List Mgmt. 2016 Draft Prospects(Poll Added)

• Thread starter Thread starter Dav1d

Which player do you want at our first & second pick?

• Daniel Venables

Votes: 14 9.2%
  • Will Hayward

Votes: 20 13.2%
  • Jy Simpkin

Votes: 15 9.9%
  • Sam Powell-Pepper

Votes: 7 4.6%
  • Shai Bolton

Votes: 9 5.9%
  • Zach Sproule

Votes: 3 2.0%
  • Harrison Macreadie

Votes: 8 5.3%
  • Todd Marshall

Votes: 38 25.0%
  • Jarrod Berry

Votes: 19 12.5%
  • Jordan Galluci

• Oliver Florent

Votes: 12 7.9%
  • Jack Scrimshaw

• Luke Ryan

• Josh Battle

Votes: 25 16.4%
  • Willem Drew

Votes: 3 2.0%
  • Jack Maibum

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • Joe Atley

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • Tim English

Votes: 31 20.4%
  • Josh Rotham

• Patrick Kerr

Votes: 4 2.6%
  • Alex Witherden

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Brennan Cox

Votes: 6 3.9%

English seems like Bevo's dream ruckman, I reckon he'd be thrilled with him.

Something off topic but Bevo Son is very talented and is a perfect player for a coach. listens and acts on what are his weakness and really has a crack

No to drafting a ruckman early.

1. We just won a premiership without a pure ruckman
2. Bevo appears not to rate ruckmen.
3. Trade rather than draft for ruckmen like the Swans and Hawks have done. The game is constantly changing so trying to develop a young ruck for tomorrow's game style can be fraught with danger (Remember Skipper).

Instead we should be drafting mobiles (read midfielders) of all shapes and sizes with absolute leadership qualities (including adaptability, selflessness and resilience).

I agree. Tom English is effectively trying to tear down our great club.

Who is Tom English?

I wasn't singling out Tim English though(he hasn't played AFL?), it would probably be a cop out reason from them but when skinny players say after a few years they want more opportunity when their body was not ready to play senior footy it just bugs me

They'd rather play when they weren't ready & get a serious injury? Sorry mate, I just don't get it or like when I hear that
At any club and in any sport, it just seems so ungrateful in my opinion

But if you don't agree, well fair enough.

It's not like we have a top 5 pick and are using that on a ruck, it's pick 18. That's about where Grundy went. I don't think it's a question of if that's too early for a ruck, just whether he's good enough.

If we go for English @ our first then I'd like us to still grab a developing forward with one of our later picks. Such as:

Esava RATUGOLEA
Ht: 194.0cm | Wt: 93.6kg | Key Forward | Murray Bushrangers

Another one to watch:

Plays a bit like Westoff

Edit: Also was very much involved in the funniest way to win a grand final ever.

His weight is exactly 10kg off the AFL's so I'd say it is a typo and there is no way he is 96kg. He does need to slim down a bit but not that much!

Ever since he spent some time down at tiger land, there should be some cause for concern. Chubby Yarren and even Prestia looked a little bulky from the photos I saw. They sacked everyone at tiger land except the coach and probably hired the the toilet cleaner as the head of conditioning no doubt.

But in all seriousness it is very unlikely and I am having a bit of a joke. It has happened before though. I remember Allen Christenson was a very talented junior expected to go first round, but then he turned up to the combine very overweight apparently and went late in the draft. Anyway like I said it's probably unlikely and you're probably right that it's just a typo.

Battle looks a great prospect to my uneducated eye at Pick 26 if he is still available.

Not really interested in playing the super long term game with English or Marshall.

Who is Tom English?

I wasn't singling out Tim English though(he hasn't played AFL?), it would probably be a cop out reason from them but when skinny players say after a few years they want more opportunity when their body was not ready to play senior footy it just bugs me

They'd rather play when they weren't ready & get a serious injury? Sorry mate, I just don't get it or like when I hear that
At any club and in any sport, it just seems so ungrateful in my opinion

But if you don't agree, well fair enough.

Dude, I was just having a laugh. And apologies for the Tom/Tim typo. Maybe we should just get it over with and trade me and English to freo for pick 78.

No to drafting a ruckman early.

1. We just won a premiership without a pure ruckman
2. Bevo appears not to rate ruckmen.
3. Trade rather than draft for ruckmen like the Swans and Hawks have done. The game is constantly changing so trying to develop a young ruck for tomorrow's game style can be fraught with danger (Remember Skipper).

Instead we should be drafting mobiles (read midfielders) of all shapes and sizes with absolute leadership qualities (including adaptability, selflessness and resilience).
I'm not sure you fully understand the type of player English is. He's a mobile, 205cm quasi-ruckman with elite kicking skills. For what it's worth, many recruiters don't believe he has true ruck capabilities, rather, see him as a future 205cm intercept-marking defender - what I want him to be. He's not my most favoured pick at 18 but he has a shitload of talent and if Dal thinks he's got what it takes then I'd fully trust us to pick him up. He's also likely to keep growing - getting into 206-207cm would greatly assist him in his ruckwork, having that extra height advantage.

He reckons that he puts on weight easily when his "diet and gym are in check", so that looks optimistic towards him not being an Ayce Cordy type. Also is very well-spoken, seems quiet, focused.

The major concern I have for English is that he tested the worst for agility at the combine. There are very few good players with terrible agility.

Watch his highlight reel, it's certainly not as bad on the field as it might seem, in fact, for a ruckman his mobility is excellent.

Just rewatching Oliver Florent's vision, you'd be hard-pressed to criticise his impact on games. I'm really not sure how you couldn't be impressed by him. Breaks the lines with impressive burst speed and recorded a 15.1 beep, can win the ball in the midfield and is more-often-than-not a quality ball user.

Was the last player we drafted from our VFL side Brett Goodes, for
a team that has won two of the last three flags don't you find it
odd that we have not drafted a player from our VFL team ?
I'm saying we have control over our players compared to when we played with Williamstown, often the players named would play forward one week then back the next, even playing in the development side.

We are in a much better position now having our own VFL side

Just rewatching Oliver Florent's vision, you'd be hard-pressed to criticise his impact on games. I'm really not sure how you couldn't be impressed by him. Breaks the lines with impressive burst speed and recorded a 15.1 beep, can win the ball in the midfield and is more-often-than-not a quality ball user.
Interestingly be didn't test that fast but I agree looks to take the game on and has a fairly good set of attributes.