2011 Collingwood Draft Prospects Thread

One really interesting delisting. Ben Ross - North Melbourne.

Has had his injury difficulties in the past. But have seen some of his VFL games this year and the kid can play. Has speed. Kicking really good and the penetration is there. Really good at weighting his kicks and getting the right penetration. Like his game allot as a mid.

Think he is 22 next year and has the talent to make the grade.

Could be a rookie option for a club. One of the better players who could be recycled.

Doesn't have the profile though which makes it look more likely that he'll have to work back up through the VFL - which I think he could very easily do if the will is there and he stays injury free.

Ok, so my mate (who i see and catch up with regularly - i don't mean a friend of a friend of a friend...) plays footy with a guy called Andrew Daly.

He plays midfield apparently, muscley but around 180cm height. Has trained with the collingwood team multiple times according to my mate.

AND... (this is the part that people might call as BS) in my mates exact words:
"Yeah well he trained with em (pies) n nathan Buckley called him back a few times (he said three times to be exact) inviting him to train with them. So hes got his eye..."

Been playing with Hallam academy...?

This ringing any bells to people who are in the know?

and yes, this is serious and i have no reason to doubt this mate of mine

Ok, so my mate (who i see and catch up with regularly - i don't mean a friend of a friend of a friend...) plays footy with a guy called Andrew Daly.

He plays midfield apparently, muscley but around 180cm height. Has trained with the collingwood team multiple times according to my mate.

AND... (this is the part that people might call as BS) in my mates exact words:
"Yeah well he trained with em (pies) n nathan Buckley called him back a few times (he said three times to be exact) inviting him to train with them. So hes got his eye..."

Been playing with Hallam academy...?

This ringing any bells to people who are in the know?

and yes, this is serious and i have no reason to doubt this mate of mine

Never Heard of him so I would think at Best would be last Live Pick in National Draft

What to do when Leigh Brown retires? Certainly with Leigh Brown departure there is a spot for a mature age fwd / ruck type who might be at state league / delisted or tradeable. i say that bc i aint sure Wood / jolly has ever really worked

Option 1 - Use what we have

I cant see anyone else stepping up unless they can get Keefe to a point he can play tall defender with Brown and REid and then have Tarrant go fwd. Dawes could play 2nd ruck which I would think he could.

Option 2 - State League / Trade

I cant really think of anyone who would be in this basket that would be good enough. Maybe Callum Sinclair but I aint convinced. Trinity Handley from WA would be a massive left fielder but capable.

Option 3 - Crazy....they wont go for it....but makes some sense

I know i would be shouted down but if you could get your head around Fevola having his head right and the coach being happy with him (which I dont think he would be at all) then a fwd line of Dawes, Cloke and Fevola with Dawes having the odd run in the ruck would work.

What to do when Leigh Brown retires? Certainly with Leigh Brown departure there is a spot for a mature age fwd / ruck type who might be at state league / delisted or tradeable. i say that bc i aint sure Wood / jolly has ever really worked

Option 1 - Use what we have

I cant see anyone else stepping up unless they can get Keefe to a point he can play tall defender with Brown and REid and then have Tarrant go fwd. Dawes could play 2nd ruck which I would think he could.

Option 2 - State League / Trade

I cant really think of anyone who would be in this basket that would be good enough. Maybe Callum Sinclair but I aint convinced. Trinity Handley from WA would be a massive left fielder but capable.

Option 3 - Crazy....they wont go for it....but makes some sense

I know i would be shouted down but if you could get your head around Fevola having his head right and the coach being happy with him (which I dont think he would be at all) then a fwd line of Dawes, Cloke and Fevola with Dawes having the odd run in the ruck would work.

What do you think of Trent West Snoop?

By a mile my choice as replacement. Physically strong. Nice jump on him. Strong mark o/h. Can take over as no.1 ruck for when Jolly retires or misses games. Has flexibility to play no.2 ruck role and play fwd/back easily enough.

What do you think of Trent West Snoop?

By a mile my choice as replacement. Physically strong. Nice jump on him. Strong mark o/h. Can take over as no.1 ruck for when Jolly retires or misses games. Has flexibility to play no.2 ruck role and play fwd/back easily enough.

terrific prospect for Cats - we will never get him though

We dont tend to take a lot of state league players (except for Kraks) and dont think we will this year but here is a list of the state league guys I have seen this year who I think would be a chance to get pre-selected or taken in one of the 3 drafts.

Dont take this as a list of the best state league players - it aint. Its a list of players who I think have some AFL attributes and who could plug a whole for a side like Duigan did this year for Carlton and Kraks for us etc. If it seems rushed its bc I did it without my notes so apols in advance.

Beau Wilkes - Claremont / KPF

If GWS dont take Fevola then they should look at Wilkes who has had some big hauls lately. He wont kick any more than 30 but he will provide a contest and keep the ball in the fwd half. I would be surprised if a club other than GWS was keen.

Tim Mohr - Casey / Tall defender

Had a super VFL season and has been invited to DC which shouldnt surprise. Circa 22 from memory and very strong type who is quick and can play on all types. Ready made replacement for someone who lacks key defenders and I think could be worth a pick from 20 onwards. Very suitable to a number of clubs

Callum Sinclair - Port Melb / Tall fwd

Been in the mix for a while now and would think he is a genuine chance for this years draft as a few clubs will be looking for players who can take contested marks in the fwd line as more clubs revert to the long kicks into the fwd line approach. Hawks / Richmond / Pies / Carlton / Saints would all have to have some interest. Pies could be interested.

Nathan Blee - East Perth / Tall defender

Have seen a bit of him and another who is probably capable of walking into some teams as a key defender or being a terrific depth player. Very agile and uses it well. Doing this off top of head but got a DC.

Luke Brown - Norwood / Wing & Flank

I think he nominated last year but not 100% sure. Will go to GWS.....take as done. 1st round pick would be required to change their mind I suspect.

Luke Blackwell - Claremont / Midfielder

Been a super player for Claremont this year and might have gone unnoticed to Eastern State watchers a bit because he didnt play many of the FC games. Prolific ball winner who has improved his disposal efficiency and tackle count and most importantly has been getting them where you want your midfielders to get them. 24 with an AFL body and ready to go. Would expect him to be in the 50+ range. Chance he wont go at all but if a club needs a midfielder whose ready to go and adds some depth he is your guy.

Dayne Zorko - Broadbeach / Midfielder

Always staggered he didnt get picked up in his draft year. Has really hit form this year and shone in the state game vs WA where some of his efforts late to try and get them up were really impressive. Has a bit of the Dane Swans in that when you look at him you wouldnt think much but has that speed that gets him out of contests and his kicking has really improved....its bordering elite. QLD mature age players dont tend to go but would be a good rookie. If not hope he goes to WAFL / SANFL and plays a level higher.

Ryan Cook - South Fremantle / Midfielder

I think if he were to be selected it would probably be by the GWS. He was always a good midfielder for Collingwood but because he came thru when Pendles and Thomas did he was always going to struggle for a spot. Better player than Stanley in his time with us and look what Stanley achieved this year.

Trinity Handley - Claremont / KP & Ruck

Claremont swing player who has done it all this year and played really well in big games. 27 so highly unlikely to get a spot unless someone needs a bit of depth. Heart as big as Phar Laps...wont leave you wondering.

Brendan Fevola - Casey / Tall fwd

Look he denies the incident on Saturday but look he is allowed a drink post season and whilst it aint ideal i wouldnt be 'hanging him for it'. No question he has talent and am told Melbourne / Fremantle / GWS havent ruled him out....personally dont think Melb need him as they should be giving Cook and Watts the run of it.

Mal Lynch - Port / HBF

Smoothe mover who had a really good year and has the pace that AFL clubs look for in recruits. Personally I have my doubts but I think he will get taken for sure - whether its national or rookie unclear. pace off HB a problem have a look at this fella.

Matthew Suckling - Norwood / Midfielder

Will be roughie for a Magarey medal but given his best work is in close might lose out to a flashier type. I think he is # 2 in clearances in the SANFL and has been coached by Basset. Players that excel in clearances are in high demand. Has claims but again late to rookie. Any club in the bottom half of stoppage stats should consider.

Matt ODwyer - Werribee / HBF

Still remember his game for Calder in the TAC GF a few years ago and thinking he will make it. Spent time with Swans but frankly bloody hard going from playing AFL to bloody Eastlakes or whoever it is they have to get themselves up for. Silky user who is a nice mover and has had a terrific VFL year. Deserves a shot for sure.

Brayden O'Hara - Centrals / Wing & Flank

24 or so and would be a great selection for a club needing someone like a Matt Suckling or Grant Birchall type. Quick and elite ball user who would step straight in. Great choice for a GWS or Port Adelaide IMO as a ready made quarter back defender.

Ross Tungatalum - NT Thunder / Fwd Pocket

You cant tell me this bloke wouldnt be more effective than Alwyn Davey. Quick and super charged small fwd who has excelled for Thunder this year and done well in big games. Issue will be does he want to live in Melbourne etc. Essendon or Brisbane would be perfect.

Ben Brown - Glenorchy / Tall Fwd & ruck

19yo who is eligible to be pre-selected I think. Huge potential but problems with the knees and wouldnt surprise to see someone spend a pick circa 40+ to get him. I would certainly for us to have a crack at him but we have had crap luck with tall Tassie kids so that would be a curse.

Michael Florio - Perth / Flanker

Tall flanker type who can play on a variety of types and has a lot of AFL attributes. Might need to add some weight but he is well worth a look at a rookie selection. Got some AFL attributes and would think he is being watched.

Brad Mangan - Werribee / Wing & Flank

Highly rated a few years ago and ticked a lot of boxes around pace and ball use but overlooked bc of fitness issues. Seemingly put that behind him, bulked up and had a really good VFL year where his strength, ball winning, pace and ball use have impressed. Kids a beast and reminds of Max Rooke type. North could be keen on him.

Terry Milera - Port / Wing & HF

Wiry little bugger from Port who has a great sense for the game and is always in the right spots. Frame will need work but reads the game well and he has a penchant for slotting goals. Liken him to Kade Simpson. Again Essendon would suit.

Jack Frost - Williamstown / KPD

Tall defender who I was hoping we would target last year. Ended up missing out and went to Willy where he started in the Magoos this year and got into the senior side later in the year and was super impressive. Needs to add some weight but that will come. Competitive, tall and quick and seems to read game well. Like him a lot and Pies would suit him or an Adelaide.

Jack Hannath - Centrals / Ruck

Dont be surprised if he lands at Brisbane.....mail is good and now that Clark is gone I expect him to land there!

Tom Lee - Claremont / KP swingman

Ex Crow who is a nice tall type who has had a good year for Claremont and has been invited to either the DC or SS. Have seen a fair bit of him and can play a variety of roles. Super leap on him but probably needs some weight on him.

Sam Dwyer - Port / Midfielder

Must admit hasnt really been on my radar until this year. Watched a lot more of him this year and is very classy. Smoothe mover and can play in and out. Lovely ball use. I would rate in the top bracket of mids who could go.

Kory Beard - Port / Key Defender

Favourite for a while and wasnt seen much this year early on. Circa 22/23 I think from memory and is a terrific CHB / FB type. Strong over the footy, can take a contested grab and is very effective when ball hits the ground. Ball use is good. Another who Crows could get cheap.

Sean Tighe - Werribee / KP player fwd and back

Another player I was surprised who didnt go a year or two ago desperately wanted at lexus. Would have been handy and think he could be a swing player that we could have a look at in the rookie draft but could arguably walk into a few sides with a bit of a pre-season and some strong NAB Cup form

Kane Mitchell - Claremont / Rover

Built like proverbial brick sh&thouse. Has been DC invited I think which is great news bc he is probably a bit Jarryd Blair like and proof that small men are worthy. pacy and a good ball winner and can use it outside but I think he can butcher it at times.

Justin Monaco - East Fremantle / Swingman

Can play fwd or back and has had a really good year for East Fremantle. Seen a few games and has been good in all of them. Would have been on the radar last year so suspect a few are watching his progress and they wont be disappointed.

Keifer Yu - Claremont / HF

Was a near certainty I would have thought until he got injured last year and has put in some really good performances for Claremont reserves. Dont be put off by him not playing in the seniors the Claremont side has been tough to break into ahead of Gilligan, Richardson etc who have had good years.

Kyle Hartigan - Werribee / Key defender

Is their a year he doesnt get mentioned. Tall defender who improved his mobility and kicking from last year and expodentially since he was surprisingly not taken a few years ago (at least in my view). Suspect Hawks & Pies could have done with him on their lists this year.

Sam Gibson – Box Hill / Midfielder

Not so sure about Sam – terrific VFL player but he is 25 and probably scope of clubs interested would be narrower than if he was 20-22. Still cant deny his success and in the games I have seen has been prominent in all of them and no standout flaws. Just wonder if he has a bit of the Myles Sewell’s though. If you look at guys that get taken from state leagues they have a standout factor. Not sure what Sam’s is.

Ben Duscher – Bendigo / Midfielder

I think he is very likely to land a spot on an AFL list. He has performed well all year and has been a guy that seems to play well in big games. One of the really attractive things about him is that he covers the ground well and wont struggle with the ‘spread’. Hard, competitive has neat skills and good kick penetration. Still improving as well.

David Mirra - Box Hill / HBF

Terrific player who I think would fit straight in and play a role like Birchalls at Hawthorn or Gilbees with the Dogs. Good size and is good 1:1 as well. Had a good year and I will be surprised if he isnt listed as a rookie by someone. Showing improvement still so a lot to work with.

Michael Stockdale – Casey / Small Defender

Another who would be a terrific example for young TAC players who miss out. Was close a few years ago but gone to VFL and performed really well and shown consistent development. Quick defender, makes good decisions and ball use is AFL quality. Is he strong enough in the 1:1’s I think would be the question.

Will Farrer - NT Thunder / HF

Highly unlikely to go but I really like him and in the games I have seen him he presents well, takes the ball at the peak, can take a contested grab and is a beaut finisher. He would be a late rookie but I would rate him higher than Stubbs who is on our list.

Keiran McGuiness – Norwood / Tall Defender

Would be a great story the ex Bully getting a go at his age (28/29). Had a good year under Bassett and could walk in to the Crows side for a year as back up to a Talia / Rutten combo. Not quite as tall as you would like but uses body well and rarely beaten (lot like Basset in many ways).

Ben Hansen – Sturt / Medium Defender

Hasn’t got a lot of accocolades and admittedly only seen twice but gee his impresses me. He is your classic small defender who is composed and makes really good decisions and his ball use is first class. Would be a HB set up type player. Would be interested in seeing his testing bc he doesn’t look overly quick but I think he makes up for it with his decision making. Could see him developing into a Guerra type.

Brendan Lee - East Perth / Midfielder

Lovely type who racks up getting the pill but he probably needs a bit more height to be taken. Still huge accumulator who isnt afraid to win it himself and has impressed me every time I have seen him. Suspect he wont go but has claims.

Ahmaad Saad - Northern Bullants / Fwd Pocket

Will go to GWS I suspect....enough said. Whilst he has tapered in 2nd half of year some of his 1% efforts have been very good in goal assists. Still developing and has x factor. He will go.

Mark Baguley - Frankston / HB

Strong bodied medium sized defenders who seem to always be the ones that go out of the mature age types (eg Hardingham, Duigan, Richardson, Puopolo etc).

Ian Richardson - Claremont / Small fwd

Look I am clearly no expert but what is the issue with recruiting this bloke for GS. In my view along with RT and AS is the best mature age small fwd prospect in the land. Smart footballer who is fit enough to run in the middle, beaut skills and 1:1 would be a danger for a number of AFL defenders. Wont go but GWS / Port / Essendon etc should take him and slot him in a pocket. Will give you a contest at least.

Blake Broadhurst - Subiaco / Med fwd

Liked him for a while and woudl think he has been looked at. I think he is about 185cm and he is the WAFL version of a SJ type. Just a really smart footballer who is super 1:1 and can do some special things with a ball. Last I looked he was winning the goal kicking over there and he is certainly someone who could walk into an AFL club and probably get a go fairly early on. I think he would be a nice fit for Richmond or Essendon.

Steve Morris - West Adel / HBF

Tall and aggressive HB type who has speed and is good 1:1. Might be this years Nick Duigan and could see a number of clubs interested. Hasn’t disappointed in any game I have seen of his.

Adam kennedy - Western Jets / KPD or Flanker

Another who I think clubs could pre-trade for given he was nominated last year. Super year for the Jets and seemingly resolved a few perceived weaknesses around decision making and disposal. Would think he would go.

Josh Trembath – Glenelg / Medium fwd

Classic third tall have been following him for a while now and has been dominating the Reserves for a long time but recently been getting some senior action and has had started to transfer the talent to senior level and hit the scoreboard. His 4 goals v Sturt we good and he hurt them up the field as well. Hoping he will see some finals action as I think he could step up. If you want a MacAffer type he is it.

Derrick Micallef – North Ballarat / Small fwd

I am 50:50 on him. He shows all the attributes but in the 5-6 times I have seen him I just don’t ever see him dominate. Smart, quick, nice user and might go well in an established side but otherwise I think he might go the way of the Hitchcock at Port.....you know he just needs good players around him. Personall I would prefer Rose or Saad or Richardson or Tunga!

Brett Eddy - Collingwood VFL / Tall fwd

Did his knee earlier in the year so unlikely to go but was a 'sure thing' before the injury so you never know. I would be happy for Pies to spend a rookie selection on him. Loads of upside bc he hadnt really done a pre-season and has potential. I swear he moves like a tall Jarman....got his swagger and always looks stuffed...just not quite as good!

Jimmi Savage - Norwood / KPF

Was on the GWS list and in fact kicked their first goal in the NAB Cup game in Sydney. Plenty of talent but didnt work out with GWS and left pretty early so suspect would need to understand if it was homesickness or something else. Can play though but would have to be some questions marks if its either of the above for a club outside Adelaide. Maybe Crows or Port would be keen. Been ok for Norwood u18's but not stellar.

Tory Dickson – Bendigo / Fwd

Look there aren’t many state league medium fwds that get taken so its unlikely but if this bloke isn’t one of the smartest state league players running around I give up. Just seems to be able to find space and is excellent 1:1. Ball use is good and a knack for the goals.

Toby Thoolen - Frankston / KPD

Ex Collingwood player who has been very good this year and would have claims but unlikely would think as would rate Mohr / Blee / Lee and Beard ahead of him.

Cameron Illett – NT Thunder / Midfielder & HF

Wont be taken but wish he got an opportunity. Is your Lenny Hayes type who isn’t real quick but his ability to impose himself in a contested situation and get the right result is very good. Super fit and and a terrific leader but age is probably against him.

Luke Potts - Frankston / Mid

I think he is a little ripper and with some decent players around him would blossom a bit like Hibberd did this year.

Probably missed a few but that should do......

Players that Interest me from Snoops State League Player List:

• Jimmi Savage - Norwood / KPF

Was on the GWS list and in fact kicked their first goal in the NAB Cup game in Sydney. Plenty of talent but didnt work out with GWS and left pretty early so suspect would need to understand if it was homesickness or something else. Can play though but would have to be some questions marks if its either of the above for a club outside Adelaide. Maybe Crows or Port would be keen. Been ok for Norwood u18's but not stellar
  • Brett Eddy - Collingwood VFL / Tall fwd

Did his knee earlier in the year so unlikely to go but was a 'sure thing' before the injury so you never know. I would be happy for Pies to spend a rookie selection on him. Loads of upside bc he hadnt really done a pre-season and has potential. I swear he moves like a tall Jarman....got his swagger and always looks stuffed...just not quite as good!
  • Kyle Hartigan - Werribee / Key defender

Is their a year he doesnt get mentioned. Tall defender who improved his mobility and kicking from last year and expodentially since he was surprisingly not taken a few years ago (at least in my view). Suspect Hawks & Pies could have done with him on their lists this year.
  • Sean Tighe - Werribee / KP player fwd and back

Another player I was surprised who didnt go a year or two ago desperately wanted at lexus. Would have been handy and think he could be a swing player that we could have a look at in the rookie draft but could arguably walk into a few sides with a bit of a pre-season and some strong NAB Cup form
  • Jack Frost - Williamstown / KPD

Tall defender who I was hoping we would target last year. Ended up missing out and went to Willy where he started in the Magoos this year and got into the senior side later in the year and was super impressive. Needs to add some weight but that will come. Competitive, tall and quick and seems to read game well. Like him a lot and Pies would suit him or an Adelaide.
  • Brad Mangan - Werribee / Wing & Flank

Highly rated a few years ago and ticked a lot of boxes around pace and ball use but overlooked bc of fitness issues. Seemingly put that behind him, bulked up and had a really good VFL year where his strength, ball winning, pace and ball use have impressed. Kids a beast and reminds of Max Rooke type. North could be keen on him.
  • Ben Brown - Glenorchy / Tall Fwd & ruck

19yo who is eligible to be pre-selected I think. Huge potential but problems with the knees and wouldnt surprise to see someone spend a pick circa 40+ to get him. I would certainly for us to have a crack at him but we have had crap luck with tall Tassie kids so that would be a curse.
  • Callum Sinclair - Port Melb / Tall fwd

Been in the mix for a while now and would think he is a genuine chance for this years draft as a few clubs will be looking for players who can take contested marks in the fwd line as more clubs revert to the long kicks into the fwd line approach. Hawks / Richmond / Pies / Carlton / Saints would all have to have some interest. Pies could be interested.

Did pretty well covering most of the likely state leaguers Snoop.

I'm not certain if Luke Brown did enter the draft last year. Certainly one I would be VERY willing to trade our 1st rounder for/ draft with our 1st rounder if he did though.

Some of other players who are that one year older: Markworth (wouldn't have nominated last year - likely 1st rounder), Nic Haynes (would have nominated last year - likely 1st-2nd rounder), Andrew Boseley (Pretty sure he nominated last year - likely 2nd rounder or thereabouts), Julian Dobosz (Think he nominated last year late 1st - 2nd rounder).

Darren Pfeiffer has been fantastic in the SANFL - deserves a 2nd chance. Talent was always there but now has pulled his head in and started applying himself.

Sundberg not sure if you mentioned him but should get a shot somewhere late/rookie.

Willie Wheeler is that year older but has had a super 1st season at VFL level.

Some others: Nathan Batsanis (views vary), Oliver Tate, Tyson Thomas, Graham Jetta, Lee Spur, Russell Gabriel, Jamie Elliot might be some of the others who could get a look.

Some of those I like for Collingwood (of the mature agers):
Daniel Markworth (absolute first priority in the 1st round if still available - can play - mid/fwd), Luke Brown (would take/trade 1st rounder for - optimal Davis replacement down back), Brett Eddy (rookie possible KPF), Jimmi Savage (rookie consider KPF - very high level talent), Darren Pfeiffer (rookie consider if available), Sam Dywer (rookie consider if available), Matt O'Dwyer (rookie consider if available), Mark Baguley (rookie consider if available - def possible), Brayden O'Hara (rookie consider - essentially a better version of Simon Buckley), Lee Spur (rookie consider if available - def), Derrick Micallef (rookie consider if available - speedy outside type complimentary player), Ben Brown (KPF/Ruck - late/rookie possible - potential L.Brown replacement but will take time), Ahmed Saad (late option but likely GWS take him - Probably the better of the small forward going around the state leagues), Dayne Zorko (rookie consider).

Actually was in the Territory and got to watch the Thunder v Mt Gravatt game. From the few performances I have seen of them and having done some research they have a couple of decent late draft/rookie prospects.

Ross Tungatalum - As described by Snoop. Piles on the pressure with his speed.
William Farrer - Smooth mover. Exactly as Snoop described him.
Shaun Tapp - 22 years old. 195 cms. 95 Kgs. Key position defender. Leading the NT's under 23 player award. Was drafted onto the Lions list previously (not sure what happened, apart from being delisted)
Darren Ewing - 24 years old. 182 cms. 92 Kgs. Your typical country/lower grade gun full foward. Has kicked over 100 goals for the season. Just a very smart player who knows positioning and can take a mark. From my quick look needs to develop the defensive side of his game and build athletism. Surely a bloke like this has potential as a third tall and could be a rookie option.

Would love for the Pies to consider picking up Tapp, if for nothing else than backline depth. Thoughts?

I'm really interested to know why others perceive our key defence stocks to be poor - or at least why so many are keen to add more.

We have: Reid and Tarrant in our senior side - who as a combo are as good as any. Would take over Scarlett/Taylor - but would have to be top 3 around the league.
Nathan Brown who when healthy next year can come back into the senior side.
Lachlan Keeffe who maybe moves into the ruck, but right now is by a mile best as a key defender.
Tom Gordon has been solid at VFL level throughout the year as a 1st year rookie.
Then next year we have Michael Hartley coming along who is an athletic shut down full back.

Immendiate depth is covered. We have the developing key defenders coming through.

Does everyone lack faith in N.Brown coming back then consider L.Keeffe as a no.2 ruckman long term? Probably the only scenario I can see when Tarrant retires that anyone could possibly be concerned about with relation to our key defence stocks.

I see our key defence stocks as a BIG strength. Have the quality now. Quality coming through. And young depth coming through. Personally have no issue at this point in time with the way they are looking.

I'm really interested to know why others perceive our key defence stocks to be poor - or at least why so many are keen to add more.

We have: Reid and Tarrant in our senior side - who as a combo are as good as any. Would take over Scarlett/Taylor - but would have to be top 3 around the league.
Nathan Brown who when healthy next year can come back into the senior side.
Lachlan Keeffe who maybe moves into the ruck, but right now is by a mile best as a key defender.
Tom Gordon has been solid at VFL level throughout the year as a 1st year rookie.
Then next year we have Michael Hartley coming along who is an athletic shut down full back.

Immendiate depth is covered. We have the developing key defenders coming through.

Does everyone lack faith in N.Brown coming back then consider L.Keeffe as a no.2 ruckman long term? Probably the only scenario I can see when Tarrant retires that anyone could possibly be concerned about with relation to our key defence stocks.

I see our key defence stocks as a BIG strength. Have the quality now. Quality coming through. And young depth coming through. Personally have no issue at this point in time with the way they are looking.

Our Biggest Need it a Key Forward

Actually was in the Territory and got to watch the Thunder v Mt Gravatt game. From the few performances I have seen of them and having done some research they have a couple of decent late draft/rookie prospects.

Shaun Tapp - 22 years old. 195 cms. 95 Kgs. Key position defender. Leading the NT's under 23 player award. Was drafted onto the Lions list previously (not sure what happened, apart from being delisted)
Darren Ewing - 24 years old. 182 cms. 92 Kgs. Your typical country/lower grade gun full foward. Has kicked over 100 goals for the season. Just a very smart player who knows positioning and can take a mark. From my quick look needs to develop the defensive side of his game and build athletism. Surely a bloke like this has potential as a third tall and could be a rookie option.

Would love for the Pies to consider picking up Tapp, if for nothing else than backline depth. Thoughts?

Not a bad list Rusty. Nice writeups.

Don't follow the NT boys to have much of an idea of whether any of these are all that draftable or willing to locate to Vic. Would be interested to see how these would go in VFL/SANFL/WAFL or against better comp.

Did pretty well covering most of the likely state leaguers Snoop.

I'm not certain if Luke Brown did enter the draft last year. Certainly one I would be VERY willing to trade our 1st rounder for/ draft with our 1st rounder if he did though.

Some of other players who are that one year older: Markworth (wouldn't have nominated last year - likely 1st rounder), Nic Haynes (would have nominated last year - likely 1st-2nd rounder), Andrew Boseley (Pretty sure he nominated last year - likely 2nd rounder or thereabouts), Julian Dobosz (Think he nominated last year late 1st - 2nd rounder).

Darren Pfeiffer has been fantastic in the SANFL - deserves a 2nd chance. Talent was always there but now has pulled his head in and started applying himself.

Sundberg not sure if you mentioned him but should get a shot somewhere late/rookie.

Willie Wheeler is that year older but has had a super 1st season at VFL level.

Some others: Nathan Batsanis (views vary), Oliver Tate, Tyson Thomas, Graham Jetta, Lee Spur, Russell Gabriel, Jamie Elliot might be some of the others who could get a look.

Some of those I like for Collingwood (of the mature agers):
Daniel Markworth (absolute first priority in the 1st round if still available - can play - mid/fwd), Luke Brown (would take/trade 1st rounder for - optimal Davis replacement down back), Brett Eddy (rookie possible KPF), Jimmi Savage (rookie consider KPF - very high level talent), Darren Pfeiffer (rookie consider if available), Sam Dywer (rookie consider if available), Matt O'Dwyer (rookie consider if available), Mark Baguley (rookie consider if available - def possible), Brayden O'Hara (rookie consider - essentially a better version of Simon Buckley), Lee Spur (rookie consider if available - def), Derrick Micallef (rookie consider if available - speedy outside type complimentary player), Ben Brown (KPF/Ruck - late/rookie possible - potential L.Brown replacement but will take time), Ahmed Saad (late option but likely GWS take him - Probably the better of the small forward going around the state leagues), Dayne Zorko (rookie consider).

Didnt include Markworth, Dobosz and Bosely as unsure if they nominated last year. Each have a lot of currency though so agree with you. Elliott did and forgot about him and he might be a chance but Uyszal is probably preferred for mine. Wont comment on players I havent seen / watched for and Wheeler / Spurr fall in that camp. Gabriel yeah maybe but I dont think mature age rucks are on the hit list. If you were keen on Rucks have a look at Rix from WA. Given the new rules most clubs have ample. Batsanis a favourite of mine personally but doubt he would go, Jetta is 25 and seen enough to believe many better than him, Thomas I dont rate and Tate yeah I agree with you.

Our Biggest Need it a Key Forward

I'd debate a no.1 + no.2 ruck would be our biggest needs.

Jolly has probably only 1-2 years left in him.

After that we are left with Wood (who won't ever develop into anything significant) and Keeffe (who is still physically a fair way away from developing into a ruckman and still has to learn the position).

Then Ceglar + Witts who are a good 3-4 years away from developing into players who can produce at AFL level consistantly - assuming they develop - optimistic with Witts and think Ceglar could be a chance.

So for 2013, 2014 and 2015 in the ruck we will have a very ordinary collection of ruckman who don't exactly scream PREMIERSHIP.

Trent West is the player I identified who could solve these ruck issues and help further widen our premiership window.

Also wouldn't overlook the possibility of Tom Downie in the 2nd round if available. Another tall - high upside ruckman. Might develop into a better ruckman than Witts.

But I do agree that selecting a KPF, maybe two is worthwhile because now that L.Brown is gone and Tarrant is nearing the end we have zero KPF depth - unless we move Witts to Full Forward for a season or two - which I actually recommend for his development.

Why I consider KPFs as a lower order need is because we have Cloke + Dawes who project as our KPFs for the next 6+ years. Also we have James Stewart coming along in 2012 as our long term Cloke replacement for 6-7 years down the track.

Would be fine with a Brett Eddy or Jimmi Savage as a rookie and just leave our KPF stocks there. Through the main draft would consider Waylen Manson possibly in the 2nd round. Pretty sure he has nominated for the draft. Outside of this not a whole lot, if any other KPFs really have the potential to be much more than depth considering Cloke + Dawes are ahead of them..

Tunga - Only thing that will hold Tunga back is does he want to move. Ex Saint and didnt like Melbourne so suspect that hasnt changed. I think he is in the top 2-3 small fwds in the comp. Very jeff Gartlett.

Tapp - Agree but suspect pace was the issue. Done some good jobs in the NEAFL but saw Josh Smith cut him up nad was then I thought he just lacks that little something. A favourite of mine but i think he is going to struggle against some blokes who play similar position in better leagues who have done real well. Be very surprised if he went but agree is good.

Ewing - Highly doubt. Is as you describe him but with all due respect to him he needs two AFL pre-seasons to get that body right. One of the smartest leads I have seen though.

Not saying that we don't have depth in the backline. Just that you can never have too much. Particuarly when obtaining that depth only costs you a rookie spot.

With L Brown's retirement and Tarrant's impending retirement (which could ultimately be as early as this year if we take out the flag) it's something the Pies should consider.

As you suggest Keefe is the logical replacement for Leighroy. However, given that role in our current structure is actually as a fwd/ruck, he will probably be taken out of the defensive rotations a little bit.

Hartley is a definite prospect. However will be not be ready to hold down a key defensive position for a while.

Not convinced in regards to Gordon. But again early days.

All this is combined with the fact our perceived backline depth is very much dependant on Rambo returning without any ongoing issues. There are no guarantees. Particularly with knees (Hey that rhymes...)

2011 Collingwood Draft Prospects Thread