2018 pre season

• Thread starter Thread starter Squizz89

Much as I would like to, I just can't see Keays being part of a Lion's premiership. Yes, hard worker and good endurance, but just no standout feature. If he had the inside game to thrive on just that we would have seen enough of it in the games he has played. Depth and good clubman, but blokes like Bailey, Cox etc will surpass him, IMO.

When rating a player or list I often use our premiership teams as a comparison, it is like a human jigsaw puzzle.

There are certain players types needed to complete the puzzle to compile a team that will be in with a chance for a premiership. For me the starting point is the crazy bastards in the backline such as Pike and the Scott brothers.

So when looking at our current list I match players against our premiership teams: McLuggage = Black, Andrews = Leppa etc.

When I consider a player like Keays he obviously doesn't match players like Aker and Lappin.

I see his potential as a 'role' player, someone who does the grunt work. He is not flashy but IMO can be developed into a player like Hart or Ashcroft, players who were incredibly unselfish and single minded in playing their role for the team.

awaiting comment from Tassie4ever

Can't resist.

Seriously, and we wonder why our membership numbers are declining.

Let's see, just how can we go about pissing ordinary members off? I know, schedule a rare pre-season opportunity to look at out team in woop woop.

Maybe Coorparoo is unavailable. Nah, can't be that. Just too easy. Ok then, maybe Yeeronga. Nah, again too easy.

And people have the hide to complain about a move to Springfield.

I would actually like to see Ben be more selfish when he has the ball. He seems to be always looking to go backwards, sideways or give a handball to someone running past. I would think he would get much more confidence taking the game on and showing us he can play. To me until this happens he will only every play a bits role.

If Ben Keayes is getting games this year we are not where we want to be.

Your seemingly personal vendetta against Ben Keays is starting to get a little weird now.

At least spell his name properly?

Kid isn't going to win a brownlow but as already aforementioned, hes extremely fit, bleeds for the club, does the team things and is well liked. Sounds a bit like the vice captain they call Ryan Lester.....

I would actually like to see Ben be more selfish when he has the ball. He seems to be always looking to go backwards, sideways or give a handball to someone running past. I would think he would get much more confidence taking the game on and showing us he can play. To me until this happens he will only every play a bits role.

Spot on there I reckon, definitely didn't back himself enough down forward at times. I think his natural ability to win the footy cancels out some of the lack of pace down there - he'd be in a much better spot taking it on and having more shots. In saying that, I do remember some decent goal assists from him.

Keayes impressed me in a few games last year with his lightning quick hands in close. I think he has the talent to make it as an inside mid, just needs more of an opportunity in the guts.

There will be plenty of room for auditions at inside mid, especially since we've been adding more pace and class to develop around the ball. I'm pretty sure Keays will get a lot of chances in there this year and that we will be testing out a lot of different setups going forward.

That's right we don't even know what we have at our disposal yet.It will take at least 40 games to tune up the combos for our best team.Keays might be a casualty of the process but it's hard to call that now.

Surely if his kicking stays at the same level he's no chance. His kicking the way it is I'd rather he had 20 handballs a game than 20 kicks.

He's sounding a bit like Bradd Dalziell with a worse kick.
Bradd Dalziell was one of the most outside players you'll ever see, not sure how you came up with that one.
Much as I would like to, I just can't see Keays being part of a Lion's premiership. Yes, hard worker and good endurance, but just no standout feature. If he had the inside game to thrive on just that we would have seen enough of it in the games he has played. Depth and good clubman, but blokes like Bailey, Cox etc will surpass him, IMO.
2 years on the list and you're done, apparently. Bailey will apparently surpass him based off a few aflx games and Cox is a completely different kind of player. If Cox struggles this year then we'll have people saying some other guy who's shown a few flashes has gone past him. Rinse, repeat.

Keays to me is like Redden.
Lots of potential early.

Can show some good moments... But for the most part a B type player at best.

He is a ball magnet though... So I hope his hard work ethic sees him grow past the Redden type player

Pretty much how I feel about him. Can't have all your players turn out to be best 22. I feel the same lack of excitement over Keays' ability as I do for Paparone.

If I had to sum him up as a player so far, I would say he does all the hard work to get the ball but rushes the disposal or over thinks it.

If he was to clean up that part of the game, I still don't see him being part of our best team in a few years time.

Bit suprised by the Keays chatter but he certainly does have his faults. I can see him turn into a Kane Cornes type if he was willing to be a tagged and then look to win his own ball as well.

Slightly ignores the fact that that cox is not an inside mid which will likely be where Keays ends up. He’s been in the system for 2 years and pretty much played adefensive forward role that whole time.

We expect a lot from our young players in a very short time. A player coming into his third year at many clubs wouldnt have been heard of yet. Exceptional young talent will always shine thru early, for some it may take a few extra years. If ben keays, a club loyal qld boy, takes another cpl of years to find his niche, his potential im ok with it. He may not be best 22 every year but he will make sure those who are have earnt it.

Can't beleive the bad wraps people here are giving Keays. He has a crack which is a good start. Be also does have skills - watch his underage footy and it is very evident.

His main issue at the moment in seniors is a tendency to be rushed. Partly because i feel he's trying so hard he ends up running around like a headless chook. Also us being terrible in his first couple of years, he often has been under a lot of pressure when he's had the ball, although sometimes the pressure has neen only perceived and not real.

As he gets more used the pace, the game will slow down for him and we'll see he can be a very useful contributor to our senior side. Kid is only 20-21.

I think on Keays we will know more in 12 months. This time last year I wasn't sure about N Robbo and he has shown his value to tge team. Hopefully Keays can follow.
And how long has it taken Nick Robbo to show something?
We need to give Ben Keays a bit of time.

What a load of drivel. Keays is into his 3rd season... I guess being involved with the club through the academy has made people assume he's been around for years. He's progressing well in some areas of his game and not so well in others... Ya know just like anyone who is his age.

Can't resist.

Seriously, and we wonder why our membership numbers are declining.

Let's see, just how can we go about pissing ordinary members off? I know, schedule a rare pre-season opportunity to look at out team in woop woop.

Maybe Coorparoo is unavailable. Nah, can't be that. Just too easy. Ok then, maybe Yeeronga. Nah, again too easy.

And people have the hide to complain about a move to Springfield.
Not sure if serious.
Without a map of where all of our membership live, you are making such a dud argument, that you sound like a whinging pensioner. For people on the northside, Yeronga is equally a pain in the arse as Burpengary is for you. It's not all about you, Tassie.
Did you go to the last one at Coorparoo?