2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter POBT

I am in the latter camp to be honest. I am far from sold on him.

Exactly why it will be interesting. Most talent from NSW/QLD will be academy, and via the bidding process, but it won't be often you get guys like Weller on the open market. How much will being a Div 2 player knock him down the list.

I'm no expert, but i'm pretty sure he was at one point, but he doesn't live in the academy zone area or something anymore, so he doesn't qualify to be part of it. Something like that anyway. Still qualifies for the QLD state team etc though.

I'm not sure if anyone realizes this but I'm not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed... so I'm just wondering if Weller is part of the GCS academy? I have heard contradicting reports. Thanks.

Yes he's part of the academy as in he trains with them etc etc. However to be eligible as an academy pick you have to have lived in QLD for x number of years, which he hasn't. Therefore he can't be picked under academy bidding, rather he goes into the main draft.

Stops academies from poaching players from other states for a few years and then getting preferential access to them.

Yes he's part of the academy as in he trains with them etc etc. However to be eligible as an academy pick you have to have lived in QLD for x number of years, which he hasn't. Therefore he can't be picked under academy bidding, rather he goes into the main draft.

Stops academies from poaching players from other states for a few years and then getting preferential access to them.

This is my understanding too, but it's interesting that the suns bothered to put him through the academy at all. Did the rule change, or did the Suns not realise or something? Sure he strengthens their academy team, but why spend the money on development if everybody has an equal crack at him?

Its a good thing for the entire competition/sport if they do that, but yes (unless they draft him) it may not be worth their money in the short term.

I totally agree that the academies are important for that reason. I'm just surprised any club would put money into a player out of the goodness of their heart, having no special access to them afterwards.

no the rule didn't change. My guess is at that stage when he came on his brother was one of the 17 year olds on their list and his family moved up so for what was probably a minimal cost they put his younger brother in the academy. Would have helped retention if Mav had turned out to be the player they thought he would.

I'm not sure if anyone realizes this but I'm not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed... so I'm just wondering if Weller is part of the GCS academy? I have heard contradicting reports. Thanks.
Dog-Lover-Meme-4.jpg

In regards to Wright I think he's more Bellchambers than Petrie or Otten.

I don't see it. In quality or style.

Bellchambers went in the PSD and attracted nothing close to the hype or perceived pedigree of Wright. Don't recall him kicking 6 goals in a half of footy like Wright although I didn't really follow the Tassie kids. Definitely remember Bellchambers being sold mostly as a ruckman not a forward.

Definitely remember Bellchambers being sold mostly as a ruckman not a forward.

Definitely true from my memory of it, was sold as a ruckman (won loads of hit-outs in juniors iirc) and gradually worked on his forward play. He did well up forward last year but before that had been a solid ruck with average to poor stints up forward.

I haven't seen a lot of Wright but I can't really see the comparison either, they seem like very different players

I don't see it. In quality or style.

Bellchambers went in the PSD and attracted nothing close to the hype or perceived pedigree of Wright. Don't recall him kicking 6 goals in a half of footy like Wright although I didn't really follow the Tassie kids. Definitely remember Bellchambers being sold mostly as a ruckman not a forward.
Maybe I'm just trying to temper my own expectations. Have no recollection of Bellchambers in his draft year as I wasn't a bigfooty follower then. However I think that Wright is being seen as a ruckman/forward but would be very happy if he gets to the same heights as Ottens.

Good to see some of you blokes coming around to drafting Wright, welcome aboard the bandwagon :).

You never claimed the Wright bandwagon.

You claimed the "lets deliberately lose games to draft Wright" bandwagon. I ain't riding that shit-truck.

You never claimed the Wright bandwagon.

You claimed the "lets deliberately lose games to draft Wright" bandwagon. I ain't riding that shit-truck.

So you like Wright now too ha!!!

Did i really say that or did i say that i'd rather a key forward than win a few nothing games?

Tomato or tamato?

So i'm guessing your happy for a few nothing wins so we lose out on our KPF chance?

What would everyone else choose at this point in time, would you rather say 3 more wins or a chance of getting Wright or McCartin.

Can we trade them both for some magic beans?

I wonder how future academy picks (Keays) affects the clubs decisions in this draft.

Probably less so than if we had a guaranteed Riewoldtesque forward coming in the academy.

Probably less likely to adjust your drafting strategy on account of a midfielder coming the following year.

Always have. Ironically we both made our first posts about wanting Wright back on April 12th. ;)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/posts/32516020/

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/posts/32521223/

You're going to look like a bit of a knob if you start acting like you've been carrying the flag for him by yourself. The only real opposition you've faced is from people who opposed the idea of intentionally losing games to get him.

Mate you seriously need to chill, your still the most important person here, i only made the bandwagon remark because i knew you'd bite.

Sounds like a quality way to spend your time. Considered reading a book? :drunk: