2014 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter POBT

I was mainly alluding too the fact we didn't have any high picks, therefore my interest in the draft was already low as it was before the tragic incident of Hughes.

Just too clear that up.

With Watts do you see him having the potential to reach a suitable weight for a KPP? Could the Lions be thinking outside of the box and play him as a midfielder/winger or mobile flanker? Personally I wouldn't have drafted him to be a KPP just doesn't have the body for it.

He strikes me as a third tall type. If we are going to play McStay up forward then he can go back. He looks like more of the running height we love. It is hard to judge at this stage whether his frame will hold the weight needed to play as a KP but I would not rule that out. The weight gain programs they run nowerdays virtually always get the results.

Didn't know we had a Tasmanian Academy too. I thought we just had our regular academy and an Irish Academy.

Will we have a rookie pick outside of academy boys? There is a Bendigo kid called Billy Evans who didn't get drafted and is rated very highly that I would like I to consider.

By my count we have 1 Qld priority spot open (Smith and Hanley Jnr currently in that category) and one normal rookie spot (with Bourke and ZOB there). I am not sure if we could move Archie to the normal list so we could get another two priority picks.

If we looked outside of Qld the two I would really like us to consider would be Bampton and Glenn. Both would really help the reserves and have qualities which are good enough to get them games at AFL level.

By my count we have 1 Qld priority spot open (Smith and Hanley Jnr currently in that category) and one normal rookie spot (with Bourke and ZOB there). I am not sure if we could move Archie to the normal list so we could get another two priority picks.

If we looked outside of Qld the two I would really like us to consider would be Bampton and Glenn. Both would really help the reserves and have qualities which are good enough to get them games at AFL level.

Quigley what are your thoughts on Evans?

Will we have a rookie pick outside of academy boys? There is a Bendigo kid called Billy Evans who didn't get drafted and is rated very highly that I would like I to consider.
Is that just your opinion or do you have some inside info?

I find last nights picks including the acquisitiion of Andrews as intersting and how this could possibly impact on the make up of the team in three years time. Understandably in a few years time Merrett and Goose will be gone but i think the club also could possibly be thinking of playing McStay more up forward as an option and the picking up the three drafted players could assist in this happening even though they're all quite specualtive.

Cal Twomey had us potentially taking both Watts and McGuinness which suggests he had some inside knowledge. It's not as if they were highly rated/touted and to identify late picks like that can't be an accident.

I think we've got another normal rookie spot since it's 4 category A and 3 category B.

Not sure where Bourke sits. Do you know if we're allowed to pre-list Academy rookies as category A?

Cal Twomey had us potentially taking both Watts and McGuinness which suggests he had some inside knowledge. It's not as if they were highly rated/touted and to identify late picks like that can't be an accident.
I read that 16 clubs interviewed McGuinness, so he was certainly on the radar.
Didn't know we had a Tasmanian Academy too. I thought we just had our regular academy and an Irish Academy.
Yeah, we have a Tassie Academy, but I'm not sure about this 'Irish Academy' you refer to... are you confusing it with the Hanley Academy?

I don't remember seeing these yet, so just in case they haven't been put up:

Adam Sanders, AFL Tasmania: "Josh (McGuiness) was an overage player for us this year, he played for us last year and really improved, he's a bit of a late developer who's gone from strength to strength this year. He played mainly across half back with some roles through the midfield, but predominantly he's a half-back who is very clean and has good composure when the ball's in his hands. He links up well, and takes the ball well ground level. On the flipside, he's a very skinny kid who has a long way to go with his physical development. His selling point is his upside because we think in another couple of years he'll be a hell of a lot better than what he is now."

Ray Byrne, Bendigo Pioneers: "[Jaden]'s a good kid, who moved down to Bendigo and has just had a really bad year with injuries: a wrist, a hamstring that kept him out a while and a bit of a shoulder. He's quick, skilful and he's a bit like Cyril Rioli in that he can do some really freakish things."

Jaden looks nippy rather than super fast - certainly not Cyril fast so far as that comparison is concerned. But certainly looks a useful pick up and another to add to the Mozzie Squad.

Something in the way he moves, perhaps more his ball drop and kicking style reminded me of Aker when I first watched his clip, but I just watched it again and he reminded me of Zaharakis. Looks good, wish him all the best.

Quigley what are your thoughts on Evans?

I thought he was pretty unlucky to miss out last night. He lacks a bit of pace is my main beef with him but his work inside can be very good. He is a bigger midfielder than most and he uses that well. He is strong over the ball and holds his feet very nicely. When he gets the ball he is composed and seems to have a bit of extra time. He makes things happen with his handballs from clearance situations which is a trait not many have. He does try and take tacklers on a lot though and like Robbo found out this year that is not going to fly too well for an 18 year old in the AFL. I expect him to get nailed a lot.

Endurance is good and agility is fine. He seems to be carrying a bit of puppy fat around the love handle region which I expect will be worked off him quick smart if he gets picked up as a rookie. Skills wise he may be one of hte better handballers going around but his kicking is only average. Not bad but nothing to write home about.

Up forward he can be a handful with his strength and has shown an ability to kick goals whilst resting. He holds his position well and takes a good mark. I note from his measure at State Combine that he is now just a fraction of a cm under 190cm tall so he has grown since he was last measured. His finishing is good enough.

If we ended up taking him I would not be disappointed but personally I would prefer Bampton if we went for an inside mid type.

No. He stepped in and played the KK role for tasmania and he was nowhere near KKs quality. He likes to get a lot of the ball and works to receive it but I struggle to see him doing that at afl level. His kicking is light years from drummonds.

Watts is a more interesting prospect for me. Needs to work a bit on his kicking but I think he will get there and his vision seems really good. Mobility is interesting as well.

McGrath has really good agility but he needs to get more of it and I struggle to see him getting a spot in the 22.

Oh great, we've re-recruited Tom Collier :confused:

It strikes me that we already got our main presents before Christmas this year and then today we got some good stocking fillers. Who knows though, perhaps one of these kids is that $5 scratchie from your old uncle that wins a thousand bucks.

Last year was very different. We opened our big presents on the day itself and each one was an exciting surprise.

Different year, different strategy but in the end, if each strategy takes us forward we can be happy.

I fully expect Dawson and Andrews to develop into best 22 players (within a year for Dawson, whilst Andrews is probably 2-3 away)...but if even one of Clayton, Watts, McGrath or McGuiness play regular football at some stage in their Lion careers, it's another draft of riches for us when you consider we snapped up Beams and Christensen with our first two picks :footy:

AFL sent the draft up to the Gold Coast to show of in a developing market and get some publicity, with the tragic events around Phillip Hughes 99% of the population didn't give a rats arse about the AFL draft. Once again 2014 has turned into a PR nightmare for the AFL, the once well oiled publicity machine that didn't miss a beat or chance to push itself has again broken down

Mate I reckon you should just put a bat outside your front door and let that do your talking. Not your finest hour here

The fact that we've taken 3 guys who look like they may require a longer development time is interesting. I wonder if that was a deliberate strategy, knowing we selected a bunch of guys last year who turned out to be fairly "ready to go" and also have recruited 3 guys this off season who are aged 23 to 25. At this low in the draft, skinny but talented might be better for our list than physically mature blokes with less footy ability.