2010 Draft Watch Thread

Just thought I'd start a thread for us to discuss players we might go after in this years draft etc.

I'll kick things off with, Matthew Watson. 194cm, 99kg, big bodied defender from the Calder Cannons.

matthewwatson.jpg

The big guerilla we've been waiting for down back. Already a great size and almost looks ready made. He has good speed and a massive kick, drawing a lot of comparisons to Michael Hurley.

He looks like the second-coming of Matthew Lloyd with those shorts:eek:

I don't mind Jack, as you say he is pretty athletic, and he has a bit of mongrel. He's one of those 196-7cm types that through necessity has to play in the ruck for Sandy, whereas I see him potentially as a CHB, FB at AFL level. I'd like to see him do a little bit more around the ground when on-ball, but then again I'd like to see him play out the year in a key defensive post, but that aint going to happen. I think he's a shot to get drafted anywhere from 40 onwards.

Thanks for that mate. I reckon anyone who ends up with him will have a player. I personally just can't see him not turning into at the very least a solid AFL player. Pretty sure the GC are after him though and it's possible he could end up there. Would love for the Blues to draft him. :thumbsu:

at this stage there are 3 guys that i would love to see us pick with our first round pick.

MATT WATSON- a tall defender that looks like he's ready for afl. he would help straighten up our defence with bower being injury prome and thornton not looking up to it and austin stuggling.

JOSH GREEN- a strong inside midfielder. if we can get mclean up and playing his best footy plus add green and then buckley and develop robinson inside work and have judd, murphy and gibbs playing most of the time on the wings or the flank. it will give us the strongest midfield going around.

JOSH CADDY- another inside midfielder but caddy can go forward and kick goal. his a very different type of player than what we already have on our list. reminds me a bit of sidebottom

i would like to add a tall forward but the top quality ones (day, darling and cook) will be gone by our first pick. but i think lynch might be there for our 2nd or even 3rd pick.

i also think we should put in a bid for mitch wallis and thomas liberatore. we would be better of going for wallis over liberatore because of the fall out between liba and the club.

Probably the closest we'll get this year considering Day's out of the question. :( Cook will probably be gone, too, so I'll keep searching. ;)

why is everyone comparing Green to Mclean? Green is a lot quicker than what people expect. Also think we will select Green if he's around hughes has a habit of picking players from Tasmania :D had him going top 10 in my phantom draft. I think we should also look at Steven May from N.T. Hes a beast of a lad and can play forward or back. Got All Australian and was in the AIS so he should be a one to keep a eye on.

Memorandum in forward: Good luck Mr. Hughes and co. with our selections this year.

Just imagine this board if we had have had Ports '09 selections in:
8: Butcher
9: Moore
16: Pittard

A combined solitary game so far this season between all three, for a bottom of the table team.
Irrespective of the circumstances there would have been blood.

Treloar is too young, would think he is WSyd bound
He's expected to be named as one of GWS's Priority 17 YO's in a couple of days. They anounced Gold earlier this week.
Treloar is looking like a pretty good pickup at this stage. He has pace and can really find the pill.
I'd grab him with both hands if we had the chance :D, but we don't :mad: so I'll worry about ways of keeping him quiet instead. :eek:

that's a heck of a lot of worrying to do ;) :p

Golds, Treloar, they are already getting some beauties. Not sure if Wingard is eligible as a 17yo but I'd be having a good look at him too.