B: Birchall, McVeigh, Gibson
Murphy, Mackie, Malceski
M: Kennedy, Jack, Lewis
Griffen, Shuey
R: Sandilands, Minson
F: Betts, Westhoff, L Thomas
Ballantyne, Swan, Hale
U: Judd, M Boyd, Stokes

I have some depth with Cross, Carrazzo, Stevens, Hunter, Gwilt, Hunt, Shaw, Chaplin who could find a game any given time. And handy ruck cover with Cordy/Hannath. So hoping to have a good season.

Has everyone submitted their likely or close to round 1 lineup? Just so the odds make some sense (even though they are crap)

My Best 22:
B: Birchall, McVeigh, Gibson
Murphy, Mackie, Malceski
M: Kennedy, Jack, Lewis
Griffen, Shuey
R: Sandilands, Minson
F: Betts, Westhoff, L Thomas
Ballantyne, Swan, Hale
U: Judd, M Boyd, Stokes

I have some depth with Cross, Carrazzo, Stevens, Hunter, Gwilt, Hunt, Shaw, Chaplin who could find a game any given time. And handy ruck cover with Cordy/Hannath. So hoping to have a good season.

Has everyone submitted their likely or close to round 1 lineup? Just so the odds make some sense (even though they are crap)
That is a very solid team, will be one of the top contenders again, no doubt.

My potential best 22
B: Carlisle, J.McGovern, Mayes, Macmillan, T.Langdon, Savage
M: D.Swallow, B.Ellis, Gaff, Cunnington, Tyson
R: Lobbe, Hickey
F: Bellchambers, T.Lynch (GC), Daniher, S.Reid, Watts, T.Lynch (AD)
U: Polec, Whitfield, Coniglio

My main depth will come from Sutcliffe, Yeo, J.Murdoch, C.Cameron & J.Lloyd, but with plenty of other promising youngsters hopefully pushing for a regular game.

Pick 4: Isaac Heeney
Bit of a no-brainer (despite it being auto-picked for me I was going to select him anyway) and everything you want from a fantasy mid - accumulates possessions and will likely be a long-term top 20 or 30 player. Slots into my best 22 as well

Pick 9: Lachie Weller
The DPP of Weller made it an easy selection for me, he'll kick goals as well as get possessions and it looks like he'll be a solid selection for me

Pick 18: Hugh Goddard
Was a bit unsure about this selection - if he plays key back he might give away frees and not do much. But at the same time he's likely to get games, may go forward, has B eligibility and even if he plays as a key defender he might get plenty of marks etc. May have stretched a bit early for him but oh well.

Pick 20: Ed Vickers-Willis
Another player who I reached quite a bit early for, especially with competition for games across half-back with players like Luke McDonald and the like, but I just have the feeling that he's the type of player in 3-5 years time will be the perfect fantasy back - racks up kicks and marks and doesn't really give away frees. Probably doubting my selection but in time it could be an inspired choice. His versatility meant that he might get games and he could eventually push into the midfield. Probably not the best selection but I felt with these two second round picks to take a bit of a risk after two "no-brainer" selections in the first round

Pick 32: Tom Lamb
Another player who I really rate and was a bit surprised to see slip all the way to 32 (the pick of him in the AFL draft as well) considering his versatility - he can used as an under-sized key forward kicking goals (and West Coast have good history with that like Darling), but also he runs hard, pushes up the ground and can be used as a traditional high half-forward. One worry is the inconsistency and he occasionally gets lost in games but there's no denying the raw talent and athleticism.

Pick 42: Alex Neal-Bullen
Not so sure on his long-term job security but is a midfield ball magnet, which I actually don't really have much of in my team either now or the long term (looking at the projection of my team I'm actually okay in most categories except for the two disposal ones), and could be one of those players who is much more effective in fantasy than in real life due to his ability to win the contested ball. His skills aren't the best but that doesn't matter in UF (but it might hold him back from actually getting games in the first place), and he can even rest forward and pinch some goals here and there, like he did in the U18 champs.

Pick 46: Jack Hiscox
I ummed and ahhed about this selection but made it two Sydney academy midfielders in my draft selection. My first worry is the job security - I'm unlikely to get many games out of him this season and probably next season due to the strength in depth in the Sydney midfield (seriously - they have to find a spot for Tom Mitchell and Isaac Heeney this season!) but I figured in the long-term he could turn in to a similar player to Brent Stanton. This is because he has the running power, dominating the trials and beep tests at the Contest, won Sydney's time trial, and his running power will help him rack up the ball on the outside like Stanton does. Not really expecting many games from him early on though.

Pick 59: Aidan Corr
Developing key defender who seemed okay in 2013 and 14 before both seasons were written off due to injury. Added for depth purposes and still has scope for improvement. Giants coaches keen on him though will compete with the likes of Marchbank for games. Purely a depth selection.

Had a couple more players, non-draftees, in mind that I didn't end up selecting but I won't be afraid to pull the trigger early in FA. I really do believe that if you do your research, there's always non-draftees bargains late in the drafts to pick up on - I got Shane Biggs with a really late pick at the end of 2013 for example.

Best 22:
D: Burgoyne, Yarran, Enright, Biggs, Howe, Thompson

Even with Goddard losing his B eligibility this is where the strength in my team lies. 5 players ranked inside the top 217 overall means that according to 2014 rankings I have 5 of the best 34 listed defenders in this league (with 16 teams that's no mean feat) plus solid depth options in key defenders like Scott Thompson, Hugh Goddard, Lyndenn Dunn, and Phil Davis, plus developing players like Hombsch and Vickers-Willis

C: Redden, Cornes, Curnow, Dunstan, Heeney

This is where my team falls apart. Apart from Redden, I don't have a single fantasy-elite player who can rack up the touches, lay the tackles and maybe contribute a goal or two - in other words the players that we talk about being the "best in the league", the Pendleburys, Abletts and Dangerfields of the league. It's probably going to be Cornes' last hurrah, Curnow is one of those better-in-UF players due to his ability to tackle and not give away frees and split his kicks and handballs 50-50, but he's not exactly a superstar and would be one of the worst, starting-5 mids in the comp, whilst Dunstan and Heeney are blue-chip centre prospects but not quite yet world beaters. And when my best, non-DPP player, to be the emergency is Neal-Bullen you know it doesn't look pretty. It means that I'm likely going to have to play DPP like Goddard and Cooney in the midfield for periods of time.

R: Stefan Martin, Mark Jamar
A very unpredictable rucks season for me. If Martin finds his form of last year and Jamar can hold out for one more year and continue his "comeback form" than I could have a really solid season. If not, Zac Clarke will be called into action a lot earlier.

F: Brendan Goddard, Matthew Pavlich, Adam Cooney, Chris Mayne, Zac Clarke

Cooney and Goddard add to the strength of my forward line, hopefully Pavlich doesn't drop off too far as he gets older. Also have solid depth here with the likes of Weller, Casboult, Redpath (apparently tearing it up in the Bulldogs' pre-season, likely to play round 1), Taberner, Grant, etc. But not much actual goal-scoring out of this forward line which could be a bit of an issue, so that could mean that it's a bit of a struggle.

UTL: Casboult, Weller, Redpath

Best 22 - starting players with 1-2 backups in brackets.

B: M. Hibbard, B Waters, J Kelly, H Taylor, L Spurr, R Harwood (R Bewick, S Butler, Z Jones)

C: D Beams, T Boak, P Dangerfield, D Zaharakis, B Stanton (B Hill, D Wells, R Bastinac, J Anderson).

R: P Ryder, J Griffin (P Wright, A Phillips)

F: J Kennedy, J Darling, D Petrie, M Wright, S Dwyer, T Colyer (L Adams, J Sicily, C Daniel).

Happy with midfield starters and depth. Need a bit more top end talent in backs and more depth in forwards.

My current best 22 (hopefully some youngsters will step up and replace some of these)

B: Picken Grundy Dempster
HB: Kennedy Geary Lemmens
C: Sloane O'Meara Steven
HF: Monfries Puopolo Garlett
F: Green Riewoldt Elliott
Fol: Simpson S.Selwood Viney
Int: Lowden Mackay Cripps Otten
Emerg: Grigg Boekhorst Close Salem

Still a long way to go, but i think i've taken a big step forward this season. For those interested, i rated last year an 8 on the premiership clock, now i'm a 9

Pick 18: Hugh Goddard
Was a bit unsure about this selection - if he plays key back he might give away frees and not do much. But at the same time he's likely to get games, may go forward, has B eligibility and even if he plays as a key defender he might get plenty of marks etc. May have stretched a bit early for him but oh well.
Great write up. Surprised considering your list you did not use this to get another ball winning midfileder for your team for the next decade. You had Miller, Blakely, Daniel and Ellis available.

Best 22 - starting players with 1-2 backups in brackets.

B: M. Hibbard, B Waters, J Kelly, H Taylor, L Spurr, R Harwood (R Bewick, S Butler, Z Jones)

C: D Beams, T Boak, P Dangerfield, D Zaharakis, B Stanton (B Hill, D Wells, R Bastinac, J Anderson).

R: P Ryder, J Griffin (P Wright, A Phillips)

F: J Kennedy, J Darling, D Petrie, M Wright, S Dwyer, T Colyer (L Adams, J Sicily, C Daniel).

Happy with midfield starters and depth. Need a bit more top end talent in backs and more depth in forwards.

With our trade mid last season (Boak, Bastinac, Kennedy, Adams) and your off-season trade with Tutty (Stanton, Petrie), you have certainly given yourself a chance to move up the ladder in 2015.

Great write up. Surprised considering your list you did not use this to get another ball winning midfileder for your team for the next decade. You had Miller, Blakely, Daniel and Ellis available.
Made the mistake of thinking that there would be more available later on. I'm not as sold on Daniel as a lot of other Bulldogs supporters/general AFL supporters, but I was keen especially on Miller and I wasn't too happy he was pinched a pick or two before one I was looking at. But Heeney and Weller are going to be 10+ year mids for me and I took them with my two top-10 selections so I didn't really want to go overboard, plus I had my eye on Neal-Bullen since last year (a lot of Dogs fans were hoping we'd draft him in the actual draft and a few other supporters on our board were really keen on him) so was happy to get him with a late-ish selection.

Haha whos the funny bugger who posted on ultimate footys facebook page. I'm looking at you richcogs
Could be either Drew23 , Danny_Bhoy or myself. ;):p Getting sick of the lack of improvements. The US fantasy style formats are so much better.

"just hire better technicians". Fair call
If something better comes up with a better draft system and stores our data then I reckon after a vote I could see us changing sites. As long as they have the same stats.

Personally I like 14th, two in a row all the time, including two of top 15
I like 6/7th position. Having that space works for me. Definitely not 1 or 2 though.

Sadly I don't think there is no where near enough of a demand for someone to invest to create a better website. Only 3000 people like UF on FB compared to almost 68,000 for SC. We need to petition the site constantly in numbers.

Keeper leagues are so much better though. I think the problem people find is that they don't know 12-16 people that are passionate enough about their footy and stats to be able to form a league. How can we change this haha? So that we get the changes we deserve!

Could be either Drew23 , Danny_Bhoy or myself. ;):p Getting sick of the lack of improvements. The US fantasy style formats are so much better.

flaps is also a regular poster I see..

This raises an interesting thought, I wonder how many coaches know the real life avatars of the different dynasty league coaches? I of course know Tutty, and have known the coach of the former team the Angels for a very long time. Apart from that, I know the identities of richcogs, Rockford and flaps, but the rest of you are John Doe's

Keeper leagues are so much better though. I think the problem people find is that they don't know 12-16 people that are passionate enough about their footy and stats to be able to form a league. How can we change this haha? So that we get the changes we deserve!

Totally agree, I still love and hammer my SC but since I was introduced to UF 4 years ago I have never looked back, I'm addicted and in 3 keeper leagues now. Which can be challenging on a Sunday arvo when I need Ballantyne to score 4 goals to win my Dynasty game yet need him to get f^%$ all kicks to win in another league lol.

Sadly in Australia people are scared of new things despite it being so much better, they stick to what they know and what is easy. But it goes both ways, UF need to invest and do more to attract a bigger audience. It's their second year with the AGE yet so so many people still have not even heard of it and when you tell them they either LOVE the category concept or are afraid of it.

flaps is also a regular poster I see..

This raises an interesting thought, I wonder how many coaches know the real life avatars of the different dynasty league coaches? I of course know Tutty, and have known the coach of the former team the Angels for a very long time. Apart from that, I know the identities of richcogs, Rockford and flaps, but the rest of you are John Doe's

I have had Rockford on FB since I started this, and now as of yesterday know who richcogs is lol

I've got Danny_Bhoy on FB and have since the commencement. If anyone can recall we were a looking for someone of draft night. So I contacted the 3 people who I knew with enough knowledge to play without needing to do any research and Danny got on board. Drafted well considering he signed into UF only 10 minutes before the draft. Used to go to university with him!

Haha I wonder how much my profile shows to those I am not befriended with? Do you see all my Philippines stuff?

I'm not too fussed if people know me. I mean, I have a lot of friends anyway, so socializing is just one part of life....then there's the other part of the internet. I give away enough for people to be able to stalk me if they really wanted to, and I'm still cautious to an extent about what I say, but even still - it's not like anyone's hiding from anything are they?