2015 Non-Crows AFL Discussion - Part 2

Compared to Melbourne ...gee it's hard to find a decent Cafe outside the CBD

Any recommendations South East of the City ......had a decent coffee at Henley Beach today, but only after having two other disasterous experiences

Not looking hard enough. Glenelg (Pure, Kikko etc, Bracegirdles does great coffee depending on the barista but you're better off getting chocolate there anyway) and Brighton have very, very good coffee shops. 'Coffee by the beans' in Henley is great. More and more places around Brompton etc are opening up. Loose Caboose is good. Then there are also a lot around Goodwood, Unley, Burnside, Mitcham. Mother's Milk, Carnevale, Ginger's, Pantry on Egmont etc etc. Then you've got Bar 9 on Glen Osmond.

691567-dangerfield.jpg

What's your point?

Apologies if its already been discussed - but why has the Ragvertiser seen fit to publish two stories on a Geelong player this week - and the first one was about his non-bike riding??!! Accompanied by someone who lives in Switzerland? :confused: No local interest and complete non-stories. What a bunch of flogs...

Its Danger Day on Fox Footy tomorrow. Think ill give it a miss.

He is a marketable unit.

There will be as much of it from Geelong as you gave him.

OK so he's been at Geelong for 2 minutes and hasn't played a single game for them. Can you show this board what the AFC did at the same stage with Danger?

Since you take so much notice of how the AFC is run you would have noticed that when Walshy came on board the me me me about Danger and others went out the window.
Suddenly the "I" in "team" disappeared as did alot of Dangers media work.

Is Geelongs marketing of Danger at this point in time right or wrong is up to personal opinion. I personal think the timing is awful.

But anyway at least Danger now gets to be the me me me me bloke at another club....good luck to him.

Tassie reminds me more of Adelaide than other states I've lived in - in terms of attitudes and climate - just without the week of 40+ weather that I do not miss. The water is not warm - that's for sure - would be better described as "nice once you are in" !!

Hobart is the second dryest (driest?) state capital after Adelaide - so even if the temperature is down, it generally doesn't feel that cold. A 15 degree day in hobart when the sun is out is just about as good as it gets in terms of weather as far as I am concerned - jeans and a t-shirt, slip a jumper/jacket on at night.

Our biggest concern when we moved here was trying not to get burnt - the sun is an absolute monster, depleted ozone and all that.

Cleanest air and water you are likely to find - clear days and cool nights - no queues, no parking hassles, affordable housing - plenty of art and music - golf courses are accessable and of a good quality - great fishing - good schools - lots of passionate local foodies ... it's perfect* in my eye :cool:

*unless you are looking for a job - or looking to "party" outside of Saturday night.

I was just about to write "unless your looking for work" and then I spotted the fine print.

I hope every time he sets foot on SA soil vengeful crows fans spoil it for him. No way does he deserve any respect or loyalty. He's a dog of the highest order.

Are you just taking the piss Mike, or do you really believe Danger owed us to stay because of Phil's passing. I'm more annoyed that he really only gave us 7 years not 8 as is required for RFA.

Apologies if its already been discussed - but why has the Ragvertiser seen fit to publish two stories on a Geelong player this week - and the first one was about his non-bike riding??!! Accompanied by someone who lives in Switzerland? :confused: No local interest and complete non-stories. What a bunch of flogs...
Because our club does not spoon feed them any news and it is their subtle dig at us for that.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

Because our club does not spoon feed them any news and it is their subtle dig at us for that.

It's not subtle at all. Unfortunately I noticed the articles in question while visiting someone who actually buys the Crapvertiser. I read two or three words and decided I wouldn't give them the satisfaction.

This is the kind of stunt Rootchy pulled weekly when I used to read that rag. I see nothing has changed and therefore have no need of it. I don't need to read feel-good stories about the Crows, I just need to not read the shit they publish which inevitably ridicules, or abases the AFC without justification.

It's this very example of its nya-na-nannar-na type behaviour that stops the Advertiser from getting anything from the AFC like permission to interview Pyke.

Please keep it up AFC. Give them nothing.

They need our club more than our club needs them. There are plenty of avenues to get Footy news now.

I have not read an Advertiser article since September. Even then it was only online.

CBF with the Paywall now to read shoddy "journalism".

I stopped reading it for non Footy news years ago.

OK so he's been at Geelong for 2 minutes and hasn't played a single game for them. Can you show this board what the AFC did at the same stage with Danger?

Since you take so much notice of how the AFC is run you would have noticed that when Walshy came on board the me me me about Danger and others went out the window.
Suddenly the "I" in "team" disappeared as did alot of Dangers media work.

Is Geelongs marketing of Danger at this point in time right or wrong is up to personal opinion. I personal think the timing is awful.

But anyway at least Danger now gets to be the me me me me bloke at another club....good luck to him.
But Dangerfield is a different beast now than when we got him as a 17 year old. Surely you can see why he would be front and centre of any marketing campaign that Geelong do? No-one in the media is questioning Geelong's rubbish 2015 year - or how they will go without some of their stars that have left / retired - or how they will carry their older players - it's all about how Danger will bring them back to the finals.

Not sure you've got the full context here:

Menu

Rupert Murdoch Not Fit to Lead News Corp., Lawmakers Say

Robert Hutton and Amy Thomson
May 1, 2012 — 7:59 PM ACSTUpdated on May 2, 2012 — 4:15 AM ACST
Share on FacebookShare on WhatsApp

The six Labour and Liberal Democrat lawmakers on the committee voted to conclude that Rupert Murdoch is “not a fit person” to lead a major international company and the four members of Prime Minister David Cameron’s Conservative Party voted against it. One of them, Louise Mensch, said they “felt that was ultimately outside the scope of a select committee.”

“Rupert Murdoch clearly is a fit and proper person to run an international company,” said Philip Davies, another dissenting Conservative. “He’s been running businesses since before I was born. We’ve seen absolutely no evidence to suggest that Rupert Murdoch was aware these things were going on.”

You're crazy
Not sure you've got the full context here:

Menu

Rupert Murdoch Not Fit to Lead News Corp., Lawmakers Say

Robert Hutton and Amy Thomson
May 1, 2012 — 7:59 PM ACSTUpdated on May 2, 2012 — 4:15 AM ACST
Share on FacebookShare on WhatsApp

The six Labour and Liberal Democrat lawmakers on the committee voted to conclude that Rupert Murdoch is “not a fit person” to lead a major international company and the four members of Prime Minister David Cameron’s Conservative Party voted against it. One of them, Louise Mensch, said they “felt that was ultimately outside the scope of a select committee.”

“Rupert Murdoch clearly is a fit and proper person to run an international company,” said Philip Davies, another dissenting Conservative. “He’s been running businesses since before I was born. We’ve seen absolutely no evidence to suggest that Rupert Murdoch was aware these things were going on.”

Do you work for News Ltd? Interesting you feel the need to defend your "boss" and believe that our club needs The Advertiser.

Print media is dying, and by association more "traditional" news sites such as Adelaidenow will follow suite. This is particularly true in a sporting context where a club can control the news it releases. and when the media is tabloid in nature.

The reason I made that comment is because if The Advertiser was important to the club, the club would offer an interview with Pyke to them. Pyke has already been on AA a few times and had a sit down with Caroline Wilson. The club grants these interviews because FiveAA is a club sponsor and The Age is not a muckraking tabloid. Rooch and his employers are dirty on this and are behaving accordingly.

We have shut them out. But they still need to write stories about our club to satisfy their shrinking readership. So they reword, and quote press conferences/releases and add some (at times spiteful) opinion to pad their stories out. They do all this with no direct contact from anyone at the club. They need to do this to seem relevant.

What the club have done is push the ECrow membership. The purpose of which is not to beat our chest and count memberships, as they wont be counted. The purpose is collect email addresses of casual supporters. This way the club can control the news it releases via email and then direct people to the website, twitter and Channel Crow YouTube clips. This is the future of media management.

The reality is that there is only one quality publication left in Australia - I speak of course of the NT News.

View attachment 203210
Rooch could never work for the NT News. Would mean he would have to actually go out and find stories. Not wait for people to come to him for an interview.