Autopsy 2018 NAB AFL Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Without scrolling through 23 pages my take on Sydney:
Hats off to them. They played within the rules and made a mockery of the AFL.
If we did that we’d be all sitting here saying how much of a genius Lethlean is.
It doesn’t affect our picks because either WC have it or Sydney have it.

Does anyone have a link to the updated draft order?

It did affect our picks because pick 26 didn’t get pushed to the back of the draft. It effectively means Sydney paid with it’s back end picks and not it’s front end pick, and the penalty for that manoeuvre was it’s second rounder next year sliding 15 spots. So that means they have split the penalty for having a priority pick on a top 10 talent over two years without affecting their first picks in either year. Unbelievable.

Firstly, in my head live trading should be restricted to dealing with the team on the clock. In that scenario this trade could not have eventuated.

Or the AFL should have adjudicated that the points penalty should be reapplied against Sydney’s new incoming pick.

The obsession is about not having star mids. Unbiased people see that. And if you are saying we have plenty of mids some of which you mentioned aren’t we certainly have more than enough tall forwards and backs but like the mids we lack quality not quantity
The obsession should be about our list lacking stars across the field.

We have plenty of forwards the same as we have plenty of miss, how many stars do we have?

Max has the biggest star potential of any player available at pick four.

We got him and should be over the moon.

The obsession should be about our list lacking stars across the field.

We have plenty of forwards the same as we have plenty of miss, how many stars do we have?

Max has the biggest star potential of any player available at pick four.

We got him and should be over the moon.
I will be over the moon when he improves the side. I’m sure someone posted similar when we got paddy and billings and that has lead to nought.

Bishop has us taking Rowbottom with our next pick.

I don't mind the look of him, but he is another inside mid with not great kicking skills.

We went best available with pick 4, I think we need to start looking at needs now.

I'm hoping Fraser Turner makes it to our next pick but Melbourne are apparently keen on him.

Will Hammil is another I hope might make it.

Really keen on Zac Foot but it sounds like he'll be available a bit later. He's the kind of kid you watch his highlights and wonder why he isn't a first round pick, apparently consistency is the issue but the talent is obviously there.

If players stay healthy then it’ll be Paddy/King/Membrey long term. They’re all different sizes and completely different players, I think they can really work well together.
And as for our supporters obsession with mids, yes we are a touch one paced but a group of Steven, Gresham, Ross, Acres, Steele, Hannebery, Clark, Billings, Kent, Coffield, Sinclair is something to build around.

Build around being the phrase. Gresham, Billings, Clark and Coffield are all on limited midfield minutes right now, and with Sinclair having a rough year that leaves Steele the only player we have under 25 who plays good footy in there consistently.

As much as Max seems like a ripper you can get by with mediocre forwards if you have a jet midfield but it's not so easy the other way around. We need a bit more go right now to improve in that area since we committed pick 4 elsewhere.

Max's style of play suit Saints footy, we cant really kick it over his head and he'll be able to deal with all the worm burner inside 50s entries too.

Two of these guys before taking a Jok or Pickett would be nice

#33 Sydney Stack (Perth/Western Australia)

A balanced midfield who has the hardness of an inside midfielder and the skills of an outside midfielder. He is undersized for an inside midfielder so expect him to spend more time on the outside and still apply his defensive pressure to the ball carrier. Will battle Luke Foley for the third Western Australian taken, with at least five expected to be selected in the top 40. Stack can play other roles and can hit the scoreboard, but his balance between offence and defence is the most impressive ability in his arsenal.

#39 Will Hamill (Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country)

While the likes of Bailey Williams and Sam Sturt have caught the headlines, the classy Will Hamill continues to fly under the radar as a prospect with high upside. He is not a huge accumulator and is still quite skinny, but Hamill has that perfect blend of speed and skill, which clubs will turn to – possibly earlier than predicted. He is a smooth mover who has played predominantly off half-back, but also through the midfield such is his ability to work his way out of trouble. He might be more of a long-term prospect than an immediate walk-up starter, but Hamill is someone who could be considered one of the better steals if he develops as he could.

#41 Fraser Turner (Tasmania/Allies)

The outside runner from Tasmania has had a strong 2018 season, and was one of the more impressive players for the Allies in the National Under 18 Championships. He knows how to win the ball and get forward, and would add an extra element of class to any side. The next step is improving his contested work, but his outside game is very good, and expect his run and carry to be highly sought after in the draft. Another player amongst the mid-draft log-jam of players who have improvements to make but have a nice foundation base of traits from which clubs can build upon.

#44 Jack Ross (Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro)

Ross is an interesting player to place. He just received a State Combine invitation, but looking at his overall profile, there is not a lot of deficiencies in his game. He is consistent, a leader, uses the ball pretty well, wins clearances, goes in hard, runs both ways and just gets the job done, week-in, week-out. There are not too many State Combine invitees who get drafted in the top 50 – usually one per year on average, but Ross could be that player. His ability to play a multitude of roles through the midfield helps, and he is more readymade than most to stand up against senior bodies. A good mid-draft prospect.

#45 Zac Foot (Dandenong Stingrays/Vic Country)

The exciting Dandenong utility has the capability to do some amazing things on the football field, he just needs to find the consistency to take the next step. Foot is a remarkable story, coming from a long way back having missed initial selection for the Stingrays, coming into the program in 2018 and then bursting out of the blocks with a strong first half of the season to earn Vic Country honours. He had a quieter second half of the season, but still had some eye-catching moments, and he knows how to run and hit the scoreboard, playing inside or out, and has a good base from which clubs can work with at the next level, and a high scope of improvement.

#46 Tyron Smallwood (Claremont/Western Australia)

Not much has been said about the classy outside midfielder/small forward, but he earned a National Draft Combine invitation and is one of the players we rate as a mid-draft prospect. He just does a lot right and is a player who while undersized, is capable of being accountable for an opponent. He kicks goals and lays tackles, and can also move through the midfield with an ability to win the footy and drive it forward. He is not as quick as other small forwards, but he has fairly good evasion skills, and his ability to execute by hand or foot is impressive. Smallwood just seems like the type of player that clubs secretly want to drop and then call it a bargain later on, because he has some very draftable qualities.

#48 Laitham Vandermeer (Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country)

Had it not been for an unfortunate sling tackle in the National Under 18 Championships, Vandermeer’s year could have been even better. To that point, the overager was looking as good as any other 1999-born player going around in the TAC Cup, and it earned him a place in Vic Country’s side. His run-and-carry, dare and dash really excited fans, and he is the type of player that just takes off and does not fear taking the game on. He wins a lot of the football and while he is predominantly an outside player, he uses his speed to also apply defensive pressure, and fiercely attacks the ball carrier. One who could go later or as a rookie, but the need for speed is great in modern football, and Vandermeer has that need in spades.

View attachment 587582

“need you to bulk up big Maxy, go eat a whole loaf of fruit toast. We need you strong in the contest”
LOL.

"Yeah Maxy mate, I'm a bit worried about your hips, and your bum, we need you really chunky through the core young man. Yeah, preferably I want 90% of your body weight to be between your belly button and your balls, so we've got a bit of work to do."

RECRUITERS have been urged not to overlook ready-to-play South Fremantle gun Marlion Pickett when the NAB AFL Draft resumes on Friday.

The 26-year-old hails from the same WAFL club as Geelong revelation Tim Kelly and, like his ex-teammate, Pickett is ready to impact at the elite level straight away.

Twelve months after Liam Ryan, Bailey Banfield and Kelly made it to AFL ranks, hard-nosed midfielder Pickett is the WAFL's most talked about prospect, with Gold Coast and St Kilda among the clubs interested.

"He's obviously got some attributes – super-quick, really strong for his size, hard at the ball, can play virtually anywhere," South Freo coach Todd Curley told AFL.com.au.

DRAFT TRACKER Every pick, bios, highlights and Cal's comments

"He's probably had to earn an opportunity with consistent footy and he's improved along the way, but he's a different player to Tim.

"Tim is an out-and-out inside midfielder, whereas Marlion has probably got more versatility. He can play back, forward and midfield.

"Tim has the ability, which we probably saw this year, to accumulate consistently big numbers.

"Marlion can have a big impact on a game with probably not as many possessions just through the way he attacks the ball.

HOW DID THE GURU GO? Callum Twomey's late mail

"He's a little bit older and a bit more mature and I think he'd be one you could pick and he'd be available for round one."

Pickett has turned his life around since he was jailed in his teens and was outstanding in his fifth season at South Fremantle.

The 183cm and 85kg tough nut averaged 21.8 disposals after asking Curley for a switch from half-back to midfield to replace Kelly.

Pickett's headline performance came in a thumping qualifying final victory over West Perth, when he torched the Falcons with four goals and 26 disposals.

WALSH, LUKOSIUS OR RANKINE? Recruiters name their No.1

"He had some great games for us," Curley said.

"His ability to break the lines and run and carry is a real strength. He's really improved his kicking but his ability to get it, burst away, carry and then distribute the ball makes him a real 90m player.

"He's spoken to a fair few clubs and we're hopeful that he'll get an opportunity because I think he certainly deserves it and we'd think he'd go all right.

"He'll do some things that you'll enjoy watching."

Only one WA-based footballer – Claremont half-back Jordan Clark, who went to Geelong at pick 15 – was taken in the first round of the draft on Thursday night.

LIVE PICK TRADES Swans' sneaky move, Blues' bold play

The West Australian Football Commission hopes about 15 players end up receiving an opportunity by the end of the national and rookie drafts.

Claremont's dual Sandover medallist Jye Bolton, 26, and West Perth's strong-bodied mid Luke Meadows, 24, are other mature-age prospects in the mix as recruiters give greater consideration to players capable of stepping straight into AFL ranks.

Pickett's close friend and teammate, Matthew Parker, 22, is another strong candidate after getting his life on track in recent years.

The livewire forward booted 27 goals in 20 games this year and has also been linked to the Saints.

"I don't think they (Pickett and Parker) need the other one to be there (to settle in at AFL level). Would it help them? Probably, of course it would," Curley said.

"It's always hard to move away from home, so if you've got some friends and family around it will help them, but I don't think it would necessarily hurt them not to be at the same team.

"They're both old enough and mature enough in their own right to make their own way.

"We just hope they get an opportunity because we think they'd both grab it."

didnt watch the draft was listening on SEN but a couple things got my attention ...
- firstly there isnt a player in the draft Luke Power doesnt "love this kid" he litterally said it of every player
- Taryn Thomas needs a lot of media training ..understandably the kid was nervous but his interview was almost like the saturday night footy Auskicker kid .
- Smith comes accross very very confident i can see how his attitude could be recieved poorly by some of the "lads" at a team, will be interesting to see how that plays out
- Ben King mentioning in his SEN interview in the first comment how happy he is for his brother to get to the Saints the team both of them support then saying he was really happy to have been drafted (no mention of his club)... i think that will change and he will warm to his club once he gets there but you could tell he was kinda cut he got Gold Coast
- Max King is over the moon , i get the feeling the club told him early enough it was him so he had time to process it all
- Ed McHenry is a very good talker .. very confident and just seems to naturally know the right things to say .. seems legit happy to head to the crows
- i think a few Carlton fans who were listening to the SEN coverage died a little ... the initial report from SEN was Carlton traded their 2019 round 1 for the crows pick 19 alone...

ANyone know what our picks are now for today? They were 36, 46, 67, and 78. They should all be lower now.
They're now #38, #43, #61 and #74 but that will probably be affected by trading again

didnt watch the draft was listening on SEN but a couple things got my attention ...
- firstly there isnt a player in the draft Luke Power doesnt "love this kid" he litterally said it of every player
- Taryn Thomas needs a lot of media training ..understandably the kid was nervous but his interview was almost like the saturday night footy Auskicker kid .
- Smith comes accross very very confident i can see how his attitude could be recieved poorly by some of the "lads" at a team, will be interesting to see how that plays out
- Ben King mentioning in his SEN interview in the first comment how happy he is for his brother to get to the Saints the team both of them support then saying he was really happy to have been drafted (no mention of his club)... i think that will change and he will warm to his club once he gets there but you could tell he was kinda cut he got Gold Coast
- Max King is over the moon , i get the feeling the club told him early enough it was him so he had time to process it all
- Ed McHenry is a very good talker .. very confident and just seems to naturally know the right things to say .. seems legit happy to head to the crows
- i think a few Carlton fans who were listening to the SEN coverage died a little ... the initial report from SEN was Carlton traded their 2019 round 1 for the crows pick 19 alone...

Thought most of the kids spoke really well , just shows the development of media skills .

Absolutely convinced Ben King will be playing for the Saints in the future , in fact would not be suprised
in 2 years time we are talking Caldwell as well .

Still shocked with Crows selections not trade just the players they picked.