2015 Fixture

• Thread starter Thread starter DonDraper

Put another 8-10kg and a flannelette hat on him, and Rohan Connolly is perfect as Wal in the presumably-forthcoming live action Footrot Flats movie.

3702_210_245.jpg

looking at the draw there is a fair chance we will play freo on the friday night of round 23. looks like the most likely match up of two teams that should be high on the ladder (potentially top 4) for that round.

I dont know what draw you are looking at Ozph but there is SFA chance of playing on a Friday. In Rd22 Freo play on Sunday at 4-10 SA time in Perth and we play on Saturday night on the GC. The AFL will not force a 5 day break on Freo.

I'm probably more worried about that top 2 spot really. We need to finish top 2 and get our home finals at the Portress. Having to play the other 3 top 4 teams in the league + Showdowns makes that more difficult when there is likely to be a game or two at most in it.

I have no doubt we can beat anyone if we're switched on, but switch out Sydney for Carlton or something similar and our draw is looking a lot more reasonable.

http://afltables.com/afl/teams/allteams/grandfinals.html#06a

106 Minor Premiers have made it to the GF. It's always good to come first.

The thing about our double-ups is that we can ensure our main rivals for the top 4 spots endure at least 2 defeats. We beat Freo and Sydney and Hawthorn- not only do we win, they lose! We're not going to go unbeaten so we're best off losing (if losing we must) to mid-table teams that can't do us damage like *spit* Adelaide or Essendon.

This is stupid because he's failed to balance out "Home vs Interstate" with "Away without travelling"

"Road trips" is a stupid way of getting the job done because they aren't a quirk of the draw. Freo have significantly easier double ups but then apparently the fact that they have to travel across the country every 2nd week makes their draw hard. This chart doesn't properly cater for the fact that 10 of their opponents at Subi have the same long haul flight.

And Hawthorn are rewarded with the "hardest draw" because he's counted their Tassie games for the purpose of a short haul road trip, but not for home v interstate, despite the fact that it's a 2nd home ground and everyone who travels there as the away side is from much, much further out than Melbourne.

I dont know what draw you are looking at Ozph but there is SFA chance of playing on a Friday. In Rd22 Freo play on Sunday at 4-10 SA time in Perth and we play on Saturday night on the GC. The AFL will not force a 5 day break on Freo.
didnt look at round 22, went straight to 23 and looked at the match ups.

This is stupid because he's failed to balance out "Home vs Interstate" with "Away without travelling"

"Road trips" is a stupid way of getting the job done because they aren't a quirk of the draw. Freo have significantly easier double ups but then apparently the fact that they have to travel across the country every 2nd week makes their draw hard. This chart doesn't properly cater for the fact that 10 of their opponents at Subi have the same long haul flight.

And Hawthorn are rewarded with the "hardest draw" because he's counted their Tassie games for the purpose of a short haul road trip, but not for home v interstate, despite the fact that it's a 2nd home ground and everyone who travels there as the away side is from much, much further out than Melbourne.
A Hawthorn supporter who has posted on this forum agrees that not including Hawthorn games in Tassie as "Home v Interstate" is ridiculous.

What happened to Graham Cornes and who is writing his column? ;)

Port treated appallingly by the AFL
Regardless of the draw, Port has been treated appallingly by the AFL.
A team that has been recognised as one of the most exciting in the competition to watch, it has also provided its fans with that most recent football phenomenon, the “match day experience”.
Port has tough opponents in the first five weeks.
Of course it is a tough opponent itself and four of the team’s first six games are at Adelaide Oval, however, what have they done to deserve the dreaded Sunday twilight slot for five of the first eight games?
Port treated appallingly by the AFL

Does Gra Gra know that we prefer Sunday twilight to Saturday afternoon?

A simple phonecall to KT would have sorted that out.
He's been spruiking about taking that slot and owning it since he came to Port.

The only thing I agree with Wrinkles on is games at the G. Going through the draw there are occasions where the game scheduled at the G will have a much better attendance, and maybe the argument can't be made for rescheduling. And the Melbourne game at TP is scheduled there for their financial gain and should also be there to get some AFL footy played in the NT. Although the Dogs seem to have a good following there, I'm not sure why they can't be sent to play in the NT.
But there are 2 occasions we should be at the G. in R17 we play Essendon at Etihad while Richmond play Freo at the MCG. Last game we played at the Docklands we got 40817, imagine how many we could get at the G. And Richmond drew only 22083 to their last game against Freo at the G. It was a Saturday afternoon game but their game against them on 9th June 2012 was also a Saturday afternoon game and it drew 43801.
The most obvious one, and also one that most Hawthorn supporters can't understand, is R21 where we play Hawthorn at Etihad. Unless this is to fill some contractual obligation with Etihad there is no rhyme or reason to it. It is a Friday so there are no games scheduled at the MCG and both teams could be in the top 4 at the time.

<snip>
The most obvious one, and also one that most Hawthorn supporters can't understand, is R21 where we play Hawthorn at Etihad. Unless this is to fill some contractual obligation with Etihad there is no rhyme or reason to it. It is a Friday so there are no games scheduled at the MCG and both teams could be in the top 4 at the time.

Got it in one Mick. Contractual obligation. Mentioned somewhere previously on this board.

Agree in principle that we should have more games at the 'G though.

Going to be a interesting preseason as we can't afford to have any of these " he will be right to go by round 4 injuries".
No matter what way you cut the cake it's a shyt draw,when you compare it to a team like North that also played in the preliminary final last year.
We are going to have to be up and running from the first bounce.
I am still excited about our prospects next year and believe we can go that extra step but nobody can say we had it gifted to us.

Another scribes opinion on the 2015 fixture complete with cynical comments and how supporters should see their teams draw. A nifty picture of some of our supporters just before the march to the G as well.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...108448147?nk=4bf689bc84768976b2321b09fe6f3ee0

You do realize this guy writes taking the piss out of everyone?

Titus O’Reily is a satirical sports writer. You can read more Titus at titusoreily.com or follow him on Twitter@TitusOReily

You do realize this guy writes taking the piss out of everyone?

Titus O’Reily is a satirical sports writer. You can read more Titus at titusoreily.com or follow him on Twitter@TitusOReily

Good bit of truth in satire. I enjoy his comments and give them as much credence as other writers. Sometimes more. Titus O'Reily would have been a good writer for the now defunct English satirical magazine "Punch".