BigFooty Official 2012 Big Footy Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

This was an interesting draft, for BigFooty standards at least. There very few surprises, either in terms of bolters or sliders - you could argue my selections of Flaherty and Wilkins were the only ones.

I'll try to do a round by round review sort of thing today some time.
Rodda not getting drafted is just plain crazy. If North required a KPD, he would have surely been taken off the board a lot earlier.

This was an interesting draft, for BigFooty standards at least. There very few surprises, either in terms of bolters or sliders - you could argue my selections of Flaherty and Wilkins were the only ones.

I'll try to do a round by round review sort of thing today some time.

You reckon? I thought there were some really interesting selections of kids that I didnt think would get taken at all so was interesting to ready why people thought they would go where they had them. I could understand a few of them goign but some of them went real early and way ahead of others like Wood and Dick who went later and i have in my top 40. Others like Rodda, Ross, Osborne I also have as going and was surprised they didnt get called.

In some ways the interest in this draft is there are not many live selections and hence be interesting to see who makes the cut. Given there are very few in the rookie draft as well I expect we will be scratching our heads come the end of the Rookie wondering why a good many didnt end up going.

Always good fun.

Ps thanks for the assistance again Chris25 and now we wait for the Rookie version.

Pick #91 - Sydney - Khan Haretuku (KPF/Ruck)
Height: 199cm
Weight: 106kg
Club: Frankston (VFL)

Haretuku is the ex-Saint rookie who has had a very good season playing in the VFL. He is an absolute monster of a young man and would be ready to go straight away. I really like him for his big strong marking and this late in the draft I felt it important to try grab Sydney a ready-made FF after grabbing Middleton for the future. Long term once Goodes retires, Sydney will be able to field a forward line of Reid CHF Middleton FF with Haretuku as the 3rd tall/2nd ruck. For this reason Haretuku fits an immediate need as well as having youth on his side to play an important role in the future. Other I considered was Justin Hardy but felt Haretuku could be a monster to try stop if he can put it all together.

Pick #96 - Sydney - Sam Gilmore (Ruck)
Height: 201cm
Weight: 93kg
Club: Northern Knights

IMO Gilmore is the second best of the junior rucks behind Grundy. Had a really good Championships playing all 5 games and finishing every game with more hit outs than anyone else on the field. Really good young tap ruckman who gives his mids first use of the footy regularly. Gilmore doesn't mind getting his hands dirty at ground level and can tackle hard. He's reasonably good overhead and can push forward successfully. Of the other young rucks (ie not Grundy) I feel Gilmore has the biggest frame that will allow him to put on the required weight to make it at AFL level. Darcy Fort for example has the thinnest shoulders I've ever seen in my life. :p Other player I considered was Lewis Pierce who I have a little bit behind Gilmore. Currie is another ruck I would rate over Gilmore but Sydney's need is more for a developing ruck to bring through behind Mumford/Pyke rather than have a ready-made back-up.

Pick 57: Gold Coast – Jackson Ramsay

Height: 181cm
Weight: 71Kg
DOB: 20/11/1994
Club: East Perth (WA)

I am not really sure that Gold Coast will use this pick, and will probably look to pass to get a PSD pick. Still that is no fun so I decided to pick up a player, I rate Jackson Ramsay quite highly and liked what I saw of him before he got injuries. I almost took Boston and probably should have considered I rate him higher, but I think Ramsay has more qualities that will translate to AFL and make him have a better career possibly. Also Gold Coast seem to lack a few faster small defenders that are young and I think that Ramsay can fill that need.

His first two games at the U18 champs were pretty good for a running defender, he picked up 19 disposals in both and hurt the opposition on occasions. He also had pretty decent colts form for East Perth averaging almost 24 disposals a match, and providing good run from defence. I think he has the potential to be a pretty good half-back flank, good defensively but also rebounding well from defence. I doubt he will be a star but that’s not what you expect at this stage.

Strengths:
- Athleticism: Ramsay has pretty good pace, he knows how to use it and isn’t afraid to take a bounce and try and break the lines. He doesn’t have elite level pace, agility or endurance but there is room for improvement. He looks to have a pretty decent vertical leap and uses it well in marking situations.
- Ball winning ability: As a defender he wins a lot of the ball (19 disposals at u18 champs, 24 disposals in the WAFL colts 2012) and provides a lot of run off the half-back line. He is an excellent rebound defender who is very dangerous at running the ball back.
- Reading of the game/footy smarts: He seems to read the game well, knows where to run and with the ball makes good decisions. He is pretty good at zoning off in defence and being the third man up on occasions.
- Clean Hands: Ramsay has clean hands both below his knees and overhead, he rarely fumbles and is a pretty decent mark. I have no concern over this part of his game.
- Courage/Hardness: He puts his head over the ball, he backs into packs and he does all the little team things. Ramsay won’t be the player squibbing contests, he will be the one who puts his body on the line to spoil. He also makes you earn a mark and smashes into you.

Weaknesses and things that need working on.
- Defensive ability: Probably not a strength but not a weakness either, he has shown the ability to defend small forwards pretty well, he looks to be quite strong over head and can zone off and be third man up. There is still lots of improvement left in this area of his game, and ideally with his athleticism he could play on the good small forwards in the game.
- Disposal: Overall Ramsay is a pretty decent kick he hits his targets nicely and generally is quite efficient. I wouldn’t call him a great kick, he floats them a bit too much and he doesn’t have a huge kick, he also can be prone to missing targets. He does know his limitations, and usually goes for the easy target and looks to damage the opposition by running with the ball. Still his kicking could do with being worked on.
- Injury: He has missed most of the year and probably has a fair bit of upside left in his game, he did have a good start to the year though.
- Midfield potential: He seems to play mostly uncontested football, wins a lot of the ball on the outside and runs with it, but capable of winning one on one contests well. At this stage very much a HBF rather than a mid, endurance is probably average especially after injury.

All up Jackson Ramsay is a good young prospect who has several very draftable qualities, pace and ball winning ability off the HBF, but just needs to tighten up his defensive game and disposal to make it at AFL level.

Round 1

Well, the first round went off largely as expected. Arguably the 24 most highly regarded players (on BigFooty at least) were the first 24 players picked. Perhaps we're finally learning, that sometimes the popular choice is indeed the right choice in drafting? So with that in mind, there probably isn't too much to say about the first round. But...

What I liked

Jake Stringer to Melbourne

Does this happen on draft day? Definitely not. But should it happen? I think so. There's nothing wrong with a working class midfield and partnering Viney with Ollie Wines would give a much needed immediate boost to the Demons. And it would also be the safer option, something Melbourne may need after Jack Watts, Cale Morton and Tom Scully. But sometimes, you need to take the punt. And I still believe Stringer could be the best player taken from this draft, and he would give Melbourne fans something to get excited about.

Josh Simpson to Adelaide

Probably the best 'value pick' in the first round in my opinion. Not only is he exactly what Adelaide need, but I personally rate him as the top WA prospect this year and closer to the pick 8-12 mark. If Simpson were to fall this low in the real thing, then I believe both Collingwood and the Bulldogs would be starting to pinch themselves at the prospect of picking him up.

What I didn't like

The Western Bulldogs' drafting

Maybe a bit harsh, as their three picks were arguably the best available. But, I don't think they have done anything to add some life and excitement to their team. O'Rourke and Wines are reasonably similar to what they already have, especially with Hunter coming in the third round. A Mayes or Menzel would have brought the x-factor and point of difference they need, which would then make the selection of the more defensive Smith easier to swallow.

The biggest surprise

Coming in a close second, was the selection of Mason Shaw to Geelong. But I'll go with Dayle Garlett to Brisbane. He'd be one of the more polarising players in this draft, does his talent equal a top 10 pick? Or does everything else make him undraftable? You can definitely see the merit behind this pick, and Brisbane do appear as though they would be a good fit. But nevertheless, you can't escape the risk.

I'm sensing some moderator rivalry here. :D

I liked my draft in the end. Really quite surprised particularly outside of the 1st round the value I could get but I suspect everyone will be saying much the same with the 2nd round onward being very open to interpretation.

Chris25 certainly threw out the most surprise selections. Flaherty I thought in particular was a reach and Wilkins could have been had later but if the selections end up resulting in genuine AFL talents then it could be a good draft. Chris25 is one of the better talent evaluators on here so it was really interesting to see him go the unique options as opposed to the more consensus selections.

Quigley also had one of the more interesting drafts. Very high upside, go for bust draft. Garlett is a big risk, but I like that Quigley didn't fall into a KPP early and trusted his gut going with the guy he liked. Then O'Brien and White also among the higher upside selections and if either/or work out this could very quickly become an excellent draft for Brisbane.

Snoop Dog probably had the strongest overall draft - for GWS anyway. Had so many early selections but somehow managed to find incredible value wherever he looked. Menzel and Vlastuin not bad mid 1st round but what sold me on the draft was Wright at 28, was seriously looking at him with my pick 21 and for mine that was one of the better value selections from the draft and I think he will be a ripper. Then Wood and Dick later I also give a chance of making the grade and see strong value there also.

Round 2

Again, for the most part, it was largely the expected names which were picked up in the second round. A few went earlier than some may expect (McDonough, Towers, Warrell) and some went later (White, McIntosh, Broomhead). But they were still in the second round, as expected.

What I liked

Spencer White to Brisbane

To get a key forward like White at #33 is nothing short of a bargain in my opinion, I see no reason why he couldn't push up into the first round. Obviously BigFooty has a habit of overhyping players once they get a decent write up somewhere, but it seems as though everyone has actually been tempering their expectations of White - a nice change, no more Manson's or Chalwell's? But I tend to think that if any KPP was worthy of a bandwagon, it's White.

Port Adelaide's drafting

Perhaps they could have gone a KPP, maybe they would have had Tim O'Brien slipped through. But the selections of Pongracic and McDonough are a step in the right direction, both are tough nuts and should line up Round 1 next year. They haven't always gotten a lot out of their draftees in their first/second years, so this should make them more competitive straight away.

Aidan Corr to Sydney

Think this selection was made just after Corr started getting some good press, but before the hype really took off. The very bottom of his range would be around the 30 mark, with first round being the likely outcome.

What I didn't like

Jack Viney to Melbourne

Well, not really. But there isn't anything that really jumps out.

Liam McBean to St Kilda

You can certainly argue that McBean is the best available here, he does have a lot of potential that will have teams intrigued. But of every team, the Saints are possibly the one who don't need another ruckman sized player who isn't a ruckman. They already have Koschitzke, Stanley and Lever after all.

The Surprises

Fremantle's drafting

Probably the biggest surprise of the whole draft. Flaherty? Wilkins? Who? Chances are neither would have been selected at all had I not picked them here, but I'm OK with that. I didn't have any later picks, so I had to get who I wanted now. Flaherty was the highest rated KPF left on my board, after Spencer White had been taken - so that was an obvious pick. While Wilkins just has a number of AFL level traits particularly for a defender, and realistically you aren't going to get any ready made players once it gets to #40 - you just have to pick someone you think you can work with.

Liam Byrne to Richmond

As I've said elsewhere, if it weren't for injury, then I think Byrne being picked around this range wouldn't even earn a second glance. But he did miss a lot of the year, which will likely see him drop.

Very entertaining draft all around. Well done, guys. Loving the rivalry between Chris and KM :thumbsu:

Who was your favourite?

Hint: I took 2 Tasmanians. ;)

You got a couple of absolute bargains there. Not sure how you managed to get the best player in the draft with pick 23, and the third best player in the draft with 66 :eek: :thumbsu:

Snoop Dog probably had the strongest overall draft - for GWS anyway. Had so many early selections but somehow managed to find incredible value wherever he looked. Menzel and Vlastuin not bad mid 1st round but what sold me on the draft was Wright at 28, was seriously looking at him with my pick 21 and for mine that was one of the better value selections from the draft and I think he will be a ripper. Then Wood and Dick later I also give a chance of making the grade and see strong value there also.

It was Menzel and the last two you mentioned that surprised me the most.

All good fun though isnt it.

15 North Melbourne - Kristian Jaksch
38 North Melbourne - Tim Broomhead
42 North Melbourne - Tim Sumner
48 North Melbourne - Jack Hannath
58 North Melbourne - Marco Papperone

Obviously each club rates players differently but most of my selections were taken higher on draft day, so that is not a bad result.

Jaksch at 12
Broomhead at 20
Paparone at 23
Sumner at 55
Hannath not drafted, but my god there was a lot worse long term rucks selected in front of him.

Now to see if the players live up to their draft position.

Obviously each club rates players differently but most of my selections were taken higher on draft day, so that is not a bad result.

Jaksch at 12
Broomhead at 20
Paparone at 23
Sumner at 55
Hannath not drafted, but my god there was a lot worse long term rucks selected in front of him.

Now to see if the players live up to their draft position.

Thats a big tick in the box pal.

Recruiting for the Premiers I got the 13th & 14th selection from the real thing. Lonergan & Corr. Siggins I think went the exact pick I took him with. Carter went the same round albeit a bit later. My last 3 picks went undrafted but was picking for needs by that stage and Sydney passed on those picks anyway.

2 out of 2 for me this year, makes up for last year! Jackson Ramsay went in the second round, and Kennedy only went 6 places later.