2014 Predictions Thread

Where will Freo finish at the end of 2014?

• Premiers

Votes: 34 68.0%
  • Runners up

Votes: 3 6.0%
  • Top 4 (or Prelim appearance) but miss the Grand Final

Votes: 9 18.0%
  • Will play finals but won't make it to a Prelim

Votes: 4 8.0%
  • Won't play finals

Votes: 0 0.0%

pavsbootlace

South Fremantle
My predictions...

End of H&A season - 2nd

After Finals - Runners up. (Sydney premiers)

Doig Medal - N Fyfe

Leading Goalkicker - M Pavlich

Most improved - L Neale

Beacon Award- J Simpson

Explanation - I reckon Ross will have Freo playing more consistent footy than any other team in the comp. I can't see us losing to the bottom 12 sides at any point next year and there isn't a single H&A game that's not winnable. We're a chance to beat the Hawks at the 'G, just as we are a chance to win in Sydney and at Kardinia Park. However, at the pointy end of the season, I reckon you need your A Graders Fit and Firing if you want to bring home the cup and with Johnno, Mundy, Luke, Pav and Sandi all being a year older, I'd put money on a couple of them being missing in September. I reckon Sydney will be hot at the right time next year, so I'm backing them to raise the cup.

What do yous all reckon?

My predictions...

End of H&A season - 2nd

Doig Medal - N Fyfe

Most improved - L Neale

Freo Rising Star - J Simpson

Explanation - I reckon Ross will have Freo playing more consistent footy than any other team in the comp. I can't see us losing to the bottom 12 sides at any point next year and there isn't a single H&A game that's not winnable. We're a chance to beat the Hawks at the 'G, just as we are a chance to win in Sydney and at Kardinia Park. However, at the pointy end of the season, I reckon you need your A Graders Fit and Firing if you want to bring home the cup and with Johnno, Mundy, Luke, Pav and Sandi all being a year older, I'd put money on a couple of them being missing in September. I reckon Sydney will be hot at the right time next year, so I'm backing them to raise the cup.

What do yous all reckon?
If it's us verses the Swanies in the granny I would rate us to get up over them. Beat them at home, drew with them away and almost did them last year.

My predictions...

End of H&A season - 2nd

Doig Medal - N Fyfe

Most improved - L Neale

Freo Rising Star - J Simpson

What do yous all reckon?

I agree with this except I don't see any Freo young gun players getting a rising star.

I can't see Simpson getting a game, unless he's gifted one like this year. There are many players ahead of him in the WAFL that would get a game before him.

Same here however if he does get a game under Ross it would mean he is ticking all the boxes expected of him and that would be a great.

However, at the pointy end of the season, I reckon you need your A Graders Fit and Firing if you want to bring home the cup and with Johnno, Mundy, Luke, Pav and Sandi all being a year older, I'd put money on a couple of them being missing in September. I reckon Sydney will be hot at the right time next year, so I'm backing them to raise the cup.

Sydney have 8 players older than Mundy, so shouldn't they be just as likely to have players missing?

Good point. And maybe that's why Sydney crashed out of finals this year. But, I'm talking about elite players rather than than all players. In my opinion, you need the A graders fit to win finals. For Freo that means having our old blokes fit as we are very reliant on Pav and McPharlin and both of those blokes are very difficult to replace. Mundy and Johnno are also crucial. Sandi is more replaceable as we have good ruck stocks.

In Sydney's case, Goodesy is elderly, but is replaceable as they have Buddy, Tippet and Reid. O'Keefe is 33 and McVeigh is getting on, but I think they are easier to replace than Key Position players. Which leaves Ted Richards, who would be a huge loss in September. But other than Teddy, I reckon their old players are more easily covered than ours.

I can't see Simpson getting a game, unless he's gifted one like this year. There are many players ahead of him in the WAFL that would get a game before him.
I agree but Simpson will keep until he's ripe for the picking. Still think he'll be a gun in time

Good point. And maybe that's why Sydney crashed out of finals this year. But, I'm talking about elite players rather than than all players. In my opinion, you need the A graders fit to win finals. For Freo that means having our old blokes fit as we are very reliant on Pav and McPharlin and both of those blokes are very difficult to replace. Mundy and Johnno are also crucial. Sandi is more replaceable as we have good ruck stocks.

In Sydney's case, Goodesy is elderly, but is replaceable as they have Buddy, Tippet and Reid. O'Keefe is 33 and McVeigh is getting on, but I think they are easier to replace than Key Position players. Which leaves Ted Richards, who would be a huge loss in September. But other than Teddy, I reckon their old players are more easily covered than ours.

Disagree to an extent, we did pretty well without Sandi and Pav for most of the year and we have improved our coverage in the positions they play this off-season, whilst I don't think Sydney could cover Richards any better than we could McPharlin, Silvagni>>>>>Grundy or whoever else they have.

Been repeated ad nauseum but a strong midfield that bats deep is where it is in the modern game and that's an area I don't see Sydney overtaking us in.

Disagree to an extent, we did pretty well without Sandi and Pav for most of the year and we have improved our coverage in the positions they play this off-season, whilst I don't think Sydney could cover Richards any better than we could McPharlin, Silvagni>>>>>Grundy or whoever else they have.

Been repeated ad nauseum but a strong midfield that bats deep is where it is in the modern game and that's an area I don't see Sydney overtaking us in.

And I think we would finish top 4 (top 6 minimum) without both of them again. But, I believe that finals football is played at a level higher than H&A footy, and that's when you need your stars. IMO, if Pav and Luke were 100% fit in the 2013 Grand Final, we'd have won it.

No doubt, I hope they are heavily managed next year with a strong emphasis on being at their peak for September.

only time will tell
But i guess that's kind of the point.
When Hill was brought in he was postered up as the white knight to save us and make all right with the world. Reality was a little different and whilst I am sure we all can agree he is really good for us he is no Pav. This brings us to Simpson who is very similar in mould (and expectation in some quarters) to Hilly, the difference being we have time. I have no problem with him taking a year or two to develop as there are plenty of others who can keep us competitive until he is ready. This I think is the real secret of Geelong. Bring people in when they are ready not just because they are all you have left.

End of H&A : 1st or 2 nd ( 19 wins )

After Finals : Premiers ( Sydney runner up ).

Doig Medallist : Stephen Hill

Leading Goalkicker : Scott Gumbleton

Most Improved : Zac Clarke

Beacon Award : Appyfeet

Don't get mad, get even.
It is Freo versus the world. Demetriou went too far last year and the giant is stirred .

I'm going all out.
Win every game for the season!!!!! :D
Whoever is my buddy in 2014 will win:
the Brownlow
Norm Smith
Coleman
NAB Rising Star
The Doig
Beacon Award
the Nobel Peace Prize
Cleo's most eligible bachelor
an Oscar (not for stuff on the footy field)
Lotto (which he win donate to charity)
Almost Footy Legends
X factor, Dancing with the Stars, Idol (not Billy :p )
& all of our hearts awwwwwwwwwww :)
Go Freo!

The eagles board had one of these polls last year and the majority of them tipped themselves to win the premiership too. Lets hope it doesn't backfire on us as badly.

Having said that I still picked us for Premiers.

Doig Medal - Fyfe

Leading Goalkicker - Walters

Most improved - Sylvia (from the Melbourne version)

Beacon Award- Grey (don't think eligible players are going to get many games though)

Mayne to win the Doig, Mayne to kick the most goals as a hybrid between a forward target and crumber. Fyfe to push for the Brownlow because he's a midfielder, gets involved, creeps forward a bit, and has the love of the umpires – unfortunately, a midfield of Mundy and Barlow will share votes with him.

I hope Zarke becomes the undoubted heir to Sandilands and someone who has heaps of mongrel and confidence. Could happen. Reckon Pearce III could get anywhere from four to eight games. Crozier to become permanent towards the end of the year, Neale to barely lose his spot. I don't think Gumby will play more than 13ish games, but he'll toil hard, play well, and give us some rigidity when he's actually out there.

Predicting wins and losses in the finals and how we get there is just too weird. Though I can see Freo's depth doing huge favours – we could see a soccer-like cyclical 18, where changes in the side become the norm, just to keep guys fresh and get some experience. Especially on that half forward line. I think Fremantle'll be the most consistent team because of it.