2006 Draft profiles (mojo31)

tarrantcantkick said:
wa boy profiles are spot on!

would add that the selectors for the 18s prob took benjamin instead of mackenzie for fear of being over sized (clint is THE quickest player ive seen at wafl level for some time)

gumby should play league from a FFP like ryder last year and go VERY VERY well- should be no1 imo

lewy will be the dominant ruckman in the WAFL colts for the first 5 games he plays (inj atm still i think) and then push up into the 2s or 1s depending on how the royals go

jetts will be best 1st year player in wafl this year- top kid

good thread with accurate comments, you must watch a LOT of tape mate and know what youre talkin about

Thanks. A lot of great kids coiming out of WA for the next draft. I have Eric Mackenzie as the next one up. Then Collard and O'Brien also inside the top 20 so that makes it 6 in the top 20 out of WA.

Benjamin is freaky when he starts to go. Reminds me of Mitchell from Richmond back a long time ago when he ran with the ball and nobody could catch him. Anybody who remembers him will know what I mean. He was absolutely lightning quick and in space when he got up to full speed he could not be caught.

bombsaway man said:
What do you think of Phil Zarra and the gun Josh Boyle

Sorry I missed this mate.

Skillful players but not overly tall. Not overly athletic and lack that bit of speed that AFL recruiters might be looking for. Little bit concerned about there work rate in the games I have seen of them. Could perhaps do a little more.

That would be my assessment of them on my viewings. Just my opinion at this stage and happy to see them improve this year and if they both have had good pre seasons and are fitter going into this year.

heye mojo just in need of a lil bit of info on albe if possible i used to play alot of juniors with him at my local club when he was living in melbourne and we used tobe aroound the same pace in sprints ad what not just wanna know how quick he is over the 20m???
seems he has kicked on he was never a superstar in the lower grades...

Mojo, You keen on anyone from N.T? Have you seen Trevor Oliver play? He would atleast be worth a place on a rookie list.

*PAFC*13 said:
Mojo, You keen on anyone from N.T? Have you seen Trevor Oliver play? He would atleast be worth a place on a rookie list.

I have seen a few. I will put up some more later today when I get around to writing them on the top 20. Then maybe talk about a few others who are on the fringes a little more.

From NT I thought Danny Measures looked okay. Nathan Djerrkura looked very talented. Oliver was eligible in the last draft but to young for a rokkie listing. Bad body type going forward for him perhaps. Got skill though. Has to get a bit fitter and will have some chance of getting drafted this year.

mojo31 said:
I have seen a few. I will put up some more later today when I get around to writing them on the top 20. Then maybe talk about a few others who are on the fringes a little more.

From NT I thought Danny Measures looked okay. Nathan Djerrkura looked very talented. Oliver was eligible in the last draft but to young for a rokkie listing. Bad body type going forward for him perhaps. Got skill though. Has to get a bit fitter and will have some chance of getting drafted this year.

Yeah, Guess he is a bit big boned. But if you can run out four quaters on the ball in the territory your fit in my books. He should come close to winning Waratah's B and F in A grade this year which is a fair effort from someone who is currently 17?

freak29 said:
bachar houli not quick??? if hes not quick the rest of the competition must be super slow coz nobody can catch him.

I know what you mean mate. I think Bachar with the ball in hand is quick but not so working the other way. His speed comes from 5 to 20m rather than speed off the mark. The concern I have is his agility more than his speed. Got to do with his big stokcy body and perhaps not being as quick to change direction as others. Bit at TAC level he is classy. Just trying to project how he might go in the AFL with quicker faster tempo and the step up in class.
At TAC level its not a problem and is a gun.

I think when Bachar is up and going and has a bounce he ahs ood speed. Just does not accelerate over the first few steps as quick as some AFL midfielders. I hope he turns it on this year in the TAC as he plays the game in such a free and exciting way that we all like to see and I wish him all the best. Just got to stay injury free and show what he is made of and especially at the U18 Championships.

*PAFC*13 said:
Yeah, Guess he is a bit big boned. But if you can run out four quaters on the ball in the territory your fit in my books. He should come close to winning Waratah's B and F in A grade this year which is a fair effort from someone who is currently 17?

Fit yes. But I am talking about these kids in terms of being drafted and in the step up in class. All of these sort of blokes are good at the TAC level or in there particular state comp. But you have to have something special to even get drafted or rookied out of the hundreds of possible players.

Oliver is born 20/2/88 so he is 18 now. Will be close to 19 around the draft and pretty top aged. 179cms and 86 kgs at a young age.

I have not seen him a lot and you might know more about him than I do at the moment. Just my quick opinion at this stage. He should get selected for the NT team this year and show what he has got again.

13) Eric Mackenzie

Key Position Player

193cms and 88kgs
19/5/88
Claremont (WA)

Physically powerful and strong key position player. Played mainly down back and it is as a defender where I have been most impressed with him. Plays really tight and reads the play and anticipates well. Legitimate big defender who has strength and discipline. Good skills and is quite attacking on the rebound but it is his bodywork which catches the eye for me. Rarely beaten and does it with power and positioning.

When played up forward is capable of taking a good strong contested mark but does not seem to have the same good natural instincts as when he plays as a defender. Played some ruck when he was even younger and has been basically the same height for a number of years. So unlikely to grow a lot more but at 193cms is tall enough to play a key position player.
Seems to have good endurance and his pace was fine. Suited to playing down the corridor on power players. Tough and physically ready and seems to love body contact. Athletic and versatile.
Just missed the last draft and will be top aged this time and ready for action in his first year on an AFL list. Not quite as much scope for improvement as some of the other talls available but he is a pretty solid key position prospect who is not a really a risk for a team who needs a tall defender.
I think he could play either end as he develops but do think he is best suited down back at this stage.

14) Thomas Hislop

Midfielder

Burnie Dockers (Tasmania)
185cms and 84kgs
7/6/1988

Had a shoulder reconstruction in late May after the trip to Ireland for the U17s AIS-AFL International Rules and sat out the whole year after that

Very good clean hands under pressure. Superb reader of the player and very hard at the ball. Loves the contest and will continually put his head over the ball. Good vision and is smart with his use of the ball. Class inside player with the body and brain to dominate. Very physically developed player but it was not just that he was using to win the ball. Was genuinely smart with his movement and positioning.
Was a combination of strength and class that made him stand out.

Not that quick over the ground but definitely not slow. Reasonable agility but would not call him twinkle toes. Is tough, fearless and very hard at the ball and man. A natural midfielder who hunts the ball and is rarely caught out. Good anticipation and awareness. Very similar type to Joel Selwood. Not quite as good and more developed physically. Perhaps not exactly the midfielder we need but he is a class player and prospect. Very strong in the lower half of his body and very strong in the hips to break a tackle. Good tackler himself.
A small query on his body type for the future with being nuggety and developed at such a young age. So will have to watch how he looks this year after the shoulder operation and how he goes against grown men for the Devils to give an indication of whether how much of his game is sheer early physical development and how much is actual ability (like Shannon Hurn from last years draft).
He wont be able to run over the top of those stronger bodies and will be good to see how he handles that.
I don’t think his game is based too much around that and he is smart enough to be able to change his game according to different circumstances.

A clean, hard, physically tough inside player who does the basics well and is a natural footballer. Good skills with hand and foot and a very good size and another few cms of height would be very welcome. As it stands 185cms as a 16 year old is pretty impressive for a midfield prospect

Hislop is relocating from Burnie to play with the Tassie Mariners and should get a few games with the Tassie Devils in the VFL competition. Hard to judge him but going on tapes from the U16s back in 2004 he looked super impressive.

I think OldSchool put this thread as a sticky. Being a bit new to all this I let it go. However it makes me look like a bit of a tosser and I have removed the sticky part.
I will continue to write a few profiles each day for anyone who cares to have a look.

really enjoyed reading these profiles, love ya work. Would like to get your thoughts on Adam Wilson, haven't seen too much of him at Eastern, but when he was 16 heplayed nearly a full season in the 18's which is a fair effort considering his slight frame. Have seen him at club level many times, kicked 10 goals in a half against my team from CHB, even though we had 2 players on him, he was then moved on the ball for the second half and got about 20 touches. He is a freak, but I have no idea how he compares to the rest of th talent in this draft, any ideas on where he will go?

15) Clayton Collard

Midfielder

181cms and 76kgs.
4/12/88
South Fremantle

An aboriginal player from Western Australia who is a team mate of Leroy Jetta. Has good pace and is a very good kick of the ball. Superb goal sense and just seems to know where they are and is so natural in that regard. Has played as a defender and also as a wing and shows himself to be versatile and a very adaptable player. Did not look lost in those roles but I do feel he is better suited as an attacking player who gets his own ball rather than a player who works off an opponent. In the forward line is where he does his best work. Either setting up a goal with a precise kick or finishing the work himself.

Capable of winning the ball in the crushes as well and will not hesitate to put his head over it and he is quite a reasonable size for a player who has only just turned 17. Good body size and a decent height to go with speed, skill and versatility. A little bit of an impact player rather than a consistent one but a lot of that can be put down to playing on the half forward “graveyard”. Not too sure about his endurance to play a game out on the ball at this stage.Reasonable in the air for his size but is better with the ball on the ground.

Looks like playing some senior games with South Fremantle in the WAFL this year and then be part of the WA team for the U18 Championships where they will be hard to beat. He played in them last year but was on the bench for most of it.

A very clever and athletic player who has flair, poise and a real cutting edge to his work in the forward line. Will develop more and more as a midfielder over time and has all the tools to become a dangerous midfielder when he is finished. A very smooth mover who is effortless and anticipates well and reads the play.

A bigger and stronger version of his close friend Jetta. Not as quick or as exciting but that is more a case of how good Jetta is rather than something lacking in Collard. I think in time he will become a very attacking wing who can go forward and kick goals as well as run and carry the ball and show poise and class as a link player.

macca69 said:
really enjoyed reading these profiles, love ya work. Would like to get your thoughts on Adam Wilson, haven't seen too much of him at Eastern, but when he was 16 heplayed nearly a full season in the 18's which is a fair effort considering his slight frame. Have seen him at club level many times, kicked 10 goals in a half against my team from CHB, even though we had 2 players on him, he was then moved on the ball for the second half and got about 20 touches. He is a freak, but I have no idea how he compares to the rest of th talent in this draft, any ideas on where he will go?

About 30 to 40 at this early stage would be where I would rank him. Might put something up later.

Worked out my order from 15 to 29 at this stage and now it is a matter of writing them.

16) Brock O’Brien

Midfielder/half back flanker

180cms and 79kgs
30/5/1988
Peel Thunder (WA)

Physical player suited to playing on an opponent. Thrives on the contest and has a good strong body already. Impressed at the U18 Championships for Western Australia and was used mainly as a defender there. Showed the ability to play close and also to attack at every opportunity. Used the ball well and showed agility and pace as well as picking the right option.
Clean ball handler who has the hands of a good midfielder and a complete game at this early stage. Tough player who runs through and around similar sized players and will take his time to dispose of the ball. Very versatile and really could develop anywhere.
Managed to play senior football for Peel Thunder in the WAFL last year which is quite a feat for someone so young.
Not lightning quick but has good pace and an all around game which belies his age. Good in the air and capable of taking a strong mark. A very good rebounding small defender at this stage who will hopefully develop into a midfielder over time. Hard and classy at the same time and will be top aged come draft time and most likely play most of this year in the seniors for Peel Thunder. So he wont be much of a risk for the team who takes him. A physically ready player with not as much scope as some of the other smalls but a good overall game and the right attitude and temprement to take the next step up to AFL football.

17) Ben Reid

Key position player

194cms and 78kgs
29/4/1989
Murray Bushrangers

A very tall skinny key position player. Will start his TAC career this year and is a bit of an unknown at this stage. Watching him at the U16 Championships he was super impressive. Very good set of hands and picks up the flight of the ball quickly and judges it well. Does not run underneath it and takes it out in front and at its highest point when he was on the lead. Very good leap and is very mobile and athletic. Pretty good second efforts and hands below his knees.
Played up forward and down back as a centre half back. Looked good in both roles and maybe a little bit more comfortable as a defender.

Takes contested marks, offers rebound as a defender and is a versatile tall. Very young and is only just eligible for the next draft by a few days and will be a bottom aged skinny kid who has heaps of development in him for the future. A good year in the TAC for Murray will see him move right up the rankings and be much sought after.

The fact I have not seen him very much and his skinny body (needs 20kgs almost) means I have pushed him down a little at this stage. Nothing lacking in his game and I do like what I have seen so far.

mojo31 said:
17) Ben Reid

Key position player

194cms and 78kgs
29/4/1989
Murray Bushrangers

A very tall skinny key position player. Will start his TAC career this year and is a bit of an unknown at this stage. Watching him at the U16 Championships he was super impressive. Very good set of hands and picks up the flight of the ball quickly and judges it well. Does not run underneath it and takes it out in front and at its highest point when he was on the lead. Very good leap and is very mobile and athletic. Pretty good second efforts and hands below his knees.
Played up forward and down back as a centre half back. Looked good in both roles and maybe a little bit more comfortable as a defender.

Takes contested marks, offers rebound as a defender and is a versatile tall. Very young and is only just eligible for the next draft by a few days and will be a bottom aged skinny kid who has heaps of development in him for the future. A good year in the TAC for Murray will see him move right up the rankings and be much sought after.

The fact I have not seen him very much and his skinny body (needs 20kgs almost) means I have pushed him down a little at this stage. Nothing lacking in his game and I do like what I have seen so far.
Wish his dad had managed another 12 games with the Dogs.

18) Jackson Sheringham

Wing/midfield

178cms and 73 kgs.
22/6/88
Geelong Falcons

Geelong Falcons player and brother of Ted who was rookied by Geelong in the 2004 draft. Very pacy and skilled player who is capable of carrying the ball and breaking the lines. Very good disposal and is a classy winger who given space and time is damaging.

Had a good year in the TAC and finished 3rd in the best and fairest for the Falcons. Played mainly wing but also some runs on the ball and down back. Versatile and has had a good grounding with 18 games in the TAC last year. Averaged a touch under 20 possessions and rarely wasted any of them. Long kicking to advantage was a feature of his game.
Would like to see him grow some more and fill out and develop the inside part of his game and become more a contested ball winner and inside player to go with his running and skills. That would really round his game out in my opinion and make him more complete.
Good tackler who has a good work rate and stays involved in the game and is prepared to work both ways. Very good prospect who is very clean with his use of the ball and is clever and quick. When he adds some more weight to break tackles he will be even better.

Composed and a smart reader of the player and is a silky prospect. Looks like a natural wing with his speed and disposal and ability to find space and carry the ball. Hopefully as he gets stronger he can also develop the other parts of his game as well.

19) Grant Weeks

Forward

189cms and 86kgs
Bendigo Pioneers (TAC)
17/8/1988

A tall flanker who played at full forward, centre half forward and the half forward flank early on in the year for Bendigo. They were a pathetic mess for the year and did not win a game but Weeks was one of there few shining lights.
He presents to the contest well and takes a very strong overhead mark. His conversion rate is not great and was inaccurate but still kicked 25 goals (30 behinds as well).
Week in week out he had a 2 defenders up against him anytime I saw him play.
He takes a very good mark when he was left with only 1 opponent and reminded me a bit of Ben McKinley who also played taller than his height.
Seems best suited to the flank or at CHF and covering a lot of ground as he seems to possess very good endurance. Not explosively quick but has good toe and decent agility and good below his knees for a high marking player.

Later on in the year he was rotated through the midfield for half his game time and looked very lively. Regularly got over 20 possessions and then went forward to kick goals. His game against Murray I was extremely impressed with and had really clean hands on the deck and an ability to run and carry the ball. Then pushed hard forward on his midfield opponent and took a couple of strong marks and goaled.

Not sure he will make it as a pure midfielder but more as a half forward flanker with an ability to link up as well as take a strong mark. Like in the Andrew Embley mold. Is well built and has a strong body and not so much development left there. Good field kick but does not seem to be translated into a good kick for goal.

He is 189cms tall and if he is able to grow 2 or 3cms and move up into a key positions size then he moves way up the rankings. With his good speed, endurance, clean hands overhead and on the deck and ability to run and carry the ball he would be a tantalising prospect at 192cms plus.

Played at the Championships for Vic Country and did not look out of his depth. Would think that in a decent TAC team with a better midfield and supply he would dominate.

20) Sam Fielding

Midfielder

179cms and 75kgs
30/9/1988
Clarence (Tasmania)

A midfielder who is classy and has genuine speed and good endurance. A touch of oestitus pubis towards the end of last year but other than that everything looks positive for him. A bit on the small side but had a good showing at the U18 Championship for Tasmania where he won his fair share of the ball and used it well.
Nothing that spectacular about him but seems to have genuine speed and is a good kick. Good defensive side to his game.
Starred in a couple of the Tassie Mariners games against Sandringham and Geelong and was the best player on ground each time. Showed himself capable of winning the ball and shutting down a player at the same time.

His game seems to be built around speed and running ability. Not great at winning clearances and can sometimes run himself out of position and lacks a little in that regard compared to some.
More physical development left in him though and he is an impressive package overall.

Runs a 400m in under 50 seconds and has the speed/endurance mix that few players can boast about. Just have him a bit lower than a couple of other midfielders as I don’t think he is as classy with the ball and as smart with his reading of the player as some others. If he puts on some height and size and retains all of his athleticism then he will move right up.

21) Alex Lee

Key Forward

192cms and 86kgs
24/9/88
Dandenong Stingrays

Did not play the first 6 games of the TAC cup then burst onto the scene after that. Showed great form up forward and made the original squad for Vic Metro for the U18 Championships. Was disappointing in the trial game playing out of the square as the go to man up forward and missed the final cut for the Champs.
He seemed to lose confidence after that and did not really return to form. The players also seemed to bypass him a lot for Dandenong and aim for Brad Horaczko (who played forward a lot and rucked less) and Aaron Murray who seemed to be the 2 key forwards and Lee was left with the scraps.

Lee moves well and is very athletic. A good size already and would guess he is a fair but heavier and maybe taller than his measurements at the start of 2005 (192 and 86).
He leads well and works hard in games to present as an option. Not a great kick for goal and needs to work on that. Takes a contested mark and uses his body well and to me seems suited for the half forward flank/CHF rather than deep forward.
Has a good leap but is not really explosive enough for full forward or a good enough converter at this stage. A good physical edge to his game and even though his confidence was down towards the end of the season he still tried hard and did not lose his discipline and work ethic.

Only turned 17 at the end of last season and overall had a good first up year in the TAC. With some likely growth he should turn into a quality KPP. I would like to see him play a few games down back as well to see how he handles that this year.

Well I have finished 21 now. Not sure how many more I will write and will wait and see if I have time.

Like I have said a number of times already but feel it is worth repeating. It is a mix of how I see the player now and also how they might develop over the year. A little about past performance and also how I am expecting things to go this year as well. Its also just a guess from me and should be treated as just that.

Just to put something up for people to have a bit if an idea about a few names. Of course things will change a great deal and some will fall away and others will come from nowhere. It happens every year and will again this time.

mojo31 said:
6) Joel Selwood

Midfielder

181cms and 74kgs
16/5/88
Bendigo Pioneers

Brother of Troy and Adam. Very classy inside midfielder. Got the cleanest hands of any of the midfielders available for the next draft. Does not fumble and is cool and composed under pressure and in traffic.
His strength is in extracting the ball out of a stoppage. Does it with strength, body positioning and awareness and anticipation. Seems to move that little bit quicker to the tap out or spillage and with great reflexes and hand eye co ordination he gathers the ball and feeds it out with a quick handball.
Uses his body so well and has an uncanny knack of getting his arms free and dishing the ball out before some players have managed to pin him.
Very physically tough and hard player who directs his aggression at the ball and will have a superb temprement for AFL.
Makes up for a slight lack in pace with anticipation and his reading of the play.
Kicking needs improvement but is not a problem just not penetrative enough yet and lacks real polish. He prefers to handball and feed runners but opponents will sag off him in the AFL if he does not improve his kicking and not make it easy for him to feed more skilful players. (for example Daniel Cross from WB).

Good at the U18 Championships for Vic Country where he looked in the top 2 or 3 midielders on display. His football has been a high level for 2 years now and it will be interesting to see how much he improves this year. Hopefully he will grow to his brothers heights of 187 and 189 and not have as much problem putting on weight.

Has class, leadership and and football smarts. A can’t miss selection for a club who wants a natural footballer and not an athlete trying to be a footballer.

I'll have one of them thanks

Lets just hope he slips to our 16th pick

Once again let me reiterate - great work Mojo :thumbsu:

In the 2001 Superdraft where the Top 5 were meant to be a "head above the rest", we did still see players like Sam Mitchell, Nick Dal Santo and Matt Maguire emerge from the mid-twenties/thirties. Based on what you have seen Mojo, are there any players in particular (bar the obvious top 5-10), who you think might just become as good as say a Dal Santo from out of nowhere?