2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter POBT

Drafting is still a lot of luck. Plenty of duds out there. Because I played footy with matt for a while both at club an rep level and still seeing him around I know that he is the most commited an driven kid of all this years qld draft hopefuls. I think that he will succeed he's got the talent but he's also got the drive and has his head screwed on unlike others. Really lookin forward to watching him develop over the years. I think he could be a real special player for the lions.

I think it's the product of most of us only seeing edited highlights of these kids. Coming into the draft, I've only ever seen the most cameraworthy flashes of potential, and the boilerplate that comes through the mock drafts. In some cases, those look pretty good, but I understand completely that I am going on very limited information. For example, I don't see the 3 quarters that such and such goes missing every game. I reckon most BF enthusiasts are in a similar boat.

As long as people keep it in context, and I try to, I think it's a good thing to err on the side of optimism. It only becomes a problem if you draft them and people start flaming the kid a season in for not being phenomenal, or you don't draft them and people cuss out the recruiters.

That said, this reasoning clearly doesn't apply to posters like Quigley and cotter101 who've seen enough to make up their own minds.

Well said Caiphus.

I personally enjoyed this a lot more as a bit of an insight into Waylen - I haven't got around to watching much of the Recruit properly so I'm not sure if it made it into the show itself:

I had a mate on a reality TV show and from knowing him in the 'real world' I could see ridiculously distorted it can get.

Those kids coming from those communities is such a big culture shock. It will take a really strong club, with a lot of support to get the best out of any of them.

Plus family is everything for kids coming out of those towns, so homesickness (real homesickness) is an issue as well. Good luck to him hopefully he makes it.

I always personally find everyones rating of the academy players interesting. Everyone seems to have the same opinion on ll the players. Hammellman seems pretty highly rated by a lot on here, whereas I can't buy into the hype. I do however need to see him actually playing in his right position for more than one quarter though. Played defence when I seen him.

Keays is looking bloody good though. Can't wait to see more of him.

Hey cotter101, I'm assuming that you didn't get to watch QLD's final game in the U/18 championship?

There should be enough in that game to get everyone interested in his development as a forward he took a lot of marks up the ground and a few inside 50. He kept throwing himself at the contest and crashed a lot of packs to bring the ball to ground. His skill by foot closer to goal wasn't nearly clean enough. Further up the ground he was quite good, getting involved and providing that target on the wing/HFF.

He was crashing packs really well even though he is rather light for his height. When he fills out he will most likely make a mess of whoever is in his way. There is a lot to like, the instinct is there but the polished disposal needs to come, as does the strength. There is a fair bit of hope with this guy. Still a raw prospect that will take a fair bit of time to bulk up. He's a likely prospect for us, probably the best tall to come through the academy system so far - it'll be interesting to see where all the other clubs place him and to see if anyone will bid 3rd - 4th round on him.

Whilst he played well in the second division it's a bit disappointing that we didn't get to see him play against the division 1 sides.

It's great to see Keays coming along and playing well not only in the champs, but in the NEAFL as well. He doesn't seem to have the deficiencies of Conway and he is a current bottom age player. The skill, footy brain and fitness are already there. He is a nice size and will only grow taller. I hope he continues to develop and become at least half as good as he promises. He has so far performed to high expectation, even exceeding it.

With Matt Hammelmann I am not sure that he will become the number one power forward type that we are lacking. He seems to me to be best suited as a complementary second tall type. I say this as he lacks the physical presence and the sheer power that the top key forwards all have, his body does not look like it will fill out like a Tom Hawkins, Travis Cloke, Tom Boyd type forward. There is only one tall forward in this draft who has the dominant presence that just demands the ball and can take a game over and that is Patrick McCartin, who is the best player in the draft. Hammelmann is great on the lead, as clean hands both below his knees and overhead. He also looks to be a smart player and hits the scoreboard reasonably consistently which is good, although his goal kicking and conversion is average. Overall I think he has a very nice skill set and he is worth a late first round pick in this years draft.

I don't like McCartins body shape. I don't think he will test well in the skin folds. Do not draft Leppa!

Geez, I know he's had a rough introduction to senior coaching, but I didn't think things were so bad that he'd re-nominate for the draft.

I don't understand Leppisch.On appointment he said he would build a tall big bodied midfield ala Brisbane in our prime.One name stood out when he spoke and that was young Crisp.He hasn't played a senior game this year while learning his trade in the two's.I watched him play in at the Gabba recently and the kid has talent.He may be one who wants to come back to Victoria and I don't blame him if he does.

There is a guy on The Recruit named Ben Goss (I think it's Ben).This bloke can play.I have seen him playing for the ex Xavs and often wondered why he hasn't been drafted.Will be an interesting watch as the show progresses.Maybe they'll find a diamond in the rough.The winner goes on to a rookie list so they will still have their work cut out ahead!

Brendan Goss. If the portrayal is correct (grain of salt there) he hasn't been drafted basically because he's a lazy tosser. ;)

You guys need to remember you're seeing this all through the prism of a "reality" TV show. He could have talked for an hour on the importance of the forward press in the modern game, the controversial interpretations of the holding the ball rule, and the need for a better video review system but the TV producers chose to run the throw-away line on playing where the girls are because that's the portrayal they want to give of him, and that's the bit that would make interesting TV.

You can't make any determination about his personality through the prism of a TV show, other than he's surprisingly honest. The proof will be in the pudding - if he improves his fitness and acts as a professional throughout the show, we'll probably only see it portrayed as a slow improvement to give us all a "story".

I'm not saying he's not going to flame out because he won't knuckle down, I'm just pointing out that anything you see on the show has been filtered through what the producers want us to think about particular participants and how they're going to manage their storyline across the show's run.
Makes me wonder how smart an idea it is to agree to be on the show in the first place, and potentially have your image and reputation altered, potentially adversely, by the producers, thus maybe affecting your chance at being given another chance at AFL level.

I've always thought that ever since I sat down to watch (and I admit enjoy) that first season of Big Brother all of those years ago. One of the most striking "nightmares" I ever remember was a stint in the Big Brother house of my dreams. Ugh, could not pay me enough for that level of intense social interaction and scrutiny.

I guess they figure there's nothing to lose. If they don't go on the show they have Buckley's, if they do they have some.

Ultimately any publicity for a fringe (or worse) draftee outweighs that it may be negative publicity. You can't be drafted if clubs don't even know your name.

Saw on the drafts board that Lever has grown to 194cm. Interesting if true.

As they say, give me a Lever long enough...

Gee if we drafted Lever it would start the people talking...

First McStay.

Then Lever - come on, you know the song... Take the 'L' out of Lever and it's Ever!

Hey you try and make jokes that get past the swear filter! :p