McLeod
I: Clark, Torney, Crowell, Doughty

Pretty similar to james'. With Gallagher and Massie the two most unlucky ones. Mattner also a prospect. I'd also like to see what Reilly has to offer next year. Not sure how Fitzy would fit in with Stevens and Carey, would definately have him if one of those two were injured (ahead of that dud Schell anyway). Likewise I'd have Marsh if either ruckman was injured.

My team is very similar too:

HB: Bickley McGregor, Edwards
C: Stenglein, Riccuito, Ladhams
HF: Burton, Stevens, Welsh
F: Fitzgerald, Carey, Bode
R: Biglands, Goodwin, McLeod
I: Clarke, Torney, Doughty, Johnstiffy
E: Massie, Gallagher, Mattner

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
One sure thing about Carey being recruited: North Adelaide will make the finals.

I like the sound of that

biggringift.gif

My 2003 Team - verry simmilar to every1 elses

C: Stenglein, Riccuito, Bode
F: Fitzgerald, Carey, Ladhams

Originally posted by topjars
Has Daniel gone from the Penthouse to the Schellhouse in one season ?

Tradebait?

Delisting more like it. Wouldn't expect Torney to be an automatic starter, he will have to fight for a spot on the bench IMO, in a pretty similar situation to B.Nelson after he was traded.

Who do you guys rate more Nelson or Torney?

Originally posted by Zombie

Delisting more like it. Wouldn't expect Torney to be an automatic starter, he will have to fight for a spot on the bench IMO, in a pretty similar situation to B.Nelson after he was traded.

Torney. Easily.

I am a North Melbourne supporter and here is my Adelaide team for season 2003 ...... of course we cant say that any new draft picks will be in yet because the draft hasnt been on.. so here goes *current list.

B:Hart Bassett Bickley
HB:Torney McGregor Smart
C:Ricciuto Goodwin Stenglein
HF:Burton M.Stevens Bode
F:Welsh Carey Johncoq
R:Biglands Edwards McLeod
I:Ladhams Clarke Massie Doughty
E:Schell Reilly Handby

My team:

FB: Hart Bassett Bickley
HB: Smart McGregor Torney
C: Bode Riccuito Goodwin
HF: Welsh Stevens Burton
FF: Stiffy Carey Edwards
R: Biglands Stenglein McLeod
INT: Clarke Mattner Ladhams Crowell

Damn good team it will be.
Can't wait for Round 1.

Running Commentary First Bounce Rnd 1 Vs Fremantle At Footy Park:)

'Well here we go the beginning of the new AFL season for both these clubs,sherrin is held aloft,Biglands wins the tap falls in the path of Bickely,he dishes out a quick handball to Mcleod on the burst throught the middle kicks long looooookkkkking for Carrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy,carey marks thirty metres out on a slight angle this is what the Crows wanted this man for and he will open the scoring.:):):):):) Bring it on baby we have a team to deliver the premeirship to our club we need to go out there now and put it all together:)

Re: Running Commentary First Bounce Rnd 1 Vs Fremantle At Footy Park:)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
'Well here we go the beginning of the new AFL season for both these clubs,sherrin is held aloft,Biglands wins the tap falls in the path of Bickely,he dishes out a quick handball to Mcleod on the burst throught the middle kicks long looooookkkkking for Carrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy,carey marks thirty metres out on a slight angle this is what the Crows wanted this man for and he will open the scoring.:):):):):) Bring it on baby we have a team to deliver the premeirship to our club we need to go out there now and put it all together:)

:D :D :D
I can picture it now.

Originally posted by Zombie

No way same situation as Nelson.

Nelson unfortunately came to a side with the 2nd best midfield in the comp. Hard for anyone to break in.

Torney should find a place in the backline fairly easily.

I would imagine he would replace someone like Crowell.

Just think guys..the 2nd best midfield in the comp...

Mcleod - Cost us Groom
Ricciuto - For free
Goodwin - Pre season draft

And Saint, Dogs and Freo supporters cannot shut there mouths about the fact that they got all these top 5 pick players who will all become superstars.

Originally posted by King Crow
Just think guys..the 2nd best midfield in the comp...

Mcleod - Cost us Groom
Ricciuto - For free
Goodwin - Pre season draft

And Saint, Dogs and Freo supporters cannot shut there mouths about the fact that they got all these top 5 pick players who will all become superstars.

... Edwards - Pre season draft
Stenglein - Draft pick in the 30's
Ladhams - Pre season draft

We have virtually only had 1 top 10 pick in our history and we've basically built our whole team in this way. Top 10 draft picks aren't the best you can get, just a good recruiting team and good coaches.

Our forward line is gonna be amazing. We have 3 marking targets in Carey, Burton and Stevens, the little dynamic bruising crumber in Stiffy, and Ladhams and Welsh HFF'ers who can both kick a good long goal, but can also play deeper in the midfield aswell.

B: Hart, Bassett, Torney
HB: Smart, McGregor, Edwards
C: Bode, Ricciuto, Stenglein
HF: Welsh, Stevens, Ladhams
F: Burton, Carey, Johncok
R: Biglands,McLeod, Goodwin
I: Clark, Bickley, Fitzgerald, Gallagher

E: Crowell, Mattner, Massie, Ruckman

I hope I didnt miss anyone

I agree, our forward line now is awesome, all we needed was one more superstar to complement the rest of our players.

I reckon Welsh is up for a very big year nextyear provided he stays injury-free. This year he was ready and even when he came back after only 2-3 games this year I saw signs of the form eg. against Melb and Collingwood he started to take really strong marks.

Can't wait!
How many more days/weeks now?

Originally posted by snakebite01

Can't wait!
How many more days/weeks now?

Too friggin long!!! February!

I read some articles today where Triggy said that he would be keen to player the Advertiser team as a charity match. Similar to when we played the Redlegs last year and the money raised went to help the NSW bushfire victims.

I also read in the Sunday Mail today that the AFL has approved a trial match at Angaston Oval. Might have to head up north with the family to see that if the Crows are scheduled to play there.

I'll post my Crows side for 2003 as soon as the trading is over. I suspect there will also be some de listing/promotion of rookies this week as well.

cheers

Jerome

B: Hart, Bassett, Torney
HB: Smart, McGregor, Johncok
C: Edwards, Ricciuto, Stenglein
HF: Welsh, Stevens, Ladhams
F: Burton, Carey, Burns
R: Biglands,McLeod, Goodwin
I: Clark, Bickley, Fitzgerald, Bode

E: Crowell, Gallagher, Massie, Marsh

;) ;) ;) ;)

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
My team is very similar too:

F: Fitzgerald, Carey, Bode
E: Massie, Gallagher, Mattner
Have to change my line-up to make room for rockin Ronnie.

F: Burns, Carey, Bode
I: Clarke, Fitzgerald, Torney, Johnstiffy
E: Massie, Gallagher, Doughty

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Have to change my line-up to make room for rockin Ronnie.

F: Burns, Carey, Bode
I: Clarke, Fitzgerald, Torney, Johnstiffy
E: Massie, Gallagher, Doughty

I'd rate Doughty ahead of Burns. Mattner/Burns is a toss up. Burns is no walk up start.