D1 2016 discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

Im not saying he should go to every ground, but look on a Sunday to see who played in the 22. Its not hard.

It is when the VAFA website doesn’t work. Scribes are volunteers and doubt they have time to scrawl through club websites looking for accurate information. They rely on club input and if that’s not forthcoming we should perhaps direct the angst towards our own clubs.

haha, thank you Richo, whomever you are! Yes bedford and other bloke, fair enough with your criticism but from what it appeared, Mal Michael (no. 15) was named in the team list for round 1. I suspect that has been changed but it is difficult to write accurate reports when you don't receive emails from any of the clubs bar NOBS and St Mary's for match reports. So I do the best I can with the information I'm given. I like to think I keep it lighthearted, readable and enjoyable, just what amateur football should be. But you know, feel free to criticise first as most of us seem to desire to do these days rather than applying a little logic and thought. Much easier that way!

Anyway, moving on from that damp and soggy blanket, my tips:

Yarra Valley v Kew - This is a monster grudge game. Last time Yarra played Kew, Yarra won by more than 80 points and the Yeo brothers tore it up. Kew is a completely different side but I wouldn't be surprised to see a relatively close one. Yarra have had a tough go of it thus far. Kew by 18.
Ormond v NOBS/St Pats - Ormond mean business. Mal Michael hasn't even played yet and they appear very impressive. Big bodies, smart players and the ability to run over sides. NOBS were trounced last week but they'll be back. However, Ormond by 17.
Old Mentonians v Prahran Assumption - Prahran play to their strengths. They're tough on the inside with a bit of class on the outside. Particularly like the young kid wearing number 50. He makes them look a bit more three-dimensional. They'll be thereabouts. Old Mentone are a mid table side, will be interesting to see if they can find another gear. Prahran by 4 goals.
Bulleen Temp v St Mary’s Salesian - This could get a little messy if both sides play to form. Bulleen need to stop Gary Putaranateri (sp?), Sid Jones and the like from running amuck. When they are given space, SMS are a quality football side. If Bulleen can stop their flow from half back, they might be in it until three quarter time, but I expect SMS to win comfortably. SMS by 50.
Whitefriars v Old Geelong - Old Geelong are simply lacking a bit of C*** at the moment. Great bunch of blokes, but maybe too gentlemanly. Just a theory, I like the way they play and how they are structured. Tall across the ground with some talented athletes such as Matthew Young. Whitefriars still an enigma at the moment. Still watching them closely to figure them out. Old Geelong by 5 goals.

Enjoy a weekend full of hard, tough footy lads! Should be a very emotional day considering the circumstances. Lest we forget.
Regardless of the accuracy or otherwise of last week's report, you have talent as a writer Willie_bee, so keep writing.

I too am enjoying he scribes musings. Must be a difficult job when the van website is so slow in updating results.

My tips:
Kew to continue there run and defeat YV by 6 goals.
Ormond to put NOBS in the difficult position of 1-2 with a 5 goal win.
Prahran to get there first win on the board with a 10 point win over Mentone
St Marys to dominate Bulleen. Could get close to 100 points.
Whitefriars to surprise a few and defeat the poor travelling Old Geelong by 3 goals.

It is when the VAFA website doesn’t work. Scribes are volunteers and doubt they have time to scrawl through club websites looking for accurate information. They rely on club input and if that’s not forthcoming we should perhaps direct the angst towards our own clubs.
Just checked the selected team for round 1 and Michael was not in the team.
KEW 53
ORMOND 10
PRAHRAN 22
SMS 87
OG 31

Just checked the selected team for round 1 and Michael was not in the team.
KEW 53
ORMOND 10
PRAHRAN 22
SMS 87
OG 31
That's nice to know. The VAFA website had him in the senior 22 on the Sunday after the game though.

Don't criticise a volunteer who is doing a good job. Clubs need to send match reports if they want a more accurate depiction of their games. VAFA website is slow. That's what we have learnt from all this.

Carn the Bears

Teams on the website don't have to be confirmed till 10am Monday and the opposition get the teams before the games generally about half-time of the Ressies. The problem was that he said he played well and he didn't even play !

That's the crucial bit that most here appear to miss. Making a performance judgement before a game.

Rd 3:
Yarra Valley V Kew - Kew by 10 goals
Ormond v NOB/StPats - Match of the round, Ormond by 20 points
Bulleen Temp v SMS - SMS comfortably
Old Mentonians v Prahran- OM's only because they're at home
Whitefriars v Old Geelong - 2 in a row for OG's, 5 goals

Good luck to all

Teams on the website don't have to be confirmed till 10am Monday and the opposition get the teams before the games generally about half-time of the Ressies. The problem was that he said he played well and he didn't even play !
Haha, if it means that much to you, I'll personally give Mal a call and explain myself. I wrote the article on the Monday following the game, Mal was in the list as playing (No. 15). Was obviously adjusted later in the week. What do you expect me to do big fella? I volunteer for this; I study, I play footy, I write for several other websites, I have a social life and I work over the weekend. In addition to this, the website is still being developed and only two clubs email me. Give it a rest mate.

Perhaps you are over extending your resources, just a little bit. In past volumes of the Amateur Footballer, the division scribes went to the effort of building lines of communication with clubs in their competition. Attended games, contacted coaches and enthusiastic club members. They had the ability to call a mate at such and such a club and get a bit of gossip. Hyperbole or fact. At least they were in touch with the competition. Yeah, they were volunteers also, but they made a fist of it. Followers of the competition hung out for the weekly tome to get the info they craved. What we have today is, sadly, a rehash of the results. Scant analysis and merely lip service. If you're TOO busy, Fcuk off and give a gonzo journalist the gig. Don't rely on your sycophantic connections to constipate the reports. M'kay? End of rant.:cool:

Later in the week you say, well it wasn't. You said he played well, that's all. Good on you for putting your hand up to do it, others wouldn't, but it seems you don't have time to do it all , 7 Websites , footy and work. Obviously no play time for a young fella. While i'm at it , what I've heard so far is to write more about the games, than other stuff. No doubt you will get more stuff from the clubs that haven't so far young fella

Listen goose, he might have been named, but when the game was on he didn't. Team sheets are exchanged before the game, that's what matters, so to say he went well when he didn't play is mind bogling

He didn't what?

Is bogling the continuous past tense of that kids' game?

Edited for grammatical correctness.:D

Perhaps you are over extending your resources, just a little bit. In past volumes of the Amateur Footballer, the division scribes went to the effort of building lines of communication with clubs in their competition. Attended games, contacted coaches and enthusiastic club members. They had the ability to call a mate at such and such a club and get a bit of gossip. Hyperbole or fact. At least they were in touch with the competition. Yeah, they were volunteers also, but they made a fist of it. Followers of the competition hung out for the weekly tome to get the info they craved. What we have today is, sadly, a rehash of the results. Scant analysis and merely lip service. If you're TOO busy, Fcuk off and give a gonzo journalist the gig. Don't rely on your sycophantic connections to constipate the reports. M'kay? End of rant.:cool:
Firstly, you're a tosser. If you'd read the thread you'd realise that he plays so he can't attend games. I remember chatting checking the VAFA website on the Sunday and it had him in the 22 still.. If you're still bitter about the M Michael thing then being it up with the VAFA you miserable bloke. End of conversation

Tosser? Miserable? I said nothing, nothing about Michael. Get your facts straight before you get on the idiot juice. And, keep it real!

Tosser? Miserable bloke? I made no reference to M.Michael. Not at all. Get your facts straight before you get on the lunatic syrup! I simply made comment about the paucity of good reporting in the Amateur Footballer. Unless you're sharing a bed with the D1 scribe.

Ok, I'll bite.

1. Will fell for the trick of trying to write in a bit of a vacuum, as he obviously presumed Michael played at the time he wrote his article. Hardly an offence which deserves a lynching in my book, but I'm only one of several keyboard warriors who are happy to type posts here, so everyone's entitled to an opinion.

NB: I was forced to do the same once in late 2006 (as I missed the C Grade GF due to a family function, and my highly reliable Ajax contact understandably went to ground after the game, and no one from STBMT ever contacted me once, not once, during the year). I copped heaps from the winning club, as I had to write a fictitious account of a game I never saw, and had no real information on, and you know what ? - it made me feel like sh!t.:cry:

2. Deadline for AF columns is traditionally 10am on Tuesday, so we used to write them Sunday/Monday based on what info we could garner from our contacts, club websites, and sometimes simply the results.

3. I got to the stage of not writing about games where neither club gave me info. Frankly, if they opened up the AF and didn't get a run down of their game, it usuallygot someone into the habit of corresponding. If not, I thought bugger it, I'll write about the games/clubs who do the right thing and give me info.

4. Week 1 was a monumental balls up for the website, and at the time columns were due, up to date info re: final sides may not have been available. So Will's error is understandable, but still not his finest moment.

5. In the time it has taken probably 30 people aligned with maybe 6 or 7 D1 clubs, who may well be at their games tomorrow, to read this drivel, they themselves could SO EASILY type a 2 paragraph run down of their game and PM it to Will on Sunday morning. That way, he will have 6 or 7 accounts to use for his column, thereby ensuring accuracy and reader satisfaction.

Go on, I dare ya. :p

Couldn't agree more richo. How you think you can attack the guys that do this for free when you don't offer to do the role yourself is just arrogant. You make out like you know everything about the vafa but apparently respect for the great volunteers that make this a great league was a class you missed

Ok, I'll bite.

1. Will fell for the trick of trying to write in a bit of a vacuum, as he obviously presumed Michael played at the time he wrote his article. Hardly an offence which deserves a lynching in my book, but I'm only one of several keyboard warriors who are happy to type posts here, so everyone's entitled to an opinion.

NB: I was forced to do the same once in late 2006 (as I missed the C Grade GF due to a family function, and my highly reliable Ajax contact understandably went to ground after the game, and no one from STBMT ever contacted me once, not once, during the year). I copped heaps from the winning club, as I had to write a fictitious account of a game I never saw, and had no real information on, and you know what ? - it made me feel like sh!t.:cry:

2. Deadline for AF columns is traditionally 10am on Tuesday, so we used to write them Sunday/Monday based on what info we could garner from our contacts, club websites, and sometimes simply the results.

3. I got to the stage of not writing about games where neither club gave me info. Frankly, if they opened up the AF and didn't get a run down of their game, it usuallygot someone into the habit of corresponding. If not, I thought bugger it, I'll write about the games/clubs who do the right thing and give me info.

4. Week 1 was a monumental balls up for the website, and at the time columns were due, up to date info re: final sides may not have been available. So Will's error is understandable, but still not his finest moment.

5. In the time it has taken probably 30 people aligned with maybe 6 or 7 D1 clubs, who may well be at their games tomorrow, to read this drivel, they themselves could SO EASILY type a 2 paragraph run down of their game and PM it to Will on Sunday morning. That way, he will have 6 or 7 accounts to use for his column, thereby ensuring accuracy and reader satisfaction.

Go on, I dare ya. [emoji14]
Scribe this isn't court. Much easier just to say sidewinder stop being such a tosser

The D1 thread has come to life! Look forward to plenty more banter for the rest of the season.

Next week's write up promises a lot if all of us critics give Willie a run down of the games.

Tosser? Miserable bloke? I made no reference to M.Michael. Not at all. Get your facts straight before you get on the lunatic syrup! I simply made comment about the paucity of good reporting in the Amateur Footballer. Unless you're sharing a bed with the D1 scribe.
Sweet mate

It all gets down to M. Michael didn't play and wasn't in the best or goalkickers on the day and was not on the selected team on Monday. Not hard to check. Scribe I hope all is well at Coburg.
He was in the selected team on Monday.

Is this guy serious??? Is the same clown that used to follow Elsternwick?? Used to bag players when he couldn't give an example of ever having a kick in anger, now bagging the scribe when he probably hasn't written a published piece in his life.
Same sh*t, different section.
I don't see people falling over themselves to put their hands up to write for the record so how about some appreciation for someone who's willing to do it.
I've got an idea, if you don't like what's written don't read the friggin thing. Or, better still contact the scribe, give him your worldly and educated opinion so that the pieces can begin to meet your expectations.
Unless you are prepared to put your hand up to contribute to the solution, I suggest you keep your self righteous drivel to yourself.