Draft Review 2007 - Redo the 2007 Draft

Re: re do the 2007 draft now that we know what we know

Who's getting precious now?? Its a troll because you arent contributing anything interesting or worthy - you just shut down other peoples opinions.

Anyway forget that mate - I think the 2007 draft was very strong and there will be several players who will become elite. Morton looks like he could easily become one of them, but he is too young to be called elite right now.

Just like I think Kruezer will be an elite footballer - but if he quit right now, you would have to say he never made it to that level.

Part of it is that a lot of opposition supporters (much like uppercut) haven't actually watched hardly any Melbourne games, but are happy to provide their uneducated opinion.
Morton will be one of the most sought after targets for GC17. We'll need to make sure he is locked away on a large extension midseason next year.

Not too sure of that. You underrate Dangerfield and you ignore the fact that Palmer can't kick.

Doesn't matter how many times you win the footy if you just kick it straight back to the opposition.
Palmer is a Misiti clone, that is a liability in today's game.

The one problem with this site is that once bigfooty forms a collective opinion on something, people believe that fact without a scrap of evidence to back it up. Palmer's kicking isn't nearly as bad as people on this site make it out to be. He had 1 or 2 off games in his first season, but he also had games where he amassed around 30 disposals at almost 90% efficiency while copping the number 1 tag. Rich couldn't even do that - Black had the tag at Brisbane

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=caSa5gSbiVw

Palmer will be an absolute jet

That's interesting considering this is the first thread I've read that even mentions Rhys Palmer.
I think he can't kick to save himself. It seems there must be a lot of people who agree with me.
Turnovers are the biggest killer in the game.

That's interesting considering this is the first thread I've read that even mentions Rhys Palmer.
I think he can't kick to save himself. It seems there must be a lot of people who agree with me.
Turnovers are the biggest killer in the game.

If you're going to offer such controversial opinions can you please provide a single scrap of evidence to back it up. Don't do a robert walls

Not too sure of that. You underrate Dangerfield and you ignore the fact that Palmer can't kick.

Doesn't matter how many times you win the footy if you just kick it straight back to the opposition.

Palmer's kicking isn't great, but it's hardly a liability - it's comparable to many very very good players in the league.

He is totally right. You cant put Dangerfield ahead of Palmer on basis that he potentially could play midfield, Palmers basic output for a first year player is exceptional, he went from playing an outside midfield role to a very balanced game of inside and outside work and i expect him to be a far better player than Gibbs or Murphy even if he does lack a little finnish at times.

Do i think Palmer will end up the best of 2007 draft? Nope.

Part of it is that a lot of opposition supporters (much like uppercut) haven't actually watched hardly any Melbourne games, but are happy to provide their uneducated opinion.
Morton will be one of the most sought after targets for GC17. We'll need to make sure he is locked away on a large extension midseason next year.

Thought Morton was unco before the draft and he still is a touch unco. Ive lost all expectations of him every player a short game. Only downside to Morton has got going forward because his running game and ability to swing into to forward 50 should be a great asset going forward.

Anyway forget that mate - I think the 2007 draft was very strong and there will be several players who will become elite. Morton looks like he could easily become one of them, but he is too young to be called elite right now.

Just like I think Kruezer will be an elite footballer - but if he quit right now, you would have to say he never made it to that level.

completely agree with all of that :thumbsu:

Palmer is an absolute ball magnet who can cop a tag - Dangerfield isn't and can't, respectively (yet, anyway). Dangerfield needs to increase his possession count by at least 50% to be even considered near Palmer, IMO. This may come with a full preseason.

As highly as I rate Dangerfield (yes, I'm biased :p) it's true that we can't claim him as a midfield whiz yet because he hasn't played there much. However, queries over his possession count are pointless - playing as a leading mid-sized forward is not exactly a way to earn lots of touches.

In several games in 2009 he was played for periods of times as an inside mid (often our primary clearance player when he was in there) which exceptionally promising resuls - enough sothat I'm convinced on him - but again, he's not there yet.

Make no mistake though, if he manages to complete this preseason to the level required to earn a full-time midfield spot (and current indications are that he are) his possession count will immediately be the 50% higher you are asking for.

All that being said, Dangerfield is not exactly known for his kicking skills either :o

Im going to gove an Adelaide teams perspective.

I hope and think that Lobbe will rise a little this year.

I actually rate Ottens a smidge in front of Dangerfield. Patrick has more tricks but I see Ottens being a more solid contributer overall.

To be honest, I rate Grime much higher than Morton.

Morton will obviously make it, but he is an accumulator that receives most of his ball in the back half. Needs to put on some size and be more agressive at the ball.

Grimes is a machine. Will be playing midfield soon and is the type of player Melbourne need.

Scully, Trengove and Grimes will be ****ing unbelievable.

Otten is likely to be more consistent than Dangerfield but Danger will end up with a greater input.

To give a Crows analogy, Otten is a lot like Ben Hart whereas Dangerfield is more like Ricciuto.

CrazyQ - I really like Grimes, you guys have done well there.

Really don't see how we have lost with the 1st round selection of Lobbe. Has only yet to debut because we have had the best ruck combo going round in Lade and Brogan. He is an athletic ruckman that is pencilled in for round 1 2010.

It's interesting seeing the opposition opinions on Morton, the kid is Key Positon size and the common attitude is that these guys generally take a bit longer to develop. Morton though started strong, using his elite running ability and he hasn't looked back.

The negatives are always the same, gets too many kicks in the back half and is a receiver.
Firstly, if he plays in the back half isn't that his job? Never ceases to amaze me this simple oversight. He showed against the Cats when released he can kick multiple goals.
The other is the 'receiver' tag. In modern football uncontested football is the norm, it's about finding space and gut running to move the ball as quickly as possible. Morton is very good at both, elite even with his running. Regardless he has shown that he'll go in when he has to. Game high contested posessions of 13 & 12 against Adelaide & Freo proves he is capable of it. Also, the kid has played 40 games in two years, clearly he is durable enough to survive AFL footy.

He is a teenager with 40 games under his belt, he has demonstrated that he can kick multiple goals, he can also pick up heaps of touches. With elite running skills and the ability to shut down gun players like Goodes I'm excited about his future. His kicking is good, although he did have some issues with his decision making, but over 2009 he improved this area greatly.

What is most interesting about opposition opinions is that they don't identify what I beleive to be his major weakness that may stop him from being a forward target, and that's his poor contested marking. Makes you wonder if they actually watch him or just follow the bigfooty groupthink.
The other issue is his weight, it is going up, but only gradually.
I'm very, very happy with our first two picks from that draft, Morton & Grimes.

For a fairly soft outside flanker who hasn't shown a great deal, Cale Morton seems to be very overrated.

If WC took him over Masten, I would be very angry.

For a fairly soft outside flanker who hasn't shown a great deal, Cale Morton seems to be very overrated.

I assure you he has shown more than Masten. Yes I'm aware of the injury record and yes I DO rate Masten highly

You can't assure that. Of course you say Morton has shown more.

From an objective POV, I think Masten has shown more. Had an awesome 09 season and improved alot of areas of his game. That was without a preseason too.

I think Morton is overrated on Bigfooty. Hasn't really been put to the test. Does alot of his work uncontested and doesn't seem to have much of an affect on games. I would feel alot more worried with the ball in Masten, Cotchin's or Grimes' hands.

Hilarious some have Rioli 4 or 5.

Abosolute lock in for number 1.

He's already in the top 5 players at Hawthorn, and will go even higher up the list this year. He finished second in our best and fairest last year in his second year.after missing around 3 games with a hamstring injury.

He finished 6th in his first year in a premiership year.

He can play.

He's already in the top 5 players at Hawthorn, and will go even higher up the list this year. He finished second in our best and fairest last year in his second year.after missing around 3 games with a hamstring injury.

He finished 6th in his first year in a premiership year.

He can play.

Well at this Early Stage he would be Number 1.

I reckon people should keep there eye on John McCarthy:thumbsu:

Really don't see how we have lost with the 1st round selection of Lobbe. Has only yet to debut because we have had the best ruck combo going round in Lade and Brogan. He is an athletic ruckman that is pencilled in for round 1 2010.

I am looking Forward to see how Lobbe goes this year in the AFL.

Video of Lobbe:

[YOUTUBE]XzvB7zBZNRE[/YOUTUBE]

What makes Rioli a lock for number one ahead of Kreuzer?

Rioli finished second in the B & F because Hawthorn went backwards.

It was a joke that Voss and Sheahan had Rioli in contention for AA selection last year.

Rioli is a gun, but he is overhyped and doesn't look a full time midfielder
like inthesong said.

It would be funny if Kreuzer was the only tall Hawthorn fans and their club wouldn't take if they were ranking the players drafted in 2007.

How the hell does anyone have Jarrad Grant in the top 20 picks????
He's done and shown absolutely nothing.
I'm a Bulldogs supporter who wants him to develop into a great player but if you are fair dinkum about getting the order right after what we have seen so far in their careers then he should not even be in calculations.

What makes Rioli a lock for number one ahead of Kreuzer?
Easily the best performed draft pick from that year, and has loads of potential to get better and better once he gets fitter and fitter.

Rioli finished second in the B & F because Hawthorn went backwards.

The only reason he finished second above Sewell, Franklin, Bateman, Lewis, Roughead, Ellis etc etc was because Hawthorn went backwards? Interesting theory. 6th in his first year (premiership year), and second in his second year is an exceptional effort in Hawthorn's line up.

It was a joke that Voss and Sheahan had Rioli in contention for AA selection last year.

Why? He had a sensational season. You can't just ignore the opinions of those that have a different view to you just because it doesn't help your argument.

Rioli is a gun, but he is overhyped and doesn't look a full time midfielder
like inthesong said.

He already played a lot of midfield in his second year. He'll play high forward/midfield from this year onwards.

It would be funny if Kreuzer was the only tall Hawthorn fans and their club wouldn't take if they were ranking the players drafted in 2007.

Not quite sure what you're trying to say, but I find it hard to believe that Rioli wouldn't be taken 1 if the draft was done again. Adam Simpson said on radio (new hawks assistant) that Rioli is pretty already Hawthorn's best player from having seen him at training.

Just ignore that as well as a nothing opinion?

He's not just a good developing player, he's already a star of the game, which puts him in a different boat to those in his draft at the moment. The others are based on potential when Rioli is already a gun in his second year.

You cant put Dangerfield ahead of Palmer on basis that he potentially could play midfield

excuse me, what are you talking about? potentially?

Dangerfield is a midfielder. He played for the falcons in the middle, and in the SANFL as a midfielder.

he played plenty in the midfield for us this year too, he just lacks the tank to run out the game yet in the middle. he is also great overhead, so we can rotate him forward and in the centre.

where on gods earth did the idea that he might only potentially play midfield come from?????

I would be angry too, I'd rather you had the inferior player.