Prediction 2018 trade hypothetical thread

Hill having 3 flags is irrelevant to the conversation , English in a year or 2 will shit on your Sean Darcy , I’ll even say English becomes the best ruck in the comp
English is basically josh Fraser and Darcy is basically Clarke Keating. Now go watch the 02-03 grand finals and reassess imo

English is not for trade. Hell no. If he wants out we give him Boyd's contract. He's that highly rated internally.
I think he will be a gun , just bringing him up for trade talk if he wanted out that’s all

Lions out- pick 4 and 2nd rounder 2019. In- Lachie Neale.
Dockers out- Lachie Neale. In- pick 4 and Lions 2nd rounder 2019.
Dockers in- Crows picks 7 and 14. Crows in- Dockers pick 4(from Lions).
Dockers in- Tim Kelly. Cats in- pick 14(from Crows).

Net result-
Lions- In- Lachie Neale. Out- pick 4 & 2019 2nd rounder.
Dockers- In- pick 7 and Tim Kelly. Out- Lachie Neale.
Cats- In- pick 14. Out- Tim Kelly.
Crows- In- pick 4. Out- picks 7 & 14.

Lions get the inside grunt they need, Dockers get a ready made player and a very good draft selection, Cats get a mid first rounder for a homesick Kelly and the Crows get a shot at Rankine if the mail is a King twin or 2 go early.

I may have confused myself there, is that right? IMO the Dockers win that trade.

Net result-

Lions get the inside grunt they need, Dockers get a ready made player and a very good draft selection, Cats get a mid first rounder for a homesick Kelly and the Crows get a shot at Rankine if the mail is a King twin or 2 go early.

I may have confused myself there, is that right? IMO the Dockers win that trade.
Mate do even support Brisbane? That is a disgustingly reasonable and unbiased trade for all clubs. No place on big footy for that.

The only club that I thought may have lost out a little was the Crows, picks 7 and 14 is a pretty high price to pay for pick 4 but if they're desperate for Rankine and have a strong opinion he would be there they may do it. Maybe the Dockers could throw in our 2019 2nd rounder to the Crows as well to get it over the line?

Net result-

Geelong won't trade Kelly for that.

What do you think would be a reasonable value for him? Pick 14 + ?

Cats will want a top 10 pick because thats where the players they will want in the draft will go and they will also want a pick to be guaranteed to be before our FS bids. Swap 14 for 7 in that scenario (Geelong maybe sent a late ish pick back) and we might consider doing it.

What do you think would be a reasonable value for him? Pick 14 + ?

No offence because it is happening a lot... perhaps other supporters have failed to absorb the way the GFC has pushed back at trade suggestions.. It was not long a ago id say 14 would have been good enough to get it done..but now they just will not trade him unless its obviously overs. id say thats going to be single figure pick..Something that gets us a look at a King etc. Most will say we are not paying that.. which is just fine..we will keep him and hopefully get him long term.

Collingwood Out: Moore
Collingwood in : Carlisle

St.Kilda Out : Carlisle
St. Kilda in : Hannebery

Sydney Out : Hannebery
Sydney in : Moore

Probably need a swap of few picks or so, but I think that’s fair.
I do not think Collingwood would do that.

Let me restate, Collingwood won't do that

Net result-
Dockers- In- pick 7 and Tim Kelly. 2019 2nd rounder. Out- Lachie Neale.

I'm not sure if Adelaide take the risk of doing 4 --> 7 + 14. This might work in live trading but not in the trade period.

If im Carlton im gonna make a massive play this off season and it starts with us having to be bold and try and rise up the ladder by getting some ready made players in to help these young kids we have on the list rather than smashing them week in week out!!!

So first id start with:
Carlton: PP traded to the Crows for MM
Then go to North or Sydney and if they need points for Thomas/ Blakey then offer:
Picks 24 & 25 for their first round pick
If one of them says yes then:
1st round pick(NTH/SYD) Carlton 1st round 2019 Plus swap of 2019 2nd round picks for Shiel ( 1 year before FA) Setterfield and Scully (due to the need to get money off the cap)
If no from NORTH/SYDNEY then:
24 & 25& 1st round 2019 plus Liam Jones for the same 3 players
I would also make a play at Gaff and Fauslo

Alright....

Value of Liam Jones? Does a late second rounder do it?
Value of Casboult? Third-rounder?
What about 1 + 25 + Casboult --> 2 + 17 + Future 4th to GC?
Liam Jones + Future 3rd round --> Puopolo to Hawthorn?
I'm hearing that these clubs are showing interest.

Value of Shiel and Setterfield given we are likely to use our future 1st round pick?
Does Future 1st + 26 + 66 --> Shiel + Setterfield work?

Value of McGovern?
Does a mid-1st do it if PP is granted? Or maybe 25 + Future 2nd --> McGovern could happen?

If im Carlton im gonna make a massive play this off season and it starts with us having to be bold and try and rise up the ladder by getting some ready made players in to help these young kids we have on the list rather than smashing them week in week out!!!

So first id start with:
Carlton: PP traded to the Crows for MM
Then go to North or Sydney and if they need points for Thomas/ Blakey then offer:
Picks 24 & 25 for their first round pick
If one of them says yes then:
1st round pick(NTH/SYD) Carlton 1st round 2019 Plus swap of 2019 2nd round picks for Shiel ( 1 year before FA) Setterfield and Scully (due to the need to get money off the cap)
If no from NORTH/SYDNEY then:
24 & 25& 1st round 2019 plus Liam Jones for the same 3 players
I would also make a play at Gaff and Fauslo
I don't think Carlton will miss out on two likely top 5 picks for those players. GWS' 1st may have to be involved.
GWS won't want Liam Jones, they're too good.
As for free agents, Wallis is the only RFA we will look at. As for UFA, Libba, Dahl, LeCras, Gaff (although North's offer), Conca, Poppy, Horlin-Smith, Fasolo and of course Simpson

I don't think Carlton will miss out on two likely top 5 picks for those players. GWS' 1st may have to be involved.
GWS won't want Liam Jones, they're too good.
As for free agents, Wallis is the only RFA we will look at. As for UFA, Libba, Dahl, LeCras, Gaff (although North's offer), Conca, Poppy, Horlin-Smith, Fasolo and of course Simpson
;)The days of us thumbing our noses at players are done. Lachie Keefe is currently in our 22 and our best addition this year is our 4th round pick in Zac Langon. It's all about cost and salary cap balance just like every other club. That said I dont think he's huge value.

Net result-

Really reasonable..... but the unreasonable in me wants Starcevich or this years second rounder instead of 2019 second rounder.
I would keep pick 14 instead of getting TK, only because I don’t think the Cats would do it, but I reckon you have his trade currency spot on, 14-19ish.

Net result-

Great effort mate. Trade would rely on Cats I feel, Kelly would have to walk into Scott's office and say "I just cant do it here anymore" otherwise they arent trading him for fair value and i think 14 is fair.

Crows would do that, from everything I've read, Rankine's desire to stay in Adelaide and the strength of the rest of the top 6 is strong enough for him to tank some draft interviews and get through to 4 almost guaranteed.

I think its a no-brainer for Lions and a good deal for Freo. Kelly doesnt have the runs on the board Neale does but he'll pick up a lot of the slack and getting pick 7 means we get Hately or Rozee.

All-in-all, I think the best proposal on here yet (and bonus points for getting a 4-team trade to work). As Cats supporters have said though, they would be the sticking point

1: Freo trade Neale and a 2nd Rounder to Lions for Pick 4.

2: Freo give Pick 4 and Pick 3 [Edit. not Pick 3... Pick 5?] to Demons for Hogan and their 1st Pick

Lions get: Neale and Freo's 2nd rounder.... lose pick 4

Freo get: Hogan and First Pick from MFC, Lose pick 3 and 4

MFC get pick 3 and 4, lose Hogan and their 1st pick.

2: Freo give Pick 4 and Pick 3 to Demons for Hogan and their 1st Pick

Adelaide already has Melbourne’s first pick this year for Lever

2: Freo give Pick 4 and Pick 3 to Demons for Hogan and their 1st Pick

How does freo get pick 3