Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion - Part 3

If Weitering plays forward, he needs to be kept there for the whole season. I cannot see how swinging him back and forward helped anyone last season. A lot of posters here are of the opinion that he has all the attributes to be a good forward but how is he supposed to learn the craft as a swingman?

Unless there’s extenuating circumstances, the call where he plays should be made before a balls kicked in anger this season.

Worse thing we can do is throw him around. Still very young. People also underestimate how important it is that the defence spends time and learns to play with each other. We have Weitering Marchbank Plowman Williamson Docherty Byrne Macreadie who could form a great defence for another 6-8 years and Weitering is close to the best of them. The forward line will take care of itself.

JSOS may not, Picketty’s still in there.

HF: Pickett Weitering C.Curnow
FF: McKay Kerr LeBois (Rayner)
or with JW up forward

HF: Pickett C.Curnow (Rayner/Bonar)/Lamb (though older)
FF: McKay Kerr LeBois
> Polson, JSOS
Zac Fisher, Dale Thomas and 5 other midfielders do not like this.

Murphy Curnow Silvagni
McKay Weitering Pickett

Weitering is a class footballer full stop !!
Let him grow together with these guys and he will own it in no time .
The added benefit is the opening of a place in defense for Macreadie who needs to play seniors .

Simpson Jones Macreadie
Plowman Marchbank Byrne

Docherty obviously replaces Simpson in 2019 .

Bloody Hell you're a ray of sunshine :rolleyes:
The sad reality of footy today. Sloane might be on the move, and there are rumors that Geelong may have an in principle, unofficial, off the record understanding. North is cashed up and have demonstrated that they are not afraid to throw money around. Once Collingwood fail again and they sack Buckley, they will start culling their list and start recruiting from other clubs. Keeping your players is a challenge.

Sl
The sad reality of footy today. Sloane might be on the move, and there are rumors that Geelong may have an in principle, unofficial, off the record understanding. North is cashed up and have demonstrated that they are not afraid to throw money around. Once Collingwood fail again and they sack Buckley, they will start culling their list and start recruiting from other clubs. Keeping your players is a challenge.
Sloane ain't going to cats.

It’s all about getting games into the kids ...

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-11-18/young-and-restless-who-are-your-clubs-upandcomers

CAR-2L.jpg

The Blues have invested heavily in youth at recent drafts and trading periods and are banking on this group to lift them back to the top of the ladder. Under the watchful eye of list manager Stephen Silvagni, they have assembled a wide variety of talent with numerous key-position options, pace, skill and X-factors. Although hitting a slight flat spot this year, Jacob Weitering finished third in the NAB AFL Rising Star award in 2016 and has leadership stamped all over him. Charlie Curnow, fourth in the Rising Star this year, has already drawn comparisons with Carlton great Anthony Koutoufides because of his athleticism and strong hands.

On the list: 17

AFL experience: Jacob Weitering (42 games), Jack Silvagni (28), Charlie Curnow (27), Caleb Marchbank (23), Sam Petrevski-Seton (20), Matthew Kennedy (19), Zac Fisher (17), Ciaran Byrne (15), Tom Williamson (15), David Cuningham (11), Jarrod Pickett (10), Harrison Macreadie (8), Harry McKay (2), Cameron Polson (1), Jesse Glass-McCasker (0), Patrick Kerr (0), Kym Lebois (0)

The standout: Jacob Weitering
One to watch: Jarrod Pickett

- Howard Kotton

Jacob Weitering has leadership stamped all over him. Picture: AFL Photos
weitering_2048.jpg
How the hell has Weiters already played 42 AFL games........ :eek:

Tracking beautifully, this one

Back in the 70's and 80's VFL footballers were part timers who worked then trained 4 days per week. A lot of players were tradies who were on their feet all day, finish work and go an train for 2-3 hours on a Tuesday and longer if they were beaten the previous Saturday. They practised their kicking before and after training....not too many hamstring injuries. New wave voodoo science....pff.

Being a tradie doesnt give you the same type of fitness as the targeted training regimes does of the modern afl footballer. Different fitness- different muscle groups. I am sure that modern sports science is giving each player the best chance to be the quickest, strongest, fittest version of that player that they can be. If a particular muscle group is being overworked it can be detrimental to the functioning of the musculature overall- they are connected after all. Throw one group out of balance, it will have adverse reactions in another. "the kneebone is connected to the thigh bone..........."

Since we're talking about Charlie Curnow as a possible future CHF (which is quite plausible to me), how could we set out our forward line?

Pickett....Weitering....Cuningham
McKay....CCurnow.....Who knows, but likely a dangerous small?

I like the look of that and I feel it would prove quite dangerous.
Not many would keep up with CCurnow and Weitering through the course of a game and both can kick goals from outsde the 50 arc.
Pickett, Cuningham and player X would have genuine goal-scoring abilities along with plenty of speed and defensive pressure.
Mckay gives us the insurmountable height up front, but would have to build up somewhat to become the relieving ruck.
what-about-me-5a1084.jpg

They also did a lot less strength and conditioning work, thus less micro-tearing of their muscles.

No doubt that the result of them training for kicking distance had them able to kick further, and thus more accurately in front of goal from 45-60 metres, but the game is much better as an overall spectacle from the increased running power.

Not really.

I'm not sure about Jack, nor the notion of having four talls hovering about, in the forward line.

Weitering & Curnow have the ability to burn off their opponents, McKay may be needed as a back-up ruck as well as our leading forward, so where does that leave Jack? He may well make it, but just can't be sure of where his best fit may yet be.

I'm not sure about Jack, nor the notion of having four talls hovering about, in the forward line.

Weitering & Curnow have the ability to burn off their opponents, McKay may be needed as a back-up ruck as well as our leading forward, so where does that leave Jack? He may well make it, but just can't be sure of where his best fit may yet be.
Not sure weiters plays forward,hopefully Kerr makes it and replaces Casboilt when gone.Mckay,Pickett,Charlie all locks,need another speedy forward who applies pressure (a Higgins,Moore,myeirs,type in this years draft)Jsos needs to build tank but I see him as a half forward Lappin type.Pretty sure we're taking 2 mids and a small forward with our first 3 picks.

Too much hoping for Kerr and a few others, that we don't even have yet. (BSilvagni and possibly TLynch.....although we may drop off our interest there)
They may well make it, but we know that all won't and even though we know that forward-lines, as well as back-lines can be fluid by make-up, there should be a starting, staple, six.

Anything can happen and probably will, but I can see our back-line not losing much with Weitering not being there.
Long way to go, but a, ........Byrne Jones Plowman
..................................Docherty Marchbank Williamson/Mullett/Macreadie/???????..............could see us through for years to come.

We can only wait and see, but I don't think we'll have anything set in stone for a year or two yet.

I reckon the combination of McKay and Kerr/Silvagni (one of) will be enough. More than that is way too tall these days. Then have the mids of Charlie Cripps Kennedy Murphy SPS Pickett Cuningham etc all having time up forward. Have 1 or 2 smaller forwards like Wright (and hopefully LeBois, maybe Rayner) and that is an awesome looking modern day forward line.

I look forward to Bolton throwing Charlie or Cripps to deep FF at times like Martin or Dangerfield. Be hard to stop.