CaptainDangerfield

Veteran 10k Posts
Glenelg
I know it's abit early but, what the hell, there's not much else worth discussing. Here's how I see the ladder at the end of the 2007 season:

West Coast - Best list in the AFL. The forward line has been their weakness but I expect Lych and Hansen will be better players thanks to their finals experience.

Fremantle - Probably all round the list is just as good as West Coasts but
West Coast just inch them out of the top spot due to their extroadinary midfield. A geuine GF chance.

Western Bulldogs - Much depends on Luke Darcy. If he can remain injury free, and they play him mostly out of the square, he could be the the tall forward they need to take them to the last day in Sep. The Doggies are a genuine chance.

Sydney - Will be a better side with the inclusion of Spider. A genuine premiership threat but maybe their last year to win another one.

St Kilda - Will be a better side now they have a proper "football" coach in the place of a "life" coach.

AFC - The start of the rebuild. Not enough "1st tier" midfield talent nor Kpp depth to be considered a genuine flag chance. Even if we can manufacture 1st tier midfield talent out of Johncock and our host of solid work horses
( Thomson, Reilly etc ) there isn't enough kpp depth or talent to support them. It's like groundhog day, lack of talented kpp is again our arhcilles heel.

Port Power - Alot depends on the fitness and form of their top 6 players in C Cornes, Lade, S Burgoyne, P Burgoyne, Tredrea and Wakelin. If they lose two or more of these for lengthy periods of time, bottom 8 is again a strong possibility as their remaining 22 will comprise mostly "unproven" youngsters. Time is running out for them to win a premiership in the playing life of their best ever forward ( Tredrea ), ruckman ( Lade ) and full back ( Wakelin ).

Geelong- The Cats will be better next year but won't be a genuine premiership threat.

Melbourne - I love the Dees grunty, aggressive midfielders but time has run out for them to win a premiership in David Neitz's reign.

Hawthorn - On the way up.

Kangaroos

Richmond - They will slide in 2007. Their kpp depth is worse then ours. Midfield, average at best.

Brisbane - Will J Brown ever play a full season?

Essendon - Too reliant on Lloyd. Not enough talent.

Carlton - Unfortunately for the Blues, the spoon is again likely. Heading in the right direction, if you know what I mean.

In Summary:

AFC
Port Power
Kangas
Brisbane

You're all idiots. Seriously.

Considering the injuries we had last year I'm surprised we even made it to the prelim.

It's too early to be making those calls, have a little faith people.

This ladder will almost certainly change but based on 2006:

W. Bulldogs
St.Kilda

Port Power
Brisbane
Kangaroos

There is no question why we cannot win 16 games again, we have a very good draw and we only have 2 away games that would give us some sort of pain, Melbourne at the MCG and Fremantle in Perth. We have West Coast at home, so in theory that only 3 games that are not at least a 50/50 game.

We lost the showdown in round 21 because we had no intensity at all, had we played like we did against Melbourne in round 22 it would have been a different story.

16 – 17 wins and a top 2 finish is not out of the question.

We have not lost a player from 2006 that cannot be covered in 2007.

Ben Hudson and Ivan Maric/ John Meesen will be just as competitive as Mathew Clarke and Rhett Biglands in the ruck.

Ian Perrie, Scott Welsh and Ken McGregor can kick 60- 80 odd goals between them to cover the loss of Trent Hentschel and we still have Nathan Bock as a forward option that didn’t play until the last 3rd of the season.

We didn’t have Ben Hart for the second half of the season so he isn’t an influencing factor, we will be ok next season but we still have to slowly introduce some younger players into the system.

My take on 2007...

West Coast - hard to see any team coming close
St Kilda - it will finally be their year with a good run of injuries
Western Bulldogs - logical next step for this improving outfit
Fremantle - a similar W/L to last year, but with wins spread across the year
Sydney - always are around the mark and the inclusion of Everitt a bonus
Adelaide - on the way down, last chance for many years at the premiership
Melbourne - they really should be pushing top 2, but won't
Essendon - the big improvers with Lloyd and Hird injury free

Port Power - steadily building back up to the top
Tassie Hawks - similar to Port
Richmond - hovering around the area they always are
Geelong - another disappointing year and a sacked coach
Collingwood - poor football, but fantastic off the field
Kangaroos - going nowhere except maybe up north in a couple of years
Brisbane Lions - bottomed out completely, a long way back up
Carlton - star player in jail, coach sacked, club broke, ahh the blues...

Can someone please explain to me why so many pundits expect Port to give the final eight a shake next year?

Consider their last 10 games of the season.

They lost eight and won two.

Admittedly, one of those two was a Showdown against the much more highly fancied Crows. However, this was at a time when Adelaide were clearly stuffed as the overloaded training schedule took its toll. Not to mention that Adelaide finished the game with only 17 fit players. Not hard to see why Adelaide were over-run in the final quarter.

The only upside I can see for Port in 2007 is the return of Warren Tredrea. Counted against this is the number of experienced players they are losing to retirement/delisting, players who will be replaced by inexperienced rookies.

Much depends upon the performance of Tredders, but even if he does fire I just can't see them making the eight - or even going close. If he doesn't fire, then I can see them finishing comfortably in the bottom four.

Vader said:
Can someone please explain to me why so many pundits expect Port to give the final eight a shake next year?

Are we not led to believe that their latest crop of young guns are the best that any club has ever produced for yonks ??

If so then any position out of the 8 would be seen as a complete failure.

If we do make the top four next year NC would then surely be elevated up to the ranks of "messiah" :)

noddy said:
Are we not led to believe that their latest crop of young guns are the best that any club has ever produced for yonks ??

If so then any position out of the 8 would be seen as a complete failure.

If we do make the top four next year NC would then surely be elevated up to the ranks of "messiah" :)

Agree. Just on Craigy, I wonder how many years the powers that be at the AFC will give him to win a premiership?

My 2007 Ladder:

1. West Coast
Hard to see why they would fall. Have only lost one premiership player (Banfield) and have multiple options for replacing him. With Lynch and Hansen now settled in the forward line the Weagles look like having established a 5-10 year dynasty.

2. Fremantle
The recruiting of Solomon adds "toughness" to the Freo backline in much the same way as Hardwick did to The Evil Empire. The addition of Tarrant makes for a truly frightening (if somewhat erratic) forward line - Pavlich, Farmer and Tarrant. Freo's problems have long been more mental than physical or talent related. Their charge into the finals last year would tend to indicate that they are no longer mentally as soft as butter.

3. Adelaide
The Crows will field the oldest list in the competition next year - probably close to 6 months older than the next oldest list. Expect some slight decrease in output from our veterans (Goodwin, Edwards & Macca in particular), with Roo unlikely to return to his dominant AA best. The youngsters need to step up, but I'm not sure we've given them enough game time to have realistic expectations that this will happen. Adelaide's new-look ruck division is the X-Factor, how will Hudson perform after recovering from his knee injury and will Maric/Meesen take the next step?

4. St Kilda
With the mini-bus replaced by a full coach, there seems little standing in the way of the Saints returning to the top four. If only they could find a way to overcome the injury curse which continues to hang over the club. Their weakness lies in the midfield, which looks decidedly thin once you get past Harvey, Ball, Hayes, Dal Santo and Baker. No doubt they will be focussing heavily on midfielders in the draft.

5. Melbourne
Neitz probably has one good year left in him and Robbo can't possibly play as badly in 2007 as he did in 2006. No longer soft as butter, I rated the Demons as the best team in Victoria this year. I see no reason why they should fall away dramatically next year. If only they could find a way of eliminating the late season fade-out.

6. Sydney
There is no way on earth Sydney were the second best team in the competition this year. They finished fourth, courtesy of a dream draw which saw them have 13 home games (11 true home games, 1 "away" game against Footscray at the SCG, 1 "away" game at Manuka in front of a pro-Swans crowd) and a run from R16-22 which featured only ONE other finallist. Their true level was shown in the block from R11-15, when they played finallists in 5 consecutive weeks - losing to four of them. Once again the Swans have a dream draw - 13 home games, but their run home is somewhat tougher so they should miss out on a top-four slot (and hence will face someone other than the Weagles in the finals for a change).

7. Footscray
Much depends upon Luke Darcy's knee. If it holds together then they will make the finals comfortably and may be a force to be reckoned with. If it fails again, they'll make the finals again but will just be there to make up the numbers.

8. Geelong
In 2006 Geelong had many problems, most of which are well documented. However, I can see them improving in one vital area in 2007 - the forward line. SoG2 showed significant improvement late in the season and I expect 2007 to be the year he finally starts to make a significant mark at the top level. Hawkins is a longer term prospect and won't feature significantly in the Cats' 2007 season (other than in the marketing department). Expect the Cats to be fitter, faster and better motivated in 2007. This should be enough to see them returning to September action.

9. Richmond
Most expected the Tigers to bomb in 2006. They didn't. They didn't look like making the finals either - missing out by two games and 20%. I don't see them slipping backwards next year, but neither do I see them taking the next step to the finals. Another narrow miss for Ninthmond.

10. Hawthorn
The Hawks set themselves to win eight games in 2006. Despite a drought from R6-16, which featured only one win, they managed to win 9 games. It is , however, worth noting that only one of those wins came at the expense of a team which played in the finals - Freo in round 1. Expect the Hawks to continue improving as the kids become more experienced, however don't expect them to suddenly blossom into certain finallists until 2008 or 2009. These things take time.

11. Collingwood
The Wobblers made the finals this year on the back of a dream draw (not unlike Sydney's) and a remarkably good run with injury. I simply can't see their fortunate run with injury continuing and they don't have the depth to cover injuries to key players (most notably Rocca, Buckley and Clement). Much though pies fans carry on about Egan, they will sadly miss the presence of Tarrant in their forward line.

12. Port Adelaide
Port finished the season with 8 losses from 10 games. In the off season they have lost plenty of experience, with the only senior player set to return next year being Warren Tredrea. It's hard to see why they would expect to be anywhere above 12th position at the end of next year.

13. Essendon
There's no doubt that the return of Lloyd will bolster Essendon's forward line. However there's also little doubt that they have one of the weakest lists in the competition. The fact that James Hird, on one leg, is their best player is both a compliment to Hird and an indictment on the rest of the list. With Solomon gone, Bradley continuing to disappoint and Fletcher MIA with injury as often as not, Essendon are going to have some cricket scores kicked against them next year. The bombers won't be playing finals footy for several years to come.

14. North Melbourne
North don't have one of the strongest lists going around. For too long they have been dependent upon a few senior players and most of their juniors haven't come on as hoped. Swallow showed promise last year and I'm sure there will be more opportunities for the youngsters to show their wares this year as North begin the rebuild after spending several years treading water via retreads. The best thing they could do though is abandon the awful gameplan which Laidley had them labouring under this year - it was almost painful to watch them going round and round in circles between the flanks and half back, when they needed to be moving the ball forward to Thompson who was their one shining light up forward.

15. Brisbane
With Mal Michael, Brad Scott, Justin Leppitsch all retired and Michael Voss to all intents and purposes likewise, it's hard to see Brisbane being a force this year. Brown will return, but how many games will he play - historically he is MIA through injury or suspension almost 50% of the time. Lappin will return to bolster the midfield, but he's missed almost two years now so how effective will he be? Brisbane will continue to experiment, searching through their impressive list of kids to see which players will become the next dynasty. In the meantime, they will lose a lot more games than they will win hence my prediction of a 15th placed finish.

16. Carlton
Self explanatory really.

SpringChoke said:
Agree. Just on Craigy, I wonder how many years the powers that be at the AFC will give him to win a premiership?
Everyone acknowledges that 2007 will be the last shot at glory with the current batch of veterans (Goody, Macca, Roo, Edwards).

After that, we need to wait for the "Reilly Generation" (those currently 24 or under) to really take their place before we can get our hopes up again. Sadly, the "Reilly Generation" is bereft of KPP types (Rutten & Bock being the only two non-ruckmen in that generation at present).

Vader said:
Everyone acknowledges that 2007 will be the last shot at glory with the current batch of veterans (Goody, Macca, Roo, Edwards).

After that, we need to wait for the "Reilly Generation" (those currently 24 or under) to really take their place before we can get our hopes up again. Sadly, the "Reilly Generation" is bereft of KPP types (Rutten & Bock being the only two non-ruckmen in that generation at present).

Not everyone. IMO 2006 was our last chance. With the loss of Trent, Biglands, Clarke and Hart our starting 22 won't be as strong next year as this year. The rebuild begins.

SpringChoke said:
I know it's abit early but, what the hell, there's not much else worth discussing. Here's how I see the ladder at the end of the 2007 season:

West Coast - Best list in the AFL. The forward line has been their weakness but I expect Lych and Hansen will be better players thanks to their finals experience.

Fremantle - Probably all round the list is just as good as West Coasts but
West Coast just inch them out of the top spot due to their extroadinary midfield. A geuine GF chance.

Western Bulldogs - Much depends on Luke Darcy. If he can remain injury free, and they play him mostly out of the square, he could be the the tall forward they need to take them to the last day in Sep. The Doggies are a genuine chance.

Sydney - Will be a better side with the inclusion of Spider. A genuine premiership threat but maybe their last year to win another one.

St Kilda - Will be a better side now they have a proper "football" coach in the place of a "life" coach.

AFC - The start of the rebuild. Not enough "1st tier" midfield talent nor Kpp depth to be considered a genuine flag chance. Even if we can manufacture 1st tier midfield talent out of Johncock and our host of solid work horses
( Thomson, Reilly etc ) there isn't enough kpp depth or talent to support them. It's like groundhog day, lack of talented kpp is again our arhcilles heel.

Port Power - Alot depends on the fitness and form of their top 6 players in C Cornes, Lade, S Burgoyne, P Burgoyne, Tredrea and Wakelin. If they lose two or more of these for lengthy periods of time, bottom 8 is again a strong possibility as their remaining 22 will comprise mostly "unproven" youngsters. Time is running out for them to win a premiership in the playing life of their best ever forward ( Tredrea ), ruckman ( Lade ) and full back ( Wakelin ).

Geelong- The Cats will be better next year but won't be a genuine premiership threat.

Melbourne - I love the Dees grunty, aggressive midfielders but time has run out for them to win a premiership in David Neitz's reign.

Hawthorn - On the way up.

Kangaroos

Richmond - They will slide in 2007. Their kpp depth is worse then ours. Midfield, average at best.

Brisbane - Will J Brown ever play a full season?

Essendon - Too reliant on Lloyd. Not enough talent.

Carlton - Unfortunately for the Blues, the spoon is again likely. Heading in the right direction, if you know what I mean.

In Summary:

AFC
Port Power
Kangas
Brisbane

I noticed what you said about Richmond talk about bias and our midfield is young and is only going to get better so you don't even know what you are talking about and jst to add we have some of the fastest running midfielders in the comp so go pull another one mate.

wart101 said:
I noticed what you said about Richmond talk about bias and our midfield is young and is only going to get better so you don't even know what you are talking about and jst to add we have some of the fastest running midfielders in the comp so go pull another one mate.

It's simply someone opinion, and based on Richmond past record, it will probably prove to be fairly accurate.

wart101 said:
Check out what those self obsessed ****ers have said about us on there dumb asses are us board. ( i hate the crows ).

Nicely worded post from you on the Richmond board, we'll be sure and get your ok before posting next time, ok?

Obviously too early to give a serious guess, but for now...

WCE
Bulldogs
Port Adelaide (faith call)

Brisbane
Kangaroos

g.g. said:
Obviously too early to give a serious guess, but for now...

WCE
Bulldogs
Port Adelaide (faith call)

Brisbane
Kangaroos

I will stand by what I said this time last year; they have enough talent with there squad to make the bottom half of the top 8.

Not enough to win the GF but enough to win 12 or 13 games.

Reasons for a 2007 AFC slide:

Oldest list in the AFL, midfeild and forwardlines arent good enough, the players we have there are weak and too inconsistant, our forwardline is shot to peices relying on Perrie, McGregor and Welsh to kick winning scores anit going to happen, none can take a catch.

The window was open and has now shut if you believe anything else you have your hand firmly on it.

maccas_no1 said:
Reasons for a 2007 AFC slide:

Oldest list in the AFL, midfeild and forwardlines arent good enough, the players we have there are weak and too inconsistant, our forwardline is shot to peices relying on Perrie, McGregor and Welsh to kick winning scores anit going to happen, none can take a catch.

The window was open and has now shut if you believe anything else you have your hand firmly on it.

I heard that in 2003.

Have faith.

ICanDressMyself said:
I heard that in 2003.

Have faith.

Do honestly understand what a waste 2005 and 2006 have been??? You spend all day fighting off Port supporters on Bay 13 when what they say is deadset spot on we ****ed it up BIGTIME, bigger than you can ever imagine, we are out of the picture in reguards to winning a premiership, forget it for 3-5 yrs now, we will slide, be honest with where the AFC is at and take the rose coloured glasses off.

We will be lucky to win 13 games in 2007, it doesnt matter how good the draw is we are relying on a ruckman that is coming back from a major Knee injury and two new ruckmen, it will take them time to get into the flow, nobody can expect them to come in and just go off in leaps and bounds, our forward line is rooted Perrie and McGregor are deadset hopeless when it comes to contested marks Welsh is okay, Burton is injury prone, and because of our midfeild deficencies will have to push up the ground, Roo will never be what we need him to be as a midfeilder or even as a forward he is clearly not upto AFL footy at the moment and no 'great preseason' will fix that.

5-6th finish in 2007.