2018 Rucks

Plz explain

Green = beautiful specimen
Spew green = could be a beautiful specimen, won’t be a disaster
Yellow = could be good, could be horrid. I wouldn’t Riddicule someone for picking them.
Light orange,= likely a shit pick, but maybe 20% chance of turning out well.
Dark orange = very likely to be a shit pick. 5% chance of working out well
Red = if you pick this player you might as well quit now

Green = beautiful specimen
Spew green = could be a beautiful specimen, won’t be a disaster
Yellow = could be good, could be horrid. I wouldn’t Riddicule someone for picking them.
Light orange,= likely a shit pick, but maybe 20% chance of turning out well.
Dark orange = very likely to be a shit pick. 5% chance of working out well
Red = if you pick this player you might as well quit now

I agree with it for the most part, bar Dawson being red. Reckon he could actually offer some value.

Sam Jacobs -

2017 - 95.7 SC Average

• Averaged a career high 39.8 hitouts :thumbsu:
  • Played every game :thumbsu:
  • Recorded career high 64 clangers :sick:
  • Averaged 107.4 from Round 18 - Grand Final :thumbsu:

2014 - 115.4 SC Average

• Averaged 34.7 hitouts :oops:
  • Played every game :thumbsu:
  • Recorded 33 clangers :rainbow:
  • Had Dangerfield at his feet :fire::footy:
I'm thinking that the ultra durable hitout machine that is Sam Jacobs has been locked in as my R1 for as long as I care to remember. I can only see Gibbs helping him out when it comes to hitouts to advantage and hopefully helping him drop that insanely high clanger count. I'm hoping Sloane can fire up in a contract season as well, and fiend for the footy off the Jacobs tap. Jacobs, Sloane, Gibbs, Crouch. Pretty impressive.

He actually had a really similar year to his standout 2014 if you care to check the stats -

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-adelaide-crows--sam-jacobs

Anyway, Jacobs + Gawn are locked at this stage. A bit boring, but I don't see many worthwhile cheaper options popping up. NN was a flight risk way before the recent articles came out. He was always going to be managed on those long flights with a history of falling apart.
images (1).jpeg

Trying to decide whether to go a strong R2 ...or two mid price R2 & R3 ?

Any injuries, or byes to rucks will crucify me .....is this the year to have a stronger reliable R3 ?
I think the times of having a sacrificial lamb at r3 are gone. Finding the 2 top rucks for the year at the start of this season is like picking the lotto numbers.
Hope you pick a good one at r1 and then hope there is a viable r3 that will provide backup and hopefully make a bit of cash. Trade them in at the byes for the best availible.
Idea works fine is you use the leftover money wisely.

I think the times of having a sacrificial lamb at r3 are gone. Finding the 2 top rucks for the year at the start of this season is like picking the lotto numbers.
Hope you pick a good one at r1 and then hope there is a viable r3 that will provide backup and hopefully make a bit of cash. Trade them in at the byes for the best availible.
Idea works fine is you use the leftover money wisely.
People get to hung up on the "Set and Forget" strategy for rucks. At the end of the day, it's just another position and if there is a great rookie/mid-pricer, you'd be mad not to start with them and use the cash elsewhere.

Spot on. I've been thinking the same thing.

You have to view the team in total, and if having lice head means I can have an extra premo elsewhere then that's what I will do.

It's no different than spending 280k on a possible bust elsewhere. Or backing in a guy with injury history to have a free run at it.

You just have to have a bail out plan

People get hung up on it because there's rarely any cover. I don't mind taking an injury risk, or a mid price risk if I have bench cover. Same applies for the rucks. I'd take a risk if an adequate R3 popped up though.

Few people saying instead of NicNat going with Lycett.

Why hasn't Lycett played more games in past seasons. Cause if it is injuries then just pick NicNat.

8295cf15e06ef571662ff6819cce4946.jpg
Competing for a spot with Cox and Naitanui until 2015 season, so not surprising he didn't play often before then. Actually amazing how many games he got in 2014 alongside these two. Bloody Woosha and his three ruck policy.

2015 mixture of minor injuries and form of Sinclair kept him out. And last year was written off with injury.

Probably not too much different than most ruckmen, unfortunately for us :(

It would be a godsend if Flynn got an early game because of Lobb's groin problems. Can't see it though. If Big Dawson gets a rd1 game, I may toy with him and Lycett as R2/R3. Could make some cash if he played 8 plus games.

Otherwise Nank the Tank. I do like a durable sole ruck.

You must be spewing TBA. I knew it was him all along.

Will lobb now get the dpp he always deserved?

Longmire will still f us over. Probably put Buddy or Reid in as 2nd ruck and Cameron, Sinclair and Naismith will each play 8 games as the number 1 spread out over the 23 rounds so no one ruck plays more than 2 weeks in succession.

Naismith is injury prone and I don't think Sinclair is locked into the best 22. I think if Cameron is fit he'll get JLT time.

For those wanting a RUCK/FWD permanent donut for loophole purposes, we don't have any ideal candidates this year.

Here are the best 2 options based on price and fixture (excluding rd 23):

Matthew Flynn - GWS - $123,900
Thurs
: 0
Fri: 1 (rd 7)
Sat early: 4
Sat twilight: 6
Sat night: 5
Sund: 5

Sam Hayes - PTA - $117,300
Thurs
: 1 (rd 13)
Fri: 2 (rd 12 & 14)
Sat arvo: 6
Sat twilight: 6
Sat night: 1
Sund: 5

The Bulldogs' Tim English ($134,700) could be also be a good option if you believe he'll play VFL early but get senior footy later.

The Dogs have 3 Sunday and 2 Saturday (1 twilight, 1 night) matches before their first Friday night match in round 6. By round 6 we'll all most likely have a non-playing rookie whose been dropped or is given a rest to act as our donut loophole that week.

Surprised not much Billy Longer talk and at 429k for a No.1 starting ruck who finished the last year off like a house on fire he represents value in what is a nightmare year for the ruck position and you just watch Nic Nat miss games with soreness and not travel due to lingering knee issues and that is without anyone even having seen him play a match yet for god knows how long??

Nic Nat is just a dangerous selection IMO and a massive wait and see to get a guide how his body holds up.

Surprised not much Billy Longer talk and at 429k for a No.1 starting ruck who finished the last year off like a house on fire he represents value in what is a nightmare year for the ruck position and you just watch Nic Nat miss games with soreness and not travel due to lingering knee issues and that is without anyone even having seen him play a match yet for god knows how long??

Nic Nat is just a dangerous selection IMO and a massive wait and see to get a guide how his body holds up.
I said Matty Kreuzer was a horrible choice last year, who knows?