Opinion 2018 Non-Crows Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Deaneus!

For a local example, look what happened to Glenelg. Borrowed a shit ton of money to re-build their hospitality establishment, but still don't make enough money to actually pay back the money they borrowed to build the damn thing.

They're knocking down the grandstand now !

I think they have to. Damn thing almost got blown away in a storm last year I think. Of course in typical cheap ass fashion, they're spending $400K to tear it down and put seats on the grass instead of spending $600K to replace the stand completely.

So with them posting profits and us posting losses, I guess that meaningless as well?
And us having 5 million more in liabilities?
Reality is we aint doing that much better than the rabble down the road.
Loans and borrowings are the only liabilities worth worrying about.

Ade $1.966m
Port $7.018m

Wouldn’t be surprised if when we announce our figures, we are debt free.

As a banker, at the end of the day it is cashflow that pays back debt - sustainable cashflow.

You do need to borrow to create wealth but you need sustainable cashflow to repay the debt.

Hotels are no longer the cash cow that they were in the '90s and early '00s. Pokies are not the golden egg anymore.

If you are going to buy a hotel as a place for your supporters group, the city is obvious choice - walk by traffic and to congregate after games. Having a hotel in the suburbs near your home training base will not be the solution. Need to think macro not micro.

How many top draft picks go on to be Champions of the AFL ?

Draft facts

No.1 NAB AFL Draft picks still playing:
Cameron Rayner (BL), 0 games
Andrew McGrath (Ess), 21 games
Jacob Weitering (Carl), 42 games
Paddy McCartin (StK), 22 games
Tom Boyd (GWS, now WB), 49 games
Lachie Whitfield (GWS), 90 games
Jonathon Patton (GWS), 77 games
David Swallow (GC), 97 games
Tom Scully (Melb, now GWS), 151 games
Jack Watts (Melb, now PA), 153 games
Matthew Kreuzer (Carl), 161 games
Bryce Gibbs (Carl, now Adel), 231 games
Marc Murphy (Carl), 236 games
Brett Deledio (Rich, now GWS), 250 games
Brendon Goddard (StK, now Ess), 312 games
Luke Hodge (Haw, now BL), 305 games

Tom Boyd and Luke Hodge are the only current No.1 picks to play in a premiership side.

How many top draft picks go on to be Champions of the AFL ?

Draft facts

No.1 NAB AFL Draft picks still playing:
Cameron Rayner (BL), 0 games
Andrew McGrath (Ess), 21 games
Jacob Weitering (Carl), 42 games
Paddy McCartin (StK), 22 games
Tom Boyd (GWS, now WB), 49 games
Lachie Whitfield (GWS), 90 games
Jonathon Patton (GWS), 77 games
David Swallow (GC), 97 games
Tom Scully (Melb, now GWS), 151 games
Jack Watts (Melb, now PA), 153 games
Matthew Kreuzer (Carl), 161 games
Bryce Gibbs (Carl, now Adel), 231 games
Marc Murphy (Carl), 236 games
Brett Deledio (Rich, now GWS), 250 games
Brendon Goddard (StK, now Ess), 312 games
Luke Hodge (Haw, now BL), 305 games

Tom Boyd and Luke Hodge are the only current No.1 picks to play in a premiership side.

I'd say the only player on that entire list to become a "champion" is Luke Hodge

Deledio got close .....but the #1 pick is overrated ....all it says is you recruited the best performed U18 player

As a banker, at the end of the day it is cashflow that pays back debt - sustainable cashflow.

You do need to borrow to create wealth but you need sustainable cashflow to repay the debt.

Hotels are no longer the cash cow that they were in the '90s and early '00s. Pokies are not the golden egg anymore.

If you are going to buy a hotel as a place for your supporters group, the city is obvious choice - walk by traffic and to congregate after games. Having a hotel in the suburbs near your home training base will not be the solution. Need to think macro not micro.

I say it’s inflation that pays back debt as much as anything. Cashflow allows more debt to increase equity.
If you buy something for $100 then inflation makes its value at $200 you have already reduced the debt on its value by 50% without paying back any debt.

I say it’s inflation that pays back debt as much as anything. Cashflow allows more debt to increase equity.
If you buy something for $100 then inflation makes its value at $200 you have already reduced the debt on its value by 50% without paying back any debt.

Not in the current and most recent environment over the last 5 years inflation has been less than 2% on average for each year.

Works OK for Sydney / Melbourne property. I should have said the cashflow keeps the show rolling.

Assets like houses, but not assets like cars...

Woman hater Kane Cornes thinks women shouldn’t be paid as much as men

How many jobs has Kane had where he works with women?

Port - all footballers are men
Firies (for all of 3 weeks) - men
Sportsday SA - with Hart & Blighty
Sunday Footy Show - all male panel

Old Kaneo a bit intimidated by the ladies.

It’s because his Mrs wears the pants....

Hutchy has obviously made a lot of good decisions building his empire, but Kornes? He’s hated by us and not liked by a chunk of Port fans. I can’t tune into anything he’s on. Why choose to alienate so many potential viewers/listeners?

So he should earn more than Lucy as a wannabe media personality?

Both are overpaid as ordinary...

It’s because his Mrs wears the pants....

Hutchy has obviously made a lot of good decisions building his empire, but Kornes? He’s hated by us and not liked by a chunk of Port fans. I can’t tune into anything he’s on. Why choose to alienate so many potential viewers/listeners?
If he didn't have the Cornes connections, he wouldn't even be remotely considered for the role.

He lacks intelligence, ability to listen to others & is bat shit boring that would make most listeners turn off. Chasing headlines by making stuff up, then unable to cope when questioned.

Will be sad state of affairs if he lasts in the media as is absolutely terrible in every way.