Competitions 2012 AFC Draft Game - The Discussion and First Round Judging Thread

Mego Red

The Artist Formerly Known As Kristof
10k Posts
Oct 3, 2003
Soft spot for Brisbane
So - let's move on to discussion of our teams and judging the first round. There will be no trades- this IS a drafting game, so we should live and die by our selections. Some rules of engagement:

• Everyone will post their teams in this thread, as early as possible. Personally, I'd like all 16 teams in before we start discussion, but let's see if that is possible.
  • Just post your team, not yor selections. Post them from forward to back, like you're reading the teams in 1985, and Michael Aish is playing in the centre. We are old school SA in these parts.
  • You have THREE paragraphs to make your case about the success of your side. NO MORE.
  • Feel free to banter as much as you like about each otehrs teams, but keep it friendly. Ish.

Then, I want folks to PM me a score for everyone else's team (not your own) out of 100, based on the following criteria:

Structure - 15pts. Does this work as an actual side?

Midfield Talent - 10pts.
Inside Midfielders - 10pts.
Outside midfielders - 10pts.
30% of the score is based on the impact of the midfield.

Tall Forwards, inc third tall option - 10pts.
Small and Midsized Forwards - 10pts.
Does the team work structurally, and can they kick a winning score? Do they have multiple options, as well as strong key forward to hold it together?

Tall Defenders, inc third tall option - 10pts.
Do they have the options to stop a range of different forward lines?

Rucks - 5pts. Feel free to rate this slightly higher, but I only gave it five as it is only a player or two across your whole squad.
X-factor - 5pts. Does Bruce think they're special?
Experience - 5pts. Are they mature bodies, ready to win now?

Outside judges are encouraged, but before you PM me your score, make sure you post in the the thread letting us know you're getting involved. I want ONE PM with all of your scores in it, so I can keep track.

Following this, we will have our 16 team premiership table, and we will be able to go into our finals series ...

SENDING ME SCORES

Cut and paste the following list into a PM, with a score out of 100 next to each name (or a N/A next to your team.

1. Carl Spackler - The Gophers
2. Footypie32 - The Anti-Crows
3. Mad Fan of AFL - Sando's Spikes
4. Blackbird RGB - Hell's Feather Busters
5. Stripple - the Thundercats
6. BACCS - The Sloanedawgs
7. Roo2macca - The Maccaroos
8. Buzzasto - The Lismore Lions
9. Crows are the best - Kenworth Trucks
10. Hendo888 - The Foo Fighters
11. Freddy Bassett - Club 119-138-165
12. Hdecure - The Crippled Crows
13. Kristof - The Stringer Bellends
14. ringo200 - The Ringo Starrs
15. Lawrst - The Memes
16. Faith - Faith FC
17. Adelaide Fan 14 - The A Team
18. Bacon8 - Total Bacon Domination

I will add up all scores received by 10am, Thursday January 19.

So - let's move on to discussion of our teams and judging the first round. There will be no trades- this IS a drafting game, so we should live and die by our selections. Some rules of engagement:

• Everyone will post their teams in this thread, as early as possible. Personally, I'd like all 16 teams in before we start discussion, but let's see if that is possible.
  • Just post your team, not yor selections. Post them from forward to back, like you're reading the teams in 1985, and Michael Aish is playing in the centre. We are old school SA in these parts.
  • You have THREE paragraphs to make your case about the success of your side. NO MORE.
  • Feel free to banter as much as you like about each otehrs teams, but keep it friendly. Ish.

Then, I want folks to PM me a score for everyone else's team (not your own) out of 100, based on the following criteria:

Structure - 15pts. Does this work as an actual side?

Midfield Talent - 10pts.
Inside Midfielders - 10pts.
Outside midfielders - 10pts.
30% of the score is based on the impact of the midfield.

Tall Forwards, inc third tall option - 10pts.
Does the team work structurally, and can they kick a winning score? Do they have multiple options, as well as strong key forward to hold it together?

Tall Defenders, inc third tall option - 10pts.
Do they have the options to stop a range of different forward lines?

Rucks - 5pts. Feel free to rate this slightly higher, but I only gave it five as it is only a player or two across your whole squad.
X-factor - 5pts. Does Bruce think they're special?
Experience - 5pts. Are they mature bodies, ready to win now?

Outside judges are encouraged, but before you PM me your score, make sure you post in the the thread letting us know you're getting involved. I want ONE PM with all of your scores in it, so I can keep track.

Following this, we will have our 16 team premiership table, and we will be able to go into our finals series ...

We have 18 teams:)

Hdecure's final Team!
The Crippled Crows

FF: G. Rohan, A. Walker, R. Gray
HF: J. McVeigh, S. Day, R. Douglas
C: T. McKenzie, S. Mitchell, N. Van Berlo
HB: M. Suckling, P. Davis, T. Mzungu
FB: B. Jacobs, M. Jamison, N.Duigan
R. M. Leuenberger, B. Moloney, N. Dal Santo
Int: J. Caddy, J. Giles, T. Mohr
Sub: C. Wingard
Emg: B. McKenzie, T. Mitchell, S. Morris

I feel my midfield is clearly my strongest area, with Elite Midfielders Dal Santo and Mitchell leading the way, with Moloney racking up the clearences thanks to the expert ruck work from Leuenberger.
Van Berlo also provides another very strong midfielder who can run all day, while McKenzie can provide me with that little bit of X-Factor with his booming left foot kick.

My forward line is probably my weakest point, but I still have some good weapons in Andrew Walker, Robbie Gray and Jarrad McVeigh. Youngsters Caddy, Rohan and Wingard can pick up the crumbs with their dangerous skills around goal. Sam Day is my leading forward target behind Walker, and this really is a lottery in terms of Day's output in 2012.

I think my backline is good without being rock solid. I've got three good KP Backs in Davis, Duigan and Jamison, but 2 of them are injury prone. Hopefully they stay on the park for me. Jacobs and Mzungu can provide that run out of defence. Suckling can give me that extra killer punch with his elite left foot kick.

The Lismore Lions

Hayden Ballantyne|Tommy Walsh|Mark LeCras
Ricky Petterd|Jack Watts|David Armitage
Hamish Hartlett|Tom Scully|Nathan Fyfe
Josh Drummond|Tom Lonergan|Nick Lower
Stephen Gilham|Brian Lake|Dyson Heppell

Orren Stephenson|Mark Murphy|Matt Priddis

Matt Deboer|Rhys Palmer|Jonothan Griffin

Jared Polec

Aaron Cornelius|Taylor Hunt|Simon Hogan​

Defenders

If you look at recent Premiership sides, (Hawthorn, Collingwood and in particular Geelong) a premiership is built on a stable and reliable defence and I believe that the Lismore Lions have stability in abundance. An inform Brian Lake is unquestionably among the best full-backs in the league and I truly think that a backroom reshuffle and the addition of Brendan McCartney will give him a new lease of life. Tom Longergan's back half of 2011 was immense, combining to keep Cloke and Dawes' potentially huge impact in the grand final to an absolute minimum. Meanwhile, having a key defender like Stephen Gilham as a third tall and able to shut down any opposition 3rd key (Gunston, A.Walker, Jurrah) is an absolute luxury. That leaves Dyson Heppell to mop-up like he did throughout the season, Drummond to use his golden boot to launch attacks and the likes of Rhys Palmer and Nick Lower to play a strong accumulator role out of half back as often a loose player in attacking situations (ie; Deledio, Houli ect.)

Midfielders

One of the top 5 midfielders in the AFL (Murphy), a clearance king with the most damaging in an under handball in the game (Priddis) with a James Hird like utility with a sky-high limit (Fyfe) form a Lions' engine room oozing of class and talent both inside and out. Those alone are a very impressive line-up, but then there is Tom Scully who is only beginning his career with absolutely flawless ability (loyalty? Thats another question ;) ), Hamish Hartlett who is frighteningly similar to Judd in his early days (I really like him, which says a lot considering he plays for Pooooort) and Jared Polec who can become very elite very quickly and would be a hot chance to win the rising star after an injury plagued 2011. Competing behind them, are Matt Deboer who is the ultimate team man and is extremely highly rated out West, David Armitage- a full-throttle inside player that loves the dirty stuff and Geelong's Simon Hogan and Taylor Hunt who will battle for Cameron Ling's role as a number #1 tagger and will both play significant roles in a charge toward another Premiership. I am absolutely thrilled with how my midfield has come together! Orren Stephenson and Jonathan Griffin form quite possibly the most under-pressure ruck division in the game but I rate Stephenson a lot higher than most. Having said this, I believe that a strong midfield can easily account for an under-strength ruckman (Collingwood and Hawthorn during most of 2011) and these two must simply provide a strong contest on a consistent basis.

Forwards

Could be considered a weakness to many but I am very pleased with how it has come together and fits the style I had in mind. Going into the draft, I realised that competition for key forwards would be very high and a number (with the obvious exception of Franklin) will go above their value. While I realise their importance I looked at another strategy to kick a winning score and focussed on the Carlton model of 2011. The two targets out of the goal square are Tommy Walsh and Aaron Cornelius. Cornelius has done a few good things and is the back-up, but on the back of his outstanding International Rules Series and sky high potential, Walsh will be the key target. I don't expect him to kick 4 or 5 goals a game, I simply expect him to lead out of the goal-square, create a contest when it comes his away and those around him will be put the points on the board. I see his role in my side as being similar to Carlton's plethora of rotating forwards during 2011 that although didn't kick many goals, brought those around them into the game. At Centre Half Forward, one word describes Jack Watts and that is "Carey". So much about Watts during 2011 screamed Duck and he will be a traditional lead-up CHF while doubling back and be the main option under the forward line. He has an enormous tank and lightning speed and his lead will be very instrumental. Expected to score bags will be Mark LeCras, from the West Coast Eagles. Played in a more team orientated role in the midfield during 2011, I expect LeCras to move back to the forward line and "whizz around" which he did so successfully during 2009/10. Likewise, Ricky Petterd will be expected to perform both attacking and defensive roles and Ballantyne- he is the best defensive forward in the game. Not much more can be said.

FB Corey Enright Colin Garland Graham Johncock
HB Nick Maxwell Nathan Grima Bachar Houli
C Luke Power Brendon Goddard James Kelly
HF Shaun Higgins Adam Goodes Alan Didak
FF Chris Knights Aaron Edwards Aaron Davey
R Mark Jamar Lenny Hayes Daniel Hannebery
I/C: Cameron Pedersen Joel Patfull Jason Winderlich Brent Reilly
Emg: Richard Tambling Michael Hibberd Paul Bower

Midfield:
My team is almost a revolving door of midfielders. Hayes and Goddard had StKilda within a breath of the Premiership in 2010. Both superstars of the game. Daniel Hannebery won the Rising Star award and will be an important part of Sydney's midfield this year and in the future. James Kelly was one of the best players in the league this year, stepped up in a big way in the absense of Ablett. Power has been a star for Brisbane over his career and will play a mentoring role at GWS this year. Then you have Goodes who will spend time there, Enright, Winderlich, Reilly, Higgins, Didak. Yeah, couldn't be more happy with my midfield.
With the ruck collumn, I have Jamar as the main man. He's not an all ground ruckman, he just dominates the hitouts and gives quality service to the rovers. Backing him up I have Pedersen or Goodes who have spent time as ruckmen.

Forwards:
Probably my weakness to be honest(but most people have said that), still more than adequate, but there are some that are easily better. I do have a 2 time Brownlow Medalist at CHF in Goodes, someone who's kicked 100 goals at VFL level in Edwards, a young player who will be the Roos CHF in Pedersen, a quality indigenous goal sneak in Davey, a zone breaking 70 metre kicker in Knights, an enigmatic forward/midfielder in Didak, a young player with a huge amount of talent if his body lets it in Higgins, then Goddard, Winderlich and Johncock are more than adequate forwards if needed aswell.

Backs:
Considering I left it so long to get a genuine tall backman, I got some really great value picks. Garland is a very underrated defender, Frawley gets all the plaudits, Garland does just as good a job. Grima is pretty much unanimously North Melbourne's best key backman among their supporters. If not for injury would be widely recognised as such. Maxwell pretty well controls the Magpie defence. The best player in the league at that third man up quarter back role. Obviously provides heaps of leadership too. Then Enright has been Geelong's B&F in 2 of their 3 Premiership years, shows where he sits. Johncock has been our best rebounding defender for many years, excellent disposal and clean under pressure. Houli has really made a name for himself at Richmond. Then you have a couple of depth bigs in Patfull and Bower, a good attacking and defensive backman in Hibberd. Oh, and there's a man by the name of Brendon Goddard who goes alright back there too.

According to Champion Data, Johncock, Goddard, Enright, Hayes, Goodes and Houli are elite.

Ff. Schneider pavlich kreuzer

hf. Sidebottom t.cloke sherman

c. Zaharakis j.watson mackay

hb. Adcock t.williams h.obrien

fb. Toovey fletcher t.hunt

1st. t.west corey selwood

res. S.edwards masten m.johnson cunnington

emg logan everitt b.mclean

Faiths Team:

F: Shannon Byrnes Tom Hawkins Leigh Adams
HF: Daniel Giansiracusa Justin Westhoff Andrew Embley
C: Bernie Vince Michael Barlow Travis Boak
HB: Shaun Grigg Nathan Bock NathanJones
B: Matty Thomas Daniel Merrett Tyson Goldsack
Foll: Aaron Sandilands Paul Chapman (vc ) Jude Bolton ( c )

Interch: Scott McMahon John McCarthy David Myers Chad Cornes

Emerg: Matthew Lobbe Kepler Bradley Matthew Bate

* Very happy with the way my team has ended up.

To get the best ruckman in the comp meant i didnt have to get another ruck til my emergency picks.
Given this game is for 2012 only i tried to overlook young players who are still developing, wanted as many big strong bodies with a proven record.
Sandles palming down to chapman bolton and barlow is mouth watering, and to have boak and vince on the outside just rounds of my midf beautifully.
Up forward would of liked a gun CHF to help Hawkins, but westhoff/Giansiru and Embley play small or tall so plenty of goals available there.
Byrnes and adams are tough and quick can play as crumbing forwards or move up field into the midf which is good flexibility.
In defence Merrett is a beast and will play on all the beast forwards, Bock is the attacking CHB i wanted (the best in the business), and goldsack would take the third talls and attack the game if required.
Thomas will take on the oppositions best small forwards, while Grigg is the skilfull HBF every team needs and Jones is the tough HBF who uses the ball well.
Good balance in defence.
Interchange: McMahon can take the oppositions best small HF when required and attack as well, McCarthy is my midf/wing and hf with nice skills and good clearance player.
Myers can take an oppositions forward and attack the game when needed while cornes is mr versatile.

Emergencies, Lobbe is my ruckman in case Sandles cant play, Kepler can pinch hit in the ruck or play KPD or KPF, and Bate is an attacking minded HFF.

Very happy with my team, my only weakness maybe is a gun CHF, but with Embley/Gian helping Westhff at HFF, i should be ok in terms of goals.

Would be happy if this 25 took the field every week representing Faith FC, reckon they would challenge any of the other 17 teams :thumbsu:

The complete Ringo All Starr line up:

FF: Jarrad Grant / Taylor Walker / Stewart Crameri
HF: Harley Bennell / Shaun McKernan / Mitch Morton
C: Jack Steven / Trent Cotchin / Ryan Griffen
HB: Chris Newman / Jackson Trengove / Robert Murphy
FB: Nick Smith / Tayte Pears / Dale Morris
R: Zac Smith / Jimmy Bartel / Heath Hocking
Int: Zac Clarke / Rohan Bail / Tony Armstrong
Sub: Kane Lucas
Emergencies: Jeremy Cameron / Jamie Bennell / Matt White

My strength lies where the game of football is won, the midfield. Cotchin and Hocking are both excellent clearance players and while Griffen may have a reputation as more of an outside mid he constantly racks up clearances as well. I haven't even got to Jimmy Bartel who can do everything there is to do in a game of football at a consistently high standard. Rohan Bail has become a really good tagger now with a very high tackle count and I'll put him on the opposition's best mid with confidence, while Jack Steven had a very impressive breakout year where he wouldn't have been too far off the rising star award. I'm pretty confident my midfield has plenty of pace, plenty of grunt and a very high standard of footskills. Zac Smith's height will give these guys first look at the ball and his mobility will virtually give me another midfielder to work with.

Up forward I have two players who lead their side in goals in 2011, one in a finals side and the other despite only playing 13 games. I took McKernan earlier than expected because of one thing. He takes contested marks. Any big body who takes contested marks requires attention from a quality defender. In 2011 McKernan took 1.7 contested marks per game, to put that in context in 2010 Jack Riewoldt lead the competition in contested marks per game with 2 a game. If things aren't working in the forwardline I have options. We've all seen what Jimmy Bartel can do when he goes forward, and Rob Murphy is another that has played some excellent footy in the forward line.

In defence Chris Newman and Rob Murphy will provide plenty of rebound, while Dale Morris provides more experience to go with his courage and reliability. Tayte Pears has taken his fair share of quality scalps in his time and Nick Smith is a gem in the back pocket. He'll take on the opposition's best small forward and almost invariably will win. If I need cover for another small forward I can bring in Jamie Bennell who has done the job on occasions. Jackson Trengove comes off a B&F year and at his age will only continue to improve.

THE ANTI-CROWS

FF J. Porplyzia J. Butcher T. Banfield

HF S. Johnson J. Darling C. Rioli

C D. Wojcinski(VC)P. Dangerfield(C)S. Wellingham

HB S. Burgoyne M. Hurley M. Clarke

FB M. Firrito A. Silvagni M. Doughty

1R I. Maric D. Cassisi C. Jones

B M. McVeigh S. Tape C. Wood M. Buntine

E J. Pittard J. Patton M. Daw

My team has obvious deficiencies in middle. Maric and Wood are far from A grade tapmen, but I think both are due for career seasons. I dont have superstar mid, but I do have some experienced heads in Cassisi, Wojcinski, Jones and McVeigh on the bench. Wellingham is a fantastic outside mid with plenty of goal sense. Oh, and then theres Danger! Who was born to win contested footy. If he is one of our players to be part of the 'spike', it wont be long before he is an elite player. Clinton Jones gives me a more than handy tagger that will give other mids plenty of headaches, while still winning his own ball.

My forward line has X-factor in spades and if I get close to a full season out of Porplyzia and Butcher it will be lethal! Some may say I lack a 3rd tall, but Porps and Johnson can both play above their size. Then there's some kid called Cyril who brings frontal pressure better than anyone else in the comp! Darling and Banfield should both have solid years. Danger will also spend some time forward again this year.

My backline is pretty solid I reckon. With talls like Silvagni, Hurley, Firrito and even Tape, they should be able to atleast compete with most tall forwards in the comp. Burgoyne and Clarke are both beautiful users of the ball and will hurt teams on the rebound. Doughty just brings another experienced head with a strong body who will rotate with McVeigh.

Despite having used my own criteria and already finished with a few teams... Ill be providing input.

You were winning too kristof... Oh well.
Then you should stick with your criteria, bigfella.

;)

The Stringer Bellends

THE LINEUP:

FF: Jack Gunston , Quentin Lynch , Danny Stanley
HF: Colin Sylvia , Nick Riewoldt , Ryan O'Keefe
C: Liam Shiels , Matthew Boyd , Danyle Pearce
HB: Brad Ebert , Sam Fisher , Rhyce Shaw
FB: Xavier Ellis , Alipate Carlile , Troy Chaplin

1st R: Hamish McIntosh , Jack Redden , Luke Ball
Res: Garrick Ibbotson , Michael Osbourne , Mitch Wallis , Daniel Gorringe
Em: Chance Bateman , Josh Toy , Shane Tuck

Why we'd win.

Firstly, the structure and depth. This looks like a real side. It has a gorilla forward to straighten it, it has flexibility in defense - but most importantly it has players playing in their best positions. There is depth in the emergencies - two vets who can slot right in, and a young running defender who is full of talent. The mix of talls and smalls seems about right, and there is real flexibility.

The forwards and defense. Two talented bigs in the forward line - including one of the best CHF's to have played, who will have a great 2012 after being surrounded by disaster in 2011 - and a midsized third tall who can kick bags of goals when needed. There is some real punch with O'Keefe and Sylvia - high impact mid/fwds - and a small forward who can play the modern game and shut down any run coming out of the opposition's defense. The backline has a great amount of creativity, as well as a full back who actually CAN take the gorilla big forwards. There's talent in that defense, but most importnatly they are players who will very comfortably play their role.

Finally, a midfield for the modern game. There are great midfield options sitting in the forward line and defense (and, most importantly, they aren't midfielders shoved there but players who actually can play a dual role) but there's also some tremendous contested ball winners. Boyd, Ball, Redden, Shiels - these guys will live and die to get the pill. And then give it to the outside runners to do something tremendous with.

The Maccaroos:
F: Brandon Matera Liam Jurrah Lewis Johnston
HF: Stephen Coniglio Drew Petrie (VC) Mitch Duncan
C: Kade Simpson Chris Judd (C) Matt Rosa
HB: Heath Scotland (LG) Luke McPharlin (LG) Sean Dempster
B: Greg Broughton Ted Richards Matthew Scarlett
Foll: Max Bailey Brad Sewell Jack Trengove (LG)
I/C: Brendan Whitecross Luke Parker Clinton Young
Sub: Ben Speight
Emg: Christian Howard Kane Cornes Addam Maric

LG = Leadership Group

Forwards: My forward line is probably my weakest point in my side. Petrie as we know is quality but other than that, it is either inconsistent or inexperienced. Jurrah has talent and x-factor but needs to put it together consistently and isn't the best choice for a FF option. Coniglio is yet to debut and isn't really a forward, Johnston is inexperienced but hopefully can perform the role as the third tall well enough as that is his proper position. Matera has injury concerns but has great goal sense and has the ability to become the best small forward in the game, and Duncan is a hard nut who provides strong support. Speight, as the sub, is also a player of x-factor and great goalsense, and Maric provides depth.

Midfield: Very satisfied with my midfielders. I have a dual Brownlow medalist and current MVP leading from the front with Sewell and Trengove providing very solid bluechip support inside. Simpson is a great outside mid who will provide pace and flair whilst Rosa will do what's asked of him on the other wing. As for depth, Young can step in if Simpson gets injured, Parker provides more grunt and Cornes is kinda last resort if my midfield gets hampered by injury.

Defenders: Probably my strongest point, McPharlin was one of the best CHB's in 2011 while Richards stepped up to a whole new level with the retirement of Craig Bolton. Scotland provided great run off HB, Broughton takes the mantle as my small defender and Scarlett, as we know, is AA and elite regardless of age. Dempster fills the gap on the RHB flank and will be my tagger. Howard and Whitecross can also play across HB.

Rucks: Bailey as my #1 ruck isn't half bad. He played that role at the Hawks and was highly successful and will also be supported with a strong midfield. Petrie is also more than capable of playing in the ruck but it's still a relatively weak point in my side.

C'mon people! Get your teams posted on the board so they can get judged. Have done about half and actually been surprised by some of the scores- some good, some bad! Lets get this thing finished!!

Team Kenworth Trucks
FF: Eddie Betts / James Podsiadly / Jake Carlisle
CHF: Dion Prestia / Jonathon Brown (VC) / Brent Harvey
C:David Swallow / Joel Selwood (C) / Jordie McKenzie
CHB: Ben Johnson / Eric MacKenzie / Pearce Hanley
FB: Jarrod Harbrow / Darren Glass / Alex Johnson
RR: Robbie Warnock / Simon Black / Daniel Kerr

Bench: Stefan Martin/Jordan Gysberts/Patrick McGinnity(SUB)/Steven Salopek

EMG: Setanta O'Hailpin / Dylan Shiel / Maverick Weller

I think I've got a very solid team throughout. If I can pick an area which is strongest it'd probably be the forward line. Pods, Carlisle and Browny as talls with Betts at the feet along with Prestia and Harvey... Goals galore. Surely would be one of the strongest if not the strongest. 3 elite forwards in there (Betts, Pods and Browny). I also have some versatility with Martin playing the 2nd ruck role but also being able to play up forward or down back. Carlisle can swing back or forward, same with Alex Johnson. I have a dozen guys that can play midfield there, Hanley/Ben Johnson can push onto the wings, Brent Harvey and Prestia also can play midfield roles.

I think I've got a good blend of youth experience. Midfield is quite strong as well, all of them are absolute tough nuts. Selwood, Black, Kerr, McKenzie, Swallow... all have brilliant attack on the ball. Warnock is a man mountain who will give my mids first use. Down back I've got a good mix rebound type balanced with shutdown defenders. I've got the 2 WCE pillars in Glass and MacKenzie. MacKenzie is severely underrated, not the best rebound player but as a shutdown defender he is very good. Glass was the premier FB last year and is one of the best in the league end of story. Johnson is one of the most promising young KPP backs in the league, 1st season last year and slotted in beautifully. Hanley/Johnson/Harbrow all provide great rebound. I love the way Hanley plays IMO he'll explode this year and will be up there with the best HBF's. Provides alot of drive off the HBF.

Overall I think my team is quality throughout. My spine is very good IMO and I think my versatility is an advantage. I have a balanced side and my structure is good throughout the team IMO.

HFBFC

259 goals in 2011
1353 total games
average games, 54
average age 22:eek:

Foreword:

Looking at the age profile of my squad, it may seem as though I have picked for the years following 2012. This is not the case, as the majority of my players have already proved a fair bit, and are at the age/amount of games where they become consistently good, rather than inconsistent. Yes, I am relying a lot on them realising their potential, but I do think that this will happen for a lot of them.

FF: P Karnezis, Jarryd Roughead, L Dahlhaus
HF: M Nicoski, P Ryder, A Christensen
C: B Howlett, T Rockliff(VC) I Smith
HB: N Suban, H Grundy G Birchall
FB: K Hardingham, D Talia, W Schofield
RK: D Cox, A Swallow(C), R Sloane
Bench: C Dempsey, K Harper, S Iles, M Banner
Emg: N Mckeever, J Tutt, L Spurr

Forwards:

With two big targets like Roughy and Ryder, the ball has a place to go. Both can mark or bring the ball down, and are able to kick bags. When the ball comes down, crumbers like Christensen, Dahlhaus and Nicoski are there to pick it up, these guys all have good goal sense, as well as a willingness for a tackle. Karnezis is an agile third tall, with great goal sense, and an ability to pick up the crumbs. If Roughy isn’t available for the start of the year, I’ve got enough versatile tall types to take his spot, with Grundy and Talia also able to play KPF. Add all this with goal kicking mids rotating through, who can crumb and add some more grunt, and winger/forward combo’s like Smith, there is definitely the opportunity for big scores to be made. Christensen and Karnezis, as well as Harper on the bench, also provide factor to this forward line. Roughy and Ryder will share second ruck duties.

Midfield:

With arguably the best ruck in the league, my midfielders will get first use of the ball, as well as Cox giving me an extra tall option in the forward/backline when he is not rucking. With clearance players such as Swallow, Sloane, and Rockliff, all of whom love the hard ball, as well as wing/flankers who can run through the ruck, my forwards should see a lot of the ball. In Smith and Howlett, there is a fair bit of pace in the wings, although with Howlett being tagger, he is likely to share this position with some of the flankers. All of my midfielders have a good tackling capacity, as well as notable speed, endurance or both. My inside types also have a great capacity to play outside.

Defense:

I think I have a fairly good mix of lockdown and rebound type defenders, I’ve got big guys like Talia*, Grundy and Mckeever (emergency) for the key positions who bring both shutdown and rebounding ability. Schofield and Birchall who can play key positions if really needed, but are more valuable for the medium defender rebound role. Hardingham is a great shutdown small defender, and will take the opposition small forwards, whilst Suban and Dempsey can play tall and small. All three of these last guys are pacy, while Suban and Birchall on the flanks have a great kick. Birchall, Suban and Dempsey can also run through the midfield on occasion

*will NOT take kick ins.

wheres the most recent squads for bacon and AF14?
Ive finished marking all the teams cept those 2.

Cant believe how close most teams are in terms of their marks out of 100.
One team though managed to get an 80 (not saying who) but theres about 6 teams that if they traded in just 1 or 2 types of players would have got closer to the 90.

wheres the most recent squads for bacon and AF14?
Ive finished marking all the teams cept those 2.

Cant believe how close most teams are in terms of their marks out of 100.
One team though managed to get an 80 (not saying who) but theres about 6 teams that if they traded in just 1 or 2 types of players would have got closer to the 90.

Have done half my rankings and is pretty close with mine too. Also have 1 standout team in the high 80's!

i know its a drafting game but trading would have come in handy for some teams looking to get to high 80s.
I have 6 teams with high marks but 1 just ahead of the rest.
Its all opinion though, would love to know after rankings are finalised why some chose certain teams as their favs and why they didnt rank others:)

Question, do I have to follow the set criteria and give a value out of 100, or can I use my own rankings/means of giving a winner?

i know its a drafting game but trading would have come in handy for some teams looking to get to high 80s.
I have 6 teams with high marks but 1 just ahead of the rest.
Its all opinion though, would love to know after rankings are finalised why some chose certain teams as their favs and why they didnt rank others:)

Is interesting, had my favourites before I started rating, but havent done as well as I thought they would. Likewise, the team I have ranked 1st was a bit of a surprise packet. Really wish people would post their teams here so I can finish it off...

Competitions 2012 AFC Draft Game - The Discussion and First Round Judging Thread