Analysis 2016 Fixture

Where did you see that? All I can find on TV schedules is the first 10 rounds, which has us having one (1) game where Channel 7 is the host network - at home to Richmond in round 9.

How do the other sides fare in the first 10 rounds I hear you ask?

Collingwood 8
Richmond 8
West Bullies 8
Hawthorn 7
Essendon 6
Geelong 6
Carlton 5
St Kilda 5
Adelaide 4
Melbourne 4
Norf 4
Port Ad 4
Sydney 4
Gold Coast 2
WCE 2
Brisbane 1
Fremantle 1
GWS 1

Thanks goodness we're playing Richmond, otherwise there'd be none!
Updated list of teams with games hosted by Channel 7 until round 15:

Collingwood 11
Richmond 11
Hawthorn 10
Western Bullies 10
Essendon 9
Geelong 9
Norf 8
Carlton 6
Melbourne 6
St Kilda 6
Adelaide 5
Port Ad 5
Sydney 4
WCE 4
Fremantle 3
Gold Coast 3
Brisbane 1
GWS 1

We get two more... Essendon at home & Collingwood away (when I'll be at the game).

So in 4 of the last 5 years we've had to travel to Tassie to play the Hawks and the one year we didn't the Eagles had to travel there. And we get one game at the MCG? One? What a joke. At least the rest of our fixture semi makes up for this, but Christ that's so legitimately unfair for Fremantle. I'd rather play Hawthorn twice with one game at the 'G and the other at Subi than to just get belted over in Antarctica every year.

Practice makes perfect;)

I think WC got it this year, it's like they just swap our draws around every year.

If we finish top 2:

R19 H
R20 H*
R21 H
R22 A
R23 H
BYE H
QF1 H
Wk2 H (week off)
PF1 H
GF A*

If we finish top 2 and results go our way come finals, we could potentially travel twice in 10 weeks. And only one of those traveling weeks would be to recover for the following week

If we finish top 2:

R19 H
R20 H*
R21 H
R22 A
R23 H
BYE H
QF1 H
Wk2 H (week off)
PF1 H
GF A*

If we finish top 2 and results go our way come finals, we could potentially travel twice in 10 weeks. And only one of those traveling weeks would be to recover for the following week

This must be what it feels like to be a Victorian club.

I reckon you want the toughest run possible. Playing Hawks at home and Swans away this year might have been tests to change something before finals. Our midseason slump came against what was mostly a bunch of crap teams. Had we faced another tough one here or there, something might have changed - or there might have been a chance for something to change.

Updated list of teams with games hosted by Channel 7 until round 15:

Collingwood 11
Richmond 11
Hawthorn 10
Western Bullies 10
Essendon 9
Geelong 9
Norf 8
Carlton 6
Melbourne 6
St Kilda 6
Adelaide 5
Port Ad 5
Sydney 4
WCE 4
Fremantle 3
Gold Coast 3
Brisbane 1
GWS 1

We get two more... Essendon at home & Collingwood away (when I'll be at the game).

Our round 19 game vs Sydney will be on seven nationally as it's at 1.20, my guess is the Essendon game won't be a Seven game.

Double up against Hawks (Tassie) (Wrong about twice - right about Tassie) Eagles(right) and Adelaide.(right)
Double up against Richmond (wrong) and Geelong (wrong)
Everyone else once...with away games at Sydney(wrong),North(Tassie)(correct but not at Tassie), Collingwood,(correct) Brisbane (correct) , Gold Coast(correct) and Carlton(wrong)
Two games at the G (wrong just one !)- Richmond and Collingwood (correct) - with Eddie cracking up cos of our crowd for one of their home games!(probably)

Nearly got it right...reckon about 80% on the money...

Can only be excited to see that now I'm living up here now. Darwin is a good city

I have no doubt when we win the post game celebrations will be somewhat interesting given what I have experienced so far.
Jesus... so there's four of us Freo people up here now?
And I'm only saying that because I've seen (don't know of) a couple of others - I caught a girl at work wearing a Freo shirt in a facebook post and she said she only wore it because she likes purple.
I count it anyway.

Last time we played up here I had to sit through some whiny bloody Eagles supporter's views on why Ross Lyon was a bore and he wasted his money seeing us play Melbourne.
Admittedly, it was one of those games. I think most of the players tended to sort of fall on the ball in relief every time a pack formed because of the heat. Get a short rest, you see.

I only sat through his tirade with the odd non-committal grunt because he works at my favourite butcher (Fannie Bay). Terrible footy knowledge. Eagles supporters, all of them.
Great sausages though.

... other than that, I'm not sure about celebrations. AFL second to rugby up here, everyone's a Hawks supporter, and of course the tourists won't even notice it ever happened.

Pav might try to convince them to let him go to Brisbane etc to get up the Frequent flyer points.

Would you be satisfied with 7 young kids playing ? IE; doing a rd23, 2015 repeat.
Yeah, it would be good to see the young guns. I was thinking of a community thing though. I don't think the Tasmanian market sees a lot of the club on that level.

A few things to complain about (Tassie, 1 x MCG), but they were predictable. All up it is a reasonable draw. Could be worse, look at Adelaide's draw.

I count about half our games which should be wins barring some disaster or drastic change in form from last year. And about half that I'll put in the 50/50 basket for now. I think we should be able to win a fair amount of those and we'll be in the mix for top 4 again.

The start is relatively tricky ... we don't want to fall behind and play catch up to the top sides. The Dogs, WC and North are all tough games. If we start 3-1 or 4-0, we'll be laughing.

Genuine question - do you think the Dockers will take the same approach as last year and have a heavy pre season in order to bank early wins?

It worked spectacularly in a sense that in gave you an unassailable lead, top spot and 2 home finals.
However, its also no secret Fremantle weren't nearly as effective in the 2n'd half of the season..

It was a bold tactic, will be interesting to see if it is used again to negotiate somewhat of a difficult opening month.

Genuine question - do you think the Dockers will take the same approach to last year and have a heavy pre season in order to bank early wins?

It worked specularly in a sense that in gave you an unassailable lead, top spot and 2 home finals.
However its also no secret Fremantle weren't nearly as effective in the 2n'd half of the season..

It was a bold tactic, will be interesting to see if it is used again to negotiate somewhat of a difficult opening month.
I expect they will, the end of the season is mostly at home so more chance at recovery for the sore bodies at that time of year. Wins in the bank are invaluable.

I think the early season form was actually a result of Fyfe being so dominant and opposition coaches not having the plan to counter that yet, Freo were tapping the ball to Fyfe and then two other MIDs were watching him run off with it and not really getting involved.

Genuine question - do you think the Dockers will take the same approach as last year and have a heavy pre season in order to bank early wins?

It worked spectacularly in a sense that in gave you an unassailable lead, top spot and 2 home finals.
However, its also no secret Fremantle weren't nearly as effective in the 2n'd half of the season..

The club is a little bit in transition. I hope they have a plan that plays Suban, de Boer, Mzungu early. Then mid year, opportunity comes for Weller, Apeness, Morabito etc. End of the year pick the best available.