Analysis 2016 Draft...

• Thread starter Thread starter FAITH

Who do you realistically want @13?

I wouldn't be drafting players with first rounders based on our depth needs - I'd be drafting them based on what they could end up as. We certainly need a mid with a point of difference sometime in the future, sooner than we need a KPF, anyway. We can leave the KPF until next year, when there's loads of them. In the meanwhile, we can either run with a 3-pronged tall forward line instead of a 4-pronged one, or in even worse circumstances, play Dear, which isn't the end of the world by any means.

Yeah composure, in regards to ball drop, is something that SPP will have to develop too, but that can be easily worked on. It's not a flaw that will be immensely hard to fix.

I wouldn't say that too many of our mids do have the ability to waste the ball when in non-contested situations. It's very hard to kick the footy out of congestion and consistently hit a target. Do agree that we need good ball users, though, of which Venables is already one :)
Who is the third prong in that forward line? I consider McGovern as a medium forward and Lynch as a roaming half forward. Marshall could be the best player in the draft.

Agree with everything you said on SPP.

Thats where the consistency comes in with Venables. Not sure he can put in a string of good performancces for more then two weeks. Like I would be fine with taking him with the premise that he has to develop consistency in the SANFL before he makes his debut.

Who is the third prong in that forward line? I consider McGovern as a medium forward and Lynch as a roaming half forward. Marshall could be the best player in the draft.

Agree with everything you said on SPP.

Thats where the consistency comes in with Venables. Not sure he can put in a string of good performancces for more then two weeks. Like I would be fine with taking him with the premise that he has to develop consistency in the SANFL before he makes his debut.
Reckon Gov has the ability to play multiple positions with his marking ability and general footy smarts (KPF, 3rd tall, medium forward). Lynch is very much a 3rd tall who has the ability to go into the midfield. We'll be very easily able to adapt if injury arises.

Venables' consistency will come when he develops a tank, which will certainly happen with us, given our history of developing endurance levels. When he does this, he will become a very, very good midfielder.

I'd be really happy with either Daniel Venables, Jarrod Berry or Oliver Florent. I have liked what I have seen and read about Venables, sounds like just the type of player we need.

Sorry if this is in the wrong spot

How many Adelaide players can there be delisted
and when is the cut off time

Can delist as many players as we like, there's just a minimum quota for list turnover which we've met. There's multiple different list lodgements, before which players can be delisted, the last would be just before the PSD I suspect.

so we've opened up four spots on the main list so far? (Van Berlo, Jaensch, Lowden, Lyons), with picks 13, 43, 53, 67, 89 and 107 for the draft.

will we delist Grigg, Shaw? What about Henderson, will he go as a DFA?

I imagine at this stage we're looking at using 13, 43 and 53 on new players and will look to upgrade one of Greenwood or Keath or even both if Grigg or Henderson goes as well. I suspect Thommo's age and trading Lyons MIGHT throw a lifeline to Grigg, even if its only in case we need him in a last-mid standing situation due to injuries.

quite keen on both Greenwood and Keath, and while as Cat B's we don't need to upgrade them to add three new rookies I'd like to show at least one of them that opportunities are coming, they're coming on pretty well.

EDIT: and that's not even throwing Ben Jarman into the mix :eek: our drafting strategy is going to be very interesting that's for sure.

Seen much of Hayward ? I think he could be a boom pick in this draft forward/ mid even

I'm usually biased against the SA kids but he could have a lot of development in him and has me excited

Would be a risk at 13 though but ....

Hope we don't miss him and he turns into Fyfe

He's so clean at ground level , remarkable contested mark and vertical leap and a good dose of aggression ( despite being underdeveloped) Also a good kick

I've watched Hayward a fair bit over the past few years. Everything you have said is pretty much on the money.
He has a great vertical, good hands in a marking contest, reasonable speed, a booming kick and is aggressive & tough. He has a nice mean streak in him as well.

I have seen him dominate as a defender - reading the ball across half back similar to A Francis.
I have seen him dominate forward - as we saw in the U18's towards the end of the year. Note that he actually broke a bone in his hand in his last school game and had to protect it during the SANFL finals!!
I have also seen him show glimpses of being a quality midfielder.

The questions are as to whether he is a half forward/half back, or if he can become a legitimate midfielder.

If you watched that U18 All-star match, you will have seen that they played him on the wing mainly. Clubs clearly wanted to see him up the ground. In this game what stood out most was his clean hands on the inside of the contest.

The criticism of him as a midfielder is his work rate around the ground. He tends to coast around and doesn't get to as many contests as he should. He does however impact almost every contest he is in.

Personally I think if he gets in the right situation and is developed as a mid, he will end up a very high end midfielder. He will be that marking, goal kicking midfielder.

#13 is a bit of a reach given the lack of exposed form in the middle, but I would not be upset if we took the chance. His ceiling could be very, very high.

The criticism of him as a midfielder is his work rate around the ground. He tends to coast around and doesn't get to as many contests as he should. He does however impact almost every contest he is in.
if his beep test is no good I'm not interested ;)

I've watched Hayward a fair bit over the past few years. Everything you have said is pretty much on the money.
He has a great vertical, good hands in a marking contest, reasonable speed, a booming kick and is aggressive & tough. He has a nice mean streak in him as well.

I have seen him dominate as a defender - reading the ball across half back similar to A Francis.
I have seen him dominate forward - as we saw in the U18's towards the end of the year. Note that he actually broke a bone in his hand in his last school game and had to protect it during the SANFL finals!!

The questions are as to whether he is a half forward/half back, or if he can become a legitimate midfielder.

If you watched that U18 All-star match, you will have seen that they played him on the wing mainly. Clubs clearly wanted to see him up the ground. In this game what stood out most was his clean hands on the inside of the contest.

Personally I think if he gets in the right situation and is developed as a mid, he will end up a very high end midfielder. He will be that marking, goal kicking midfielder.

#13 is a bit of a reach given the lack of exposed form in the middle, but I would not be upset if we took the chance. His ceiling could be very, very high.

If you have watched a fair bit of Hayward over the years you would have watched a fair bit of College footy, Sacred Heart seems the strongest team I think they had the leading Goal Kicker and Immanuel the second, what do you think of those two forwards they were half forward types also quite tall and could run all day

Definitely a risk at 13 but also a massive upside

I look back to Fyfe ( not saying he will be anywhere near as good ) but a skinny undersized forward with some clean hands , no one would have expected what is to come

Clean hands and winning a contested situation take you a long way in AFL football ... he has that and more

I'm surprised there is no talk on hear re Oliver Florent. Is it because many think he'll be gone by our first pick or because he isn't a big bodied mid. Late in the year in the all stars game he was BOG playing as a genuine mid. He could be similar to Josh Kelly imo. Classy, moves well, can play inside/outside, can do it all. I'm surprised he isn't being talk about as a viable option.
Go home factor is strong, after sadly the death of his father with a single mum and younger siblings the pull of home will be strong.

Isnt the gome home factor strong on all Victorian if they are any good and start getting over 25 years of Age. Im pretty sure we had that problem with Sloane feilding offers, Tex on the other hand doesnt have a AFL team in Broken Hill

If you have watched a fair bit of Hayward over the years you would have watched a fair bit of College footy, Sacred Heart seems the strongest team I think they had the leading Goal Kicker and Immanuel the second, what do you think of those two forwards they were half forward types also quite tall and could run all day
Sacred Heart strong, PAC strong. Immanuel not at that level.
There was one Yr 11 I remember watching who was big, strong and dominant. I thought he was Rostrevor though?

if his beep test is no good I'm not interested ;)
I don't think that is an issue. He has a physique that will allow him to become elite in terms of endurance.
he just hasn't had to and so doesn't know just how hard he can actually work yet. In the right system, he will pick it up quickly.

Isnt the gome home factor strong on all Victorian if they are any good and start getting over 25 years of Age. Im pretty sure we had that problem with Sloane feilding offers, Tex on the other hand doesnt have a AFL team in Broken Hill

Sandringham Dragons are the ones I really worry about, mostly city "slickers" and in the main Private Schoolboys.

I don't think that is an issue. He has a physique that will allow him to become elite in terms of endurance.
he just hasn't had to and so doesn't know just how hard he can actually work yet. In the right system, he will pick it up quickly.
sorry mate, only taking the piss, I think our recruiting department has turned that corner.

so we've opened up four spots on the main list so far? (Van Berlo, Jaensch, Lowden, Lyons), with picks 13, 43, 53, 67, 89 and 107 for the draft.

I imagine at this stage we're looking at using 13, 43 and 53 on new players and will look to upgrade one of Greenwood or Keath or even both if Grigg or Henderson goes as well. I suspect Thommo's age and trading Lyons MIGHT throw a lifeline to Grigg, even if its only in case we need him in a last-mid standing situation due to injuries.

quite keen on both Greenwood and Keath, and while as Cat B's we don't need to upgrade them to add three new rookies I'd like to show at least one of them that opportunities are coming, they're coming on pretty well.

EDIT: and that's not even throwing Ben Jarman into the mix :eek: our drafting strategy is going to be very interesting that's for sure.

Jarman's only got 3 days more to make his intentions known as to his preferred destination club, Monday is D Day.

There was one Yr 11 I remember watching who was big, strong and dominant. I thought he was Rostrevor though?

What did you think of the two lads that were 1st and 2nd in leading goal kicking they were both half forward types? from SHC and Immanuel

and I know SHC were strong they won the whole thing

Immanuel probably would have been strong if Villis, Sharenberg and Hampton had played more than a handfull of games

Sandringham Dragons are the ones I really worry about, mostly city "slickers" and in the main Private Schoolboys.

So given two kids one from SA or one from Vic where the crows see it line ball even a little in favor of the Vic lad you would go home grown everytime, or get screwed like we did with PD, so many years of development especially in his early years where it probably cost us playing him to get a year or two of the payback then off to win a brownlow elsewehere at the peak

What did you think of the two lads that were 1st and 2nd in leading goal kicking they were both half forward types? from SHC and Immanuel

and I know SHC were strong they won the whole thing
Can't say either stood out to me. Can't even think of their names off top of my head. Remember guys like Brind looked like Guns in the SHC team, but weren't that good outside of it.
PAC have a few to keep a close eye on. Hugo Barry could be special.

Looking at this, I would go for Barlow and see if we can get him in. If we do;

OUT: VB, Jaensch, Lowden, Lyons, Grigg, Henderson (DFA)
IN: #13,#43, B Jarman (#53), upgrade O'Brien, upgrade Greenwood + Barlow (DFA)

Looking at this, I would go for Barlow and see if we can get him in. If we do;

OUT: VB, Jaensch, Lowden, Lyons, Grigg, Henderson (DFA)
IN: #13,#43, B Jarman (#53), upgrade O'Brien, upgrade Greenwood + Barlow (DFA)
I'm not huge on the Barlow idea but does make a lot more sense than keeping Grigg around again.