List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

Could Stephenson slip to us?

A few months ago I would say absolutely not but it may not be as much as a stretch as first thought.

1. Brisbane: LDU
2. Freo: RAYNER
3. Carlton: CERRA
4. NM: DOW
5. Freo: COFFIELD
6. Coll: FOGARTY
7. StKilda: BRAYSHAW
8. StKilda: BONAR
9. WB: STEPHENSON

A few months ago I would say absolutely not but it may not be as much as a stretch as first thought.

I would be utterly shocked if North passed on him, regardless of who else is available. He has trained with the North squad and fits their needs to an absolute tee.

I had the same thoughts on Bailey watching his highlights. Breakaway pace, looks good in traffic, kicking doesn't seem so hot. Understand he's not rated as highly as cerra however.

I think if you have breakaway pace, are good in traffic and a good kick you wouldn’t make it past the top 3. Every player is going to have some deficiencies, FWIW I really rate Bailey, can see him being in the frame at 16

Yep I hear you. Guess that's the challenge with the lower picks, likely to be trade offs. How does O'Brien compare to Bailey? Kicking looks very good. Has pace and takes the game on.

Bailey can win his own ball at the source and does so regularly. He is dual sided and quicker than O'brien. He is similar to Treloar stylistically.

O'brien's skills are better than Bailey's but he is very, very outside. Reminds me of Aish, good junior footballer but let's just see what happens when teams don't allow him to get all that easy ball on the outside.

To me I think Bailey will be the better footballer.

Cheers for the insight. I'm really hoping we draft kicking skills and pace if possible. What are your thoughts on Richards and Clark?

Richards has some of the best skills + decision making in the draft. Needs to be more consistent with his ball winning. I like him at 16 not at 9.

Clark has some skills and can rack up the footy but lacks a bit in the decision making side. Because of the latter I have him below other mids like Charlie Constable. Possible at 9 but like him a bit later. I can see oth him and CC being like Macrae and being on the edge of being A grade but not quite there for different reasons, but at the same time being very reliable. They could also improve an extra 5 percent (more likely in my view with CC being of his poise + decision making + skills) and become genuine A graders.

I don't think he has been picked in our Phantom but I doubt that it will happen im the actual thing.

https://thewest.com.au/sport/afl/lion-kyron-hayden-takes-quantum-leap-toward-afl-draft-ng-b88650099z

It felt like Kyron Hayden’s world was caving in, at least in a football sense.

Entering the penultimate year of his junior development, not far out from his planned AFL draft selection, the junior All-Australian was told by doctors he couldn’t run for eight months.

Osteitis pubis hit hard. It was a bitter blow to the budding midfielder, then just 16 years old and with stars in his eyes.

“At the beginning, I thought it was like the worst thing that could happen,” Hayden said.

“But I took it as an opportunity to get in the gym and work on my body and get things right and get strong.

“Once I looked at it that way, I didn’t really have too much of a problem with it. I just looked forward to the 2017 season.

“I got up to about 90kg by round one, so I was looking pretty fit and pretty mean. I did heaps of pelvic floor exercises in rehab and I’ve monitored my load this year and handled it all well, so it’s been all sweet.

“I guess it was a bit of an advantage. I definitely think that my size and athleticism is a strength of mine. That’s my point of difference.

Hayden, 18, proved that during physical testing at last month’s national draft combine in Melbourne, where he eclipsed the long-standing running vertical jump record held by West Coast star Nic Naitanui and former Brisbane and Gold Coast utility player Jared Brennan.

The Subiaco product reached 103cm, breaking the previous mark of 102cm.

His prodigious leap and upper body strength have become significant assets, which allowed him to play the last five WAFL reserves games for the Lions this year, including three lead-up finals and the grand final triumph over South Fremantle.

Six-time Subiaco premiership hero Darren Rumble, now a WAFC player welfare officer and development coach, helped guide Hayden through the under-18 national titles as a member of WA’s coaching staff under Peter Sumich.

Rumble saw shades of Kyron’s father, Clive Hayden Jr, who was once a big-bodied Lions reserves player before his career was cut short by injuries.

Rumble also saw glimpses of Brownlow medallist Dustin Martin and WA gun Sam Powell-Pepper in the young prodigy, who captained the State under-16s two years ago and has been interviewed by 10 clubs ahead of the November 24 draft.

“Kyron’s really powerful and quite strong, loves the palm-off and he’s got pretty good hands,” Rumble said. Because he had the year off last year, you could tell that his fitness base wasn’t the best, but it slowly got better.

“Once it gets to a higher level, he’s going to be quite damaging.

“He’s a power player. He’s very good in close and in tight, just strong in the contest.

“His dad was very big, quite solid, and I reckon once he matures he’ll probably fill out like his dad did.”

Kyron maintains a close relationship with his father, despite Clive Jr currently serving a short prison sentence.

The father-son bond strengthened during trips to the bush near Northam and Katanning, where Clive Jr and Kyron’s grandfather, Clive Sr, a former champion sprinter who now runs an Aboriginal bible college in Harrisdale, regularly took the young fellow hunting.

“That’s where I get my ties to the heritage,” Kyron said.

“We camp out for a week and have some fun. We try to catch marrons in the dams and hunt pigs, roos, emus, wild ducks — everything and anything. It’s good, I love a feed.”

Hayden, whose paternal grandparents hail from near Merredin and Katanning, is staunchly proud of his indigenous background.

It is that sense of pride he hopes to pass on to Year 7 and 8 students as part of his mentoring role at Hale School, which fits around his volunteer work at WA disability support provider Activ. Hayden took on the position after pulling out of a health and sport science course at Edith Cowan University.

“I went to uni for a bit. It wasn’t really for me, I just didn’t enjoy it,” Hayden said.

“I like helping the kids because coming from remote communities and living in a really structured environment like a boarding school is really tough and daunting for a lot of them.

“I’ve been through that, so it’s easy for me to help them and give them tips.

“Seeing them do well is the real positive. A lot of them didn’t speak English until they were seven or eight years old. Knowing a bit of language and understanding their heritage definitely helps to relate to them and they seem to open up to you. I get along with those boys pretty well.”

Elite speed/endurance, proven performance and has steadily improved throughout the year. Good height and reach for a player with his athletic ability and has now shown his contested ball winning ability as well. I'd probably have him in the top 3 prospects on potential at this point. And I've been harsh on him all season wanting to see certain things from him but all my questions have been answered.

I don't follow the draft but from the footage I've seen Stephenson reminds me of jarred grant, wierd kicking action and all
I feel like Grant had an issue with his work ethic and he was never able to build up his frame. Also not sure is he had as good a draft year as Stephenson or showed any contested ball winning/midfield ability. He has an interesting kicking style but is known as a pretty reliable set shot.

I don't think he has been picked in our Phantom but I doubt that it will happen im the actual thing.

https://thewest.com.au/sport/afl/lion-kyron-hayden-takes-quantum-leap-toward-afl-draft-ng-b88650099z

It felt like Kyron Hayden’s world was caving in, at least in a football sense.

Entering the penultimate year of his junior development, not far out from his planned AFL draft selection, the junior All-Australian was told by doctors he couldn’t run for eight months.

Osteitis pubis hit hard. It was a bitter blow to the budding midfielder, then just 16 years old and with stars in his eyes.

“At the beginning, I thought it was like the worst thing that could happen,” Hayden said.

“But I took it as an opportunity to get in the gym and work on my body and get things right and get strong.

“Once I looked at it that way, I didn’t really have too much of a problem with it. I just looked forward to the 2017 season.

“I got up to about 90kg by round one, so I was looking pretty fit and pretty mean. I did heaps of pelvic floor exercises in rehab and I’ve monitored my load this year and handled it all well, so it’s been all sweet.

“I guess it was a bit of an advantage. I definitely think that my size and athleticism is a strength of mine. That’s my point of difference.

Hayden, 18, proved that during physical testing at last month’s national draft combine in Melbourne, where he eclipsed the long-standing running vertical jump record held by West Coast star Nic Naitanui and former Brisbane and Gold Coast utility player Jared Brennan.

The Subiaco product reached 103cm, breaking the previous mark of 102cm.

His prodigious leap and upper body strength have become significant assets, which allowed him to play the last five WAFL reserves games for the Lions this year, including three lead-up finals and the grand final triumph over South Fremantle.

Six-time Subiaco premiership hero Darren Rumble, now a WAFC player welfare officer and development coach, helped guide Hayden through the under-18 national titles as a member of WA’s coaching staff under Peter Sumich.

Rumble saw shades of Kyron’s father, Clive Hayden Jr, who was once a big-bodied Lions reserves player before his career was cut short by injuries.

Rumble also saw glimpses of Brownlow medallist Dustin Martin and WA gun Sam Powell-Pepper in the young prodigy, who captained the State under-16s two years ago and has been interviewed by 10 clubs ahead of the November 24 draft.

“Kyron’s really powerful and quite strong, loves the palm-off and he’s got pretty good hands,” Rumble said. Because he had the year off last year, you could tell that his fitness base wasn’t the best, but it slowly got better.

“Once it gets to a higher level, he’s going to be quite damaging.

“He’s a power player. He’s very good in close and in tight, just strong in the contest.

“His dad was very big, quite solid, and I reckon once he matures he’ll probably fill out like his dad did.”

Kyron maintains a close relationship with his father, despite Clive Jr currently serving a short prison sentence.

The father-son bond strengthened during trips to the bush near Northam and Katanning, where Clive Jr and Kyron’s grandfather, Clive Sr, a former champion sprinter who now runs an Aboriginal bible college in Harrisdale, regularly took the young fellow hunting.

“That’s where I get my ties to the heritage,” Kyron said.

“We camp out for a week and have some fun. We try to catch marrons in the dams and hunt pigs, roos, emus, wild ducks — everything and anything. It’s good, I love a feed.”

Hayden, whose paternal grandparents hail from near Merredin and Katanning, is staunchly proud of his indigenous background.

It is that sense of pride he hopes to pass on to Year 7 and 8 students as part of his mentoring role at Hale School, which fits around his volunteer work at WA disability support provider Activ. Hayden took on the position after pulling out of a health and sport science course at Edith Cowan University.

“I went to uni for a bit. It wasn’t really for me, I just didn’t enjoy it,” Hayden said.

“I like helping the kids because coming from remote communities and living in a really structured environment like a boarding school is really tough and daunting for a lot of them.

“I’ve been through that, so it’s easy for me to help them and give them tips.

“Seeing them do well is the real positive. A lot of them didn’t speak English until they were seven or eight years old. Knowing a bit of language and understanding their heritage definitely helps to relate to them and they seem to open up to you. I get along with those boys pretty well.”
Tom North, Ben Paton and Isaac Hewson feel Kyron's pain.

While Constable seems like the correct choice, I also think that fogerty is the dark horse for our pick..

When you think about it he suits our list needs to a tee.

We need more goal kicking options. Tick.

We need a player who also brings a point of difference to all our other forwards. Tick

We need someone who is versatile. Tick.

We need someone who is a good kick. Tick

Look at this:

Dale Adams/Bont Fogerty
Dahl Schache Picken

Now I think that's a pretty imposing forward line when you consider all players hitting there straps....!

Worth considering

So Constable vs Fogerty

Extra midfield grunt v extra scoring power

Now I think simplistically when you ignore the risks with Fogerty it seems like it's a simple choice. But this one is a interesting question in my books.

Both players fit the profile of player type that Dalryple likes. Both high ceiling types and versatile.

So Constable vs Fogerty

Extra midfield grunt v extra scoring power

Now I think simplistically when you ignore the risks with Fogerty it seems like it's a simple choice. But this one is a interesting question in my books.

Both players fit the profile of player type that Dalryple likes. Both high ceiling types and versatile.

I am not super keen on Constable but I think you're underselling him here

I'd love to see this game/games where Fogarty kicked a bag of goals that show he is a forward because I haven't seen it

I am not super keen on Constable but I think you're underselling him here

I'd love to see this game/games where Fogarty kicked a bag of goals that show he is a forward because I haven't seen it
I think you have missed my previous post yesterday on Constable. I certainly see his value since he can play in a few positions.

Did you see Fogerty in 2016? Look I haven't seen much vision of these kids, just reading reports on them like most of us are!

I think you have missed my previous post yesterday on Constable. I certainly see his value since he can play in a few positions.

Did you see Fogerty in 2016? Look I haven't seen much vision of these kids, just reading reports on them like most of us are!

I will go back and take a look.

Yeah, I saw Fogarty in 2016 & whilst I will agree that I think he has the size to play as a forward. He isn't dangerous like lets say Oscar Allen.

If we want a forward, we should just take a forward.

Someone sell me on how Constable actually fits in our 22. From the patchy youtube videos I've seen, he looks like a less tall, less aggressive Jack Macrae who is slightly more confident by foot. Fast I love Jack Macrae, but I don't think we need another of his type running through our midfield. Constable seems to have elite hands and vision but beyond that, he brings nothing that we lack to the table.

Constable is a genuine inside mid. Two clips from the Champs, when Vic Metro's team was stacked with mids, doesn't do his contested ball-winning justice. At all levels, he has shown very good capacity to win contested ball consistently and be a presence at the contest.

Drafting isn't about bringing attributes to the table that you lack, it's about finding players that are able to slot into an AFL environment with the potential to become high-level players. I don't see Constable as being very similar to Macrae at all. Constable is more natural in the contest and versatile (can play three totally separate positions), whereas Macrae is more creative, athletic and productive. The trait they share is their elite hands.

Constable is a genuine inside mid. Two clips from the Champs, when Vic Metro's team was stacked with mids, doesn't do his contested ball-winning justice. At all levels, he has shown very good capacity to win contested ball consistently and be a presence at the contest.

Drafting isn't about bringing attributes to the table that you lack, it's about finding players that are able to slot into an AFL environment with the potential to become high-level players. I don't see Constable as being very similar to Macrae at all. Constable is more natural in the contest and versatile (can play three totally separate positions), whereas Macrae is more creative, athletic and productive. The trait they share is their elite hands.
Gollo now I see you have great knowledge of Constable.

How excited do you get with the thought of having MacRae, Dunkley, Bont, Libba and Constable at Bevos disposal

I will go back and take a look.

Yeah, I saw Fogarty in 2016 & whilst I will agree that I think he has the size to play as a forward. He isn't dangerous like lets say Oscar Allen.

If we want a forward, we should just take a forward.
I think I prefer someone who is more versatile and has a higher ceiling in Fogerty of just a 'pure' forward in Allen.