Opinion 2018 Non-Crows Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Deaneus!

Gil quoted as saying our GF is very complex to coordinate so it's hard to move each year...

And here was me thinking the Super Bowl was a more complex event.

You learn something everyday
The Superbowl is held at a different location every year, but the venue isn't decided a week before the event. This year's Superbowl was held in Minnesota, and contested by teams from Philadelphia and New England. Minnesota was announced as the 2018 venue way back in 2014!
http://www.sportingnews.com/au/nfl/...dds-vegas-host-site/suep9comfk9w1xk01k9vskk58

Heard a bit of Eddie McGuire this morning.
The extension of the GF at the MCG lets the MCC gain non government funding to rebuild the Great Southern Stand, and lets face it the GF has been at the MCG since day dot of footy so whats the problem?
How many SANFL or WAFL finals were ever played at the MCG ?? That's the point people are making !!

The AFL is so incompetent that if you ran a breakaway league you’d be able to do succeed. Offer the players more money and they’d be in. Happened to the NFL many years ago.

Gill the dill needs to be embarrassed with a high profile person calling out all his failures and running a campaign against him while providing better alternatives to his bizarre ideas.

The Superbowl is held at a different location every year, but the venue isn't decided a week before the event. This year's Superbowl was held in Minnesota, and contested by teams from Philadelphia and New England. Minnesota was announced as the 2018 venue way back in 2014!
http://www.sportingnews.com/au/nfl/...dds-vegas-host-site/suep9comfk9w1xk01k9vskk58
Yes that's right and I think Gil is right it would be logistically hard to organise a GF in a week, however we could do the bidding system so we know an AFL grand final could be held at cities with stadiums over 50 thousand. That would limit it to Adelaide Perth Sydney and Melbourne with Brisbane a possibility if they upgraded their ground.
It could go via a rotation or a bidding process.

Surely non Victorian teams can't tick off on the 2057 Mcg gf.

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

Rubbish we couldnt handle a GF here. We have sold out games at AO all the time and we handle it. We have a tour down under and supercars run around around the city streets, so im sure we can handle a player parade thats the size of our xmas pageant.
We could handle it, it's just that no fans would be able tyo go. 65,000 seats at the MCG are for corporates and AFL members etc. 35,000 seats for supporters of the competing teams. At AO I could see that number reduced to 10,000 as the AFL are far more likely to want to reward those that give them sponsorship $$$$

Kick out all the corporates and just leave it for the fans.

Yes that's right and I think Gil is right it would be logistically hard to organise a GF in a week, however we could do the bidding system so we know an AFL grand final could be held at cities with stadiums over 50 thousand. That would limit it to Adelaide Perth Sydney and Melbourne with Brisbane a possibility if they upgraded their ground.
It could go via a rotation or a bidding process.

Surely non Victorian teams can't tick off on the 2057 Mcg gf.
Logistically it's difficult to have the AFL GF venue determined only a week before, because of the number of GF packages sold. If they don't know the venue early, they don't know how many packages they can sell, and people don't know which city they will be visiting, noting that these packages are sold months in advance. The GF is the only game of the year where these packages are sold.

However, you do raise an interesting suggestion. Why not hold it at a different venue each year, with the venue determined years ahead of time - as the NFL does with the Super Bowl? This solves many problems:
  • The AFL has sufficient lead time to organise the logistics.
  • Resolves the problem of Victorian teams always having a home ground advantage.
  • Non-Vic teams would have the hope of hosting an AFL GF.
  • We'd see the GF played at a truly neutral ground, as often as not.
The upsides are obvious. The television audience is basically venue neutral - it really doesn't matter to them if the game is played at the Adelaide Oval, Gabba, SCG, or the MCG. The only downside for the AFL is that they wouldn't be able to sell as many corporate packages in years when the GF isn't at the MCG. A night GF in Perth might be problematic for the TV audience, but an afternoon GF would be prime-time viewing on the East Coast.

I don’t understand why you’d lock in an additional 20 years on a contract that still has 19 years to run, that’s so closed minded and flys totally in the face of a ‘National’ competition which has come so far in the last 30-ish years.
images

CcuXrLIXIAAzzNc.jpg

It's clear we won't win an argument against the VFL basing the GF of the entire competition at home.

So we have to push for a GF parade in each team's city in GF week. None of this "but the GF parade has to be in Melbourne."

****. That.

So in 2017, we have a parade in Adelaide, and GF breakfasts, on Wed-Thurs. Richmond have to come to Adelaide for a couple of days.

Then we both go to Melbourne for their GF parade and breakfasts.

We're never going to win the war against stopping Victorian teams playing the GF at their home ground (or their home city), so let's at least get the ******s to spend a couple of days on the road to even it up just a little bit.

Yes I threw this out as a silly idea last night, but thinking about it I think it's actually a good one.

Have events in both cities, not only do we all get to be a part of the celebration, it also disrupts both teams schedule an equal amount.

They take a couple of flights and spend a night or two in a different bed, away from their club... we play on their ground.

I am not convinced Port are a genuine top four side.

If they beat Essendon with their ability to spread from stoppage and three key forwards I may change my mind

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
If we played Essendon now the season is up and running, I'd bet my house we'd beat them. If only we'd scored Freo at home, or carlton anywhere, or Bulldogs or Saints in the first match, we'd probably be 3 zip. I don't think Essendon are any measuring stick. Reckon Port win this easily.

Someone at Port leaked it.

...and where's all the Rucci/kornes/Vic outrage that there's a leak at the club? If there was any suggestion of a leak at the AFC the media would be all over it.

Wait. There was, and they were. F***ers.

Rubbish we couldnt handle a GF here. We have sold out games at AO all the time and we handle it. We have a tour down under and supercars run around around the city streets, so im sure we can handle a player parade thats the size of our xmas pageant.
We sell out games here that are half as big, and a large portion of Supercars patrons are here in SA.

It really isnt the same, and thats without going into attendance at the game itself

The most malignant football journalist in this state by FAR is a rusted-on Port Adelaide supporter who has meddled in things like suspensions and father-son rules, among literally hundreds of other things he’s said, written and done to the benefit of Port and the detriment of Adelaide, over a period of decades.

Theyre getting worked up over a chick who is not even a football reporter, has been in the media five minutes, and was seen wearing a Crows scarf once.

dramatic.gif

Am reposting this because I can only like it once.

Given SPPs alleged victim only went to the club and was then subsequently contacted by C7 for tbe interview, how did C7 find out to initiate contact?

Which Port Adelaide staffer threw SPP under the bus?

Seriously????

Oh this is just bizarre

As if China are going to suddenly go crazy for a second rate iced coffee.... I seriously wonder about the mentality of people that actually believe comments like those that that OneGreatidiot makes...
And given the possible high lactose intolerance, it's not going to go down well IMO :eek::straining:.

The most malignant football journalist in this state by FAR is a rusted-on Port Adelaide supporter who has meddled in things like suspensions and father-son rules, among literally hundreds of other things he’s said, written and done to the benefit of Port and the detriment of Adelaide, over a period of decades.

Theyre getting worked up over a chick who is not even a football reporter, has been in the media five minutes, and was seen wearing a Crows scarf once.

dramatic.gif
So true ...
They've badged their "Poor Sam" thread on the port Board, "scape goat"
Scape goat for what exactly ?
Every pissed don't you know who I am up themselves arseh*le AFL player that gets knocked back by a woman coz they're flogs ????
That type of "scape goat"

Deplorable people over there - simply deplorable