BigFooty Official 2015 Big Footy Phantom Draft

Would be a ripping draft if we got Hibbard, Collins and Cole. I'd be very happy with that. Nice work Jack.

Happy with my work sofar, Cole is well inside my top 30 so him at 42 is a win for me and makes up for the fact that I didn't pick up an on baller with the 2 first rounders.

Collins and Cole were really no brainers, and the only other one that came into consideration for the Hibberd pick was Partington, and the fact that I then went on to land Cole renders that pretty mute.

Western Bulldogs Draft Review.

Very Happy with the draft for the Dogs got several players that I rate highly and filled important holes especially filling our need for run and carry types with elite disposal and improving our KPP depth.

Pick 24 - Ben McKay - Gippsland Power (200cm, 95kg) - KPP UTILITY

Profile: Ben came into this year not even on a TAC Cup teams list but after seeing his brother Harry succeed and put him hand up he came to play at the Gippsland Power. Ben is a very versatile tall capable of playing in many positions around the ground including as a Key Forward, a Key Defender and having stints in the ruck. To me I think he belongs in defense but having the options to play elsewhere is always good. His strength overhead is one of Ben's main strengths as he quite rarely loses his one on ones and positions his body very well. Like his brother Harry he possesses some good athletic traits too and can cover ground well however he needs to work on his consistency as he quite often goes missing for extended periods and his field kicking which can be wayward at time.

Pick 25 - Riley Bonner - West Adelaide (191cm, 80kg) - GENERAL DEFENDER

Profile: Riley is one of my favorite players in this draft. He is the modern footballer prototype, he is over 190cm, has good endurance and has a weapon - his booming left foot. He is suited as a running half back due to his ability to break lines with the combination of his run and carry and his penetrating left foot. Bonner has also played senior SANFL which will help him make the transition to AFL. Bonner does have to work on his 1v1's as he gets out positioned by his opponents too much as a defender and needs to develop his contested side to his game so that in time he can move higher up the ground if needed.

Pick 35 - Brayden Fiorini - Northern Knights (186cm, 75kg) - OUTSIDE MIDFIELDER

Profile: Fiorini's year has been one that I have really liked. Consistent throughout and towards the end of the year he showed good growth in an area that was seen as being his weakness. Capable of breaking the 30 disposal mark regularly using to his elite ability to spread from the contest, Fiorini like Bonner has a weapon of a left foot in his arsenal and has shown leadership as well as having a tough mentality. He reads the play very well, breaks lines and sets up attacks as well as getting back to help out his defense. His weakness is in his inside game though it is developing he still wins the majority of his footy from team mates.

Pick 46 - Jesse Glass-McCasker - Swan Districts (198cm, 95kg) - TALL DEFENDER

Profile: Glass-McCasker is one of the few WA players that stood out for me at the champs. Probably the most athletic of all the talls in this draft and has the ability to rebound from defense. He is also generally strong in his one on one's, I view him as one of the biggest risk reward types in this draft as with his elite athletic traits and size he has a very high ceiling if he can improve on his deficiencies. He needs to work hard on his footy smarts and his disposal by foot if he is going to make it and if he succeeds in doing so he can be a very good player at AFL level.

Kerbatieh horrible effort with 3km run at draft camp didn't scare you?

Not at all. Hisham has never been an endurance athletic & his efforts at running a beep test from 16-18 yrs old indicate that. We're looking to address the need for a small forward who can provide some spark and X-Factor near the goals. He's a nice little prospect and I wouldn't hesitate at Pick 47 to grab him.

I know a heap of people who were at testing.
13 minute 3 km just about. Looked lazy and unfit.
I agree he has X factor but 2 chases and he will be rooted.
Rioli performed poorly in 3km testing in 07 but he had been injured.
Hisham doesn't work hard enough on the field or off.
But I agree he has a heap of talent.

I was always going to go best available but I couldn't believe some of the guys that fell to my picks who filled the Dogs needs perfectly.

I reckon you've killed it with those picks. You've done very well, Simon Dalrymple would be pleased!

Western Bulldogs Draft Review.

Very Happy with the draft for the Dogs got several players that I rate highly and filled important holes especially filling our need for run and carry types with elite disposal and improving our KPP depth.

Pick 24 - Ben McKay - Gippsland Power (200cm, 95kg) - KPP UTILITY

Profile: Ben came into this year not even on a TAC Cup teams list but after seeing his brother Harry succeed and put him hand up he came to play at the Gippsland Power. Ben is a very versatile tall capable of playing in many positions around the ground including as a Key Forward, a Key Defender and having stints in the ruck. To me I think he belongs in defense but having the options to play elsewhere is always good. His strength overhead is one of Ben's main strengths as he quite rarely loses his one on ones and positions his body very well. Like his brother Harry he possesses some good athletic traits too and can cover ground well however he needs to work on his consistency as he quite often goes missing for extended periods and his field kicking which can be wayward at time.

Pick 25 - Riley Bonner - West Adelaide (191cm, 80kg) - GENERAL DEFENDER

Profile: Riley is one of my favorite players in this draft. He is the modern footballer prototype, he is over 190cm, has good endurance and has a weapon - his booming left foot. He is suited as a running half back due to his ability to break lines with the combination of his run and carry and his penetrating left foot. Bonner has also played senior SANFL which will help him make the transition to AFL. Bonner does have to work on his 1v1's as he gets out positioned by his opponents too much as a defender and needs to develop his contested side to his game so that in time he can move higher up the ground if needed.

Pick 35 - Brayden Fiorini - Northern Knights (186cm, 75kg) - OUTSIDE MIDFIELDER

Profile: Fiorini's year has been one that I have really liked. Consistent throughout and towards the end of the year he showed good growth in an area that was seen as being his weakness. Capable of breaking the 30 disposal mark regularly using to his elite ability to spread from the contest, Fiorini like Bonner has a weapon of a left foot in his arsenal and has shown leadership as well as having a tough mentality. He reads the play very well, breaks lines and sets up attacks as well as getting back to help out his defense. His weakness is in his inside game though it is developing he still wins the majority of his footy from team mates.

Pick 46 - Jesse Glass-McCasker - Swan Districts (198cm, 95kg) - TALL DEFENDER

Profile: Glass-McCasker is one of the few WA players that stood out for me at the champs. Probably the most athletic of all the talls in this draft and has the ability to rebound from defense. He is also generally strong in his one on one's, I view him as one of the biggest risk reward types in this draft as with his elite athletic traits and size he has a very high ceiling if he can improve on his deficiencies. He needs to work hard on his footy smarts and his disposal by foot if he is going to make it and if he succeeds in doing so he can be a very good player at AFL level.
I love bonner and Fiorini selections.
Ben McKay I am not sure about but if you make an error make one with a tall! Glass-mcCasker is sushi raw but he is a perfect shape for a project tall.
Well done.

Snoop takes Ben Crocker for Melbourne.
Interesting Snoop. Personally if we go for Weideman or Curnow with an early pick, to play along side Hogan and a 2nd ruck I'm not sure how many (if any) of those mid sized forward types we could fit in. Do you rate Crocker's midfield potential?

I think the Melbourne recruiters will have to think long and hard when it comes to this pick on draft night about best available vs need as even if we add Parish there's still a huge need for run and carry midfielders/half backs.

regardless of trials etc..the question i pose is simple..how does a player play tac cup and tac cup finals,grand final and vic metro and not be considered a capable or good player..?..which in essence tells me one thing..hisham may not be a super athelete but the cannons and metro selectors picked a talented afl player..am i wrong? if i remember ..clem smith of carlton did a 10.2. beep test and 12.1 min 3 km ..

Smith did a 12.01 in the beep and a 12.12 in the 3km.

Something was up with Kerbatieh in the testing. In addition to the endurance results he only did one agility run through as well and bombed on that one. Also his running left foot jump height was also odd given it was less than his two foot standing jump and 27cm less than his right foot jump. His speed though at 2.94 in the 20m was good and his 30m repeat sprint at 25.00 was also pretty good and that has some endurance component in it. Personally I am largely discounting the excessively bad testing and relying on what I have seen. I do not think he is an endurance athlete and it is something which he absolutely needs to improve. With that said I do not think it is as bad as he tested.

Pick 48 - Sydney Michael Hartley 198cm 102kg, DOB: 07/06/1993 Coburg

Sydney will need some more KPD in the coming years, Collins was one I was considering but did not expect him to be available by my first live pick at 43 let alone 48.

Hartley is a mature aged and ready made key defender, who is more than capable of holding down the role of a stopper against the main gun forward. He has plety of size, 198cm and 102kg which will allow him to wrestle with the gorillas but has the nous and creativity to leave his man and get involved in some link play. Can take a strong overhead mark and is adding intercept marking to his game, which wasn't as good a few years ago. Kicking could do with some work, but is no means terrible, has smarts to make good decisions under pressure, which is what most of his game will be under. Grundy isn't getting any younger and Sydney are crying out for a big bodied key defender. Should be ready to play round 1.

If it wasn't for the need of a KPD, others I really like by this pick are Redman, Dew, Ferreira and Parella

I loved Hartley as a junior but he was always going to take time. I am surprised Collingwood were not prepared to be patient with him. Then again being delisted might have been the impetus he needed to really knuckle down. He certainly would be a great pick up for Sydney and he was a NSW junior.

Likewise Collingwood will not be able to use quite so many selections. Pick 96 should be the Jack Frost upgrade as after the upgrade from my understanding there are only five more senior list positions to fill.

I loved Hartley as a junior but he was always going to take time. I am surprised Collingwood were not prepared to be patient with him. Then again being delisted might have been the impetus he needed to really knuckle down. He certainly would be a great pick up for Sydney and he was a NSW junior.

Collingwood have up on Hartley due to constant injuries with only the five games over two seasons at VFL level.

In saying that I agree with you that he was let go of too early and was very surprised upon the delisting being announced.

Write up for Pick #4 Callum Mills

Was worth the bid here, rather than pick 3 average, garden variety players, with maybe 1 making the grade and the rest being delisted in years to come.

Mills is right up there amongst the best midfielders in the draft, I only have Hopper truly ahead of him on ability. Mills has an excellent inside game and a capable outside game also. Super vision in tight, wins his own clearances and hard balls, but importantly, has that rare knack of having time and space to dispose of it whilst under pressure and can sum up a situation in front of him well before many of his peers. A very important trait in a fast-paced game.

He also has a very good overhead mark, and I love midfielders that can do this, such as Bartel, Parker etc, will take strong contested grabs, sometimes even pack marks if he flies for the ball. Is also a high production mid and will win plenty of the footy and possesses excellent leadership, captaining many under age sides.

Only question mark I'd say would be his kicking, can be a bit floaty at times but hopefully that can be sharpened up a little. For pick 4 though, there isn't much to dislike, he is ready to go and could definitely force his way into the swans side much like Heeney has done.