2013 Fixture Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Indie_

Sorry to intrude on your Board, but it seems like Lions and Swans fans in Melbourne are in the same boat. Year after year we wait with apprehension when the fixture is released.

This year we both got screwed over. The Lions have 4 games in Melbourne and 1 in Geelong. I think the Swans have the same.

The response of our Victorian supporters have been similar to what I have seen on here. The Fitzroy-Brisbane Bears merger agreement that was endorsed by the AFL supposedly guarantees us 6 games in Melbourne each year, however we are now informed the AFL doesn't see that agreement as binding for fixturing purposes (actually this is the second unequivocal time it has been broken, with the other being in 2005, while on numerous occassions the AFL have countered Geelong games as being part of Melbourne).

Anyway, it is about time our Clubs and our supporters joined forces to pressure the AFL to get what we - the sacrificial lambs of early AFL expansion - deserve. 6 games in Melbourne each year guaranteed for the Lions and the Swans on an ongoing basis.

We should be given priority access to these games above all other interestate teams.

Any thoughts on how we might achieve this would definitely be welcomed, but ideally our Clubs should be working together to pressure the AFL to finally resolve this issue. We need members and supporters of both clubs to pressure our Boards / CEO's to ensure they join together to tackle the AFL on this issue.

A Hawks or AFL membership is looking very good right about now. At least the amount of games in Melbourne stays the same

I agree that the Melbourne based members have been badly screwed here, but surely you're not serious about the Hawks membership?

Disappointing with only 4 Melbourne Games, we buy the vic membership every year and also travel to the SCG for one game a year, would be nice for the vic membership to include entry to one home game as well.

I agree that the Melbourne based members have been badly screwed here, but surely you're not serious about the Hawks membership?

My best mate is a Hawks fan and I went to 7 Hawks games this year with him, so that option was always kicking around regardless of today. AFL Membership more likely though

Disappointing with only 4 Melbourne Games, we buy the vic membership every year and also travel to the SCG for one game a year, would be nice for the vic membership to include entry to one home game as well.

Gold Memberships include three home games a year and have for a while. Should of been extended to all memberships in some form this though

Well your eye must be very bad as I never said that, plus to decide not to renew you have to be a member first. So maybe learn to read
Victorian fans ripped off yet again. Go and get screwed North, St Kilda, Geelong, the AFL and our pissweak club for not standing up for us and letting us down. I won't be buying a membership again in 2013, why bother buying one for 4 matches

This is what you said in post #56 of this thread, and what I was responding to mate.

Victorian fans ripped off yet again. Go and get screwed North, St Kilda, Geelong, the AFL and our pissweak club for not standing up for us and letting us down. I won't be buying a membership again in 2013, why bother buying one for 4 matches

This is what you said in post #56 of this thread, and what I was responding to mate.

So a) why not respond to that post instead and b) what part of "again" DON'T you understand? Because renew certainly wasn't there as to renew you have to be a member first

another game at Perth vs West Coast?!?! They havn't played in Sydney since 2010!! 3 seasons in a row including next year! Other than that happy at the fixture...glad Hawthorn have got the tough start!

Kinda hard to give to shits about whinging vic's, if i didn't have the income to fly into sydney often for games or have a family to give tickets to, it would cost me $100 for an interstate membership which covers just one game (which costs me $20 if I walk in off the street) and I would pay it.

For me it's not a question of money I understand others money is a lot more of a worry. but to consider other memberships that don't help the club I question people's loyalty.

If you can't afford a membership fair enough or it is expensive to you I get it, but to buy another team or an afl membership that's disgraceful.

Why don't you just buy general admission seats to those games?
Why another club or afl membership?

Certainly short changed Melbourne supporters, but I'm pretty keen on the 3 MCG games next year, the Hawthorn and Collingwood games will be massive!

Seems like quality over quantity imo. Shame though as I like to support the club, but it doesn't really make it worth it for me to buy a membership as games at the G are cheap as chips.

So a) why not respond to that post instead and b) what part of "again" DON'T you understand? Because renew certainly wasn't there as to renew you have to be a member first
Ok my mistake it was an honest and easy mistake to read the again as Renew as i assumed you were a member in 2012.
The post #56 caught my interest and after you made another on the subject I figured someone had to suggest you settle down as it isn't the worst thing in world and was trying to say others get a lot less than 4 live games for similar money.
Guess we can agree to disagree and move on?

Spewing as a Vic based swans member. Have to wait 7 rounds before we see them play down here yet play 2 games within 3 weeks. Seems to happen every year.
Only 4 games in Melbourne is crap considering its our one main request every year.
Once again play Geelong in Geelong. Every year this game sells out and as we are the premiers, surely this could have been an Etihad game? It's great that the club has secured more seats but this will not change the fact we will have to pay 30 dollars for those seats.
I think the email from the club highlights their fear that many will not sign up next year as a result of the reduced number of games and it will be interesting to see what happens in terms of pricing as a result.
I can understand some are frustrated at the club agreeing to the St Kilda game but considering all the non negotiables already built in to the fixture, how hard would it have been to put in no Sydney vs North in Tassie to avoid dropping a Melbourne game?

Really not a fan of this NZ business, why short-change a strong base of fans a game? Maybe we'll gain a few supporters in NZ but barely any will become members or come to games, unlike the already loyal fans who would have. I hope this away game is a 1 year thing for us only because if it's not the vic fans getting ripped off it will be someone else.

The fixture from a playing point of view isn't too bad, some good time-slots and hopefully we'll be able to get off the a flying start again.

I wrote to the club earlier today and received this response...

Hi MalceskiFan,

Thank you for your email.

On behalf of the Sydney Swans I understand that it is very disappointing to only have four games in Melbourne for the 2013 season.

Unfortunately as this is the final fixture we are unable to do anything for the coming season.

However, it is in our best interest for our Victorian Members to see our boys play at least six matches during the season in the future years to come. We will keep working with the AFL to achieve this.

If you would like to discuss this matter further with someone, please contact the Sydney Swans Melbourne Office on 1300 663 819.

Kind regards,
Rachel

I wrote to the club earlier today and received this response...

And i presumed malceskifan was just a username. That was a lucky choice by your parents

Why, if you were really concerned about something, would you use some wacky alias?
:confused: perhaps he took his real name out for big footy?

North Melbourne's interim chief executive Cam Vale today said his club was delighted to play a blockbuster against Sydney.
"We requested to play Sydney as one of our two games in Hobart, and that was before they won the premiership, so it's a great result for our club," Vale said.
"To have it early in the season, and it is a genuine marquee match-up on the Saturday afternoon on free-to-air television, it's a fantastic start to 2013."

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2012/10/31/365063_most-popular-stories.html

You know what... I really really don't like North or the AFL at the moment.