Omera
T Mitchel
Vickery

In best 22
Burton
Stewart
Lovell
Harwick

If Gibbo and McEvoy goes we need to replace them! I reckon we need to go after a key defender, Eric Mackenzie could be one to get. As for ruckman, get one of Witts, Lobbe, Z.Clarke.

There's plenty of holes no doubt, some of the older champions look weathered, tired and slow.

Hodgey needs to go on but as a perm half back.

Gibson is one that I truely believe times up on, his decision making has really dropped away and his speed has regressed severely.

Burger and Mitch look as good as ever, must play on.

Really need some legitimate inside winning mids, both JOM and Titch provide that. They will be key in a quick turn around in fortunes for us.

Birch is a shadow, I'm not entirely sure what's going on here but he really is way off it. Let's hope for a big pre-season and change in form.

Really need another key defender, Mackenzie would be great.

We know we were smashed all year in contested possessions and clearances, we also know we need a big key forward to take a few grabs.

We can bounce back.

In best 22...add Heatherley as the Gibbo replacement and Brand down back in the old Lake role.

Those last 4 must play plenty

Brand not being re-signed is crazy concerning now.

Lovell, Hardwick and Stewart didn't have great end of seasons at Box Hill. Hopefully the tear it up this pre-season.

1) Lack of contested footy --> need more stronger bodies around the contest
2) Ball gets out of the forward 50 too easily
3) Outmarked in defence --> lacking a strong body key defender and intercept marker
4) Need more speed in the midfield
5) Need better ruckman
6) Lacking a big bodied key forward

Not convinced that Gibson is cooked and am utterly convinced he played injured the last half of the season. His opening to the season was incredible, kicking goals, racking up possessions etc. He fell away in the last third of the season. He's not exactly all that old - I dare say he's got some niggles and will benefit from the longer off season.

I would love for Hodge to play as a permanent forward but sadly I think the game has moved past this possibility. Would probably be awful for our forward 50 pressure and teams would walk it out. He could definitely kick 40+ goals in a season though

EDIT:
I do think one of our old blokes needs to spend a fair bit of time in the forward line. While individually Hodge, Mitchell, Burgoyne and Lewis all look good to reload again, having all four across midfield/half-back is too much concentration of slowness. (Yes Burgoyne is quick but over a game still counts as a slow player because he can't run all day)

There's a lot of guys cooked. I just think it's been a really really long 5 years. Some of these guys have effectively played an extra half a season in that time.

This is 2009 again.

12 months of revamp, reload, tinker, trade.

And bloody look out AFL in 2018.
Chris New said as much about the 80's and 90's that with so many deep finals appearances it just gets harder to keep backing up.

We are abit predictable and hunted.

Maybe swapping out good player afor others will shake things up.

The age of the mids is well documented, but although we seem to have plenty of talls, bad luck could see us fall off a cliff like 2002-04 in that regard, as quite a few have injury and health issues

There's plenty of holes no doubt, some of the older champions look weathered, tired and slow.

Hodgey needs to go on but as a perm half back.

Gibson is one that I truely believe times up on, his decision making has really dropped away and his speed has regressed severely.

Burger and Mitch look as good as ever, must play on.

Really need some legitimate inside winning mids, both JOM and Titch provide that. They will be key in a quick turn around in fortunes for us.

Birch is a shadow, I'm not entirely sure what's going on here but he really is way off it. Let's hope for a big pre-season and change in form.

Really need another key defender, Mackenzie would be great.

We know we were smashed all year in contested possessions and clearances, we also know we need a big key forward to take a few grabs.

We can bounce back.
Agree with almost the entire post but would like to add Lewis into the mix of what to do with older players, I know that he is younger than the fab four vets and he is hawks royalty, harder than a cats head and when he does get it with time a space he is a great ball user BUT my god he is slow and I personally think that his cliff is coming faster than most.
Thoughts of how to best deal with Lewy.

Hate to say it but i agree. Birch has just dropped off dramtically. So sad.
Is he contracted? I think he should be traded or retire... He's had his time... I think gibbo is in a bit of trouble but hopefully he can re bound.... With hill and his negativity gone we can hopefully refresh things.Just need new blood.So sad but I think langers needs to be traded.Hodge deserves to make a call on his future let's give him that.

Need to be aggressive this trade week.
Sicily and Hartung need to be moved on.
If he ain't gonna play Langford, JK3 him in the Mitchell deal.
Need to be ruthless and look at 2018 to challenge, wear the hurt in 17.

Agree with almost the entire post but would like to add Lewis into the mix of what to do with older players, I know that he is younger than the fan four vets and he is hawks royalty, harder than a cats head and when he does get it with time a space he is a great ball user BUT my god he is slow and I personally think that his cliff is coming faster than most.
Move him on, liability now... Cold hard facts we won't win another premiership with him in our team.Dont knows his contract status but it's sad but I think he's cooked too.Maybe he should retire younger than most.

Agree with almost the entire post but would like to add Lewis into the mix of what to do with older players, I know that he is younger than the fan four vets and he is hawks royalty, harder than a cats head and when he does get it with time a space he is a great ball user BUT my god he is slow and I personally think that his cliff is coming faster than most.

My cousin said something that makes sense tonight for a change. Put good ball winners and some explosive athletes next to Lewis and he will be fine, he can go on, but run with what we have now and he's cactus.

We aren't in a posotion to be carrying players anymore, I actually think the position Bartel is in this year with the Cats is the same predicament Lewis will face next year and it has to be that way for us to improve. Lewis's spot in the side next year IS not a guarantee.

Move him on, liability now... Cold hard facts we won't win another premiership with him in our team.Dont knows his contract status but it's sad but I think he's cooked too.Maybe he should retire younger than most.

I think Birchall is much worst than Lewy to be honest.

1) Lack of contested footy --> need more stronger bodies around the contest
2) Ball gets out of the forward 50 too easily
3) Outmarked in defence --> lacking a strong body key defender and intercept marker
4) Need more speed in the midfield
5) Need better ruckman
6) Lacking a big bodied key forward

Hate what you say but it's pretty much the reality, I could tee of our side but I'm just a bit somber and dejected after the debacle tonight.

Birchall stats in 2015:

image.png

Birchall states in 2016:

image.png

I guess that 1% drop in disposal effeciency means he's cooked!! Delist immediately! Honestly can't believe the Birchall bashing. Two ordinary games and the knives come out. I hope players don't come on here out of morbid curiosity - because it would be gutting to read how much short term memory exists amongst fans.

Birchall stats in 2015:

View attachment 289540

Birchall states in 2016:

View attachment 289541

I guess that 1% drop in disposal effeciency means he's cooked!! Delist immediately! Honestly can't believe the Birchall bashing. Two ordinary games and the knives come out. I hope players don't come on here out of morbid curiosity - because it would be gutting to read how much short term memory exists amongst fans.

Try and find KE% and metres gained, that's the best way to judge. I can hit 15 mtr chips after a kick to myself from a behind, I think what's stood out is his indecisiveness this year and composure under pressure.

90% of his possessions are uncontested, his DE% needs to be ellite otherwise he shouldn't be playing.