Analysis 2016 Draft...

• Thread starter Thread starter FAITH

Who do you realistically want @13?

Alright, I've been posted with the Crows for the Dogs phantom, so am interested to hear who you would be looking to select. Who are you guys most interested in at 13, and what smokies should I look out for at 43 and 53?

I hear the knock on his kicking is greatly exaggerated....

Didn't he score a perfect 30/30 in the goal kicking test at the combine?
Well it is exaggerated to an extent but he just doesn't take time to compose himself with kicking. It's just inconsistent.

I reckon we look to take mids late draft. Jack Graham and Hamish Brayshaw might be available at our third round picks.
We don't need forwards in the short to medium term, we dont need defenders at all.

We need quality mids and if we don't take one at 13 watch the melts.

I reckon we look to take mids late draft. Jack Graham and Hamish Brayshaw might be available at our third round picks.

You are crazy, remind me what our club is screaming for, FFS we are looking at Barlow, who is discarded by the Dockers as he is cooked.

Percentages say the lower in the draft will get you more success, that simply cant be denied

We don't need forwards in the short to medium term, we dont need defenders at all.

We need quality mids and if we don't take one at 13 watch the melts.

Probaby beacuse every media outlet or Football proffesional will be bagging our midfielder all year, it has already started by what is being said and printed. And I tend to agree with them, to deny it, is putting your head in the sand

Can Brodie Smith kick OK??
Berry and Smith are virtual clones in every way apart from one major point of difference.....hardness/aggression...in that regard Berry I would class as a real hard nut...Brodie Smith not so much.

Read the piece above I posted from the Grand Final of the Herald Sun Country Shield Schools comp for an indication..

Yep, I am fan of Berry. And I would take him for pick for 13. :)
I always liked Berry he adds a point of difference to our current midfield mix with his size and in a few of his highlights he body positioning showing he knows how to use it too his advantage, He has all the tools to be a top A grade Plus Footballer and now I will take your word as one of few that have seen him live, with good Kicking,
For those that don't understand why I rate kicking so highly, I only rate the kicking in space , not the kicking under pressure, At this age. If they cannot kick in space and make the right choice, they are not going to improve under pressure.

Todd Marshall will be in the mix as well for our pick. A lot of players have jumped ahead of him in the draft with the likes of Logue and Taranto. Nic size and we have a habit of developing talls very well. He's one I would love to take if he's available. Venables im still not sure about. Jy would be a nice pick up at 13. Same with Jarrod Berry.

Marshall may be the replacement for Tex and Dear is JJ's replacement. I can see that happening.
Didn't do that with Doedee though

Brayshaw is a no from me, much sooner take a chance on a guy like Ben Ronke, way better speed and acceleration than Brayshaw and thrives on the contested stuff......already physically developed and ready to go.

You are crazy, remind me what our club is screaming for, FFS we are looking at Barlow, who is discarded by the Dockers as he is cooked.

Percentages say the lower in the draft will get you more success, that simply cant be denied
The mids who are left on the board at 13 are not of the quality we need through there. We need inside midfielders and all of the top mids will be gone and and players like Marshall and Berry will be there for the taking. There are plenty of quality mids in the draft who will be available late draft due to the fact that there are a lot of midfielders in the draft. Players like Graham, Parfitt, Brayshaw, Baker, Ronke etc. Might be available by and would be great pick ups. I agree our midfield is lacking but there isn't much midfield talent around the teens of the draft.

I think the issue when you go that late for players is you get players who have defects to their game. We need A grade talent, I know people point out Sloane at 44, but he's almost one of a kind at that point.

Picking a mid at 13 gives us our best chance to find that quality midfielder we desperately need.

Alright, I've been posted with the Crows for the Dogs phantom, so am interested to hear who you would be looking to select. Who are you guys most interested in at 13, and what smokies should I look out for at 43 and 53?
Venables/SPP/Berry seem the contentious ones for 13.

My personal later favourites would probably be Bailey Morrish, Myles Poholke, Tyson Stengle, Brodie Romensky, Reece Piper and Quinton Narkle. Some like Stengle could well be around our fourth pick at 67, whereas others like Poholke would probably need to be picked up at 43.

Brayshaw is a no from me, much sooner take a chance on a guy like Ben Ronke, way better speed and acceleration than Brayshaw and thrives on the contested stuff......already physically developed and ready to go.
Agree on Ronke. His VFL form is great let alone his TAC campaign.

Brayshaw does lack some pace but has size and skill. He's AFL ready and loves the hard stuff. Really similar to his brother in that aspect.

Brandon Parfitt as well I reckon we should target with our pick 46 or 56.

Don't want Graham, honestly. Brayshaw maybe, but would prefer a mid with 13. Don't think we need a developing KPF until next year, where there's heaps of them (CCJ, for example).

Can I ask why you're not keen on Venables/SPP?

I think the issue when you go that late for players is you get players who have defects to their game. We need A grade talent, I know people point out Sloane at 44, but he's almost one of a kind at that point.

Picking a mid at 13 gives us our best chance to find that quality midfielder we desperately need.
The problem is that the next midfielder worth selecting is a second round talent. That's My issue. Unless Florent somehow slides or we try to turn Berry into a midfielder. Simpkin is another option but is still not an onside mid like we need.

Don't want Graham, honestly. Brayshaw maybe, but would prefer a mid with 13. Don't think we need a developing KPF until next year, where there's heaps of them (CCJ, for example).

Can I ask why you're not keen on Venables/SPP?
Venables is just inconsistent. His best is dominant and game changing. His worst is meh. We need consistent performers and unless we are willing to take time to get him to become consistent I reckon we pass. He would be a two to three year prject in a consistency sense.

Sam Powell-Pepper is athletically good enough but he wastes the ball often. We already have Matt Crouch who wastes the ball enough. If his kicking was a better then average he would be in the conversation for top ten.

You will always find gems or ones that slipped through the cracks, the best ever would have to be James Hird at pick 79, one of the best 20 footballers Ive ever seen. but as you said the earlier the pick the greater chance of success

Venables is just inconsistent. His best is dominant and game changing. His worst is meh. We need consistent performers and unless we are willing to take time to get him to become consistent I reckon we pass. He would be a two to three year prject in a consistency sense.

Sam Powell-Pepper is athletically good enough but he wastes the ball often. We already have Matt Crouch who wastes the ball enough. If his kicking was a better then average he would be in the conversation for top ten.

Consistency is the key, if McGovern and Cameron dont develop that into their game, it may see some disspointment for them, the whole reason Mackay cops shit on here.

Like if he could get 20 disposals a game every week I would take him Top 5 easily.

On Venables - don't understand why you'd want Marshall then? If it's going to take Venables two to three years to develop consistency (which I personally believe won't be needed, as we're very good at developing tanks), it's going to take Marshall four years to become a good KPF. Crows more often than not focus on drafting players who have very high ceilings. This is Venables to a tee. He will be a very good explosive mid in the long run if drafted by us, a taller Luke Shuey if you will.

SPP's kicking isn't great, I'll give you that, but it has improved this year. I think his kicking is more to do with footy smarts than an actual kicking deficiency. If we can teach him to pick the right options and be clever with his ball use rather than just explode out of packs and kick it anywhere (plus other things, e.g. teach him to accumulate), he'll be a very good midfielder. I'm more confident with Venables, though.

I also see there's more people that are roasting Mrouch's kicking skills :rolleyes:

On Venables - don't understand why you'd want Marshall then? If it's going to take Venables two to three years to develop consistency (which I personally believe won't be needed, as we're very good at developing tanks), it's going to take Marshall four years to become a good KPF. Crows more often than not focus on drafting players who have very high ceilings. This is Venables to a tee. He will be a very good explosive mid in the long run if drafted by us, a taller Luke Shuey if you will.

SPP's kicking isn't great, I'll give you that, but it has improved this year. I think his kicking is more to do with footy smarts than an actual kicking deficiency. If we can teach him to pick the right options and be clever with his ball use rather than just explode out of packs and kick it anywhere (plus other things, e.g. teach him to accumulate), he'll be a very good midfielder. I'm more confident with Venables, though.

I also see there's more people that are roasting Mrouch's kicking skills :rolleyes:
1. The reason I proposed Marshall as an option is the lack of key forward depth we have. If JJ or Tex gets injured we don't have too much to back up. If we have Marshall we make sure we have some extra depth their. We still have depth in out midfield, just not quality depth.

2. SPPs kicking has improved defienetly but I wouldn't call it AFL standard just yet. A lot of that has to do with decision making like you have said but I also has to do with his lack of ball control with his ball drop when kicking. This is something we will need to consider as we already have a player similar to him in CEY.

3. I'm not bashing Matt Crouch's kicking but I'm saying that we don't need any extra midfielders who can waste the ball. We already have plenty of them. We need good ball users in the midfield, not just players who can win clearances. If we want players like that we can pick someone later like Graham who isn't a great ball user.

1. The reason I proposed Marshall as an option is the lack of key forward depth we have. If JJ or Tex gets injured we don't have too much to back up. If we have Marshall we make sure we have some extra depth their. We still have depth in out midfield, just not quality depth.

2. SPPs kicking has improved defienetly but I wouldn't call it AFL standard just yet. A lot of that has to do with decision making like you have said but I also has to do with his lack of ball control with his ball drop when kicking. This is something we will need to consider as we already have a player similar to him in CEY.

3. I'm not bashing Matt Crouch's kicking but I'm saying that we don't need any extra midfielders who can waste the ball. We already have plenty of them. We need good ball users in the midfield, not just players who can win clearances. If we want players like that we can pick someone later like Graham who isn't a great ball user.
I wouldn't be drafting players with first rounders based on our depth needs - I'd be drafting them based on what they could end up as. We certainly need a mid with a point of difference sometime in the future, sooner than we need a KPF, anyway. We can leave the KPF until next year, when there's loads of them. In the meanwhile, we can either run with a 3-pronged tall forward line instead of a 4-pronged one, or in even worse circumstances, play Dear, which isn't the end of the world by any means.

Yeah composure, in regards to ball drop, is something that SPP will have to develop too, but that can be easily worked on. It's not a flaw that will be immensely hard to fix.

I wouldn't say that too many of our mids do have the ability to waste the ball when in non-contested situations. It's very hard to kick the footy out of congestion and consistently hit a target. Do agree that we need good ball users, though, of which Venables is already one :)