Draft Review 2007 - Redo the 2007 Draft

Re: re do the 2007 draft now that we know what we know

There is no way I would take Cotchin ahead of Dangerfield. Cotchin is a fantastic player, but Dangerfield (apart from having a really cool name) could be amongst the best mids in the league within the next 1 to 2 years.

Obviously you don't watch too much football. Forgetting injuries, Cotchin is just as good if not a better prospect than Dangerfield.

Not a chance in the world we would take Rance ahead of Thompson after the season Thompson just had.
I had no idea who North's Scott Thompson was until the second half of this year.

As a mature-age draftee taken at No.37 in the 2007 draft, he's done a fantastic job. What a super pick up by the Roos.

Maybe the tide is finally turning with regard to North's drafting? Hope so.

Completely forgot about Cotchin :o

Those two will be neck and neck

Lol you're not alone mate. If Cotchin can't stay fit I'd say the likes of Dangerfield, Masten and Morton deserve to be in front. At this stage though, I'd have Cotchin in front of any young mid in the game.

One thing we can all agree is it was a great year for talent.

As a hawks man i couldn't be any happier with Rioli however Kruezer clearly is something particulary special and I don't think carlton would think for a single second about whether they made the correct decision.

He's the first ruckman I've seen have a real influence on games in his first couple of seasons - Most barely play a game is there first 2 years!

In terms of his development age he is way ahead of Cox, Ottens, Gardiner, Fraser or any other decent ruck at the same age. He really is defying what any other ruck has accomplished so early in their careers.

there's not much doubt he'll be the elite ruckman of the comptetion over the next decade or so.

As for my list.

Kreuzer
Rioli
Pears
Dangerfield
Cotchin
Morton
Grimes
Palmer
Otten
Masten
Ward
McEvoy
Ebert
Vezpremi
Myers

I think any club who selected a player in the top ten of the list would be very happy with there choice.

One thing we can all agree is it was a great year for talent.

As a hawks man i couldn't be any happier with Rioli however Kruezer clearly is something particulary special and I don't think carlton would think for a single second about whether they made the correct decision.

He's the first ruckman I've seen have a real influence on games in his first couple of seasons - Most barely play a game is there first 2 years!

In terms of his development age he is way ahead of Cox, Ottens, Gardiner, Fraser or any other decent ruck at the same age. He really is defying what any other ruck has accomplished so early in their careers.

there's not much doubt he'll be the elite ruckman of the comptetion over the next decade or so.

As for my list.

Kreuzer
Rioli
Pears
Dangerfield
Cotchin
Morton
Grimes
Palmer
Otten
Masten
Ward
McEvoy
Ebert
Vezpremi
Myers

I think any club who selected a player in the top ten of the list would be very happy with there choice.

Forgotten a certain game this season?

Other than that a fairly good list. May have Palmer slightly higher.

I wouldn't substitute Rioli for any other player in that draft - he's become the main reason I go to the footy (followed by Franklin, then Hodge). Some of the things he does are breathtaking. Can't wait to see how he develops in the next few years.

That being said, would be extremely happy to have Kreuzer on the list. Harry Taylor was also an inspired draft choice.

ha. good point Maxhunt.
Naitanui looks exciting and had an insane purple patch in th last quarter against the hawks this year where he broke the game open. However like many of his games he didn't actually touch the ball at all in the first three quarters. I think he averaged something like 4 touched a game. No doubt when he gets it he looks special but he isn't getting it anywhere near like the amount the Kruezer was in his first year. Nat only played 10 games and averaged under 2 kicks per game. Kruezer played 20 and doubled his average kicks, goals and tripled his average marks per game.

ha. good point Maxhunt.
Naitanui looks exciting and had an insane purple patch in th last quarter against the hawks this year where he broke the game open. However like many of his games he didn't actually touch the ball at all in the first three quarters. I think he averaged something like 4 touched a game. No doubt when he gets it he looks special but he isn't getting it anywhere near like the amount the Kruezer was in his first year. Nat only played 10 games and averaged under 2 kicks per game. Kruezer played 20 and doubled his average kicks, goals and tripled his average marks per game.
He actually averages slightly more touches than Kruezer did in his first year, and significantly more hitouts (15.2 to 9.15). Played more time in the ruck though I would imagine.

That was coming off a knee injury pre-season as well. People seem to be caught up in the fact that he wasn't kicking that often, but his handballing is a weapon and his hitouts are often excellent. He does need to work on his positioning and get his confidence up with his marking and kicking, still has a way to go.

Underdog on the Eagles board did a comparison with other young ruckman and Kreuzer and Naitanui compared very well with most.

--------------------------------------

Kreuzer would still go a clear number one if the draft was to be re-held IMO. Rioli might go number 2, I think the Tigers would be very happy with Cotchin though. The Eagles at number three, for a midfielder would stick with Masten no question, we are looking for a forward at the moment though so Rioli might take that spot if we wanted to pick up a forward then.

Palmer, Pears, Grimes and then Dangerfield would be next.

Look I think PD will be a very good player but lets cut the rubbish .....does what Palmer does? certainly not yet.

Dangerfield .....Career high is 20 disposals
Palmer averages 22 disposals

Dangerfield is being eased in and Palmer copped a hard tag with very little help.

When I see PD running around being tagged and picking up 25 disposals then you can say he does all Palmer does.
Apples with oranges though atm, as Danger played forward a lot of the year, a lot of time as CHF etc.

Kicked 20 goals or something.

We are very happy Quinz. Remember a few things:

1. Cotchin is a true midfielder. Clean hands, good foot disposal, good in traffic, good decision maker.
2. He has been injured.
3. He has actually played well in the matches he has played in, remembering he finished 3rd (?) in last year's rising star award.

I'd take him over Palmer because he's got better foot disposal and but he can also find the pill like Palmer. I'd take him over Morton because Cotchin seems to be more of a midfielder's midfielder and we have enough outside midfielders in Deledio and Tambling.

Rioli is still a forward pocket/midfielder. He has played well, in a good team playing as a forward pocket. Masten V Cotchin is a much of a muchness. Masten at second can be justified. We'd take Kreuzer but couldn't. Players like Myers and Grant haven't shown as much as Cotchin.

Cotchin has done enough to prove he's good enough at two. He's impressed me more than Deledio did early on and Deledio won the rising star. He'll be better than Deledio, and I calls it as I sees it, Cotchin will be the best midfielder for Richmond for decades. Call that as an indictment on Richmond, call that as going too early, but Cotchin is a gun. Rioli, Masten, Kreuzer, Palmer and to an extent players like Dangerfield and Grimes are guns too. Clubs did well out of this draft, Richmond with Cotchin and Rance included. I see no reason why though we'd take Dangerfield over Cotchin, as Cotchin has done enough to hold his spot and is capable of doing eye candy stuff.

At the moment the current first round would go like this with what clubs would of taken based on there needs in 2010

#1 CARL - M.KRUEZER

#2 RICH - T.COTCHIN

#3 WCE - R.PALMER

#4 MELB - P.DANGERFIELD

#5 WB - C.MORTON

#6 ESS - C.WARD

#7 FRE - C.RIOLI

#8 BRIS - C.MASTEN

#9 STK - A.RANCE

#10 ADEL - T.WALKER

#11 SYD - J.GRIMES

#12 HAW - L.HENDERSON

#13 WCE - A.OTTEN

#14 MELB - L.HENDERSON

#15 NM - D.MYERS

#16 PORT - H.TAYLOR

#17 GEEL - B.EBERT

In 10 years time and we had a look back at this i reckon the two 17 kids from this draft would go something like this

#1 - R.PALMER

#2 - T.COTCHIN

#3 - C.WARD

#4 - C.MORTON

#5 - T.WALKER

#6 - A.OTTEN

#7 - C.RIOLI

#8 - P.DANGERFIELD

#9 - M.KRUEZER

#10 - D.MYERS

#11 - C.MASTEN

#12 - J.GRIMES

#13 - B.EBERT

#14 - L.HENDERSON

#15 - T.NOTTE

#16 - R.TARRANT

#17 - P.VEZPREMI

You must be the only one who rates Palmer that highly. He is a good player but not that good.

Ward has raced up the charts. He suprised me this year, I had him down as a cameo player and he grabbed a midfield spot and stayed there. Last 1/3rd of his season was very good including finals campaign.

When he was first drafted (as a school kid) he was coming from a long way back, but recruiters noted his rate of improvement was high, and he has continued that after being drafted.

I now think he could be as good as J.Selwood as soon as next year, but better overhead. Big call I would have laughed at 12 months ago... People are going to go 'stats stats!' but you have to remember he has a kids skinny body and his endurance is also at below what it needs to be be. Selwood was already a man in terms of physique, which is why he dropped to 7 - question marks over how much of his ability was bullying skinny kids. As it turned out, he bullies grown men too.

But as for Ward, despite being a rake by comparison, the majority of his possessions are contested because he lacks the running power to pick up those 10 other uncontested possessions.

revisit this thread in 12 months and he could be top 3.

Mate, that list is laughable. Hang your head in shame.

Have an opinion troll.

This isn't bay13 stop posting bias crap -.-
Masten overrated?, yet you think Morton would go at 3 ...and grimes at 5
masten had op, once he overcame it he was quite dominant, 40 disposals in 1 match , averaging over 28 a game etc.

In hindsight masten wouldn't be taken at 3 but still in the top 5, unlike morton.

Joel Bowden gets high posessions too - like I said, he's good, but you are biased and overating him.

here is some average disposals 4 2009 of some of the 07 draft picks
ranking from highest to lowest

morton-21 games-22.67 disposals
palmer-5 g-20.80 d
grimes-11 g- 20.55 d
masten- 19 g- 20.32 d
cotchin- 10 g- 17.70 d
taylor- 22 g- 17.59 d
ward- 22 g - 16.45 d
rioli- 19 g - 15.63 d
kruezer- 23 g - 13.91 d
dangerfield- 21 g - 13.00 d
henderson- 7 g - 11.57 d
myers- 6 g - 11.00 d
mcevoy- 11 g - 7.36 d

and my top 10 would be:
kruezer
palmer
morton
grimes
rioli
cotchin
masten
dangerfield
ward
taylor

kruezer to still go number 1 good ruckman are hard 2 find maybe a bit bias with morton and grimes but they will both be guns and deserve to be in or near the top 5

here is some average disposals 4 2009 of some of the 07 draft picks
ranking from highest to lowest

morton-21 games-22.67 disposals
palmer-5 g-20.80 d
grimes-11 g- 20.55 d
masten- 19 g- 20.32 d
cotchin- 10 g- 17.70 d
taylor- 22 g- 17.59 d
ward- 22 g - 16.45 d
rioli- 19 g - 15.63 d
kruezer- 23 g - 13.91 d
dangerfield- 21 g - 13.00 d
henderson- 7 g - 11.57 d
myers- 6 g - 11.00 d
mcevoy- 11 g - 7.36 d

Thompson averaged 15 from FB whilst taking the best forwards in the comp in a side that conceded the most entries into 50 and finished 4th last.

He's a ****ing gun already, so these blokes must be sure to be superstars.

I think people are definitely underrating Palmer and Taylor. Palmer took the number 1 tagger from every team in his first year and still won the rising star and got a tonne of the pill. Ahead of all the other mids for mine.
And Harry Taylor, barring injury, will be an all Australian CHB in the next few years. Best KPP in the draft by a mile.

Kruezer
Palmer
Rioli
Dangerfield
Taylor
Morton
Cotchin
Otten
Ward
S Thompson
McEvoy
Masten
Whitecross
Veszpremi
Walker
Bird

Thompson averaged 15 from FB whilst taking the best forwards in the comp in a side that conceded the most entries into 50 and finished 4th last.

He's a ****ing gun already, so these blokes must be sure to be superstars.
Come off it m8, potential > output, didn't you know that? :o

Here's my top revisited 20. It's based on a combination of raw talent, exposed form, potential and ability to maintain fitness.

Not all of these aspects are weighted equally with regard to each player; rather, I've picked them on my prediction of which players will end up with the most damaging and effective career when they've all retired.

1. Trent Cotchin
2. Matthew Kreuzer
3. Cyril Rioli
4. Cale Morton
5. Patrick Dangerfield
6. Harry Taylor
7. Rhys Palmer
8. Andy Otten
9. Jack Grimes
10. Scott Thompson

11. Chris Masten
12. Callan Ward