Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 7
SuperCoach Rd 7 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 7 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Very good player down back, but if he's sooking now, how's he going to go if Brucey and Delaney are in front of him in the key defensive spots?We should go after Jake Carlile from the Bombers and actually tell him we'll play him in his right position...'down back! Would have been All Australian last year if they kept him down there.
So we're all pretty confident that Longer will develop enough as a forward?
Very good player down back, but if he's sooking now, how's he going to go if Brucey and Delaney are in front of him in the key defensive spots?
Then again, could we play with all of Delaney, Bruce and Carlisle in the same backline? Fish is nearly 32, Dempster 30 and Gwilt 27, they're not going to go forever... But I'm not certain the below necessarily works:
FB: Webster - Delaney - Bruce
HB: Wright - Carlisle - Roberton
And, in addition to the above three, that's not including Geary, Murdoch, Newnes or Acres, all of who can roll through half back...
Essendon would ask a packet for him too...

Very good player down back, but if he's sooking now, how's he going to go if Brucey and Delaney are in front of him in the key defensive spots?
Then again, could we play with all of Delaney, Bruce and Carlisle in the same backline? Fish is nearly 32, Dempster 30 and Gwilt 27, they're not going to go forever... But I'm not certain the below necessarily works:
FB: Webster - Delaney - Bruce
HB: Wright - Carlisle - Roberton
And, in addition to the above three, that's not including Geary, Murdoch, Newnes or Acres, all of who can roll through half back...
Essendon would ask a packet for him too...
Yeah i'll agree with thatI don't think Longer is 'our insurance policy' his a former top 10 pick, built body, defiantly got what it takes. Hickey and McEvoy played together last year, whats the difference between Hickey and Longer?

Yeah i'll agree with that
A few peeps think Longer might become a good forward as well. Im not so sure about that, but I do think he will develop into a very good ruckman indeed.
I think after the Nic Nat / Cox combo a lot of people want clubs to draft a great ruckman who can drift forward and kick a few goals every week.
Its hard enough to draft a great ruck, equally as hard to draft a great forward. To get both in one pick like Cox is extremely rare. Any goals from a ruckman is a huge bonus. Hickeys game against GWS was awesome for us.
For now Hickey holds the number 1 spot. In a couple of yrs when we are hopefully in the thick of the finals again who knows just how good Longer could be by then. I think we are going to be very healthy in the ruck dept![]()
How many players do you want to put in the ruck though? TBH I think the only way that works is if Stanley shows enough as a forward to play there permanently, or are you saying that's what you think will happen?I think as a collective group, Saints supporters have been burnt by how much McEvoy struggled as a key forward. He didn't take enough F50 marks & had no defensive pressure at all if the ball hit the ground. As a result we all struggle to see how playing two ruckmen in one side (in addition to Stanley) could work. There are a number of teams doing this already (Cats have been playing Simpson, McIntosh & Blicavs for example).
For mine Longer is a footballer primarily. He isn't an athlete like Rhys who isn't a natural footballer but he has some serious athletic prowess. His leap really surprised me in the Crows game & while he is not as fast as Stanley or Hickey, he's definitely got more toe than Macca. The best thing about Billy is that he's aggressive & loves to lay a big tackle. I reckon he'll develop into a Mumford like player.... which I think would compliment both Hickey & Stanley nicely.
So we're all pretty confident that Longer will develop enough as a forward?
I think that's the problem. I think for it to work properly, the player must be a forward first & ruckman second.The ruckman/forward idea has been around a hell of a lot longer than Nic Nat/Cox. Paul Salmon was great at it as was big Spider. It's a huge asset having a guy that play ruck and kick a bag of goals, unfortunately they are hard to find and even harder to turn into forwards.
I reckon you're right.Carlile would well and truly be ahead of Delaney/Bruce. Also I reckon you could have Carlile/Delaney as key defenders and use Bruce as the Dempster/Fisher type player. I reckon he's probably more suited to that role having seen him play that in VFL more then key position.
How many players do you want to put in the ruck though? TBH I think the only way that works is if Stanley shows enough as a forward to play there permanently, or are you saying that's what you think will happen?
FWIW I think Geelong are only playing all three together because they have a massive hole at CHF.
And that's the issues isn't it...I think with Bruce and Delaney there we are better off drafting a young backman to be honest. We would have to give up a lot for Carlile.
That's three more than Longer has kicked in his career. Before Stanley went back last year he was going at a goal per game which isn't great, but is better than Longer.Well he can't be all that worse then Rhys Stanley at kicking goals... He's only kicked 3 this year, so not going lose much in reality.
Yes very trueThe ruckman/forward idea has been around a hell of a lot longer than Nic Nat/Cox. Paul Salmon was great at it as was big Spider. It's a huge asset having a guy that play ruck and kick a bag of goals, unfortunately they are hard to find and even harder to turn into forwards.
)Plenty of clubs would but doubt he'll ask for a trade or anything, GWS have offered him decent contracts over the last few years and he hasn't left. If Bomber Thompson stayed on next year probably would but Tirdy will play him down back again when he returns.We should go after Jake Carlile from the Bombers and actually tell him we'll play him in his right position...'down back! Would have been All Australian last year if they kept him down there.
"Hi guys, we've got a deal for you... a slowish fringe mid and skinny mid-sizer who isn't in the best 22 for your near-AA key defender; whaddya say?!"Personally, I reckon we could get overs from Essendon for Ross and Dunell as a package, given the family connections.
Yes very true
I just used the Big Cox & Nic Nat as examples co's that's who the younger Saints supporters would relate to as the current best ruck/forwards.
Most of them would be thinking Paul Salmon who??
Good old Spider did kick a few bags of goals in his time with us. Very good player. Its a shame he and Thommo never saw eye to eye ( probably had something to do with the massive height difference)

Yeah the old Videovic as Rexy used to call him was underated. Wasn't overly mobile but was extremely physical and held his own at centre bounces.His injury probably cost us in 97 along with Vidovic.![]()

Yeah the old Videovic as Rexy used to call him was underated. Wasn't overly mobile but was extremely physical and held his own at centre bounces.
Poor old Brett Cook was thrown into the deep end and we went into the Granny with our third string ruckman
Oh why did you get me thinking of 97. Now im sad again![]()
LOLYou say extremely physical, I say extremely violent. In a good way.
Love Lazar. Jarman & McLeod would have spent the last qtr at Epworth if he played.