Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion Part II

I don't believe that. I reckon the club are doing exactly what they been saying all along. It's been a consistent message from Trigg Bolton & SOS. A 3 year rebuild focusing on youth that will take time with no quick fix looking for long term success.

As for draftess playing the following year Williamson Fisher SPS Macreadie Polson have all played in this year. Last year Silvagni Charlie Cuningham Weitering all played in their first year. Bolton will play them if they put in the effort
Theyve also said on a number of occasions bolton in particular we are a club in a hurry . And our trading for multiple players for 1 pick indicates that as well . Our position in the draft will be nowhere near as strong next draft if we are chasing and obtaining the likes of Kelly and Hopper . I also dont think they will leave it at those 2 either . So we may see some project players maybe a young ruckman and players that will need more developing before inclusion into the side from this years batch of draftees . Cant expect to keep picking up Williamsons in a so called weak draft .

Dont you know Soapy, we don't need Rowe now, Liam Jones has surpassed him and is now the best defender we have.:rolleyes:

Not sure why the smart ass statement, name a defender in the comp who has had a better month than Jones? No one. His 4 games have all superseded Rowes, continuity is what everyones intrigued about.

Would be terribly disappointed to see Sam delisted.

If he makes the decision himself, however, then all of the power to him. But shouldn't be pushed.

I think that's a tad overstated, Harks. We already know what he's capable of playing forward and that wont have changed much if at all.

My big thing against him playing forward is that the days of the limited mobility power forwards seems to be disappearing fast. He doesn't have the agility required down there for the modern game now let alone when he returns from injury.

Good hand for our VFL side if he doesn't retire on his own merits.
We'd just need him to crash packs and bring the ball to ground.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Re-re-inventing him into a forward because Casboult may/will go?

Is that a step in the right direction for 2019? I don't think so.

By 2019 you would hope that McKay and Kerr would be ready to play bigger roles but if we do lose Casboult it may be something that will be necessary for 2018.

Not sure why the smart ass statement, name a defender in the comp who has had a better month than Jones? No one. His 4 games have all superseded Rowes, continuity is what everyones intrigued about.
Don't worry about BrisCFC he's still salty that Jones is playing well week after week .

But what's really hurting him is that Daisy is playing pretty good footy when he hoped he'd be shit in the firsts or magoos.

Don't worry about BrisCFC he's still salty that Jones is playing well week after week .

But what's really hurting him is that Daisy is playing pretty good footy when he hoped he'd be shit in the firsts or magoos.

Pretty sad when you are sitting and waiting for your own players to fail rather than enjoy the fact that they are performing well.

Certainly not a bad idea when I think about it. But unfortunately, it won't be the answer for the first half of the 2018 season.

We'd just need him to crash packs and bring the ball to ground.

Don't understand how some people would be content with a full forward merely being a big body to crash a pack and bring ball to ground. A full forward's objective is to kick goals. If a full forward is kicking 3-4+ goals per week then surely he is doing something right.

Mate it would just be a stop gap measure to give Harry and Kerr time to start producing. To save us spending picks trying to get a Cas replacement.

Rowe obviously wouldnt be in that role in 2-3years.

Also, which foward is kicking 3-4 per week? Buddy and Cameron have 40 from 14 games thats 2.8 goals a game from the best in the business. Only Josh Kennedy averages more than 3 per game and he is injured.

So tell me who we could receuit that would make you happy? How much would they cost in terms of both salay and picks?

If Casboult leaves,i'd expect Rowey to be kept and put in the forward line and used as back up ruck when needed. Phillips is starting to get a few injuries and our ruck stock is thin.

This seems the best scenario and also gives us some breathing space to find a young replacement for Casboult should he go as a free agent.

Only problem is the knee injury isn't something a big man can recover quickly from - and may prohibit him from doing any ruck work.

Might be Harks if McKay and or Kerr dont take 1 or two steps forward on the "development" gauge.

Maybe, but I don't think that's where we'll be. come round one 2019. We may have 'our' forward by then.

I'd sooner Phillips play, than Rowe forward. Reckon it may just work next time around.

I know we are really well stocked up in the tall defender department... but geez that Lever kid can play...

You'd find a way to make it work...