Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion - Part 3

I keep reading we should get Stringer, we should trade in Schache, we should get Trengove .. SOS DONT DO IT WE NEED ELITE MIDS (at least 2) and the NEXT TWO DRAFTS OR TRADE PERIODS NEED TO BE DEDICATED TO THAT
Sure you can recruit a developing ruck and a small defender as rookies or late picks
BUT DO NOT WASTE EARLY PICKS OR TRADES ON ANYTHING BUT MIDS
and please don't recruit anymore KPFs until we get some mids to who can deliver to our current crop.

Take a look at our best 25-30 on the list and our gaps - high quality in bold
Backline - sorted
Weitering, Marchbank, Plowman, Williamson, Docherty, Jones, Macreadie, Simpson, Byrne, small defender

Forwards - sure we currently have the lowest scoring forward line but Curnow is going to be elite and at most we should have only one other tall ie Casboult and then McKay (key forward who can ruck), the rest are kids who will get better but we need more mobile forwards not KPFs. IF McKay does not develop then BSOS will surely be a gun
Curnow, Silvagni, Wright, Casboult, Pickett, Fisher, Boekhurst, McKay, Lamb

Midfield - we have some elite, some mature quality and depth but we need elite mids - we need elite mids to push out Graham, Daisy and Kerridge
Cripps, Kreuzer, Gibbs?, Murphy, Elite Mid, Elite Mid, SPS, Ed Curnow, Cuningham

First glance says our forwards are also short on quality but I think this will turnaround because:
- with our lack of quality in the midfield our forward line will get better entries and significantly more entries
- Silvagni, Fisher, Pickett and McKay will improve with another pre-season and odds are at least the first two will make it
You forgot Kerr... and JGM

It'd be disappointing if we picked up Spencer even with a rookie pick.

Let's try and find the next Darcy or Preuss and not the next Gorringe. A rookie ruck will offer just as much with a larger scope for improvement.

It's not really about the fifty thousand odd members it's about building it and not falling behind
We're number 11 in membership from 18
Take away gold coast and gws we're 11 from 16 and a corporate sponsorship that reflects that
At some point you do need to put your foot in the gas
Hawker has a very salient point
You can bet your bottom dollar the club is worried
Any idea how much we are going to lose this year and fall further behind?
thought that this year was the first that we don't gave to pay the state government the licence fee for the pokies (have paid the fees last four so this year + next 5 are fee free). my understanding is that this would mean a multi million profit from the pokies for these six years.
stand to be corrected if wrong.
not looking to open the "should we be making money from the pokies" can of worms, merely responding to this query.

It's not really about the fifty thousand odd members it's about building it and not falling behind
We're number 11 in membership from 18
Take away gold coast and gws we're 11 from 16 and a corporate sponsorship that reflects that
At some point you do need to put your foot in the gas
Harker has a very salient point
You can bet your bottom dollar the club is worried
Any idea how much we are going to lose this year and fall further behind?

It takes time to build on and off the field. On field our list still needs a lot of work. No depth at all. Let's not get ahead of ourselves

Off field things are improving and getting better. Certainly more stable

Another 1-2 years of SOS draft/trades and I reckon we will be ready to go. In the scheme of things it's nothing and will set us up for a decade or more

I don't believe the club is worried at all. If anything they are very happy. They understand the path and time and thankfully will stick with it

IMO what they are doing is right and will pay off big time in so many areas. First time I have been able to say that in 20 years

We need to regenerate at the position. Levi, Jones, Rowe and Phillips are the senior cover.

Wicz also mentioned we were kicking tyres in the state leagues as well.

Spencer has kept his career alive on minimum chips for sometime now, but has never been able to get fit enough.

I've covered this topic several times before, this year.
We invited a 23 year old ruckman from the wafl to this years combine. That could be our target.

It takes time to build on and off the field. On field our list still needs a lot of work. No depth at all. Let's not get ahead of ourselves
Off field things are improving and getting better. Certainly more stable
Another 1-2 years of SOS draft/trades and I reckon we will be ready to go. In the scheme of things it's nothing and will set us up for a decade or more
I don't believe the club is worried at all. If anything they are very happy
. They understand the path and time and thankfully will stick with it
IMO what they are doing is right and will pay off big time in so many areas. First time I have been able to say that in 20 years

That's what we'd be banking on, but that doesn't necessarily mean it will happen.
Can't see how one can say with any confidence, that the club could be happy with its current financial circumstances.....and we have another loss on its way.

Anyway, we're getting off-topic, but it will take the board and executive to hold their nerve for some time yet.

Has he? When did this happen, Dram?
I think he got a 2 year contract last year. His mum posts occasionally on the WA Blues page on Farcebook, so I dropped her a note asking what his situation was and the way she said it intimated that he was still contracted.

I can understand us keeping him, but wondering why he would have been given 2 years last year?

No big deal and thanks for the info. :thumbsu:

That's what we'd be banking on, but that doesn't necessarily mean it will happen.
Can't see how one can say with any confidence, that the club could be happy with its current financial circumstances.....and we have another loss on its way.

Anyway, we're getting off-topic, but it will take the board and executive to hold their nerve for some time yet.

Bloody Hell. [emoji35]

Of course we aren't happy where we are but we are on the right path both on and off the field and have improved a lot in the last 2 years.

Don't people remember the past 20 years? Quick fixes, mismanagement etc

Signs are extremely positive. We just need to maintain the path and we will be fine. Thank goodness the right people are in charge and not some people on here. Patience

Yet to play a full season of footy in WA, where he could win most ruck contests just by standing there.
Geez......you can be harsh and dismissive with your assessments.
Has tapered a little (injury?) but has been preferred to AFL listed Giles and McInnes for most
of the season. Must be impressing the Weagles' brains trust somewhat.
There are plenty of semi mature state leaguers out there, most of us aren't in a position to
judge. I am sure SOS and co. have a couple on the radar.

We have a myriad of youngsters on the list, and are in danger of developing a scattergun
approach with too many kids who are talented but speculative, particularly with mids and
small forwards.

If list spots are available, I would be all for investing in two speculative rucks and let them
fight for survival/promotion, as opposed to picking up insurance or one "next cab of the rank".

I don't want to see Wright, Pickett, Lamb, Sumner, Gallucci, LeBois (hasn't fired a shot), could
even add Boekhorst and Buckley as multiple small forwards clogging up the list, and have no
developing rucks.

I can understand us keeping him, but wondering why he would have been given 2 years last year?

No big deal and thanks for the info. :thumbsu:
I had big wraps on him in 2015 and thought we'd pick him up in the ND and was really happy we got him in the rookie draft. I've said all along that he would need a couple of years of polishing to come good.

I reckon SOS rated him and I can see him and McCreadie being or rotating gorilla defenders in a couple of years.

As for the two years, it probably just meant that we had him under wraps for the time and didn't have to worry about his contract this year. Plus, having him on a 2 year rookie contract isn't going to be draining the bank.

also, didn't someone here post something similar that his Dad said at a VFL game?

My concerns are his general fitness and running capacity.

He's a big bloke who will win a lot of contests if he can get to them, but he has struggled to accumulate at all levels of state footy.

Maybe but we are not relying on him as the number 1 ruckman and he's still only 22 and yet to do an AFL pre-season, so he's still not in his prime as a ruckman.
He could do a massive amount of damage playing up forward with a relief run in the ruck while Kruiser has a rest up forward.
Far more scoreboard impact than that other guy on our list. At least shots will be converted.

I don't want to see Wright, Pickett, Lamb, Sumner, Gallucci, LeBois (hasn't fired a shot), could
even add Boekhorst and Buckley as multiple small forwards clogging up the list, and have no
developing rucks.

The first three are hardly "clogging up the list" surely??

As for the rest - time will tell - SOS hasn't shown sympathy for list cloggers.
As for the tall guy from WA- it is enough to know that Carlton has invited him to the pre-party to understand what the intention or option is - no need for debate - he is rated enough by Carlton to get more than a mention.

Geez......you can be harsh and dismissive with your assessments.
Has tapered a little (injury?) but has been preferred to AFL listed Giles and McInnes for most
of the season. Must be impressing the Weagles' brains trust somewhat.
There are plenty of semi mature state leaguers out there, most of us aren't in a position to
judge. I am sure SOS and co. have a couple on the radar.

We have a myriad of youngsters on the list, and are in danger of developing a scattergun
approach with too many kids who are talented but speculative, particularly with mids and
small forwards.

If list spots are available, I would be all for investing in two speculative rucks and let them
fight for survival/promotion, as opposed to picking up insurance or one "next cab of the rank".

developing rucks.
Sumner and Gallucci have both been delisted with Sumner maybe getting a rookie spot. LeBois was injured this year, I think. Boekhorst is a winger/HFF. And Buckley might be trade bait.