2016 Draft discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

another observation why did we pick up a ruckman who has mostly been playing vfl reserves? surely there are actual ruckman playing vfl regularly that we should consider as cover/depth?

By and large the ruckmen playing VFL regularly are the depth rucks of Victorian AFL teams. McInerney rose through the ranks pretty quickly and wound up playing seniors pretty consistently in the back end of the season.

Or we should just pick the best one available maybe? The one with he most potential?

I am very excited for Cox, those skills and line breaking ability look a real treat.. Mcluggage is the complete package but Cox has that wow factor.. I don't think I have seen someone so capable off both feet since Aka.

FYI the north Ballarat rebels had a draft preview and it's great to see them interviewed prior to draft as well as highlights.. Cox seemed in the right frame of mind with his move he wanted to get out of the bubble and expose himself to new environment and give himself a chance.. seriously we have to nurture this kid he could become my favourite lion very soon!! Love the pick!!

I am very excited for Cox, those skills and line breaking ability look a real treat.. Mcluggage is the complete package but Cox has that wow factor.. I don't think I have seen someone so capable off both feet since Aka.

FYI the north Ballarat rebels had a draft preview and it's great to see them interviewed prior to draft as well as highlights.. Cox seemed in the right frame of mind with his move he wanted to get out of the bubble and expose himself to new environment and give himself a chance.. seriously we have to nurture this kid he could become my favourite lion very soon!! Love the pick!!
I was not impressed with his performance.

Yeah mate, agreed. If he doesn't earn his spot, it's the NEAFL. Of everything that we know about the Noble and Fagan combo, I reckon it's a certainty that nobody's position is safe.
And thank god for that right Haso? I think a fair few players on our list have coasted by on reputation. Hopefully the additions of some mature aged midfielders like Barrett and Grewar who are proven performers in the NEAFL can put a bit of pressure on some of our bigger names if they don't crack in and perform.

I was not impressed with his performance.
In the interview? He obviously isn't polished but a decision to move to country Victoria is a big deal and I think you may be selling him short..

I am sure if buddy franklin was interviewed at 17 he would have seemed even worse.. the most important thing is development and player welfare, gotta be able to harness the talent and nurture them.. Eddie betts didn't know how to read when he was drafted, some of these kids come from a long way back but the talent is worthwhile..

Hawthorns record with aboriginal talent has been quite excellent and I am hoping that fagan and co can build somewhat of a culture to help these kids.. Bundy should have a good head on his shoulders by now and needs to take Cedric under his wing IMO

I bet our recruiters are stoked to get Hinge in the rookie draft. He has a beautiful left foot kick coming out of the defensive 50. We've done well to add some class this off season with the likes of McCluggage, Witherden, Cox and Hinge.

Last time I was happy was September, 2003.
Typical you'd get joy from us losing to Collingwood in the qualifying final :rolleyes:

Extremely disappointed with our draft. Did we really need to pick 10 halfback flankers?
The thing with this draft is that it is so midfield heavy that lots were playing out of position on forward or back flanks. Heaps of this draft will end up being full time mids IMO. Florent is a obvious example of this. With the Lions Berry could be groomed as a mid, and Cox could play anywhere. Witherden obviously picked for a HB role but even still has mid capabilities